Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread - Page 995 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179632Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29821 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTastyBurger666 View Post
I'm a 43" KS7500 owner too, and a little shocked to find the panel is 'only' 60Hz. According to DisplaySpecifications, there is a disparity between that model and the panels used in the other models in the range.

Although I'm not that bothered about the lack of Blur reduction, I tend to have the Auto Motion settings dialled back anyway.
Thanks for that, not that bothered either.
Joeaka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29822 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4369 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTastyBurger666 View Post
I'm a 43" KS7500 owner too, and a little shocked to find the panel is 'only' 60Hz. According to DisplaySpecifications, there is a disparity between that model and the panels used in the other models in the range.

Although I'm not that bothered about the lack of Blur reduction, I tend to have the Auto Motion settings dialled back anyway.
Could you please take a picture of your Auto Motion Plus sub-menu?

Is it just Blur Reduction that it missing / needs 120Hz?

Even the hallowed John Archer didn't mention it as missing:
from http://www.techradar.com/reviews/samsung-ue43ks7500

Quote:
There’s hardly any motion blur to reduce the sharpness of action scenes even if you leave the set’s motion processing system turned off. There can be a little judder with 24fps movies, but Samsung’s motion processing can deal with this fairly astutely - especially if you choose the Custom motion setting and set judder to around its four level.
The PDF manual downloaded from Samsung's support page, is of course unhelpful and doesn't say either way. No Specs page at the end. Of course.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #29823 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4369 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTastyBurger666 View Post
In short - a LOT of videos claiming to be HDR aren't, and were never intended to be that way - but are simply the uploader going for the clicks.
This. And I report them all to YouTube. They are quite good at taking them down, but it needs an army of us to keep up - please!
Rudy1 likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29824 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 10:57 AM
Member
 
johnwayne117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
No. Once you activate the special picture mode "Game", it overrides the current picture mode. Why would you use Game mode for Blu-ray though?
Tnx, well i need some source for hdr pc gaming, i can't use pc mode, so i read some people chose blu ray, this is why i'm asking, do it matter hdmi1 or blu ray etc? And do name of the source matter? what if hdmi1 named PC?
johnwayne117 is offline  
post #29825 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4369 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarwanSdd View Post
any idea when i can expect the update for my ks 8500 which isnstill on 1180.5 with the code UA (middle east/dubai)
We don't know, but soon. Only one user who has a Middle East and North Africa/T-JZMUABC model has posted to say that he's had an update to 1203.6, but that was an Over-The-Air upgrade.

Quote:
is there any place i can grab the update from that will be compatible with my model ? i tried the one from the korean website but the tv didnt detect it.
Not yet because it hasn't been released to the websites yet for some reason.

Here are some links you can try every day. Keep them handy. One day, they'll suddenly have a newer firmware.
These are ALL for the same T-JZMUABC firmware that you need:
Asia Pacific
http://www.samsung.com/au/support/model/UA55KS8000WXXY
Middle East and North Africa
http://www.samsung.com/ae/support/model/UA60KS8000KXZN
http://www.samsung.com/n_africa/supp...WXMV#downloads
Latin America
http://www.samsung.com/br/support/model/UN55KS7000GXZD
Australia
http://www.samsung.com/au/support/model/UA55KS8000WXXY

Also see >> this post <<. HTH
veggiesaurus likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #29826 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
We don't know, but soon. Only one user who has a Middle East and North Africa/T-JZMUABC model has posted to say that he's had an update to 1203.6, but that was an Over-The-Air upgrade.



Not yet because it hasn't been released to the websites yet for some reason.

Here are some links you can try every day. Keep them handy. One day, they'll suddenly have a newer firmware.
These are ALL for the same T-JZMUABC firmware that you need:
Asia Pacific
http://www.samsung.com/au/support/model/UA55KS8000WXXY
Middle East and North Africa
http://www.samsung.com/ae/support/model/UA60KS8000KXZN
http://www.samsung.com/n_africa/supp...WXMV#downloads
Latin America
http://www.samsung.com/br/support/model/UN55KS7000GXZD
Australia
http://www.samsung.com/au/support/model/UA55KS8000WXXY

Also see >> this post <<. HTH
Hopefully we'll get it soon. thanks for the links, really appreciate it. btw should i expect anything major from the upcoming update ?
MarwanSdd is offline  
post #29827 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4369 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarwanSdd View Post
Hopefully we'll get it soon. thanks for the links, really appreciate it. btw should i expect anything major from the upcoming update ?
You're welcome No idea what's in it, bit early for that but keep reading over the next few weeks.

Btw the post about the changelog earlier inspired me to create this:



Feel free to share

ps. I didn't just make up the number 30 either! I have tracked these releases
Spoiler!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fry-firmware changelog.jpg
Views:	4045
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	2299768  
Rudy1, Rolls-Royce, dogday and 5 others like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 10-17-2017 at 12:30 PM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #29828 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hiredgoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nuck Land
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
You're welcome No idea what's in it, bit early for that but keep reading over the next few weeks.

Btw the post about the changelog earlier inspired me to create this:



Feel free to share

ps. I didn't just make up the number 30 either! I have tracked these releases
Spoiler!

30 Firmwares later and they still didn't fix;

TV Speakers auto-switching on
DD+ over ARC
General ARC annoyances
HDR on Game Mode
Proper HDR Banners
HDMI 2.1 upgrade
Dynamic HDR upgrade

The list goes on.....
Hiredgoon is offline  
post #29829 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4369 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiredgoon View Post
30 Firmwares later and they still didn't fix;

TV Speakers auto-switching on
DD+ over ARC
General ARC annoyances
HDR on Game Mode
Proper HDR Banners
HDMI 2.1 upgrade
Dynamic HDR upgrade

The list goes on.....
Sure, but we can all make a list of things we don't like

HDR on Game Mode has been secured, signed off by Samsung management and is coming in the next two months.
DD+ over ARC : TV probably doesn't have hardware to do it. Not really part of the ARC standard, although some over TVs do do it I know.
Proper HDR Banners - personal preference. I think they would get annoying over the years. I don't miss them at all because there was no option to turn them off. If there was an option to turn them off, then sure let's have them back.
TV Speakers auto-switching on - doesn't happen to me, not sure what this one is
Dynamic HDR upgrade - do you mean dynamic metadata, as in HDR10Plus? We've been told we have it. It's already in the firmware we have. It's now Amazon's fault that we have no content - yet - not Samsung's firmware team
Rudy1, Chuck Ebby and Terminader like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #29830 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck Ebby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Anyone else having a problem with their sets not recognizing the 1206 download? I'm on 1203. Have tried several times and even did clean downloads. Starting with a clean thumb drive that has worked in the past. I know it's got to be something I am doing wrong, but I have been following the step by step from the Samsung site.

_________________
Samsung KS8000 TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 Blu Ray, Roku Streaming Stick+ (4K/HDR) 3810x, Denon AVR-S720W, Directv HR54 and 4K Genie Mini

Last edited by Chuck Ebby; 10-17-2017 at 03:31 PM.
Chuck Ebby is offline  
post #29831 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 03:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll venture a guess and say that the 1206 update is to address the Krack vulnerability affecting all WiFi devices. See https://www.krackattacks.com for information about it.
Terminader and mrtickleuk like this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V663

Last edited by user9999; 10-17-2017 at 04:06 PM.
user9999 is offline  
post #29832 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,933
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1610
Quote:
Originally Posted by user9999 View Post
I'll venture a guess and say that the 1206 update is to address the Krack vulnerability affecting all WiFi devices. See https://www.krackattacks.com for information about it.
Seems to be too responsive, early and logical for Samsung to do that. On the other hand, they don't tell us what their updates contain anyway....

Sent from my Samsung S8+ using Tapatalk
Terminader is online now  
post #29833 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 06:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
im in asia. still no update. current ver is 1180.
innercy is offline  
post #29834 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by user9999 View Post
I'll venture a guess and say that the 1206 update is to address the Krack vulnerability affecting all WiFi devices. See https://www.krackattacks.com for information about it.
Seems to be too responsive, early and logical for Samsung to do that. On the other hand, they don't tell us what their updates contain anyway....

Sent from my Samsung S8+ using Tapatalk
Manufacturers were notified several weeks before the advisory was made available to the public. Many companies have already released patches as it is a very serious vulnerability. Perhaps Samsung is one of the companies.

Anyway, patches are always (mostly) good!

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V663
user9999 is offline  
post #29835 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
mentalcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
65KS8000 owner here and I'm running into issues with my set losing it's connection with my DirecTV boxes. When I turn on my TV after a short while it opens to a black screen and I'm forced to reset the TV by holding the remote's power button for 10 seconds. Then all is well. Also, sometimes the Samsung screensaver comes on while watching TV for a while. A quick channel change usually solves this.

This happens with both the Genie and Genie mini. I've tried a new HDMI cable and a different input with no success.

Anyone have ideas?
mentalcase is offline  
post #29836 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 07:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elisha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 616 Post(s)
Liked: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by user9999 View Post
I'll venture a guess and say that the 1206 update is to address the Krack vulnerability affecting all WiFi devices. See https://www.krackattacks.com for information about it.


I doubt it.
Not as important on a TV as it is on phones and computers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Elisha is offline  
post #29837 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Ebby View Post
Anyone else having a problem with their sets not recognizing the 1206 download? I'm on 1203. Have tried several times and even did clean downloads. Starting with a clean thumb drive that has worked in the past. I know it's got to be something I am doing wrong, but I have been following the step by step from the Samsung site.
Screw the instructions. There wrong. Put the two files in the root of the USB drive and it'll work.

Has this fixed the HDMI no source problem for anyone?
expose is offline  
post #29838 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,933
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Ebby View Post
Anyone else having a problem with their sets not recognizing the 1206 download? I'm on 1203. Have tried several times and even did clean downloads. Starting with a clean thumb drive that has worked in the past. I know it's got to be something I am doing wrong, but I have been following the step by step from the Samsung site.
Yes. Had the same problem where the TV said it's already up to date.

In Windows, the extraction to the flash drive resulted in the original download file name as the folder name with _USB appended to the end. I just renamed the folder on the flash drive to remove that _USB addition and the TV recognised the firmware folder!!!

Sent from my Samsung S8+ using Tapatalk
Chuck Ebby likes this.
Terminader is online now  
post #29839 of 36240 Old 10-17-2017, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elisha View Post
I doubt it.
Not as important on a TV as it is on phones and computers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Then why does Samsung Offer this on our TVs if it’s not important? Also, my real time scan was off before this update. It’s always been off until now.
Chuck Ebby likes this.
cydeweyz is online now  
post #29840 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 12:34 AM
Member
 
johnwayne117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Windows fall creators update shows now what res, colors you use now, kinda cool. But hdr switch won't turn on in rgb 8bit full, if you manually set in nvidia 422 10bit, and turn hdr on, screen still become dark. I don't know what to wait now 1206 firmware or new nvidia drivers...
Also i can't set game mode for hdmi 1(it is not available), tv even not blinks when i go from pc mode to hdmi1, like it do when i go from pc mode to blu ray or game console. Is it normal?
johnwayne117 is offline  
post #29841 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hiredgoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nuck Land
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Sure, but we can all make a list of things we don't like

HDR on Game Mode has been secured, signed off by Samsung management and is coming in the next two months.
DD+ over ARC : TV probably doesn't have hardware to do it. Not really part of the ARC standard, although some over TVs do do it I know.
Proper HDR Banners - personal preference. I think they would get annoying over the years. I don't miss them at all because there was no option to turn them off. If there was an option to turn them off, then sure let's have them back.
TV Speakers auto-switching on - doesn't happen to me, not sure what this one is
Dynamic HDR upgrade - do you mean dynamic metadata, as in HDR10Plus? We've been told we have it. It's already in the firmware we have. It's now Amazon's fault that we have no content - yet - not Samsung's firmware team
Fair enough, some items are addressed

HDR Game mode - Soon Fixed
HDR10Plus - if we have it, does it work over HDMI? That would be good to know. I know we can't test it yet for a long time.
DD+ Over ARC - they can do it on the old HDMI spec, the question is will they?
HDR Banners - Simply need to pop up once when HDR triggers for the masses. It will reduce confusion
TV Speakers auto switching - Massive issue with ARC and soundbars. Samsung messed this one up bad.
Hiredgoon is offline  
post #29842 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,736
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 3251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiredgoon View Post
Fair enough, some items are addressed

HDR Game mode - Soon Fixed
HDR10Plus - if we have it, does it work over HDMI? That would be good to know. I know we can't test it yet for a long time.
DD+ Over ARC - they can do it on the old HDMI spec, the question is will they?
HDR Banners - Simply need to pop up once when HDR triggers for the masses. It will reduce confusion
TV Speakers auto switching - Massive issue with ARC and soundbars. Samsung messed this one up bad.
DD+ over ARC is not part of the hardware spec for the 2016 sets; I've asked the engineering team to see if they can reliably enable via software, but don't hold your breath. Incidentally, it works flawlessly on the 2017 Q9, allowing for Dolby ATMOS (lite) from streaming services such as Vudu.

HDR Banners will be back (with even more comprehensive data on the source signal) if the engineers get approval from South Korea management.

Your soundbar's HDMI/ARC protocol is likely the reason why you're experiencing issues. For some odd reason, this does not happen as frequently with AVRs, but it happens quite frequently with sounders...including the ones manufactured by Samsung.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #29843 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Could you please take a picture of your Auto Motion Plus sub-menu?

Is it just Blur Reduction that it missing / needs 120Hz?

Even the hallowed John Archer didn't mention it as missing:
from http://www.techradar.com/reviews/samsung-ue43ks7500

The PDF manual downloaded from Samsung's support page, is of course unhelpful and doesn't say either way. No Specs page at the end. Of course.
Yes, I will do when I remember / get a sec, but from memory I'm pretty sure under the 'custom' part there are only two menu selections, and there's defo nothing that jumps out saying 'Blur Reduction' - it may be that it's just called summat else.

EDIT: Looking at some Google images - it defo only offers 'Judder Reduction' and 'LED Clear Motion' - there's no separate 'Blur Reduction' slider.
mrtickleuk likes this.
BigTastyBurger666 is offline  
post #29844 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hiredgoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nuck Land
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
DD+ over ARC is not part of the hardware spec for the 2016 sets; I've asked the engineering team to see if they can reliably enable via software, but don't hold your breath. Incidentally, it works flawlessly on the 2017 Q9, allowing for Dolby ATMOS (lite) from streaming services such as Vudu.

HDR Banners will be back (with even more comprehensive data on the source signal) if the engineers get approval from South Korea management.

Your soundbar's HDMI/ARC protocol is likely the reason why you're experiencing issues. For some odd reason, this does not happen as frequently with AVRs, but it happens quite frequently with sounders...including the ones manufactured by Samsung.


Thanks for the info. So are HDR banners already fixed in a firmware, but they are just waiting on the approval to release it?

I always like your posts btw. Good info.
Rudy1 and Rolls-Royce like this.

Last edited by Hiredgoon; 10-18-2017 at 08:16 AM.
Hiredgoon is offline  
post #29845 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,933
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1610
Some information on 1206 from the KS9000 thread: https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url...e_pid=54965310
Terminader is online now  
post #29846 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
veg8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentalcase View Post
65KS8000 owner here and I'm running into issues with my set losing it's connection with my DirecTV boxes. When I turn on my TV after a short while it opens to a black screen and I'm forced to reset the TV by holding the remote's power button for 10 seconds. Then all is well. Also, sometimes the Samsung screensaver comes on while watching TV for a while. A quick channel change usually solves this.

This happens with both the Genie and Genie mini. I've tried a new HDMI cable and a different input with no success.

Anyone have ideas?
I had a similar issue, except mine was with a TIVO box. Swapped cables and inputs with no success. I installed the latest firmware 1206.1 manually last night and it fixed the issue Must have been the previous firmware 1203.6 that caused the issue, weird because i never had problems with the previous updates.
veg8 is offline  
post #29847 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 10:29 AM
Member
 
adobepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone used their KS TV as a DLNA dma/renderer? I play a lot of videos from my Win 7 machines to my 2 KS8000 TV's (using PlayTo) and have an issue when using my 4K recorded phone videos with orientation. On my older JS TVs (I have two), they auto orient to landscape (when recorded in portrait mode,) but on my KS TV's, if they we recorded in portrait, they display in portrait and if I create a playlist, and set the video on the TV to rotate, it forgets it when it repeats (regardless whether from Win7 or using the TV directly to play content from my Win7 machine.)

I'm currently using FW 1154 which works well and fixed the issue where DLNA only worked on Wifi, now it works via Wifi and Ethernet. Does anyone know if newer FW updates does the auto orientation of portrait recorded videos to landscape?

Also, I've noticed, compared to the JS TV's, doing a picture show via Win7 (using PlayTo) to the KS, the images are over saturated and some colors looks like the bit depth was reduced, but this doesn't happen when doing a picture show from the Samsung streaming content from Win7. The JS series render the photos exactly the same as my monitors.

Thanks!
adobepro is offline  
post #29848 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 10:36 AM
Newbie
 
bsharkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
Some information on 1206 from the KS9000 thread: https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url...e_pid=54965310
Page 58

Post#1721
bsharkman is offline  
post #29849 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4369 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydeweyz View Post
Then why does Samsung Offer this on our TVs if it’s not important? Also, my real time scan was off before this update. It’s always been off until now.
Two ideas off the top of my head
In case you want to scan any connected USB drives (which it does do).
In case you want peace of mind and want to check for any rogue Apps you might have installed.

I'm sure there are other reasons.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #29850 of 36240 Old 10-18-2017, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4369 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
HDR Banners will be back (with even more comprehensive data on the source signal) if the engineers get approval from South Korea management.
Oooh you're such a tease! Sounds great.

Do you know what data will we get please? I hope this is in the normal Info banner that we can bring up at any time? (Btw, a bug - I used to be able to bring it up at any time by pressing Info or OK on the remote. Ie, pressing Info would bring up, erm, Info! But now sadly I have to go all the way to Home, Source, Sources, and reselect the same input again, and then wait a few seconds after all that. Quite agonising. Would be nice if that would agree to fix that one).

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
denon s740h , extra , hdmi input , KS8000/KS8500 , no picture , one connect fail , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off