**OFFICIAL** 2016 XBR-X850D Sony Series TV Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 240Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1424 Old 03-01-2017, 11:20 AM
Member
 
mack1951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
IR Sensor on the 55 inch model

Can anyone tell me where the IR sensor is located on this TV?
Thanks
mack1951 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1424 Old 03-01-2017, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mack1951 View Post
Can anyone tell me where the IR sensor is located on this TV?
Thanks

Right below the Sony logo, near the illumination LED.
400MHz MAN is offline  
post #993 of 1424 Old 03-01-2017, 12:51 PM
Member
 
mack1951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post
Right below the Sony logo, near the illumination LED.
Thanks
400MHz MAN likes this.
mack1951 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #994 of 1424 Old 03-01-2017, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by stooic View Post
Can you use the included IR blaster and put it wherever you want?

The IR Blaster is a transmitter and not a receiver.


It allows you to use the TV's remote to send commands to a set-top box or av system using IR.
400MHz MAN is offline  
post #995 of 1424 Old 03-01-2017, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Ericc1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
anyone seeing the update yet? I still see the message that it's coming, but zip.
Ericc1970 is offline  
post #996 of 1424 Old 03-01-2017, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Scratched my TV screen

Hello All,

I scratched my screen while trying to run wires around the tv mount to plug in the soundbar.

Is the screen a write off or can it be repaired some how.

I live in Canada so I'm not sure what my options are
gwertheim is offline  
post #997 of 1424 Old 03-02-2017, 05:43 AM
Newbie
 
rjm12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ericc1970 View Post
anyone seeing the update yet? I still see the message that it's coming, but zip.
I have a Sony 55" Xbr 850D US East coast and I see what you see. How hard can this be to update our TVs to an OS that's been out for at least a year? We should be getting 7 not 6. Next TV will just be a display and I'll get a Shield, better updates.
rjm12 is offline  
post #998 of 1424 Old 03-02-2017, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjm12 View Post
I have a Sony 55" Xbr 850D US East coast and I see what you see. How hard can this be to update our TVs to an OS that's been out for at least a year? We should be getting 7 not 6. Next TV will just be a display and I'll get a Shield, better updates.
I would expect an even longer delay now. Sony has placed the European update on hold due to technical issues.

Marshmallow Update on Hold
CycleChem is offline  
post #999 of 1424 Old 03-03-2017, 03:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
chanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Madison, CT
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The new XX850D comes with MM. What are the technical issues?

Sony XBR75X940E, Onkyo TX-RZ810, Klipsch speakers, SVS subwoofer, Tivo Roamio
chanc is offline  
post #1000 of 1424 Old 03-03-2017, 11:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwertheim View Post
Hello All,

I scratched my screen while trying to run wires around the tv mount to plug in the soundbar.

Is the screen a write off or can it be repaired some how.

I live in Canada so I'm not sure what my options are
Anyone have ANY advice??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2017-03-03 13.25.37.jpg
Views:	401
Size:	81.0 KB
ID:	2004081  
gwertheim is offline  
post #1001 of 1424 Old 03-03-2017, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 72
how long have you owned the set?

Where did you purchase it?
Redoryx is offline  
post #1002 of 1424 Old 03-03-2017, 12:33 PM
Member
 
mack1951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Amazon video app

Got my 55x850d yesterday was like a kid at Christmas. Got it up on the wall and everything set up. Loving this set no defects I can see on the panel. The only thing that didn't work is Amazon video app. When I run it the screen blanks but returns back to the android tv desktop. Is there something I have to set up or is this a known problem. All the other apps work fine.
mack1951 is offline  
post #1003 of 1424 Old 03-03-2017, 08:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redoryx View Post
how long have you owned the set?

Where did you purchase it?
I got it through a guy in August I think
gwertheim is offline  
post #1004 of 1424 Old 03-04-2017, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwertheim View Post
I got it through a guy in August I think
I would call Sony and ask what your options are
Redoryx is offline  
post #1005 of 1424 Old 03-04-2017, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
chanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Madison, CT
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Did anybody noticed that in dark scenes, the picture is barely visible? Tried with standard and home cinema pro settings and results are the same. Is there some tweak to fix this?

Sony XBR75X940E, Onkyo TX-RZ810, Klipsch speakers, SVS subwoofer, Tivo Roamio
chanc is offline  
post #1006 of 1424 Old 03-04-2017, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have just purchased this unit...when we watch Youtube the picture is full screen with no black bars on the sides or top/bottom...When we watch television we get black bars top & bottom...the tv says that the signal is 1080HD...How do I get rid of the black bars top & bottom?
Bob Collings is offline  
post #1007 of 1424 Old 03-04-2017, 09:52 PM
Member
 
seainc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hi,
A quick question, should I set the HDMI 4/ARC port to Enhanced or standard? and Dynamic range to Auto or Full? see screenshot.

I connected Sony UBP-X800 4K UHD player to Yamaha RX-A3060 HDMI 1 then out to SONY X850D HMDI 4/ARC port.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170304_130210.jpg
Views:	409
Size:	159.7 KB
ID:	2007545   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170304_130102.jpg
Views:	393
Size:	179.6 KB
ID:	2007553  

Last edited by seainc; 03-05-2017 at 01:13 PM.
seainc is offline  
post #1008 of 1424 Old 03-05-2017, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
ive recently joined the 850d club. Im on my second tv through best buy and finally got one that has virtually no black light bleed or clouding. the problem is that on both tvs they have this really light shadow down both sides of the screen near the edge. i spoke to sony already and in the process of getting a replacement. Anyone see this on their tv? is it supposed to be there or am i crazy? its so thin you can barely see them but they were on both tvs.
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #1009 of 1424 Old 03-06-2017, 08:41 AM
Member
 
seainc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by stooic View Post
You should connect the 4K player to the TV then ARC from TV to receiver. The HDMI you connect the 4K player to should be set to enhanced and auto. Leave the color space on auto. Don't change the settings on the ARC HDMI, leave them on default.
Thanks for the info.
seainc is offline  
post #1010 of 1424 Old 03-06-2017, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is anyone else noticing light bleed, or white blotches on their screens?
nismo4life is offline  
post #1011 of 1424 Old 03-06-2017, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismo4life View Post
Is anyone else noticing light bleed, or white blotches on their screens?
do you see thin shadow lines on the edge of your tv? im in the process of trying to get a replacement from sony
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #1012 of 1424 Old 03-06-2017, 12:52 PM
cs4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Has anyone used PlayStation Vue app on this tv? Does the tv process 60fps? It doesn't look as smooth as it should. Wondering if I need to buy a fire tv box?
cs4 is offline  
post #1013 of 1424 Old 03-06-2017, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
do you see thin shadow lines on the edge of your tv? im in the process of trying to get a replacement from sony
Hmmm I don't think so. Do you have a photo to see exactly what you're referring to?
nismo4life is offline  
post #1014 of 1424 Old 03-07-2017, 06:50 AM
Member
 
wabos42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wireless headphones

Because of a hearing impairment, in order to enjoy watching TV I need to be able to use wireless headphones while still receiving sound to my speakers.
To hook up my Sennheiser 175's I normally use the Digital Optical out port.
I need to be able to do this without impacting any other sound output choices.
In other words I want sound from my speakers (builtin or HDMI) at the same time that I have sound to my headphones.
Does the Sony XBR-75X850D offer that capability?
wabos42 is offline  
post #1015 of 1424 Old 03-07-2017, 10:52 AM
Member
 
matto2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgive me if this one has be answered. I have my TV hooked up to a Sony STR-DA5200ES receiver via the optical output. I am getting surround output from the Amazon, Netflix apps but Youtube and Google Movies play in 2CH Linear 48k only. I don't see any settings that I can change. I know there is 3 settings for audio output: Auto1, Auto2 and another one forgive me I am not at home. I tired them all no dice. Why would an Android TV not output surround over optical with the very apps made by Google?

Also for good measure do these pictures of light bleed look to be acceptable for what others are dealing with. I got the TV for a good deal and an upgrade to the 930D would be about 50% more than what I paid for this one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic 5.jpg
Views:	506
Size:	106.1 KB
ID:	2012209   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic 4.jpg
Views:	510
Size:	186.4 KB
ID:	2012233   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic 3.jpg
Views:	476
Size:	161.6 KB
ID:	2012241  
matto2007 is offline  
post #1016 of 1424 Old 03-08-2017, 04:45 PM
Member
 
MUTTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 38
My 850 will not connect to wifi--it can't find the network. Previously it was connected-kids went to watch netflix tonight and thats when we noted it was out. It scans indefinitely looking for the network. WPS button gets me nowhere. Now its only a few feet from the router, the two other sony tvs in the house connect just fine, and the fios is working wonderfully.

It does connect using the wired lan connection, software is supposedly up to date when i check that.

Any thoughts???

Thanks
MUTTS is offline  
post #1017 of 1424 Old 03-08-2017, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUTTS View Post
My 850 will not connect to wifi--it can't find the network. Previously it was connected-kids went to watch netflix tonight and thats when we noted it was out. It scans indefinitely looking for the network. WPS button gets me nowhere. Now its only a few feet from the router, the two other sony tvs in the house connect just fine, and the fios is working wonderfully.

It does connect using the wired lan connection, software is supposedly up to date when i check that.

Any thoughts???

Thanks
Is Wi-Fi enabled? There's an option somewhere to toggle it on/off.
LudwigVonMises is offline  
post #1018 of 1424 Old 03-09-2017, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Can anyone help me figure out why I'm getting these errors when setting up HDR on the Xbox one slim.

I have my Xbox One Slim running though a Pioneer Elite SC-05 to the HDMI 4 on the Sony tv.

On my Sony I have configured the HDMI 4 to ENHANCED in the HDMI Signal Format and to the FULL setting in the Dynamic Range section.

The Xbox settings are set to:

Video Output>Display>TV resolution>4K UHD
Video Fidelity>Color Depth>30 bits per pixel (10-bit)
Color Space>Standard (Recommended)

Advanced Video Settings
Display>TV Connection>Auto Detect
For Apps & Games:allow 50hz, allow allow 24hz, allow HDR, allow 4K

With these settings I have all kinds exclamation points and red circles with slashes.

Error messages:

TV RESOLUTION:
Your Tv supports 4K UHD (60hz)

WATCHING MOVIES & TV
Your tv setup doesn't support 4K 10bit at 24hz. However apps can use 4K 8bit if they support it.

Your tv setup doesn't support 4K 10bit at 50hz. However apps can use 4K 8bit if they support it.

Your tv setup doesn't support 4K 10bit at 60hz. However apps can use 4K 8bit if they support it.

Your tv setup doesn't support HDR10 Video. Content won't be shown in HDR.

PLAYING GAMES:
Your tv setup doesn't support 4K 10bit at 60hz. However you can still upscale to 4K by choosing the 4K UHD TV resolution setting.

You tv setup doesn't support HDR10 for gaming. Games won't be shown in HDR.
todd1010 is offline  
post #1019 of 1424 Old 03-09-2017, 07:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I got it figured out.

My receiver had to be switched into a mode while in the powered off state. Something to do with the output of where the Xbox was connected to to display 4.4.4
todd1010 is offline  
post #1020 of 1424 Old 03-10-2017, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Onedark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Just bought a 65" 850D for the bedroom...looking forward to hooking it up, and doing some basic calibrations. Plugging it in last night, looked very good right out the box. I have a Sony UBP-X800 coming to hook up to it...this will suffice very nicely while looking at reviews, etc. over the coming months for the 940E I have my eye on for my main area later this fall. Hopefully around Black Friday, they will be at a feasible price point for me to pull the trigger. Nonetheless, I am very happy with my 850D and look forward to reading the forum and learning!

Pressing forward!!
Onedark1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
connect:amp , receiver , speaker:sound , television:setup , XBR-X850D

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off