Official 2016 Vizio M-Series Owner's Thread - Page 340 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5368Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10171 of 10305 Old 12-17-2018, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,201
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 173
[QUOTE=sonoftumble;57264862]
Quote:
Originally Posted by asolor78 View Post


Of course, none of this has anything to do with what impact the newer firmware updates have had on the white balance or colors. I am planning on running a full calibration before Christmas and will post the results and settings.
Recently my tv Looks better than it ever has. I Don’t know if Comcast did some updates or it was my TV firmware updating but it looks great currently
sonoftumble likes this.

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10172 of 10305 Old 12-18-2018, 06:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I am having an interesting issue with my M65-D0 now, wondering if anyone has some suggestions. I have a gaming PC hooked into HDMI port 5 and ever since the firmware update to 5.0.14.1 I have been having issues. Basically what happens is when I am on the input and boot the PC, no picture or audio is sent through the TV, in order to get the TV to recognize the input I have to go into the input settings and switch the Full UHD Color either off or on, once that is done it is fine, but I have to do that every single time. Has anyone else been having this issue? I am guessing if I use HDMI ports 2-4 I should be fine, but I was hoping to keep using 5 due to the lower input lag.
Justin Richardson is offline  
post #10173 of 10305 Old 12-19-2018, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I did a random check on firmware and mine is currently updating from 5.0.14.1 to 5.0.16.1

Can anyone else confirm, and does anyone know what's in this update?

Based on the firmware version it would seem the update is minor.
Roadwarrior123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10174 of 10305 Old 12-21-2018, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadwarrior123 View Post
I did a random check on firmware and mine is currently updating from 5.0.14.1 to 5.0.16.1

Can anyone else confirm, and does anyone know what's in this update?

Based on the firmware version it would seem the update is minor.
Not sure what was in the update but it seems to have resolved the issue I was having.
Justin Richardson is offline  
post #10175 of 10305 Old 12-21-2018, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Richardson View Post
Not sure what was in the update but it seems to have resolved the issue I was having.
What kind of issue?
Roadwarrior123 is offline  
post #10176 of 10305 Old 12-21-2018, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Richardson View Post
So I am having an interesting issue with my M65-D0 now, wondering if anyone has some suggestions. I have a gaming PC hooked into HDMI port 5 and ever since the firmware update to 5.0.14.1 I have been having issues. Basically what happens is when I am on the input and boot the PC, no picture or audio is sent through the TV, in order to get the TV to recognize the input I have to go into the input settings and switch the Full UHD Color either off or on, once that is done it is fine, but I have to do that every single time. Has anyone else been having this issue? I am guessing if I use HDMI ports 2-4 I should be fine, but I was hoping to keep using 5 due to the lower input lag.
I have the same issue with my PS4 Pro. Need to see if the update fixed it.

Update: That fixed it.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20

Last edited by jedurocher; 12-22-2018 at 04:26 PM.
jedurocher is offline  
post #10177 of 10305 Old 12-22-2018, 03:26 PM
Member
 
asolor78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I come back to see some responses to my original post regarding pic quality of previous update and now I see that a 5.0.16.1 was updated... I read the Reddit post and it mentioned it just added "Amazon Alexa" commands.. but I'm going through a placebo effect of thinking the last update was actually a brighter image picture quality and a good one once I tinkered with backlight...but now I'm looking at some movies that I watched in previous firmware and it must of changed something..again not too mention Nvidia shield had an update also....but something's missing, I hate to factory reset but.. will do so if and when new @sonoftumble calibrations come out..
asolor78 is offline  
post #10178 of 10305 Old 12-25-2018, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Question about my M50-D1. I am not sure if this is an issue with the TV, soundbar, or 4K blu-ray player.

I have an LG UBK-90 4K UHD player. The player has two HDMI outs: HDMI 1 for video/audio and HDMI 2 for audio only. I have my Dolby Atmos soundbar connected to the Vizio TV HDMI 1 for ARC. The LG UBK-90 is connected to the TV HDMI 2 for video and directly to the sound bar for Audio, so I can get Atmos. When change the input to HDMI 2 on the Vizio TV to play a movie, I can see video, but no audio comes through my sound bar. I have the TV speakers turned off. However, when I turn the TV to HDMI 1, I can hear audio from my soundbar but no video (when makes sense because the input to the TV is the sound bar. The weird thing is that when I unplug the HDMI cable from the Vizio HDMI 1, I am able to see video and hear audio.

Is there a setting on the TV that is causing the issue? Thanks
bigasiannd is offline  
post #10179 of 10305 Old 12-26-2018, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigasiannd View Post
Question about my M50-D1. I am not sure if this is an issue with the TV, soundbar, or 4K blu-ray player.



I have an LG UBK-90 4K UHD player. The player has two HDMI outs: HDMI 1 for video/audio and HDMI 2 for audio only. I have my Dolby Atmos soundbar connected to the Vizio TV HDMI 1 for ARC. The LG UBK-90 is connected to the TV HDMI 2 for video and directly to the sound bar for Audio, so I can get Atmos. When change the input to HDMI 2 on the Vizio TV to play a movie, I can see video, but no audio comes through my sound bar. I have the TV speakers turned off. However, when I turn the TV to HDMI 1, I can hear audio from my soundbar but no video (when makes sense because the input to the TV is the sound bar. The weird thing is that when I unplug the HDMI cable from the Vizio HDMI 1, I am able to see video and hear audio.



Is there a setting on the TV that is causing the issue? Thanks
Do you have the audio on the LG Player set to auto or manual? If set to auto, it may be how the sound is being sent from the player.

I had HUGE sync issues with my sound bar, this player, and the T and and had to go optical to my bar, but my sound bar is HDMI 1.4. (A whole other story)

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #10180 of 10305 Old 12-27-2018, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
Do you have the audio on the LG Player set to auto or manual? If set to auto, it may be how the sound is being sent from the player.

I had HUGE sync issues with my sound bar, this player, and the T and and had to go optical to my bar, but my sound bar is HDMI 1.4. (A whole other story)

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
I tried auto and HDMI 2 out on the LG player. Neither of them would produce audio from the soundbar. I had to disconnect the HDMI 1 from the TV to get the sound to work. I am now using the optical out from the TV to the soundbar until I can figure out a fix.
bigasiannd is offline  
post #10181 of 10305 Old 12-27-2018, 08:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigasiannd View Post
I tried auto and HDMI 2 out on the LG player. Neither of them would produce audio from the soundbar. I had to disconnect the HDMI 1 from the TV to get the sound to work. I am now using the optical out from the TV to the soundbar until I can figure out a fix.
That's a similar issue I had with audio and this tv. Had to just run it as you did to HDMI 1 and optical out. Would love to have HD audio, but I really like the gorgeous picture better.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #10182 of 10305 Old 12-30-2018, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a M70D3 and a Denon S900w AVR. For Christmas I finally broke down and purchased a 4K player. I purchased the Sony U700.
At first I connected the 4k player to the blu ray input on the AVR and am coming out of the Denon ARC output to HDMI 1 on the Vizio. I noticed upon playing Infinity War 4k that it was coming in 1080. I then took the 4k player and connected it straight to HDMI 1 of the display and now I see the movie in 4K. I assume the Denon S900w cannot push through the 4k signal? I have the Denon setup for 4k so not sure what’s up there.
Should I leave the 4k player connected to HDMI 1 on the display and reconnect the X1 cable box coimg through the AVR to HDMI 5?
Thanks for this great M series thread.
Steve429 is offline  
post #10183 of 10305 Old 01-02-2019, 08:56 PM
Member
 
Confusedsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bad LED strips?

Purchased in August (damage replacement in Sept) and starting to see darker areas of the screen. At first I didn't think much of it then started looking around and am now wondering how long the set has been like this and wish I would've realized what was going on then.

Is this bad LED strips? The pictures do make it look worse than it is and there is still picture where the dark areas are so am a bit confused.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190102_223723.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	237.9 KB
ID:	2504648   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190102_223929.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	307.6 KB
ID:	2504650  
Confusedsoul is offline  
post #10184 of 10305 Old 01-04-2019, 06:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Confusedsoul View Post
Purchased in August (damage replacement in Sept) and starting to see darker areas of the screen. At first I didn't think much of it then started looking around and am now wondering how long the set has been like this and wish I would've realized what was going on then.



Is this bad LED strips? The pictures do make it look worse than it is and there is still picture where the dark areas are so am a bit confused.
Looks like what I saw on mine when the backlight went out. I had the bottom left corner go out. I would call Vizio.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #10185 of 10305 Old 01-04-2019, 10:25 PM
Member
 
Confusedsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
Looks like what I saw on mine when the backlight went out. I had the bottom left corner go out. I would call Vizio.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk



Not under warranty anymore unfortunately.
Confusedsoul is offline  
post #10186 of 10305 Old 01-05-2019, 09:26 AM
Member
 
asolor78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 12
@sonoftumble any progress on new calibrations, I know with CES 2019 your usually a busy guy during it all, but just seeing if anything drastically changed..5.0.13 was a great image..then 5.0.16 reverted back to horrible pic image..... Also on a CES note is it me or HDMI 2.1 seems a bit fast forward at this point... I mean I've yet too see 1080p broadcasting...let alone dedicated 4k network..so how did we advance to an 8k outlook.. I know there is more to HDMI 2.1 but didn't expect that till another 2 years..feel like my 2016 is now a rear projector t.v... didn't intend to update this until after 2022..but let's hope it last that long
asolor78 is offline  
post #10187 of 10305 Old 01-05-2019, 11:35 AM
Member
 
crackthewhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
I have a M70D3 and a Denon S900w AVR. For Christmas I finally broke down and purchased a 4K player. I purchased the Sony U700. At first I connected the 4k player to the blu ray input on the AVR and am coming out of the Denon ARC output to HDMI 1 on the Vizio. I noticed upon playing Infinity War 4k that it was coming in 1080. I then took the 4k player and connected it straight to HDMI 1 of the display and now I see the movie in 4K. I assume the Denon S900w cannot push through the 4k signal? I have the Denon setup for 4k so not sure what’s up there. Should I leave the 4k player connected to HDMI 1 on the display and reconnect the X1 cable box coming through the AVR to HDMI 5? Thanks for this great M series thread.
You might want to search the following thread for any pass-thru issues with your AVR. I think I remember someone else commenting about this many moons ago:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...hread-faq.html

I assume you are using certified HDMI cables (rated for 4K and 18Gbs) for the AVR HDMI inputs and output. Otherwise it's likely an incorrect HDMI setting on your AVR that is blocking the video pass-thru. And yes, you want to connect the AVR to HDMI 1 on the Vizio M display, as this is the only HDMI port that supports both HDMI 2.0 and HDR. If you are using several input devices to your AVR, confirm your HDMI settings are correct for each HDMI input on the AVR. If there is a setting for the HDMI output of the AVR, confirm it is also set correctly.
sonoftumble likes this.

Display: Vizio M65-D0 4K/HDR
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-530K 4K/HDR Pass-Thru
Media Player: AT&T DirecTV Now Beta Streaming Box
Remote: Logitech Harmony 700 and Harmony Hub
HDMI Cables: Monoprice Premium Certified 18Gbs
crackthewhip is offline  
post #10188 of 10305 Old 01-05-2019, 07:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by asolor78 View Post
@sonoftumble any progress on new calibrations, I know with CES 2019 your usually a busy guy during it all, but just seeing if anything drastically changed..5.0.13 was a great image..then 5.0.16 reverted back to horrible pic image..... Also on a CES note is it me or HDMI 2.1 seems a bit fast forward at this point... I mean I've yet too see 1080p broadcasting...let alone dedicated 4k network..so how did we advance to an 8k outlook.. I know there is more to HDMI 2.1 but didn't expect that till another 2 years..feel like my 2016 is now a rear projector t.v... didn't intend to update this until after 2022..but let's hope it last that long
What are the issues with 5.0.16? I updated when it came out and didn't notice any changes to picture, unless it hasn't been noticeable on the content I've watched. Has anyone else had issues?
Roadwarrior123 is offline  
post #10189 of 10305 Old 01-05-2019, 11:57 PM
Member
 
asolor78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well @
Roadwarrior123 I noticed on 5.0.13 that they managed to stop black crush HDR Dolby vision.. and it was the first time my colors and blacks were normal on my 2016 65inch mseried of which brought back my random brightness..now I have to be bumped up too 10+ ..so from a 50 brightness to a 60 when watching Dolby vision....but e color looked different...

since u mentioned no issues what calibrations are u using.and what system of video are u using (Nvidia shield..direct TV..appletv...)
asolor78 is offline  
post #10190 of 10305 Old 01-06-2019, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by asolor78 View Post
Well @
Roadwarrior123 I noticed on 5.0.13 that they managed to stop black crush HDR Dolby vision.. and it was the first time my colors and blacks were normal on my 2016 65inch mseried of which brought back my random brightness..now I have to be bumped up too 10+ ..so from a 50 brightness to a 60 when watching Dolby vision....but e color looked different...

since u mentioned no issues what calibrations are u using.and what system of video are u using (Nvidia shield..direct TV..appletv...)
I'm still on @sonoftumble from about a year ago. My display is probably due an updated calibration but a combination of recent firmware and limited time have kept me from dedicating a few homes to it. I'm still pretty impressed with the quality and some recent UHD titles (Mission Impossible Fallout and a few others) look great...but could probably look better.

@sonoftumble are you or have you done any recent calibrations?
Roadwarrior123 is offline  
post #10191 of 10305 Old 01-07-2019, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,207
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadwarrior123 View Post
What are the issues with 5.0.16? I updated when it came out and didn't notice any changes to picture, unless it hasn't been noticeable on the content I've watched. Has anyone else had issues?
I am noticing some green push lately. It hasn't bothered me enough to monkey with it myself, since I can only adjust by eyeballing. I figured I'd wait for @sonoftumble to free up one of these day (and inch closer to avs sainthood)
Ryan1 is offline  
post #10192 of 10305 Old 01-07-2019, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,207
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 254
I hope our TVs get updated with SmartCast 3. From CNET:

"And Vizio said its new SmartCast 3.0 technology will support AirPlay 2 and HomeKit. The integration will let users stream 4K and Dolby Vision HDR videos, along with music and photos, from their Apple devices to their big screens, simply by tapping the AirPlay icon. They also can mirror content such as web pages and presentations, as well as play music through Vizio SmartCast TVs and AirPlay 2-compatible speakers in multiple rooms at the same time.

The HomeKit integration lets users control their SmartCast TVs and their other smart home products using Apple's Home app or by talking to Apple's Siri digital assistant. Viewers can use their iPhones and iPads to turn their SmartCast TVs on or off from the Home app, change volume and switch inputs, and ask Siri via the iPhone and iPad to play movies, TV shows or music with AirPlay 2.

Registered beta members in the US and Canada will be able to access AirPlay 2 and HomeKit on Vizio TVs this quarter. In the second quarter, Vizio SmartCast 3.0 will roll out to other smart TV owners through free cloud-based updates to new and existing SmartCast TVs and displays.
Ryan1 is offline  
post #10193 of 10305 Old 01-07-2019, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,318
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 249
@Ryan1 I think from that same CNET article it said: Vizio also mentioned other improvements to its SmartCast suite, including faster response time (addressing one of my major complaints). Vizio's new software will roll out to all of its SmartCast TVs, going back to 2016, starting in spring.

https://www.cnet.com/news/vizio-unve...y-at-ces-2019/
Ryan1 likes this.
wmarkw is offline  
post #10194 of 10305 Old 01-10-2019, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Really looking forward to this update...

Is there a beta program for this?

https://www.cnet.com/news/vizio-unve...y-at-ces-2019/
https://apple.news/AicrNvn2BTL6XyFVSFofRxQ
libertyforall is offline  
post #10195 of 10305 Old 01-11-2019, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by libertyforall View Post
Really looking forward to this update...

Is there a beta program for this?

https://www.cnet.com/news/vizio-unve...y-at-ces-2019/
https://apple.news/AicrNvn2BTL6XyFVSFofRxQ

Found it!

https://www.vizio.com/apple
libertyforall is offline  
post #10196 of 10305 Old 01-12-2019, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
And confirmed for 2016! My M80-D3 cannot wait! Too bad Vizio makes no >= 80” sets any more. 🙄

https://www.macrumors.com/2019/01/11...tvs-airplay-2/
libertyforall is offline  
post #10197 of 10305 Old 01-12-2019, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I keep seeing references to SmartCast 3.0 availability in Q1 for beta users. Anybody know where to sign up for this?
thegrizzlypear is offline  
post #10198 of 10305 Old 01-14-2019, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodah97 View Post
Has anyone come across this or have any suggestions?

My M65-D0 has been randomly freezing and rebooting. It does it across all inputs, HDMI 1 has our cable box, HDMI 2 has a FireTV, and Cast.

It will freeze with lines like this:


The look of it depends on what was on the screen at the time. It freezes like that for a minute or so, but the audio will continue. Then it reboots.

It sometimes will go days without doing it, or sometimes it will do it multiple times in an hour.

A little background, it was working fine for a little over a year, when half the screen went dark. Since it was bought at Costco, they serviced under warranty it by replacing the boards and it was working good until about 3 months ago when it started with this rebooting issue.
Mine does this occasionally, and have since I bought it new. I should have pushed for warranty service, but I've seen that some people have hard hardware replaced, but it still keeps happening.

I'm looking for solutions, but apparently it's some type of hardware failure. I've seen discussion on Reddit indicating that turning off CEC will reduce how often this happens, and that only mainboard replacement will fully fix it. Possibly there's some type of weak solder joints that temperature cycling is causing to fail.
TwFrHm is offline  
post #10199 of 10305 Old 01-14-2019, 11:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,201
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan1 View Post
I hope our TVs get updated with SmartCast 3. From CNET:

"And Vizio said its new SmartCast 3.0 technology will support AirPlay 2 and HomeKit. The integration will let users stream 4K and Dolby Vision HDR videos, along with music and photos, from their Apple devices to their big screens, simply by tapping the AirPlay icon. They also can mirror content such as web pages and presentations, as well as play music through Vizio SmartCast TVs and AirPlay 2-compatible speakers in multiple rooms at the same time.

The HomeKit integration lets users control their SmartCast TVs and their other smart home products using Apple's Home app or by talking to Apple's Siri digital assistant. Viewers can use their iPhones and iPads to turn their SmartCast TVs on or off from the Home app, change volume and switch inputs, and ask Siri via the iPhone and iPad to play movies, TV shows or music with AirPlay 2.

Registered beta members in the US and Canada will be able to access AirPlay 2 and HomeKit on Vizio TVs this quarter. In the second quarter, Vizio SmartCast 3.0 will roll out to other smart TV owners through free cloud-based updates to new and existing SmartCast TVs and displays.
Ok, confused. I have an iphone, but what is airplay 2 and what is homekit?

If I have no apple to and just an Iphone XS, can I use this stuff???

Also, I have an app now called photocast that lets me send any photo or video to the tv. Is this just the same thing?

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is online now  
post #10200 of 10305 Old 01-16-2019, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,207
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
Ok, confused. I have an iphone, but what is airplay 2 and what is homekit?

If I have no apple to and just an Iphone XS, can I use this stuff???

Also, I have an app now called photocast that lets me send any photo or video to the tv. Is this just the same thing?
Here is a summary of Air Play 2: https://www.cnet.com/how-to/apple-ai...-need-to-know/ Yes, it's basically a casting protocol.

Home Kit is Apple's smart home interface, it allows you to control compatible appliances, such as thermostats, lights, switches.
Ryan1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016 , m-series , m70-d3 , m80-d3 , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off