Official 2016 Sony XBR75 X940D Owners thread: no price talk - Page 439 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 17171Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13141 of 13253 Old 07-24-2019, 10:30 AM
PMA
Senior Member
 
PMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Exactly. Under External Inputs, turn off Bravia Sync.
Thanks! Found it while in HDMI 4 (ARC) and the control was greyed out. I had to change to another input to gain access and turn it off but all is well now. TV turned on quickly but I need to monitor this for a few cycles to be sure the original problem is resolved.

I really appreciate how helpful this forum is.
gwsat and Supero100 like this.
PMA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13142 of 13253 Old 07-27-2019, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Viper32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,213
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1344 Post(s)
Liked: 1029
Sadly my 75X940D has bit the dust. I went to turn on this morning and I have sound but no picture. I still may repair it but not sure which board may have went out. I can hear the menus etc. and see backlight but no picture at all. Any suggestions on what could be the issue?

Current Sets: Sony XBR65A9F Master Series, Sony XBR75X940C, Sony XBR75X940D, Samsung UN65KS9800, TCL 65R617
Previous Sets: Samsung Q9FN, Sony XBR65X930D, XBR65X900B, XBR49X830C, Samsung KS8000, KU6500, UN55KS8500, UN49JS8500, JS9000, JU7090, JU6500, JU6400, HU9000, HU7250, PN64F8500, Vizio P65, LG 65EF9500, LG 55EC9300, Hisense 55H8C, TCL P-Series (55P607)
Viper32 is offline  
post #13143 of 13253 Old 07-27-2019, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper32 View Post
Sadly my 75X940D has bit the dust. I went to turn on this morning and I have sound but no picture. I still may repair it but not sure which board may have went out. I can hear the menus etc. and see backlight but no picture at all. Any suggestions on what could be the issue?
Sounds just like what happened to my first one at about 8 months old. Sound working and a ghosty dim backlight but no picture at all. It was under warranty and Sony sent guys out with a input board to replace. They put that board in but it make no difference. They then decided to send me a refurb.

Sorry to hear of your problem, made me sick at the time to have bought such an expensive TV and have it blow up so soon.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13144 of 13253 Old 09-02-2019, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
fguarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
what's the best keyboard remove for the sony tv?

Family Room - XBR55X850C/Sony HT-NT3/ATV 3
Bedroom - Vizio E55-D0/ATV 3
Basement - XBR75X940D/VSX-90/ATV 4k/UBD-K8500/BDP-S1500/RF-82 II/RC-62 II/RB-61 II/NSIC800WH/RF-115SW/Logitech Harmony Ultimate One/4 in-ceiling yamaha atmos speakers
fguarino is offline  
post #13145 of 13253 Old 09-02-2019, 08:02 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 430 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11936 Post(s)
Liked: 7100
Quote:
Originally Posted by fguarino View Post
what's the best keyboard remove for the sony tv?
What is a “remove”?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13146 of 13253 Old 09-02-2019, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
fguarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry missed that. What's the best keyboard remote for the tv?

Family Room - XBR55X850C/Sony HT-NT3/ATV 3
Bedroom - Vizio E55-D0/ATV 3
Basement - XBR75X940D/VSX-90/ATV 4k/UBD-K8500/BDP-S1500/RF-82 II/RC-62 II/RB-61 II/NSIC800WH/RF-115SW/Logitech Harmony Ultimate One/4 in-ceiling yamaha atmos speakers
fguarino is offline  
post #13147 of 13253 Old 09-02-2019, 08:16 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 430 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11936 Post(s)
Liked: 7100
Quote:
Originally Posted by fguarino View Post
Sorry missed that. What's the best keyboard remote for the tv?
I use the Logitech K400 Plus TV (https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Wire.../dp/B014EUQOGK). It has a USB dongle that plugs into one of the available USB ports on the TV. I purchased mine at Best Buy. Works fine.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13148 of 13253 Old 09-02-2019, 08:14 PM
Member
 
denisl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've been away for a week and when I came home to turn on my TV, after about 5 mins it powered off by itself and rebooted.
It was doing this every 5-10 mins. I couldn't get to the home screen so I did a forced factory reset followed by a factory data reset.
Still have the same problem but it feels like it's taking a little longer before it shuts down and reboots.

Anyone have this issue before? Not sure what else to do.
I bought this Nov 2016.
denisl is offline  
post #13149 of 13253 Old 09-02-2019, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisl View Post
I've been away for a week and when I came home to turn on my TV, after about 5 mins it powered off by itself and rebooted.
It was doing this every 5-10 mins. I couldn't get to the home screen so I did a forced factory reset followed by a factory data reset.
Still have the same problem but it feels like it's taking a little longer before it shuts down and reboots.

Anyone have this issue before? Not sure what else to do.
I bought this Nov 2016.
Take the TV off-line, (dis-connect the Ethernet cable or remove your info from the wireless setup).
Do another complete reset and don't reconnect the network in any way.
See if that helps.
bslep and Supero100 like this.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #13150 of 13253 Old 09-03-2019, 09:10 PM
Member
 
denisl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal1950 View Post
Take the TV off-line, (dis-connect the Ethernet cable or remove your info from the wireless setup).
Do another complete reset and don't reconnect the network in any way.
See if that helps.
I just tried and same problem. It seemed to work for about 20 mins then started rebooting again.
Any other thoughts on what the issue could be or how I would go about getting this fixed?
denisl is offline  
post #13151 of 13253 Old 09-04-2019, 12:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisl View Post
I just tried and same problem. It seemed to work for about 20 mins then started rebooting again.
Any other thoughts on what the issue could be or how I would go about getting this fixed?
Nope, nothing here.
Sorry

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #13152 of 13253 Old 09-04-2019, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisl View Post
I just tried and same problem. It seemed to work for about 20 mins then started rebooting again.
Any other thoughts on what the issue could be or how I would go about getting this fixed?
Disconnect any devices you have connected via HDMI. I had a similar issue with a Fire Stick 4K causing my 65x900e to reboot every five minutes.

Pull all of the devices then pull the power cord on the TV. Wait 30 seconds or so, plug back in, and power on. Don't connect anything at all - just power the TV on and see what happens.
denisl and Supero100 like this.
meburdick is offline  
post #13153 of 13253 Old 09-04-2019, 12:28 PM
Member
 
denisl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by meburdick View Post
Disconnect any devices you have connected via HDMI. I had a similar issue with a Fire Stick 4K causing my 65x900e to reboot every five minutes.

Pull all of the devices then pull the power cord on the TV. Wait 30 seconds or so, plug back in, and power on. Don't connect anything at all - just power the TV on and see what happens.
I think that fixed my problem.
I had a Fire Stick 4K in HDMI port 1. Strange because when I remove it, the problem still exists. Only when I remove it and do a forced factory reset does the TV run stable.
I put an older fire stick in hdmi port 1 and it's working. Thank you for your help you saved me a lot of grief!
Supero100 and Sal1950 like this.
denisl is offline  
post #13154 of 13253 Old 09-04-2019, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisl View Post
I think that fixed my problem.
I had a Fire Stick 4K in HDMI port 1. Strange because when I remove it, the problem still exists. Only when I remove it and do a forced factory reset does the TV run stable.
I put an older fire stick in hdmi port 1 and it's working. Thank you for your help you saved me a lot of grief!
I didn't have to do the factory reset, just a forced restart. Those Fire Sticks are junk.
Supero100 likes this.
meburdick is offline  
post #13155 of 13253 Old 09-05-2019, 07:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
csrini1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by meburdick View Post
I didn't have to do the factory reset, just a forced restart. Those Fire Sticks are junk.
Anyone experiencing home button not working?
csrini1 is offline  
post #13156 of 13253 Old 09-05-2019, 10:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by csrini1 View Post
Anyone experiencing home button not working?
Mines fine, but then I haven't done a update in 2 years
Have you unplugged it for a few minutes?

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #13157 of 13253 Old 09-05-2019, 10:59 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 430 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11936 Post(s)
Liked: 7100
I am updated current, connected to the internet, and my Home button works fine. Reboot the set. If that doesn’t work, reset to factory defaults.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13158 of 13253 Old 09-06-2019, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
csrini1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I am updated current, connected to the internet, and my Home button works fine. Reboot the set. If that doesn’t work, reset to factory defaults.
Ok thanks I tried google, looks like this is a known problem after upgrade. Reboot didn’t work. If I reset I have to update values again.
csrini1 is offline  
post #13159 of 13253 Old 09-16-2019, 09:52 AM
Member
 
scoppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper32 View Post
Sadly my 75X940D has bit the dust. I went to turn on this morning and I have sound but no picture. I still may repair it but not sure which board may have went out. I can hear the menus etc. and see backlight but no picture at all. Any suggestions on what could be the issue?
Mine too! The repair guy says it's almost certainly the panel, but he's going to try replacing a board before sentencing it to death. Not quite 3 years old ... I don't think I'll be buying another Sony TV. My last one was also a very expensive Sony that died prematurely ... the infamous SXRD rear projection.
scoppola is offline  
post #13160 of 13253 Old 09-16-2019, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoppola View Post
Mine too! The repair guy says it's almost certainly the panel, but he's going to try replacing a board before sentencing it to death. Not quite 3 years old ... I don't think I'll be buying another Sony TV. My last one was also a very expensive Sony that died prematurely ... the infamous SXRD rear projection.
I have been generally fortunate with my tech stuff over the years, and I attribute it to one very specific thing that I do that so many others do not... My devices are only ever connected to UPS devices that deliver FILTERED POWER. Power / surge strips are a waste of money as they only protect from one very specific thing - an unexpected power spike. The reality is that power sags, or "brownouts" as they are sometimes called, do MUCH more damage to electronics and are much more common. A UPS device that delivers filtered power pretty much guarantees that your devices are always getting the exact 110V power that they need with NO variation.

As devices get more powerful, their tolerance for anything but exact power goes down. So, the "smarter" your TV is, the shorter its life will be if you feed it straight street power.

If you decide to embark on this path, you have to ensure that NOTHING connected to your set has a path to street power in any fashion that isn't protected. That includes the incoming cable wire, whether it's only for Internet or for programming too.
BobDV likes this.
meburdick is offline  
post #13161 of 13253 Old 09-16-2019, 11:57 AM
Member
 
scoppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by meburdick View Post
I have been generally fortunate with my tech stuff over the years, and I attribute it to one very specific thing that I do that so many others do not... My devices are only ever connected to UPS devices that deliver FILTERED POWER. Power / surge strips are a waste of money as they only protect from one very specific thing - an unexpected power spike. The reality is that power sags, or "brownouts" as they are sometimes called, do MUCH more damage to electronics and are much more common. A UPS device that delivers filtered power pretty much guarantees that your devices are always getting the exact 110V power that they need with NO variation.

As devices get more powerful, their tolerance for anything but exact power goes down. So, the "smarter" your TV is, the shorter its life will be if you feed it straight street power.

If you decide to embark on this path, you have to ensure that NOTHING connected to your set has a path to street power in any fashion that isn't protected. That includes the incoming cable wire, whether it's only for Internet or for programming too.
Seems unlikely that power fluctuations killed my TV in three years. If it did, I'd say Sony used a woefully inadequate power supply. I have a much smarter home theater PC that's been chugging along plugged into the same power strip for over ten years.

My previous TV didn't die, actually. The picture turned 100% green on all SXRD TVs ever built within a few years. There was a class action lawsuit which Sony settled on.
scoppola is offline  
post #13162 of 13253 Old 09-16-2019, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoppola View Post
Seems unlikely that power fluctuations killed my TV in three years. If it did, I'd say Sony used a woefully inadequate power supply. I have a much smarter home theater PC that's been chugging along plugged into the same power strip for over ten years.

My previous TV didn't die, actually. The picture turned 100% green on all SXRD TVs ever built within a few years. There was a class action lawsuit which Sony settled on.
Your rationale here is flawed... Power sags will destroy electronics much more quickly than people realize. Sags can degrade the power supply of the TV which can then cause power delivery issues to the TV itself.

Over ten years you say? Sounds like that's pretty old tech and definitely not using the newest dies in the CPU's. Also, the newest machines require UPS devices that can provide true sine wave power because of how other devices cause issues with new PC's. If you spent some time researching how the underlying electronics actually function (they perform operations based on being able to recognize changes in voltage - denser CPU's have to use much lower voltages to keep heat down which requires the ability to sense much finer changes in voltage), you'd follow along with why filtered power keeps those electronics as healthy as possible for the long term.
meburdick is offline  
post #13163 of 13253 Old 09-16-2019, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoppola View Post
Mine too! The repair guy says it's almost certainly the panel, but he's going to try replacing a board before sentencing it to death. Not quite 3 years old ... I don't think I'll be buying another Sony TV. My last one was also a very expensive Sony that died prematurely ... the infamous SXRD rear projection.
I think I feel the same. My first 75X940D died at about the 8 month mark, so far I've had the replacement they gave me (with a dead pixel) for just about 2 years but I just don't trust it any more, I read too many stories of failures here. Sony used to have a reputation for great reliability but I think times have changed. Biggest decision problem would be, who's next?

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #13164 of 13253 Old 09-16-2019, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Supero100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern New England
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Everything in my system plugs in through a Furman Elite 15 PFi. For what I spent on the system, it seemed foolish not to have a power conditioner... $0.02
meburdick likes this.
Supero100 is offline  
post #13165 of 13253 Old 09-17-2019, 06:45 AM
Member
 
Palmgrower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lake Worth FL
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supero100 View Post
Everything in my system plugs in through a Furman Elite 15 PFi. For what I spent on the system, it seemed foolish not to have a power conditioner... $0.02
I have the same unit since tv installation in 2016.
Supero100 likes this.

Sony FALD ISF Calibrated75X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Bose Cinemate 1 SR
Samsung PN59D8000, Samsung BD-F7500
HR24-500 with AM21n OTA, HR54-200 with AM21n OTA, 2- C61K's, DIRECTV AU9-SWM-22 Reverse LNB, Winegard HD Stacker
Palmgrower is offline  
post #13166 of 13253 Old 09-25-2019, 03:30 PM
Member
 
scoppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoppola View Post
Mine too! The repair guy says it's almost certainly the panel, but he's going to try replacing a board before sentencing it to death. Not quite 3 years old ... I don't think I'll be buying another Sony TV. My last one was also a very expensive Sony that died prematurely ... the infamous SXRD rear projection.
The repair guy was right, my panel has gone bad (whatever that means). After a bit of wrangling with Sony support (their initial response was ... 1 year warranty, go away), they're exchanging it for a new 75X950G for $1600, which is about half the current selling price at most places. I'm happy-ish with that.

Last edited by scoppola; 09-26-2019 at 05:28 AM.
scoppola is offline  
post #13167 of 13253 Old 09-25-2019, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoppola View Post
The repair guy was right, my panel has gone bad (whatever that means). After a bit of wrangling with Sony support (their initial response was ... 1 year warranty, go away), they exchanging it for a new 75X950G for $1600, which is about half the current selling price at most places. I'm happy-ish with that.
Great, that's a good move by Sony. I think you'll be ahead of the deal with the 950G.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed, my replacement 940D runs out of it's extended 2 year warranty on 10-10-2019.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #13168 of 13253 Old 09-26-2019, 12:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoppola View Post
The repair guy was right, my panel has gone bad (whatever that means). After a bit of wrangling with Sony support (their initial response was ... 1 year warranty, go away), they exchanging it for a new 75X950G for $1600, which is about half the current selling price at most places. I'm happy-ish with that.
Except no more 3D. I know it’s something that’s being phased out and many people don’t care, but I’ve invested quite a bit in 3D movies. I wish they’d start bringing 3D back in TV sets and not restrict it to movie theaters.
Supero100 and paligap like this.
Rambler358 is offline  
post #13169 of 13253 Old 09-26-2019, 05:33 AM
Member
 
scoppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambler358 View Post
Except no more 3D. I know it’s something that’s being phased out and many people don’t care, but I’ve invested quite a bit in 3D movies. I wish they’d start bringing 3D back in TV sets and not restrict it to movie theaters.
I did notice that. I only have two 3D movies, and I've never watched either one all the way through in 3D. I like the idea of it, but after 30 minutes or so it's just a distraction for me.
Sal1950 likes this.
scoppola is offline  
post #13170 of 13253 Old 09-28-2019, 08:02 AM
Member
 
Supero100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern New England
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Official 2016 Sony XBR75 X940D Owners thread: no price talk

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoppola View Post
I did notice that. I only have two 3D movies, and I've never watched either one all the way through in 3D. I like the idea of it, but after 30 minutes or so it's just a distraction for me.


Really dependent on the quality of the 3d separation. There are a handful of movies in my collection that 3d really enhances the storytelling. Other times, I find it simply more immersive. I have buttkickers installed alongside a 7.2.4 Triton Cinema. Some movies that have great sound design and high quality 3d are truly spectacular, and, I think eclipse the immersion I experience with 4k.
I’m not looking forward to the day I lose 3D.
Rambler358 likes this.

Last edited by Supero100; 09-28-2019 at 10:01 AM.
Supero100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
3d-glasses , paring , x940d

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off