Official 2016 Vizio M-Series Owner's Thread - Page 330 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5367Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9871 of 10262 Old 03-20-2018, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobosrul View Post
That'd be fine it I was happy with said boxes. I use an Nvidia Shield TV to do HDR10 from Amazon. But it won't auto switch refresh rates, so I need to know what I'm waching and switch beforehand. Then after 10 or 15 minutes I start to get micro-stuttering. Also some people like a clean look with nothing but the TV on the wall (of course if a streaming stick is capable then that wouldn't matter.) I have a Roku on another TV, wont do 24Hz properly, and none of their boxes do DV. I also tried out a FireTV a few years back... my god what an awful interface.

Of course the root of the frickin problem is Amazon's childish refusal to support casting. If it weren't for that I wouldn't much care about the app on the TV not supporting HDR.
Nothing is perfect, but for me Apple TV 4k is the closest there is, currently. Best designed apps, best UI and it supports Dolby Vision.

I had the Shield and gave it away, the micro-stuttering was unwatchable, to my eyes Dolby Vision seems to pop (in a good way) more than HDR10 on the Vizio, plus the Shield is effectively end-of-lifed by NVIDIA and Android TV has no traction with developers. Roku's UI is ugly and many of the apps are even uglier. FireTV is OK, but not nearly as polished as Apple TV. All of them beat casting (I don't want to fumble for my phone or iPad to pause a video), or Vizio's laggy and limited built in apps.

So, get an Apple TV....

P.S. I do agree that VIzio should update the M series to Amazon HDR, if updating other effectively identical sets. If there is a technical or financial issue, it should be disclosed by Vizio, or they will lose some of their fans and repeat customers.
sonoftumble likes this.

Last edited by Ryan1; 03-20-2018 at 04:16 PM.
Ryan1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9872 of 10262 Old 03-20-2018, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lobosrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan1 View Post
Nothing is perfect, but for me Apple TV 4k is the closest there is, currently. Best designed apps, best UI and it supports Dolby Vision.

I had the Shield and gave it away, the micro-stuttering was unwatchable, to my eyes Dolby Vision seems to pop (in a good way) more than HDR10 on the Vizio, plus the Shield is effectively end-of-lifed by NVIDIA and Android TV has no traction with developers. Roku's UI is ugly and many of the apps are even uglier. FireTV is OK, but not nearly as polished as Apple TV. All of them beat casting (I don't want to fumble for my phone or iPad to pause a video), or Vizio's laggy and limited built in apps.

So, get an Apple TV....

P.S. I do agree that VIzio should update the M series to Amazon HDR, if updating other effectively identical sets. If there is a technical or financial issue, it should be disclosed by Vizio, or they will lose some of their fans and repeat customers.
See I don't mind casting one bit, its why I wanted a "SmartCast" TV. I even knew Amazon didn't support it, but figured they'd cave. That was 18 months ago, still waiting
lobosrul is offline  
post #9873 of 10262 Old 03-21-2018, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Central NY
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan1 View Post
All of them beat casting (I don't want to fumble for my phone or iPad to pause a video)
For what it's worth, you can pause Smartcast/Chromecast with the TV remote or any programmed remote.
amnigo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9874 of 10262 Old 03-21-2018, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Sacrament055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobosrul View Post
That'd be fine it I was happy with said boxes. I use an Nvidia Shield TV to do HDR10 from Amazon. But it won't auto switch refresh rates, so I need to know what I'm waching and switch beforehand. Then after 10 or 15 minutes I start to get micro-stuttering. Also some people like a clean look with nothing but the TV on the wall (of course if a streaming stick is capable then that wouldn't matter.) I have a Roku on another TV, wont do 24Hz properly, and none of their boxes do DV. I also tried out a FireTV a few years back... my god what an awful interface.

Of course the root of the frickin problem is Amazon's childish refusal to support casting. If it weren't for that I wouldn't much care about the app on the TV not supporting HDR.
Interesting that you mention micro stuttering. I've noticed it on another external source and found that if I enable Game Low Latency mode I don't have that problem. Seems to me the issue might be the TV trying to process the picture is causing the stutter.
Ryan1, lobosrul and _spasm_ like this.
Sacrament055 is offline  
post #9875 of 10262 Old 03-21-2018, 07:49 PM
Member
 
godfather927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I just received the 4.0.23.2 update and lost Dolby Vision support for all Vudu titles. Prior to this update, only vudu titles newer than Spiderman Homecoming were defaulting to HDR10. Oddly enough, now those same titles lost any HDR support and just display as 4k only. Incredibly disappointing.
godfather927 is offline  
post #9876 of 10262 Old 03-22-2018, 06:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfather927 View Post
I just received the 4.0.23.2 update and lost Dolby Vision support for all Vudu titles. Prior to this update, only vudu titles newer than Spiderman Homecoming were defaulting to HDR10. Oddly enough, now those same titles lost any HDR support and just display as 4k only. Incredibly disappointing.
@godfather927 can you check if Amazon Prime got the HDR cert assuming you have a prime account? Per the release notes (listed below) HDR Certification for 2016 and 2017 M and P series Not sure what this really means but maybe those support people on Reddit were wrong??

Vizio Released This 4.0.23.2 Firmware Note:

Update the Cast Shell to 1.27
HDR Certification for 2016 and 2017 M and P series
Fix for casting DirecTV now app 30 second loop problem
Alexa Performance improvements
p65-e1 white line issue fix
CEC Auto Naming
Correction to blue screen when casting Spotify
General/overall system improvements.
wmarkw is offline  
post #9877 of 10262 Old 03-22-2018, 08:32 AM
Member
 
godfather927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmarkw View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfather927 View Post
I just received the 4.0.23.2 update and lost Dolby Vision support for all Vudu titles. Prior to this update, only vudu titles newer than Spiderman Homecoming were defaulting to HDR10. Oddly enough, now those same titles lost any HDR support and just display as 4k only. Incredibly disappointing.
@godfather927 can you check if Amazon Prime got the HDR cert assuming you have a prime account? Per the release notes (listed below) HDR Certification for 2016 and 2017 M and P series Not sure what this really means but maybe those support people on Reddit were wrong??

Vizio Released This 4.0.23.2 Firmware Note:

Update the Cast Shell to 1.27
HDR Certification for 2016 and 2017 M and P series
Fix for casting DirecTV now app 30 second loop problem
Alexa Performance improvements
p65-e1 white line issue fix
CEC Auto Naming
Correction to blue screen when casting Spotify
General/overall system improvements.
I don't have prime, sorry. I may have a couple movies still in my Amazon library, but I'm pretty sure they're too old to be HDR.
godfather927 is offline  
post #9878 of 10262 Old 03-22-2018, 03:26 PM
Member
 
mjohnson4580's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is there a link to download the update?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
mjohnson4580 is offline  
post #9879 of 10262 Old 03-22-2018, 07:49 PM
Member
 
cheapskateaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan1 View Post
Nothing is perfect, but for me Apple TV 4k is the closest there is, currently. Best designed apps, best UI and it supports Dolby Vision.

I had the Shield and gave it away, the micro-stuttering was unwatchable, to my eyes Dolby Vision seems to pop (in a good way) more than HDR10 on the Vizio, plus the Shield is effectively end-of-lifed by NVIDIA and Android TV has no traction with developers. Roku's UI is ugly and many of the apps are even uglier. FireTV is OK, but not nearly as polished as Apple TV. All of them beat casting (I don't want to fumble for my phone or iPad to pause a video), or Vizio's laggy and limited built in apps.

So, get an Apple TV....

P.S. I do agree that VIzio should update the M series to Amazon HDR, if updating other effectively identical sets. If there is a technical or financial issue, it should be disclosed by Vizio, or they will lose some of their fans and repeat customers.
When I bought the Premiere+, the price was relatively good and it had HDR10 and many apps. However, when I finally got Netflix, it has many distracting handshakes? when moving from menu to show and back + the red cast on Bosch. I started using SmartCast for Netflix and thought its image was a hair better than on Roku. I haven't watched enough DV episodes to have a strong opinion there yet. As for Apple, the house is about 50/50 Apple and Google eco systems. So the ATV4 would fit well but at a cost.

It does not appear that there will be a groundswell of 2016 M owners demanding Amazon HDR(this thread is dying quickly now) and although Vizio_support now admits that there is no technical issue for the 2016 M series to support Amazon HDR, my assumption is that it is a lower priority that the newer and more costly versions. Does anyone know if there is a Vizio cost for each certification?

Display: Vizio M55D0
Sources: Roku Premiere+, Google Fiber TV, Denon DVD-2500BTCI, Sony UBP-X800, Toshiba HD-A35, Sony CDP-222ES
Audio: 7CH system, Denon AVR-2300W, NorthCreekMusic Rhythm L/R/C, Paradigm dipole surrounds, NCM back surrounds
cheapskateaudiophile is offline  
post #9880 of 10262 Old 03-22-2018, 07:53 PM
Newbie
 
btimms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfather927 View Post
I just received the 4.0.23.2 update and lost Dolby Visi've n support for all Vudu titles. Prior to this update, only vudu titles newer than Spiderman Homecoming were defaulting to HDR10. Oddly enough, now those same titles lost any HDR support and just display as 4k only. Incredibly disappointing.
Is there a way to stop the update! I dont want to lose DV for Vudu.
btimms is offline  
post #9881 of 10262 Old 03-22-2018, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
videogamelover5122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btimms View Post
Is there a way to stop the update! I dont want to lose DV for Vudu.
if it hasnt yet go to your wireless router and block the Tv from connecting to the net
videogamelover5122 is offline  
post #9882 of 10262 Old 03-23-2018, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by videogamelover5122 View Post
if it hasnt yet go to your wireless router and block the Tv from connecting to the net
The only problem is he'll have to unblock the display if he wants to use Vudu, which is what he's worried about. Eventually the upgrade will get through. It would be nice to be able to configure the display to only upgrade firmware manually. I have the same issue with the Roku products -- there is no way to stop an update if you don't want it.
Scott M is offline  
post #9883 of 10262 Old 03-23-2018, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfather927 View Post
I just received the 4.0.23.2 update and lost Dolby Vision support for all Vudu titles. Prior to this update, only vudu titles newer than Spiderman Homecoming were defaulting to HDR10. Oddly enough, now those same titles lost any HDR support and just display as 4k only. Incredibly disappointing.
This is INSANE if its happening for everyone. I will check tonight to see (1) if I got the update and (2) if it has the same effect. If it does, I'm going to be very pissed and stop recommending Vizio to friends and family.
EliFTW is offline  
post #9884 of 10262 Old 03-23-2018, 11:11 AM
Member
 
godfather927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I just realized that Matt McRae left Vizio to become CEO of Arlo. That would likely explain the egregious oversight in this latest update. Very unfortunate as Matt was excellent in providing status updates and incorporating user feedback into the product. What a shame.
godfather927 is offline  
post #9885 of 10262 Old 03-26-2018, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
My M80-D3 just got 4.0.23.2 firmware, anyone find the release notes? They are not posted on Vizio's site. Just noticed some folks posted release notes, but gave no source!

Last edited by libertyforall; 03-26-2018 at 06:26 PM.
libertyforall is offline  
post #9886 of 10262 Old 03-26-2018, 05:52 PM
Member
 
cheapskateaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Angry just received 4.0.23.2 update

Initially I am seeing some of the things discussed on the 2017 M and P series threads. Working on further setup. My Roku 422 setup did not come thru X2300W receiver so guessing same issue exists as on other models. More info later.

Display: Vizio M55D0
Sources: Roku Premiere+, Google Fiber TV, Denon DVD-2500BTCI, Sony UBP-X800, Toshiba HD-A35, Sony CDP-222ES
Audio: 7CH system, Denon AVR-2300W, NorthCreekMusic Rhythm L/R/C, Paradigm dipole surrounds, NCM back surrounds
cheapskateaudiophile is offline  
post #9887 of 10262 Old 03-26-2018, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
Those who have a google home with this tv know you can tell google home to play a youtube video, and the tv will automatically turn on and play it.

So, why can't we do this??? Or mine won't do it?

display-your-weather-forcast-on-chromecast-with-google-home
Well I want to ask Siri to turn on my Vizio and control it via Apple HomeKit -- how about that Vizio?!
libertyforall is offline  
post #9888 of 10262 Old 03-26-2018, 10:09 PM
Member
 
cheapskateaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapskateaudiophile View Post
Initially I am seeing some of the things discussed on the 2017 M and P series threads. Working on further setup. My Roku 422 setup did not come thru X2300W receiver so guessing same issue exists as on other models. More info later.
My Roku Premiere+ did not work thru receiver at beginning as does happen a lot when the handshake setup is revised. I caught a Roku firmware update by chance at the same time and had to work thru that and totally re-initialize. I am running 4k 60hz 4:2:0 now and both Netflix and Amazon Prime are working with HDR10 on Roku. No HDR on Amazon SmartCast. I am seeing some flashing "white lines" about 7-10 % of screen heigth at about 20% up from screen bottom. There are enough to be really bothersome. Don't know if this is like P-series. This occurs randomly when watching roku even on menu screens. Have not tried UHD disk yet. Smartcast Youtube apps DO NOT WORK. They just flash and return to menu. Other wise image quality is comperable to previous firmware or slightly better, I.E. red/orange cast to Bosch on Roku I previously noted.

Display: Vizio M55D0
Sources: Roku Premiere+, Google Fiber TV, Denon DVD-2500BTCI, Sony UBP-X800, Toshiba HD-A35, Sony CDP-222ES
Audio: 7CH system, Denon AVR-2300W, NorthCreekMusic Rhythm L/R/C, Paradigm dipole surrounds, NCM back surrounds
cheapskateaudiophile is offline  
post #9889 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 04:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Was watching Netflix - Santa Clarita Diet (Dolby Vision) - last night and noticed every time an episode would load the screen flashed a green tint and then went back to normal...maybe it was the flash of green but it appeared to me as though DV now has that green tint that some were complaining about with HDR-10 (yes, I'm using sonoftumble settings). After jumping on here noticed 4.0.23 was rolling out, checked and my display did update at some point yesterday so I'm wondering if this is something others are seeing with this update.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wlp3D is offline  
post #9890 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 06:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I got the update. Netflix DV still works amazon UHD works


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jstephens73 is offline  
post #9891 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstephens73 View Post
I got the update. Netflix DV still works amazon UHD works


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Amazon UHD or HDR via cast?
wmarkw is offline  
post #9892 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 07:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Using the built in GUI/SmartCast. Not tried yet to cast from my phone


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jstephens73 is offline  
post #9893 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lobosrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Got the update on my M60, no HDR on Amazon I would swear I saw a bit of a bump in PQ on Netflix DV. I don't have anything bought on Vudu to test.
lobosrul is offline  
post #9894 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Has anyone's M65-D0 received the update yet?
Roadwarrior123 is offline  
post #9895 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlp3D View Post
Was watching Netflix - Santa Clarita Diet (Dolby Vision) - last night and noticed every time an episode would load the screen flashed a green tint and then went back to normal...maybe it was the flash of green but it appeared to me as though DV now has that green tint that some were complaining about with HDR-10 (yes, I'm using sonoftumble settings). After jumping on here noticed 4.0.23 was rolling out, checked and my display did update at some point yesterday so I'm wondering if this is something others are seeing with this update.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Just to update from last night on my M55-D0...
- Amazon still just 4K UHD
- Vudu (see photos) still shows UHD DV Dolby Atmos however Vizio "info" button for tv shows 2160p Normal meaning the TV isn't receiving the HDR signal from Vudu from what I can tell
- Netflix DV still flashes green tint at load finish before "Netflix" intro screen (tried getting photo but phone is wanting to correct so almost impossible to tell in picture - slightly green vs the second picture of same movie)
Just wanting to see what everyone else is getting/feeling with this update. And kind of curious of the calibration on sonoftumble end when he has the time.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wlp3D is offline  
post #9896 of 10262 Old 03-27-2018, 07:29 PM
Member
 
cheapskateaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapskateaudiophile View Post
My Roku Premiere+ did not work thru receiver at beginning as does happen a lot when the handshake setup is revised. I caught a Roku firmware update by chance at the same time and had to work thru that and totally re-initialize. I am running 4k 60hz 4:2:0 now and both Netflix and Amazon Prime are working with HDR10 on Roku. No HDR on Amazon SmartCast. I am seeing some flashing "white lines" about 7-10 % of screen heigth at about 20% up from screen bottom. There are enough to be really bothersome. Don't know if this is like P-series. This occurs randomly when watching roku even on menu screens. Have not tried UHD disk yet. Smartcast Youtube apps DO NOT WORK. They just flash and return to menu. Other wise image quality is comperable to previous firmware or slightly better, I.E. red/orange cast to Bosch on Roku I previously noted.
As of this morning, both smartcast YouTube apps are now working. No HDR of course. Otherwise nothing much else seems to have changed based on very limited testing.

Display: Vizio M55D0
Sources: Roku Premiere+, Google Fiber TV, Denon DVD-2500BTCI, Sony UBP-X800, Toshiba HD-A35, Sony CDP-222ES
Audio: 7CH system, Denon AVR-2300W, NorthCreekMusic Rhythm L/R/C, Paradigm dipole surrounds, NCM back surrounds
cheapskateaudiophile is offline  
post #9897 of 10262 Old 03-28-2018, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,197
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 172
I love this tv:


80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #9898 of 10262 Old 03-28-2018, 10:04 AM
Member
 
gonavy34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I got my 4K Copy of Star Wars Ep VIII last night and was all excited to watch when Xbox One X let me down. Games play in HDR10 fine, as do many apps, but putting in a movie disc just plays 4K, no HDR...and to be honest, the quality looked 1080p or less.

Ended up using Vudu App on Xbox to watch movie in 4K HDR... disappointed that disc player is a problem. Don't know how to fix this one since obviously settings are good for everything else.

Suggestions?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
gonavy34 is offline  
post #9899 of 10262 Old 03-28-2018, 04:32 PM
Member
 
asolor78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ok, so, got lg up970, put in SW episode 8, Dolby vision settings by sonoftumble seem to have lost it's "umph".. did they change Dolby vision reference info.
Also hdr10 seems to have lost a little too, hope @sonoftumble can review this new update. I had hoped for more positive than negative also when playing Dolby vision there is a little banner at top when pressing info.. I guess that's a positive considering Vizio the currently the promotional tv for Last Jedi they should definitely update this TV with anything dolby Vision has given them.
asolor78 is offline  
post #9900 of 10262 Old 03-28-2018, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Receiving the firmware to my M65-D0 as I type.

Will post any irregularities or issues after it goes through.
Roadwarrior123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016 , m-series , m70-d3 , m80-d3 , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off