Official 2016 Sony XBR75 X940D Owners thread: no price talk - Page 92 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 17141Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 13198 Old 06-14-2016, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
Thanks for letting me know this! I will try to see if they will refund me $500 also!
Got it! Bought Sony 940D near end of April and still got them to refund difference! Nice of Best Buy!👍
zAndy12, brickyardz and kgraf18 like this.

Last edited by Bigmoviefan; 06-14-2016 at 03:04 PM.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 13198 Old 06-14-2016, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Got my set in this morning. I've been jacking with it all day.
I think I like it.

It has taken a while to get it where I like it, but I think it's close. Also had to set the Harmony Elite up for it. I'll report back once I view it in absolute darkness tonight.

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #2733 of 13198 Old 06-14-2016, 07:29 PM
Member
 
CannonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by salavs View Post
I've tried out both ARC and S/PDIF for TV to AVR connection. My findings were that it is a function of every component in your chain and how you are using them. In my case I am using my AVR (Marantz SR6010) as an HDMI switch (35+ foot run from component rack to TV). Since I have only one HDMI connection from my AVR to the TV I turned on "enhanced mode" for this input (HDMI4/ARC input). This caused issues with my U-Verse STB as it would not send audio to the AVR. As soon as I turned off "enhanced mode" the audio would start working. I solved this by running both HDMI and S/PDIF from U-Verse to AVR. I also could not get ARC working properly without turning on Bravia Sync (not sure if I did something wrong) but this caused other undesirable effects with power on/off getting horribly confused and the set going "unresponsive" on me (I use a Harmony universal remote). What I ideally wanted was ARC on, but no CEC. I could not get this working reliably. I eventually gave up on ARC and switched to using S/PDIF output from the TV to my AVR.

Moral of the story, I've found that whether ARC works for you is not just a function of the TV, but more of your entire component chain and how you are using it. In some combinations it works flawlessly and others are tricker. S/PDIF out was a rock solid alternative for me because I use Harmony remotes and am not interested in any HDMI control functions. Hopefully this helps you.
Thanks Salavs for your detailed experience. Sounds like a bit of a hit or miss.

2013 UN65F9000, 2015 SEK-3500U/ZA OCB
2013 PN51F8500, 2018 XBR-Z9F
CannonC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2734 of 13198 Old 06-14-2016, 07:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
Got my set in this morning. I've been jacking with it all day.
I think I like it.

It has taken a while to get it where I like it, but I think it's close. Also had to set the Harmony Elite up for it. I'll report back once I view it in absolute darkness tonight.
Congrats on your new Sony 940D.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #2735 of 13198 Old 06-14-2016, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
TomcatTLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil_ View Post
In Canada the MSRP of the KS9800 is $15,000. They've lost their mind, it's almost twice the price of the 940D!

Amazon has the Samsung UN88KS9810 listed with price but "Temporarily" out of stock at this time. Price ? If yah gotta ask yah probably can't afford it !
TomcatTLC is offline  
post #2736 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick334443 View Post
Hi guys...setting up my new XBR-75x940d. Looking forward to putting in Jerry's settings (thank you!), as the out of the box picture is not too impressive yet. Can someone please tell me how to put letters in for the wifi code using the remote as I just see numbers on the remote? Also, I have the xifinity x1 box. I read that you should not have this box upscale but rather have the tv. What setting should the video be set to (720p?). Thank you to all for your help!
Best upscaler is always the TV itself ... let the TV upscale, the disadvantage is by switching from 720p to maybe 1080i it takes a few seconds to Change the resolution
netguru76 is offline  
post #2737 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 08:46 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,896
Mentioned: 392 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11327 Post(s)
Liked: 6717
Quote:
Originally Posted by netguru76 View Post
Best upscaler is always the TV itself ... let the TV upscale, the disadvantage is by switching from 720p to maybe 1080i it takes a few seconds to Change the resolution
Maybe you missed the previous discussion--the xfinity box evidently does not have a setting that turns off its up-scaling. If this is the case, what are you recommending?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2738 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by salavs View Post
I've tried out both ARC and S/PDIF for TV to AVR connection. My findings were that it is a function of every component in your chain and how you are using them. In my case I am using my AVR (Marantz SR6010) as an HDMI switch (35+ foot run from component rack to TV). Since I have only one HDMI connection from my AVR to the TV I turned on "enhanced mode" for this input (HDMI4/ARC input). This caused issues with my U-Verse STB as it would not send audio to the AVR. As soon as I turned off "enhanced mode" the audio would start working. I solved this by running both HDMI and S/PDIF from U-Verse to AVR. I also could not get ARC working properly without turning on Bravia Sync (not sure if I did something wrong) but this caused other undesirable effects with power on/off getting horribly confused and the set going "unresponsive" on me (I use a Harmony universal remote). What I ideally wanted was ARC on, but no CEC. I could not get this working reliably. I eventually gave up on ARC and switched to using S/PDIF output from the TV to my AVR.

Moral of the story, I've found that whether ARC works for you is not just a function of the TV, but more of your entire component chain and how you are using it. In some combinations it works flawlessly and others are tricker. S/PDIF out was a rock solid alternative for me because I use Harmony remotes and am not interested in any HDMI control functions. Hopefully this helps you.
Now that I am able to see the full picture on your setup I can better understand.

One of the issues you may be facing is due to the length of the run it might cause flaky operation of HDMI CEC. HDMI CEC uses IIC for communication which allows for all devices to be daisy chained and it is an open collector method of driving the line (allows for wired OR).

This type of topology is sensitive to impedance and capacitance. The longer the run the higher the capacitance. So you might need to look into changing your HDMI cable. Please also note that 4K at it's highest rate runs at 6Gbps/channel and it too does not like long runs.

Others here might have a good recommendation on a High Speed HDMI cable that might meet your requirement.
400MHz MAN is offline  
post #2739 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Does anybody know how to disable close captioning on the Sony Ultra Movies app?
It is forced on and I cannot disable it. No button on the remote disables it, no setting in the app itself for it. Accessibility section has it all off.

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #2740 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper32 View Post
In a dark room the 940c with a full white background screen will hurt your eyes

I to look forward to seeing how many zones the 940D has, I will bet it is the same as the 940C myself. Just a hunch, because if it is allot more I still have three weeks I could return this 940C and get the sucker
Chad, who calibrated my TV Sunday, would agree with you! He said he thought they the C series versus the D series, had similar zones!
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #2741 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hey guys.....so I've set up my xbr-75x940d and truthfully I am not very impressed with the picture. I must need a little help. Color wise, it is similar to my previous xbr-65hx950, but the picture is not as clear. Do I need to do something to get the tv to upscale? (I have x1 set to output to the highest resolution). All 4 corners show shadowing, and although livable, it catches your eyes. I have tried AustinJerry's settings but too dim for me (probably because I was used to the way my other tv was set up), so I am using the stock standard setting. Any and all assistance greatly appeciated!

Last edited by Rick334443; 06-15-2016 at 09:57 AM.
Rick334443 is offline  
post #2742 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
salavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post
Now that I am able to see the full picture on your setup I can better understand.

One of the issues you may be facing is due to the length of the run it might cause flaky operation of HDMI CEC. HDMI CEC uses IIC for communication which allows for all devices to be daisy chained and it is an open collector method of driving the line (allows for wired OR).

This type of topology is sensitive to impedance and capacitance. The longer the run the higher the capacitance. So you might need to look into changing your HDMI cable. Please also note that 4K at it's highest rate runs at 6Gbps/channel and it too does not like long runs.

Others here might have a good recommendation on a High Speed HDMI cable that might meet your requirement.
Thanks. So one little detail I neglected to mention is that the 35+ foot run is "intended deployment". The in-wall wiring and wall mounting is pending :-) What I have currently hooked up (which is exhibiting these issues) is an 8ft Rocketfish cable:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...YM68F1PCMX17WX

Given the shorter run, I was less inclined to worry about cable quality issues. Certainly not ruling out cables, but wanted to make sure current hookup was clear to all.

I am spending a lot of time reading the various 4k @ 60Hz 4:4:4 threads for long HDMI runs :-) Looking at the Celerity active, BJC series 1 as well as some of the newer Monoprice cables (Luxe CL3) as potential options. I will be ordering something today/tomorrow and will report back my findings with those cables (likely on the cable threads). PM me if you are interested, and if I get enough interest from owners, I'll add my findings here as well.
salavs is offline  
post #2743 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick334443 View Post
Hey guys.....so I've set up my xbr-75x940d and truthfully I am not very impressed with the picture. I must need a little help. Color wise, it is similar to my previous xbr-65hx950, but the picture is not as clear. Do I need to do something to get the tv to upscale? (I have x1 set to output to the highest resolution). All 4 corners show shadowing, and although livable, it catches your eyes. I have tried AustinJerry's settings but too dim for me (probably because I was used to the way my other tv was set up), so I am using the stock standard setting. Any and all assistance greatly appeciated!
What source are you using to watch content? Do you have DISH/Cable/Direct TV?

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #2744 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
What source are you using to watch content? Do you have DISH/Cable/Direct TV?
thanks... I have the xfinity x1 box
Rick334443 is offline  
post #2745 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick334443 View Post
thanks... I have the xfinity x1 box
I do not know if there is a way to set the output settings on the X1 box, should be on the best setting. I have FIOS and my set top box is set to 1080i

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #2746 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick334443 View Post
thanks... I have the xfinity x1 box
Maybe this might help.
https://customer.xfinity.com/help-an...-video-display

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #2747 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
Does anybody know how to disable close captioning on the Sony Ultra Movies app?
It is forced on and I cannot disable it. No button on the remote disables it, no setting in the app itself for it. Accessibility section has it all off.
The icon to enable/disable and configure closed captions is on-screen at the top left of the picture. Use the up-arrow on the D-pad to bring it up on screen.
markrubin and brickyardz like this.
400MHz MAN is offline  
post #2748 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post
The icon to enable/disable and configure closed captions is on-screen at the top left of the picture. Use the up-arrow on the D-pad to bring it up on screen.
^^ Thanks!!!!

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #2749 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 5,529
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 1048
940D and Audio

O.K. I spent three weeks trying to get the audio tho work properly between my 940D and my Denon (4K) receiver. I wanted more than just the DD and DTS that ARC provided. I bit the bullet and hired the Geek Squad from Best Buy. It cost me $110.00 and was well worth it. It took them 25 minutes to do what I couldn't do in many hours of trying. I now get DD from the Sony Apps (Netflix, etc.) and high resolution audio from all other sources -- so it is possible to do by running just one HDMI (2.0a) cable from the Denon to the 940D to HDMI input No. 2 set to enhanced (not the ARC input). Finally!! BTW after the GS left Netflix would no longer work and I lost the ability to access the T.V.'s settings. I shut off the T.V. and pulled the plug and then replugged it and let it reboot -- everything now works as it should.

This is a great T.V. but it isn't perfect. I was hoping for better 3D but it is what it is. I've spent a lot of time scrutinizing 3D images over the past 5 or 6 years and as a result I have become very sensitized to ghosting -- and other artifacts. One of those artifacts is called trailing (seen in both 2D and 3D material). To me it looks like a ripple effect that quickly dissipates and is seen where a darker object moves across a lighter background. It is as if the prior frame(s) isn't extinguished fast enough and leaves a residue behind or in front of the moving object for a split second. It doesn't happen very often but it is noticeable (at least to me) when it does occur. My 940D definitely has an issue with this but it can be ameliorated by turning all contrast enhancements to off.

This T.V. isn't cheap but given the price of the competition in this size category it is IMO a bargain.
brickyardz and hifi123 like this.
Deja Vu is offline  
post #2750 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
^^ interesting. So you actually use HDMI2, set to Enhanced? Any other settings?

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #2751 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gomo657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,918
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick334443 View Post
thanks... I have the xfinity x1 box


The X1 doesn't have native your choices are 720p,1080i and 1080p/60 most choose the latter because scaling of the few 720 channels appear better at 1080p. It's best to try both and use the one that has the least artifacts. FYI there's a 4K box coming before the Olympics.

"well you know what doctor I'm going to go home take two aspirins and call you a b****"
gomo657 is offline  
post #2752 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja Vu View Post
This T.V. isn't cheap but given the price of the competition in this size category it is IMO a bargain.
I guess you forgot Vizio's 75" P series....
ricebrah is offline  
post #2753 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Is anybody using an HTPC with their 940D?
Have you displayed the 2 4:4:4 test images on it? What were your results?
nj1420 likes this.

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #2754 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 01:23 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,896
Mentioned: 392 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11327 Post(s)
Liked: 6717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick334443 View Post
thanks... I have the xfinity x1 box
To really assess the PQ, I recommend viewing a high-quality source like a Blu-Ray disk. If you can get the settings dialed in so that Blu-Ray looks good, and you are still disappointed with the signal from the xfinity, then the xfinity is the problem.
brickyardz, stevepow and TomcatTLC like this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #2755 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 5,529
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 1048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
^^ interesting. So you actually use HDMI2, set to Enhanced? Any other settings?
If I want to use my computer or the UHD player to play BDs I have to switch the HDMI cable to HDMI No. 1 on the T.V. (not enhanced). I can't get my computer or my UHD player to properly play BDs (non-HDR material) properly using a T.V. HDMI input when it is set to enhanced -- gamma, colours, etc. are all wrong).

The sync setting is turned off and so is the CEC setting.
Deja Vu is offline  
post #2756 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 5,529
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 1048
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricebrah View Post
I guess you forgot Vizio's 75" P series....
These are not yet available in Canada (as far as I know) so a no go at this time and I don't believe they will be sold outside of North America so if you live in Europe, U.K., Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand and so on you're out of luck. Also the Vizio T.V.s lack some features that are important to some -- i.e. 3D and a T.V. tuner.
Deja Vu is offline  
post #2757 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 03:41 PM
Member
 
Gord Lacey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Red face

Well, I guess I'm pulling the trigger tomorrow. I've gotten through 53 pages of the posts on here, and it sounds as though pretty much everyone is happy with the TV. I'll head to Best Buy tomorrow because it's the last day of the sale they have (and they seem to be the only one in Canada that has these things), and I'll pick up the X904D, and a Denon AVR-X3200W (also on sale). I'm holding off on getting a player because I have a ton of unwatched BDs right now, and I expect I'll get whatever that new PS4 is, whenever it comes out.

Old System:
Sony KDSR60XBR2 (10 years old!)
Denon 3808ci

New System:
XBR75X940D
Denon AVR-X3200W

Crazy thing is, the KDSR60XBR2 was so big with the dumbo ear speakers that this 940D is pretty much the same size, even though it has 15" more screen.

Time to pay off my credit card, then read another 50-something pages of this thread before tomorrow.
brickyardz and bruceames like this.
Gord Lacey is offline  
post #2758 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 03:50 PM
Member
 
jken3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja Vu View Post
940D and Audio

O.K. I spent three weeks trying to get the audio tho work properly between my 940D and my Denon (4K) receiver. I wanted more than just the DD and DTS that ARC provided. I bit the bullet and hired the Geek Squad from Best Buy. It cost me $110.00 and was well worth it. It took them 25 minutes to do what I couldn't do in many hours of trying. I now get DD from the Sony Apps (Netflix, etc.) and high resolution audio from all other sources -- so it is possible to do by running just one HDMI (2.0a) cable from the Denon to the 940D to HDMI input No. 2 set to enhanced (not the ARC input). Finally!! BTW after the GS left Netflix would no longer work and I lost the ability to access the T.V.'s settings. I shut off the T.V. and pulled the plug and then replugged it and let it reboot -- everything now works as it should.

This is a great T.V. but it isn't perfect. I was hoping for better 3D but it is what it is. I've spent a lot of time scrutinizing 3D images over the past 5 or 6 years and as a result I have become very sensitized to ghosting -- and other artifacts. One of those artifacts is called trailing (seen in both 2D and 3D material). To me it looks like a ripple effect that quickly dissipates and is seen where a darker object moves across a lighter background. It is as if the prior frame(s) isn't extinguished fast enough and leaves a residue behind or in front of the moving object for a split second. It doesn't happen very often but it is noticeable (at least to me) when it does occur. My 940D definitely has an issue with this but it can be ameliorated by turning all contrast enhancements to off.

This T.V. isn't cheap but given the price of the competition in this size category it is IMO a bargain.
Sorry if I'm being obtuse, but if you are not using the ARC HDMI input (HDMI 4), then how is the sound getting from the Sony Apps to your Denon receiver?
zAndy12 likes this.
jken3 is offline  
post #2759 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
Is anybody using an HTPC with their 940D?
Have you displayed the 2 4:4:4 test images on it? What were your results?
Figured it out. Only "Graphics" and "Game" picture modes offer true 4:4:4.

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #2760 of 13198 Old 06-15-2016, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 5,529
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 1048
Quote:
Originally Posted by jken3 View Post
Sorry if I'm being obtuse, but if you are not using the ARC HDMI input (HDMI 4), then how is the sound getting from the Sony Apps to your Denon receiver?
That's the million dollar question and that is the reason I hired the Geeks -- and believe it or not they set it up properly within 25 minutes. I spent hours trying to do this -- as they said you've got to know what the various settings do. I just change the Denon to TV mode for the apps and it works! I could have saved myself a lot of time and frustration if I had had them do it in the first place. How hard could it be? Well, pretty damn hard (at least for me) -- that's how hard.
TomcatTLC likes this.
Deja Vu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
3d-glasses , paring , x940d

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off