Official 2016 Vizio M-Series Owner's Thread - Page 274 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5367Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8191 of 10262 Old 06-22-2017, 08:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Any suggestions on best calibration settings for 2016 M series 60" ? Model is M60-d1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
throwawayvizio likes this.
ssarava9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8192 of 10262 Old 06-22-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssarava9 View Post
Any suggestions on best calibration settings for 2016 M series 60" ? Model is M60-d1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I believe @The Coolest was going to run a new calibration on his M60-D1. I don't know if he's had the time, or I missed the post. The rtings settings are based on old firmware when they reviewed the 2016 M series almost a year ago. There have been a lot of changes implemented with the subsequent firmware releases.
throwawayvizio likes this.
sonoftumble is offline  
post #8193 of 10262 Old 06-22-2017, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I believe @The Coolest was going to run a new calibration on his M60-D1. I don't know if he's had the time, or I missed the post. The rtings settings are based on old firmware when they reviewed the 2016 M series almost a year ago. There have been a lot of changes implemented with the subsequent firmware releases.
Great, keeping my fingers crossed.

Thanks
throwawayvizio likes this.
ssarava9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8194 of 10262 Old 06-22-2017, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Everyone get their new Vizio XRT135 remote yet? It's to access the new on-screen menus. Got mine, works great.

Details of the new on screen menu:
https://support.vizio.com/s/article/...language=en_US

Remote comparison pictures & on-screen menu here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...irst-look.html
libertyforall is offline  
post #8195 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by libertyforall View Post
Everyone get their new Vizio XRT135 remote yet? It's to access the new on-screen menus. Got mine, works great.

Details of the new on screen menu:
https://support.vizio.com/s/article/...language=en_US

Remote comparison pictures & on-screen menu here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...irst-look.html
Sent an email to see if I could get one over a month ago still haven't.
Newguy4242 is offline  
post #8196 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 07:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by libertyforall View Post
Everyone get their new Vizio XRT135 remote yet? It's to access the new on-screen menus. Got mine, works great.

Details of the new on screen menu:
https://support.vizio.com/s/article/...language=en_US

Remote comparison pictures & on-screen menu here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...irst-look.html
Got the update much before the remote and remote arrived within a week after i called customer service to ship one, now keeping fingers crossed for the big update so that we can totally ignore the cast app on tablet / phone, its a total inconvenience.

Question to this forum, does anyone have idea whether the big update will enable the USB input to full fledge internal player like other TVs does or will it be a still dumb USB for firmware update and minimum play of media files (just stop and auto play)
ssarava9 is offline  
post #8197 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
Planatoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Please help me out, guys. I'm in conundrum zone. I purchased a refurb M65-D0 on Wal-Mart.com for $800 and it's waiting at the store for me to pickup. Alternatively, there's a Wal-Mart 1.5 hours away that has brand new M60-D1 in stock for $500. I'm thinking the M60-D1 is a better value, and @The Coolest seems pretty happy with his. Any thoughts?
Planatoid is offline  
post #8198 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
The M60 isn't that great for dark room viewing. It has good viewing angles, I'd say that it's about all it has going for it.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #8199 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
Planatoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
The M60 isn't that great for dark room viewing. It has good viewing angles, I'd say that it's about all it has going for it.
Do you regret your purchase at all? You think the M65 is worth an extra $300?
Planatoid is offline  
post #8200 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planatoid View Post
Do you regret your purchase at all? You think the M65 is worth an extra $300?
The M65-D0 is going to be the better choice and worth the extra $'s. IMAO You get the same top shelf features as the 70" and 80" models offer including the max dimming zones ( 64 ), 5 HDMI ports ( HDMI port 5 is the low latency gaming input ), excellent contrast and black levels. Awesome dark room viewing. Plus it's a 2016 model with 4K + HDR and the casting feature.
sonoftumble is offline  
post #8201 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
Planatoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
The M65-D0 is going to be the better choice and worth the extra $'s. IMAO You get the same top shelf features as the 70" and 80" models offer including the max dimming zones ( 64 ), 5 HDMI ports ( HDMI port 5 is the low latency gaming input ), excellent contrast and black levels. Awesome dark room viewing. Plus it's a 2016 model with 4K + HDR and the casting feature.
But I think the M60-D1 has 5 HDMI and the 64 dimming zones as well, and is a 2016 model. The main issues is the IPS panel, I think. Just trying to gauge whether VA panel and five more inches is worth $300, haha.
Planatoid is offline  
post #8202 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planatoid View Post
Do you regret your purchase at all? You think the M65 is worth an extra $300?
Can't say I regret buying it, but find it quite useless for dark viewing. I also don't really watch it much anymore (used by family mostly, who don't care). I only use it to watch HDR content, since my M55-C2 doesn't support HDR. With the M60-D1, HDR content most definitely requires some bias lighting, otherwise everything dark-black is just grey, and FALD doesn't save it. The limited native contrast can also be felt in dark scenes in SDR too, where the lack of details and grey wash out can be somewhat annoying.
I much prefer my 2015 M55.

If you need a TV with good FALD for a bright room, with good quality, wide viewing angle and HDR10+DV support, $500 for the M60-D1 is a steal.
But if you prefer to watch in a dark or dimly lit room, and a narrow viewing angle isn't a problem, the M65 will be superior in every way.

The M60-D1 has a 120Hz panel, 5 HDMI ports, 64 zones, etc. just like the bigger models, but the IPS panel lets it down.
My display also has a pink-ish blob on much of the left side of the screen, it's visible when looking at snow or foamy waves, it can drive me nuts sometimes.
wlp3D likes this.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #8203 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planatoid View Post
But I think the M60-D1 has 5 HDMI and the 64 dimming zones as well, and is a 2016 model. The main issues is the IPS panel, I think. Just trying to gauge whether VA panel and five more inches is worth $300, haha.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
Can't say I regret buying it, but find it quite useless for dark viewing. I also don't really watch it much anymore (used by family mostly, who don't care). I only use it to watch HDR content, since my M55-C2 doesn't support HDR. With the M60-D1, HDR content most definitely requires some bias lighting, otherwise everything dark-black is just grey, and FALD doesn't save it. The limited native contrast can also be felt in dark scenes in SDR too, where the lack of details and grey wash out can be somewhat annoying.
I much prefer my 2015 M55.

If you need a TV with good FALD for a bright room, with good quality, wide viewing angle and HDR10+DV support, $500 for the M60-D1 is a steal.
But if you prefer to watch in a dark or dimly lit room, and a narrow viewing angle isn't a problem, the M65 will be superior in every way.

The M60-D1 has a 120Hz panel, 5 HDMI ports, 64 zones, etc. just like the bigger models, but the IPS panel lets it down.
My display also has a pink-ish blob on much of the left side of the screen, it's visible when looking at snow or foamy waves, it can drive me nuts sometimes.
I would take @The Coolest advice. Of course, it really depends on how your going to use it. If gaming is a priority, and you don't care about the lesser PQ, then the M60's IPS panel is fine. If you want to take advantage of HDR and enjoy watching movies in a dark room, you will become quickly dissatisfied with the lack of inky black levels with the M60. If your priority is the latter, the M65's VA panel will bring out the "Dynamic" in HDR and will be worth the extra cash to have the much better PQ. Again, it depends on your viewing priorities.
wlp3D likes this.
sonoftumble is offline  
post #8204 of 10262 Old 06-23-2017, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This might be stupid Q but what's the point of the ethernet cable to your TV? aren't you casting everything via ur tablet anyways?
Markandeya Madabattula is offline  
post #8205 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 02:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@Markandeya Madabattula

Casting simply points the display to which video it should play, the video isn't streamed through the tablet.
shoman94 likes this.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #8206 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
ddvette9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 44
How does the M series handle live sports through cable. I'm deciding between an M series and a budget Sony and my main concern is motion handling for sports. Have read some not so good things about live sports on the Vizio but wanted to hear from owners in this thread. Thanks
ddvette9 is offline  
post #8207 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddvette9 View Post
How does the M series handle live sports through cable. I'm deciding between an M series and a budget Sony and my main concern is motion handling for sports. Have read some not so good things about live sports on the Vizio but wanted to hear from owners in this thread. Thanks
If you're asking about the 2016 M series there are all kinds of settings including Clear Action, Motion Blur, and Reduce Judder than will really keep the ball looking round ( if the ball is actually round ) when watching sporting events. However, you probably don't ever need to turn any of that stuff on, as this TV is great without it. I'm not sure what reviews you've read, but I haven't run across any for 2016 M's that indicate an issue with watching sports. To quote the rtings people: "Great motion for sports and low input lag for video games." The reviews of the 2017 M series also received similar accolades.

In fact, you would have to go back to pre-2014 Vizio models to find complaints from reviewers and users about motion handling.
wlp3D and PDlovesTV like this.
sonoftumble is offline  
post #8208 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 10:43 AM
Newbie
 
Planatoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
Can't say I regret buying it, but find it quite useless for dark viewing. I also don't really watch it much anymore (used by family mostly, who don't care). I only use it to watch HDR content, since my M55-C2 doesn't support HDR. With the M60-D1, HDR content most definitely requires some bias lighting, otherwise everything dark-black is just grey, and FALD doesn't save it. The limited native contrast can also be felt in dark scenes in SDR too, where the lack of details and grey wash out can be somewhat annoying.
I much prefer my 2015 M55.

If you need a TV with good FALD for a bright room, with good quality, wide viewing angle and HDR10+DV support, $500 for the M60-D1 is a steal.
But if you prefer to watch in a dark or dimly lit room, and a narrow viewing angle isn't a problem, the M65 will be superior in every way.

The M60-D1 has a 120Hz panel, 5 HDMI ports, 64 zones, etc. just like the bigger models, but the IPS panel lets it down.
My display also has a pink-ish blob on much of the left side of the screen, it's visible when looking at snow or foamy waves, it can drive me nuts sometimes.
Thanks, Coolest! I went with the M60-D1 and no regrets at all. Beautiful picture!
PDlovesTV likes this.
Planatoid is offline  
post #8209 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 11:24 AM
Member
 
bizzybody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have an M220NV. Nice TV, gets 43 ATSC channels with a crappy old RV antenna. Also works great as a 1080p computer monitor with HDMI.

The problem I have is with the Yahoo software in it. I can't login with my Yahoo credentials. Does it have a maximum password length? My Yahoo password is 18 characters. Does it require @Yahoo .com on the user ID or not? I found a backdoor code for the parental lock so I was able to do a full reset, which didn't fix the login rejection problem.

Since I replaced the mainboard with a supposedly "new" one (it had cable channels preprogrammed and the lock code, so not new!), it's had two firmware updates and downloaded several updates to the built in widgets, so someone/company hasn't cut off online support for this 7 or 8 year old TV yet.

I figured perhaps I could generate an "app password" for it, but Yahoo doesn't list YahooTV or ConnectedTV on that part of their account settings. Didn't have Thunderbird as an option either, but I added it, crossed my fingers and Thunderbird has (mostly) stopped complaining about the password being rejected.

Hello Yahoo's right hand? Meet Yahoo's left hand. They should get to know one another so they can work together in harmony instead of refusing to acknowledge the other even exists.

If there *is* a password length limit below 20-ish characters, I'm sure some of you can imagine how monumentally stupid I think that is... (One e-commerce site I use is still restricted to only EIGHT characters, and the admins refuse to increase it.)
bizzybody is offline  
post #8210 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@bizzybody

I think you're in the wrong thread, buddy.
This is a 2016 Vizio M series owner's thread.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #8211 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 02:51 PM
Member
 
bizzybody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
@bizzybody

I think you're in the wrong thread, buddy.
This is a 2016 Vizio M series owner's thread.
TV model starts with M... So where's a thread for other M series Vizio TVs?

I made an app password for "other" and it worked. Apparently the max limit for Yahoo ConnectedTV is 16 characters. Can't just put that on the login screen or even in the TV manual. That would be too convenient.
bizzybody is offline  
post #8212 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@bizzybody

The M220NV is a really old set (in terms of technology/generations), maybe there is no dedicated thread for it on the forum.
You can also use the search feature on the forum to look for other posts.
And if you can't find anything, open a new thread with your question.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #8213 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzybody View Post
TV model starts with M... So where's a thread for other M series Vizio TVs?

I made an app password for "other" and it worked. Apparently the max limit for Yahoo ConnectedTV is 16 characters. Can't just put that on the login screen or even in the TV manual. That would be too convenient.
This thread is specifically for the 2016 M series, and to a lesser extent the 2017 M's. Although it's possible that a subscriber to this thread may have the same model M series TV as you, most of us will probably not; and most likely will not have any useful advice as to how to fix your issue. Your TV is a bit on the vintage side which makes finding answers that more difficult. I found this thread in the forum, but it doesn't look like anyone's posted there since 2010.

Sorry I couldn't be more help: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...ireless-n.html
PDlovesTV likes this.
sonoftumble is offline  
post #8214 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddvette9 View Post
How does the M series handle live sports through cable. I'm deciding between an M series and a budget Sony and my main concern is motion handling for sports. Have read some not so good things about live sports on the Vizio but wanted to hear from owners in this thread. Thanks
About 50% or more of my content is sports through Directv and in a bind WatchESPN; this tv (M70-D3) is the best I've owned at handling sports-5 times better than Vizio's 2015 model (which I have and moved to MBR).
wlp3D likes this.

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast
rjhseven is offline  
post #8215 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lantana, FL
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssarava9 View Post
You are right , these settings doesn't create wow feel and I still feel rtings calibration is good for m series 60" which is ips panel


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RTINGS settings for the VA's don't look good on IPS panels (IMHO), TheCoolest has settings in this thread that are targeted at the previous FW, but an IPS paneled M60-D1.

Mains: Klipsch Quartets with upgraded tweeter/midrange diaphragms and X-overs from Mr. Crites.
Center: Klipsch Academy with upgraded tweeter diaphragms and X-overs from Mr. Crites.
Surrounds: Klipsch RS-25's
Sub: Emotiva Ultra 12
AV: Denon AVR-X4100W, Sony BDP-S6500, Vizio M60-D1 60" LCD
alkemyst is offline  
post #8216 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
alkemyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lantana, FL
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planatoid View Post
Thanks, Coolest! I went with the M60-D1 and no regrets at all. Beautiful picture!
I am happy with mine (I paid around $500 last christmas)...if I had the budget for a $1500+ set then I'd have made a different choice, but I really feel for under $1500 it's a great value. My next set I am going to shoot for OLED if anything.
PDlovesTV likes this.

Mains: Klipsch Quartets with upgraded tweeter/midrange diaphragms and X-overs from Mr. Crites.
Center: Klipsch Academy with upgraded tweeter diaphragms and X-overs from Mr. Crites.
Surrounds: Klipsch RS-25's
Sub: Emotiva Ultra 12
AV: Denon AVR-X4100W, Sony BDP-S6500, Vizio M60-D1 60" LCD
alkemyst is offline  
post #8217 of 10262 Old 06-24-2017, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3051 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemyst View Post
I am happy with mine (I paid around $500 last christmas)...if I had the budget for a $1500+ set then I'd have made a different choice, but I really feel for under $1500 it's a great value. My next set I am going to shoot for OLED if anything.
These sets are an incredible value, I think Vizio hit it out of the park with these.
sonoftumble and PDlovesTV like this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #8218 of 10262 Old 06-25-2017, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Converse, TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planatoid View Post
Thanks, Coolest! I went with the M60-D1 and no regrets at all. Beautiful picture!
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemyst View Post
I am happy with mine (I paid around $500 last christmas)...if I had the budget for a $1500+ set then I'd have made a different choice, but I really feel for under $1500 it's a great value. My next set I am going to shoot for OLED if anything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
These sets are an incredible value, I think Vizio hit it out of the park with these.
I completely agree with these statements! I bought my M60-D0 a month or so ago for $500 from Walmart and don't regret it at all. For the price, it's an excellent TV. So far my only issues have been the fact that you have to cast everything from the tablet remote (or a device with the VizRemote app installed on it) and the kind of dirty appearance of large areas of the same color ( golf greens, blue skies, etc.). Hopefully the new firmware update this summer will alleviate issue #1. Not sure what to do with issue #2 , but it's not a big deal most of the time. Again, for 500 bucks, I'm not really complaining as the positives greatly outweigh the negatives.
PDlovesTV is offline  
post #8219 of 10262 Old 06-25-2017, 10:27 AM
Member
 
asolor78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmarkw View Post
@sonoftumble for your HDR 11 point settings do we use the SDR numbers? I see the HDR-10 Color Tuner settings but you mentioned you only had to change the 30% & 80% but I dont see them listed?

The 30%/80% are a.k.a. Offset ( 30% ) and Gain ( 80% ). That's all the adjustments needed. I know it sounds weird, but after I made those two adjustments, the rest of the readings were under 3% error. Also, HDR-10 takes over 11 point, and there is a different curve called the EOTF which tracked very nicely. I've watched several movies in the last couple of days ( Life of Pi, Oblivion, Dead Pool ) and the colors and flesh tones look absolutely awesome and natural.
its been a long hot week in Dallas, tx and with the rain that came in and these new calibrations for hdr10 have to say I'm enjoying my stay inside home. One quick question and I'm sure it's been answered but confusion arises the hdr10 with son of tumble the 30 and 80% information does that mean that everything else should be zeroed out and the CMS table and also the 11 points?... only reason i ask is when ising nvidia shield, hdr10 via netflix for example only overlays the current calibration setting,I do hope vizio makes it easy to distinguish hdr specific calibrations in the supposed big update....
asolor78 is offline  
post #8220 of 10262 Old 06-25-2017, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by asolor78 View Post
confusion arises the hdr10 with son of tumble the 30 and 80% information does that mean that everything else should be zeroed out and the CMS table and also the 11 points?... only reason i ask is when ising nvidia shield, hdr10 via netflix for example only overlays the current calibration setting,I do hope vizio makes it easy to distinguish hdr specific calibrations in the supposed big update....
Hey @asolor78 ,

Hope you're staying dry. With my current setup, I have a single custom picture mode, and then a Color Tuner and 11 point table for SDR, and a separate Color Tuner and 11 point table for HDR-10. These two tables load automatically depending on whether the content is SDR or HDR-10. When the HDR-10 table is loaded all the settings are zeroed except the Gain and Offset ( 30%/80% ). I made those adjustments while playing HDR-10 content on my Sammy K8500 Blu-ray. When I play SDR content, my Rev 5 settings reload.

I'm not seeing any overlap between the SDR and HDR-10 tables. My advice is to reset the color tuner. You may need to do it twice - i.e. reset when playing SDR content and then reset again when playing HDR-10 content. Re-enter the settings for SDR, then play HDR-10 content and enter those two Gain/Offset settings. At that point you should be good.

Also, make sure to check that the TV is actually getting an HDR-10 signal from one of your sources. Use the SmartCast app: Settings/System/System Info/Display Info to verify. If you are using a Vizio IR remote, press the "Info" button and you will see the info banner pop up on the top of the screen. If you're getting HDR-10 is will say it.
sonoftumble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016 , m-series , m70-d3 , m80-d3 , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off