Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 901 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 180208Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27001 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 5,392
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2674 Post(s)
Liked: 1906
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimT1701 View Post
Right but it still has to do reverse 3:2 pulldown for 24p video over a 60p source like AppleTV right?

(snip)
What?

I have no idea what an Apple TV outputs, but I doubt that there is any back conversion from 60p to 24p.
bobknavs is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27002 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 03:38 PM
Member
 
GenesisX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys, apologies if this question has been answered already. Currently I have KS8000 and all my external devices connected to the anyconnect box, including roku, receiver(non 4k), and cable. If I'm using my smart tv such as netflix, I'm able to pass 5.1 through arc to receiver, however, any external device such as roku or cable box won't pass 5.1. Any help would be MUCH appreciative.
GenesisX is offline  
post #27003 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis Sturdivant View Post
Yeah, 9500 here, but this forum is basically for us , since the TV's operate the exact same, use same firmware, and everything else. It's odd that Samsung actually doesn't have any firmware driver updates available for the KS9 series.

But 1180 did mess up HDR notifications and the Cal Day/Night modes.

Cal Day/Night still work, but HDR no longer activates under them. You have to go into Movie/Dynamic/or Standard. Once HDR is enabled on source, you can not go back to Cal Day/Night modes until HDR is no longer being used/activated. The menu will not allow the switch during HDR, and will just keep it on one of the 3 factory modes until HDR is done/stopped.

HDR notifications no longer happen on any source, in any mode, in any app. It will still enable HDR and change the appropriate settings, but it will not display that it is in HDR. You have to manually look at the source or settings to verify that HDR has been enabled.

Auto Motion seems to have been tweaked. I just tested the settings ( John Wick 2 4K HDR ), and 10/10 seems to actually be very watchable, with out it leaving "ghosting" or "after images" on fast moving objects. Any lower on those settings, at least Judder, seems to show the ghosting more so on faster images. During fights, with any settings other than either Judder 1 or Judder 10, and there would be artifacts. But at those 2, there isn't. I find 10 to actually provide a crisper picture during motion than 1, and it doesn't display the SOE as much as say, the value 8 or even 4 does, so for now I'm sticking with it. ( Auto also seemed to perform better than it used to, with less of the artifacts popping up, but does have the SOE strongly ) I also used to use a custom setting of around 8/3.

Haven't noticed anything else pop up though. So this firmware is buggy, but it also has a few tweaks (maybe) that do help smooth motion.
Thanks for the helpful info on 1180. Do you notice a difference of 10/10 versus having motion completely off?

Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge using Tapatalk
Terminader is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27004 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 05:27 PM
Member
 
MrVercetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRoy View Post
I know this might sound stupid, but take the batteries out of your remote and turn the tv on manually and see if it still happens. I have seen low batteries do wierd things with remotes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Just tried it. No luck. Thanks though. I have such bad luck with the ks8000. First one I had the remote wouldn't connect. The replacement one out the box had 3 dead pixels and now this turns on and off constantly for some reason.
MrVercetti is offline  
post #27005 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenesisX View Post
Hey guys, apologies if this question has been answered already. Currently I have KS8000 and all my external devices connected to the anyconnect box, including roku, receiver(non 4k), and cable. If I'm using my smart tv such as netflix, I'm able to pass 5.1 through arc to receiver, however, any external device such as roku or cable box won't pass 5.1. Any help would be MUCH appreciative.
The only device I had a similar issue with was the Roku. When I got the ks8000 I routed a new Roku Premier thru the One Connect and found I had no 5.1. After beating my head against the wall for a couple of weeks I read on some forum somewhere that the only way to get 5.1 routed thru the One Connect would be to get a Ruku Ultra. The Roku Ultra does indeed output 5.1 thru the One Connect. The Roku Ultra is the only device that outputs 4k/hdr in my setup currently. My Blu Ray Player is a Sony that upconverts to 4k but is really only 1080p so I route it through my Onkyo 414 (which only does 1080p anyway) using the Arc connection. The only other device I have (besides an old Dell computer) is a Directv Genie which does output 5.1 through the One Connect.

At some point I am going to have to bite the bullet and get a Receiver that can handle 4k and hdr10+ and route thru the receiver like I used to route when all that I had was 1080p. But that is somewhere down the road and the gods only know what new stuff will be out there to make all of this planning obsolete anyway. Yeah, it's frustrating (but in a good kind of way).
King Richard likes this.
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #27006 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 06:12 PM
Member
 
GenesisX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Ebby View Post
The only device I had a similar issue with was the Roku. When I got the ks8000 I routed a new Roku Premier thru the One Connect and found I had no 5.1. After beating my head against the wall for a couple of weeks I read on some forum somewhere that the only way to get 5.1 routed thru the One Connect would be to get a Ruku Ultra. The Roku Ultra does indeed output 5.1 thru the One Connect. The Roku Ultra is the only device that outputs 4k/hdr in my setup currently. My Blu Ray Player is a Sony that upconverts to 4k but is really only 1080p so I route it through my Onkyo 414 (which only does 1080p anyway) using the Arc connection. The only other device I have (besides an old Dell computer) is a Directv Genie which does output 5.1 through the One Connect.

At some point I am going to have to bite the bullet and get a Receiver that can handle 4k and hdr10+ and route thru the receiver like I used to route when all that I had was 1080p. But that is somewhere down the road and the gods only know what new stuff will be out there to make all of this planning obsolete anyway. Yeah, it's frustrating (but in a good kind of way).
Thanks for reply Chuck, I actually have the roku ultra as well, connected through anyconnect. Still banging my head against the wall as my tv smart apps can do 5.1 but not anything else connected through anyconnect.
GenesisX is offline  
post #27007 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenesisX View Post
Thanks for reply Chuck, I actually have the roku ultra as well, connected through anyconnect. Still banging my head against the wall as my tv smart apps can do 5.1 but not anything else connected through anyconnect.
Hmm, sorry to hear that. I have the Ultra routed via hdmi to the One Connect, then from the One Connect to port 2 on the Onkyo. The sound settings are set to receiver (hdmi) and the expert settings bitstream and DD. If nothing is playing it defaults to PCM but once sound is engaged to kicks to DD.

On the Ultra I have set to auto (DD). The One Connect only handles DD not DD+ or anything more advanced. Doubt any of this conflicts with what you are doing already but just wanted to lay out my setup just in case.
King Richard likes this.
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #27008 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 06:54 PM
Member
 
tubaman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wow! After reading the last few pages of this thread, I'm getting the impression that judder (or lack of it) is very dependent on the firmware version. I had a KS8000 with 1169.2 for just about a month before I decided to return it because of unbearable judder when streaming through Netflix (1080p resolution with internet speed of about 25mps). Judder was VERY noticeable whenever there was a camera pan.

Out of curiosity, what are others experience with judder, specifically on 1169.2? (on Netflix streams, since that is my only reference.) Did it occur a lot, OR was it mostly non existent on that version?

Last edited by tubaman1000; 06-15-2017 at 09:16 PM.
tubaman1000 is offline  
post #27009 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis Sturdivant View Post
HDR notifications no longer happen on any source, in any mode, in any app. It will still enable HDR and change the appropriate settings, but it will not display that it is in HDR. You have to manually look at the source or settings to verify that HDR has been enabled.
The only app it actually ever DID display the HDR message(prior to 1180.5) was Amazon and nothing changed there. I do still see the notification just fine. Where it did change was on my PS4 Pro. When entering an HDR enabled game on my PS4 Pro, I no longer see the HDR message. However, in Game mode, even though it said it enabled HDR, even before 1180.5, it never switched to the actual HDR settings. This has been an issue for many with this TV and Samsung continues to bury their heads in the sand about and will not fix it(even their 2017 TV seem to hve this issue). Now that they have removed the HDR notification, I assume they are just going to bury their heads even deeper in the sand.
Chuck_IV is offline  
post #27010 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
FullyArray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubaman1000 View Post
Wow! After reading the last few pages of this thread, I'm getting the impression that judder (or jack of it) is very dependent on the firmware version. I had a KS8000 with 1169.2 for just about a month before I decided to return it because of unbearable judder when streaming through Netflix (1080p resolution with internet speed of about 25mps). Judder was VERY noticeable whenever there was a camera pan.

Out of curiosity, what are others experience with judder, specifically on 1169.2? (on Netflix streams, since that is my only reference.) Did it occur a lot, OR was it mostly non existent on that version?
I don't know how anyone can live with judder 0, the camera pans are horrible. It's all the same no matter what firmware. So I set mine to 3 and live with the artifacts. 2 and 3 make pans very acceptable to me.
FullyArray is offline  
post #27011 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok. I currently am on firmware 1155 and have auto update off. Should I finally update or sit tight?
greenzkool is offline  
post #27012 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 08:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 134
I don't know how so many people in this thread are having so many issues with different firmware. My TV has stayed consistently great since I purchased it, regardless of firmware - no motion issues, fantastic PQ, HDR works in the modes that it's supposed to, etc.

I don't get HDR pop up notifications anymore, but that TV does still automatically kick into HDR mode, so that's not a big deal.

Also noticed that HLG videos now contain the HDR tag when playing them via USB.
T_dot is offline  
post #27013 of 37006 Old 06-15-2017, 10:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Was able to verify HDR is still working on Roku Ultra after going to 1180.
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #27014 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 01:04 AM
Senior Member
 
ucsdsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Ebby View Post
Was able to verify HDR is still working on Roku Ultra after going to 1180.
The issue is HDR won't activate in Cal-Day or Cal-Night when using external sources.

Samsung 78KS9800
ucsdsig is offline  
post #27015 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 01:09 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4370
Exclamation Disney is finally preparing to go 4k

"Yes, it appears to be true: Disney appears to be quietly preparing to add their support for the 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray format before the end of 2017... starting with Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2..."

Read the full article >HERE<


Richard
King Richard is offline  
post #27016 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 01:34 AM
Member
 
decapitado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After last update, Netflix info does not show in the info if is HDR, only has a UltraHD 4K and 5.1 sound boxes.

Before the update it had the HDR box like this:


Is it like that on your sets too?
decapitado is offline  
post #27017 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 02:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenzkool View Post
Ok. I currently am on firmware 1155 and have auto update off. Should I finally update or sit tight?
1165 is the unanimously cited as the best firmware that this TV has had -- update to that but no further. Turn Auto Update off and disable Samsung update IPs on your router if you can.
jm10 likes this.
Maajid is offline  
post #27018 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 04:17 AM
Senior Member
 
jm10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Anybody with a 65 KS8000 that have vertical banding?

Is this something to expect on an edge lit like the ks8000?
...or I might have a defective unit?

I am still on the 90 days return window from Costco.

On the other hand, I found 3 KS8000 on a local Sams Club with a FA01 panel like the one I got on Costco (800D), but the box is like brown, not white like other boxes... is that a potential re-manufactured / returned unit?
jm10 is offline  
post #27019 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 05:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by jm10 View Post
Anybody with a 65 KS8000 that have vertical banding?

Is this something to expect on an edge lit like the ks8000?
...or I might have a defective unit?

I am still on the 90 days return window from Costco.

On the other hand, I found 3 KS8000 on a local Sams Club with a FA01 panel like the one I got on Costco (800D), but the box is like brown, not white like other boxes... is that a potential re-manufactured / returned unit?
It could be that or a late run on the production line and they simply skipped the glossy white boxes. In most cases I have seen they would be labeled as factory re-certified.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #27020 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 05:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,215
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5694 Post(s)
Liked: 8242
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_dot View Post
Also noticed that HLG videos now contain the HDR tag when playing them via USB.
Excellent, thanks. That's definitely one bug fixed, then

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis Sturdivant View Post
But 1180 did mess up HDR notifications and the Cal Day/Night modes.

Cal Day/Night still work, but HDR no longer activates under them. You have to go into Movie/Dynamic/or Standard. Once HDR is enabled on source, you can not go back to Cal Day/Night modes until HDR is no longer being used/activated. The menu will not allow the switch during HDR, and will just keep it on one of the 3 factory modes until HDR is done/stopped.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe75xp View Post
Cal day/night work fine for me and both play HDR from Apps with no problem.
Clearly, different experiences. I wonder why @joe75xp doesn't have any issues at all with Cal Day/Night, but @Dr.Shankenstein @Travis Sturdivant do.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 06-16-2017 at 08:18 AM.
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #27021 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,215
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5694 Post(s)
Liked: 8242
STOP PRESS: 1180.5 firmware is on the Samsung website for UK models: http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/UE55KS7000UXXU

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #27022 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 05:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am on 1167 . Should I update to 1180.5. I dont want to see less PQ or Image degrading or less pop 'WoW' placebo quality

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
gambaa is offline  
post #27023 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,215
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5694 Post(s)
Liked: 8242
Quote:
Originally Posted by gambaa View Post
I am on 1167 . Should I update to 1180.5. I dont want to see less PQ or Image degrading or less pop 'WoW' placebo quality
Well you've said you are going to use subjective measures ("pop" and "wow"), so in that case only you can decide.

Knowing that you can't compare them side by side, and you can't go back - I'd say your only safe option is to not upgrade.
jeep05 and gambaa like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #27024 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hiredgoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nuck Land
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by gambaa View Post
I am on 1167 . Should I update to 1180.5. I dont want to see less PQ or Image degrading or less pop 'WoW' placebo quality

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
From the general reviews here, it sounds like 1180 fixes the motion issues, in regards to judder and auto motion and it also also bring back the picture quality to what it should be.

It does sound like it introduces some minor other bugs which are not as nasty as 1169 firmware debacle.
gambaa likes this.
Hiredgoon is offline  
post #27025 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 06:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiredgoon View Post
From the general reviews here, it sounds like 1180 fixes the motion issues, in regards to judder and auto motion and it also also bring back the picture quality to what it should be.

It does sound like it introduces some minor other bugs which are not as nasty as 1169 firmware debacle.
My day/night cal issues seem to be for the XB1S only during UHD/HDR playback only.
I was able to play Horizon and Uncharted 4 w/HDR in both day and night cal settings.

I feel just from my perception that 1180 improved over the last few firmware updates.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
mrtickleuk likes this.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #27026 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 917 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by gambaa View Post
I am on 1167 . Should I update to 1180.5. I dont want to see less PQ or Image degrading or less pop 'WoW' placebo quality

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
Since the firmware is not stable, wait until it comes to your TV.

Sent from my Samsung S7 Edge using Tapatalk
The_Donster likes this.
Terminader is offline  
post #27027 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,585
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by jm10 View Post
Anybody with a 65 KS8000 that have vertical banding?

Is this something to expect on an edge lit like the ks8000?
...or I might have a defective unit?

I am still on the 90 days return window from Costco.

On the other hand, I found 3 KS8000 on a local Sams Club with a FA01 panel like the one I got on Costco (800D), but the box is like brown, not white like other boxes... is that a potential re-manufactured / returned unit?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
It could be that or a late run on the production line and they simply skipped the glossy white boxes. In most cases I have seen they would be labeled as factory re-certified.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Actually the light brown boxes are the earlier production with the FA01 panels. The later production with the 02 panels are in the white boxes.

JVC X750R Projector,Yamaha CX-A5200 Pre-Pro,Yamaha MX-A5000 Amps x2,Yamaha MX-D1 Power Amps x2,Yamaha RX-Z1 (L&R Surround Channel Amp), Oppo BDP-103D BR, Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD, Pioneer Elite CLD-99 LD, Definitive Tech BP7000SC Mains, CLR3000 Center, BPVX Surround Sides&Backs, BPX F&R Presence, DT UIW94/A x4, (Atmos) Martin Logan Abyss Front L&R Subs/Dynamo L&R Rear Surround Channel Subs, Infinity SSW-210 Center Channel Sub.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #27028 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 07:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have to say I do like to have motion settings on custom and have both at 3, however for some reason a handful of programs on Sky (UK) stutter worse when I have motion on. Not sure why this would be but noticed it mainly on BBC HD which I watch most of so would explain why I see it more on there I suppose. Haven't noticed it much on other channels (kids watch Disney Jr and Nick Jr and haven't noticed it on there). I'm using the normal Sky HD box however I recently just cancelled Sky and might try going without and just get Now TV and use Freeview instead. If I struggle I'll just go back with Sky I suppose and see if I can get Sky Q.
CaptnSpaulding is offline  
post #27029 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I'm having an issue with my ks8000 and the way it is connecting with the samsung uhd-k8500 and my receiver. The player has 1 hdmi running to the tv, and the 2nd for sound running to my receiver (Onkyo if that matters). The TV keeps changing the setting on my receiver from bd/dvd (the player) to tv (for arc) and even though I manually change it back, anytime there is a lapse in audio (pausing a movie, going back to the menu, etc), the TV changes my receiver to TV again. Is there a way to get the TV to stop trying to push audio through ARC and leave the receiver settings alone while I'm using the player?
David Lantz is offline  
post #27030 of 37006 Old 06-16-2017, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
"Yes, it appears to be true: Disney appears to be quietly preparing to add their support for the 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray format before the end of 2017... starting with Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2..."

Read the full article >HERE<


Richard
FINALLY!

Told my wife that if Disney isn't on board by the time GotG2 comes out, they are just out of their minds. Movie was so vibrant in the theaters.
Travis Sturdivant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off