**OFFICIAL** 2016 XBR-X850D Sony Series TV Thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 240Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 1425 Old 10-14-2017, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
bigcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I am new to 4k/HDR. I am testing some video files on my new 850d and I have a question. Is there a way to know if the TV is showing HDR vs just 4k? I am using the "display" button on the remote but the TV always displays 4k on the top right corner. Was wondering if there is a visual indicator for HDR. Thanks.

Sony XBR-85X900F & XBR-85X850D | BenQ W1070 | Sony XBR-60LX900 | Denon X4200W & X3200W | Infinity Primus PC351, P363s, P163s
bigcat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 1425 Old 10-15-2017, 03:57 AM
Newbie
 
bilpiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by susanandmark View Post
We've had our 85" TV for a little less than a year now and we mostly like it but I'm having two frustrating issues I can't figure out ...

The first is that the TV, seemingly randomly, switches back to TV speakers vs External (via A/V receiver) at random times. The only way to "fix" it is to go into settings and manually select "external" speakers. This never happened before a month or so ago, but is now a regular occurance, happening almost every time we watch anything, via any source.

Second, is there any way to separate off/on functions? Whenever we have to do a "fix issues" on our Logitech remote because something didn't come on correctly, the first thing it does is resend commands, which immediately turns off the TV. Super frustrating.


Has the issue of TV switching back to TV speakers vs external (AV speakers) been addressed. I downloaded latest firmware this week and I am still experiencing the problem,,,, Occurs the first time I turn on the TV each day. Power down and turn back on and it works fine


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
bilpiper is online now  
post #1263 of 1425 Old 10-15-2017, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat View Post
I am new to 4k/HDR. I am testing some video files on my new 850d and I have a question. Is there a way to know if the TV is showing HDR vs just 4k? I am using the "display" button on the remote but the TV always displays 4k on the top right corner. Was wondering if there is a visual indicator for HDR. Thanks.
I am not sure what you asking, but just press the action menu button (not the display button) on your remote and then go to picture adjustments. If it shows HDR video than you OK, if it shows Standard then you have to manually select HDR video
Milan254 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1264 of 1425 Old 10-15-2017, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bigcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
I am not sure what you asking, but just press the action menu button (not the display button) on your remote and then go to picture adjustments. If it shows HDR video than you OK, if it shows Standard then you have to manually select HDR video
I’m asking how to check what the video source is according to the tv. Just want to make sure my video player is sending HDR successfully through the avr and all the cables and what not. The tv says it’s receiving 4K but should be hdr. Maybe there’s no way to tell? Is the resolution different for hdr?

Sony XBR-85X900F & XBR-85X850D | BenQ W1070 | Sony XBR-60LX900 | Denon X4200W & X3200W | Infinity Primus PC351, P363s, P163s
bigcat is offline  
post #1265 of 1425 Old 10-15-2017, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Does anyone have a fix for this horrible screen flashing during dark scenes? I turned off advanced contrast enhancer and turned back on the light sensor, it stopped to flickering but the dark scenes are still horrible. I have a 75" if that changes anything.
NickyB210 is offline  
post #1266 of 1425 Old 10-15-2017, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat View Post
I’m asking how to check what the video source is according to the tv. Just want to make sure my video player is sending HDR successfully through the avr and all the cables and what not. The tv says it’s receiving 4K but should be hdr. Maybe there’s no way to tell? Is the resolution different for hdr?
I use my PS4 Pro for gaming and I do have games supporting HDR and the display is like yours 3840x2160 4k. It will switch to HDR video
for now Sony has no HDR game mode on this TV. I know it is HDR because I can switch to PS4 XMB and see the HDR output and also if it was RGB the color would be all wrong. PS: obviously you set your the HDMI to enhanced?
bigcat likes this.
Milan254 is offline  
post #1267 of 1425 Old 10-15-2017, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
bigcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
I use my PS4 Pro for gaming and I do have games supporting HDR and the display is like yours 3840x2160 4k. It will switch to HDR video
for now Sony has no HDR game mode on this TV. I know it is HDR because I can switch to PS4 XMB and see the HDR output and also if it was RGB the color would be all wrong. PS: obviously you set your the HDMI to enhanced?
So I normally use the "Custom" picture settings. You are saying that when I play a HDR source the TV will automatically switch to the "HDR Video" settings? So that would be a way to verify HDR, right? By entering "Picture adjustments" when the video is playing I should see "HDR Video" has been selected.

EDIT: yeah, I have "enhanced HDMI" turned on.

Sony XBR-85X900F & XBR-85X850D | BenQ W1070 | Sony XBR-60LX900 | Denon X4200W & X3200W | Infinity Primus PC351, P363s, P163s
bigcat is offline  
post #1268 of 1425 Old 10-15-2017, 08:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat View Post
So I normally use the "Custom" picture settings. You are saying that when I play a HDR source the TV will automatically switch to the "HDR Video" settings? So that would be a way to verify HDR, right? By entering "Picture adjustments" when the video is playing I should see "HDR Video" has been selected.

EDIT: yeah, I have "enhanced HDMI" turned on.
I can’t tell you what to use, however I use HDR video for HDR content and I leave all settings in HDR video on default and the picture is just stunning. For past 20 years I had many HDTV sets and I used to spend hours with different calibration disks, THX etc trying to get the best picture and to me the easiest is to reset TV to factory settings including the light sensor and I like the picture the best. Now I am not saying you can’t do better but Sony always been very good on color and getting the picture A+ right of the box. So yes, you can tweak the TV to your liking,but for HDR game or video you should select the HDR video, set to default and then if you need to adjust. Also if you not happy with the picture connect your disk player directly and see if you see any difference.
PS:The TV should automatically switch to HDR but due to Sony buggy software sometimes my TV will do it automatically and sometimes I have to do it manually.
Milan254 is offline  
post #1269 of 1425 Old 10-16-2017, 01:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat View Post
So I normally use the "Custom" picture settings. You are saying that when I play a HDR source the TV will automatically switch to the "HDR Video" settings? So that would be a way to verify HDR, right? By entering "Picture adjustments" when the video is playing I should see "HDR Video" has been selected.

EDIT: yeah, I have "enhanced HDMI" turned on.
Exactly! All you nave to do is check the video settings (automatically switches tô HDR).
bigcat likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #1270 of 1425 Old 10-26-2017, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
My TV recently updated the android OS. Is there a way to get a changelog to see what exactly was updated?
marko358 is offline  
post #1271 of 1425 Old 10-26-2017, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dman918's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko358 View Post
My TV recently updated the android OS. Is there a way to get a changelog to see what exactly was updated?


Go on Sony's product support page. Here is for 55" https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model...3#/downloadTab
marko358 likes this.

Vizio P75-F1
Denon X4300 Receiver
(3) Elusive 1099s LCR - (4) Polk RC85i Surrounds
iNuke 3000dsp powering a Dayton Ultimax UM18 in a Minimarty
iNuke 6000dsp powering (2) SI HT18s in Martycubes (Nearfield)
dman918 is offline  
post #1272 of 1425 Old 11-08-2017, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
bigcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 32
when my tv displays mostly a black/dark screen, I see a lot of areas in the screen bleeding light (not sure the best way to describe it). I think this is an issue with the technology so nothing wrong with the TV. My previous TV, a Vizio M series had the same issue, however, it had a picture setting called "smart dimming", that when turned on, it'd almost eliminate that issue, but then I'd see "flash lighting", which wasn't great but I could live with.

Does this TV have any setting like that?
ccrider2 likes this.

Sony XBR-85X900F & XBR-85X850D | BenQ W1070 | Sony XBR-60LX900 | Denon X4200W & X3200W | Infinity Primus PC351, P363s, P163s
bigcat is offline  
post #1273 of 1425 Old 11-08-2017, 09:19 PM
Member
 
manhattan12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Audio went out on some apps but not others?

Hi,

Hope someone can help on this. Tonight I lost audio on some of my streaming apps, but not others, and I'm not sure why it would be like this. I always thought audio would either work or not.

My setup is audio through my home theater system with a Digital Audio Cable from the TV to the receiver. I've never had a problem until now. All my over-the-air channels through FIOS work fine, but when I try to watch something on the HBO, SHO, EPIX, HULU or PANDORA streaming apps there is no sound.

BUT I am getting sound, as usual, on the STARZ and AMAZON apps.

If I switch the output to the tv speakers all of them work (on those wonderful tinny speakers but those five apps have suddenly stopped giving me sound through the home theater.

Why would some go out and not others? And, more important, any suggestions on how to get them back?

Thanks for any help.
manhattan12345 is offline  
post #1274 of 1425 Old 11-15-2017, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Zakk_Wylde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everybody,

My Sony XBR75X850D seems to have died a premature death. I had a show playing from the Netflix app when I left the room for about 20-25 minutes. When I came back in I found that the audio was still working just fine (therefore the Netflix app was still running) however the screen was blank. Backlight is still clearly on, and the Sony logo at the bottom blinks upon remote control presses, but nothing seems to get displayed on the screen.

I did a power drain on the TV as I often need to do this when software or the OS aren't working as expected but that does not seem to have worked. I plugged it back in, powered it up and normally the TV shows the 'SONY' logo upon bootup but it's not even doing that.

As I said, when turned on, the screen goes from black to gray, so I know that the backlight is working but nothing gets displayed.

Any ideas? Is this going to be an expensive repair for a pro? Or is there something I can try?
Zakk_Wylde is offline  
post #1275 of 1425 Old 11-16-2017, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
ssnova703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
I’ve talked to Sony rep and his answer was- the October 3 release needs more testing- but on October 7 they released it anyway. The notes no longer claim improvements to HDR gaming. The update is identical to the one dated October 3.
Thanks for passing on the info. I have the XBR55X850D that I got earlier this year for a decent price. I'm on an older firmware from when the tv was manufactured sometime in 2016. I downloaded the latest update on September 1, 2017 (not sure what the package number was but the file is labeled: sony_tvupdate_2015_3885_nab_auth ), I guess I'll install the older one first and go from there.
ssnova703 is offline  
post #1276 of 1425 Old 11-20-2017, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
robertw11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickyB210 View Post
Does anyone have a fix for this horrible screen flashing during dark scenes? I turned off advanced contrast enhancer and turned back on the light sensor, it stopped to flickering but the dark scenes are still horrible. I have a 75" if that changes anything.
Yeah this tv hates dark scenes, and looks horrible displaying them. I have struggled with it settings, and can't find a solution to get a decent picture with dark scenes. 75" as well.

Pioneer 111FD, Pioneer 4280HD
75" Sony 850D
65" LG B7, LG UBK90
robertw11 is offline  
post #1277 of 1425 Old 11-21-2017, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertw11 View Post
Yeah this tv hates dark scenes, and looks horrible displaying them. I have struggled with it settings, and can't find a solution to get a decent picture with dark scenes. 75" as well.
I lowered the brightness to 0, seems better but still upset I spent $2500 on this dam TV. I did a ton a research and reviews said how great this TV was, but I should have gone with a different TV for my application.
NickyB210 is offline  
post #1278 of 1425 Old 11-21-2017, 07:17 PM
4K & 3D Man
 
robdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Redondo BEACH CA.
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Sony 85 inch new arrival!

[
And I JUST got my new addition to the house Sony 85 inch X85D and updated new software and it looks great !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171121_190444.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	1.64 MB
ID:	2319348  

Last edited by robdman; 11-28-2017 at 12:56 PM.
robdman is offline  
post #1279 of 1425 Old 11-22-2017, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Watching Despicable Me on UHD Blu-ray on a 75" 850D. I'm using a Sony X800 for playback. The color looks washed out I like there is a frosting on the screen. My wife, who doesn't really get into video settings, even mentioned it. Any idea what setting I could have wrong? I have the color space on the 850D set to DCI. HDR active and enhanced color is active as well.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Cla55clown is offline  
post #1280 of 1425 Old 11-22-2017, 06:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 4
My 75" 850D's keep shutting off and rebooting randomly....I remember hearing about similar issues when I bought them. What is the fix for these set shutting off randomly?
805jive is offline  
post #1281 of 1425 Old 11-24-2017, 11:54 PM
Member
 
killa2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by 805jive View Post
My 75" 850D's keep shutting off and rebooting randomly....I remember hearing about similar issues when I bought them. What is the fix for these set shutting off randomly?
I have this issue also, can I take it back to best buy if I bought the geek squad warranty? I don't want this tv any longer.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
killa2009 is offline  
post #1282 of 1425 Old 11-25-2017, 12:21 PM
Member
 
superkelv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am purchasing a XBR-85X850D today. Have been attempting to verify hours on it by accessing the service menu to no avail. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
superkelv is offline  
post #1283 of 1425 Old 11-26-2017, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Lynkage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: On the Rocks or in the Water!
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Don't buy one of these TV's. I have the XBR75X850D and it has been the worst TURD of a TV. The software locks up ALL the time it always gets out of sync with audio and just what a piece of crap. I don't even ask it to do anything special like connect to an AVR!! The software is HORRIBLE!! I should have known it is Sony/Android and it is unreliable.

I have had this unit of to long to take back but hope someone reads this and saves themselves a headache.

The ever evolving Mini Theater and 60's basement overhaul

Coming Soon The "Hidden Canyon" Theater Build!
Lynkage is offline  
post #1284 of 1425 Old 11-26-2017, 08:05 PM
Member
 
killa2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynkage View Post
Don't buy one of these TV's. I have the XBR75X850D and it has been the worst TURD of a TV. The software locks up ALL the time it always gets out of sync with audio and just what a piece of crap. I don't even ask it to do anything special like connect to an AVR!! The software is HORRIBLE!! I should have known it is Sony/Android and it is unreliable.

I have had this unit of to long to take back but hope someone reads this and saves themselves a headache.
I totally agree with you. I need to take mind back to best buy, but I don't want them to give me the same tv again. I want my money back! I bought this tv almost a year ago but with the warranty.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
killa2009 is offline  
post #1285 of 1425 Old 11-26-2017, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Lynkage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: On the Rocks or in the Water!
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by killa2009 View Post
I totally agree with you. I need to take mind back to best buy, but I don't want them to give me the same tv again. I want my money back! I bought this tv almost a year ago but with the warranty.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
I hope you can get a satisfactory resolution.

The ever evolving Mini Theater and 60's basement overhaul

Coming Soon The "Hidden Canyon" Theater Build!
Lynkage is offline  
post #1286 of 1425 Old 11-28-2017, 08:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 805jive View Post
My 75" 850D's keep shutting off and rebooting randomly....I remember hearing about similar issues when I bought them. What is the fix for these set shutting off randomly?
No one else has the issue of the TV shutting off and rebooting randomly? Is there a software update that fixed this? I don't believe my TV's have ever been updated, is there a tutorial somewhere that shows how to do this?
805jive is offline  
post #1287 of 1425 Old 11-28-2017, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Sorry, I personally haven't seen that issue with my TV. Maybe try a full factory reset and then reconfigure?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Cla55clown is offline  
post #1288 of 1425 Old 11-28-2017, 01:04 PM
4K & 3D Man
 
robdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Redondo BEACH CA.
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post
Sorry, I personally haven't seen that issue with my TV. Maybe try a full factory reset and then reconfigure?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
I had zero issues with my Sony XBR-85X850D so maybe some of you have had lemon's and should return your set's.
robdman is offline  
post #1289 of 1425 Old 11-28-2017, 01:51 PM
Member
 
jjlynch723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by robdman View Post
I had zero issues with my Sony XBR-85X850D so maybe some of you have had lemon's and should return your set's.
I was having a lot of lag issues and occasional resets on my xbr-85x850d but the last firmware update seemed to fix it all.
robdman likes this.
jjlynch723 is offline  
post #1290 of 1425 Old 11-28-2017, 02:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjlynch723 View Post
I was having a lot of lag issues and occasional resets on my xbr-85x850d but the last firmware update seemed to fix it all.
Is there a way for me to check firmware versions and initiate a firmware upgrade from the TV remote?
805jive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
connect:amp , receiver , speaker:sound , television:setup , XBR-X850D

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off