Official 2016 Vizio M-Series Owner's Thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5367Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazz View Post
Crap. I just realized my receiver may be too old to do 4K. I'd have to plug HDR equipment directly into HDMI one and use the optical for audio(unless ARC works, which I never could get to work).
Right - the big issue here is hdcp 2.2. I had an older Yamaha that did 4k, but confirmed that no hdcp 2.2 meant I couldn't pass through protected content. Updating my reciever to a newer yamaha did the trick.
robl95403 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mr stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Wow this TV really does have fantastic blacks

but I now understand why people say this TV doesn't have any color/contrast "pop", the colors do seem a tad muted. I have a feeling this has to do with Vizio not going with a Glossy glass screen. A sheet of glass would made a ton of difference IMO.

and man what a POS this dumb tablet remote is. The idea was way better than the execution. All I want is a normal remote, not one that I have to spend an HOUR to update out of the box

Last edited by mr stroke; 08-17-2016 at 07:44 PM.
mr stroke is offline  
post #1053 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Well I think the colors look really good. Blu ray to me looks insane as does 4k netflix. I'm hoping that we get some M calibraters in here to help us out eventually. Be nice to have several to choose from.
jedurocher likes this.
wmarkw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Shagster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tablet

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr stroke View Post
Wow this TV really does have fantastic blacks

and man what a POS this dumb tablet remote is. The idea was way better than the execution. All I want is a normal remote, not one that I have to spend an HOUR to update out of the box
One thing I have figured out is that I use the small remote, actually, use a universal remote for my tv and cable...I only use the tablet for casting, when watching netflix or vudu...always keep the tablet turned off unless I use it for casting...no use in having the tablet on if I'm not going to use it...
Shagster is offline  
post #1055 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
OK, finally set things up last night.





I need to get some better calibration settings, or break out the calibration disc, as the rtings.com settings are really soft and have no "pop". Anyone have things to try, I am open to monkeying around with them.



I also noticed that Dish looks horrible no matter the setting, and the up-scaled BluRay is mediocre at best compared to my 2015 M43-C1. It is, again, probably the settings, so I would like some input as to what others have tried.


@wmarkw mentioned that the color setting changes cut across all the picture settings. Is this a thing? That could be causing some of this issues.



Lastly, the ARC setup I wanted to do for my YSP2200 isn't working because the soundbar won't pass through the 4k video. I am currently looking at just running TosLink from the TV to the sound bar and leaving it at that, with each component on a different input (PS4 - HDMI5, DISH - HDMI2, BluRay - HDMI1). Does that seem reasonable to folks, or am I too far in the weeds to think straight.

Well, looks like I got things going down the right track. Changed HDMI cable on Dish input, and things look better.

A few casting pics with slightly tweeked P Series forum settings from YouTube.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #1056 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 09:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
mr stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
Well, looks like I got things going down the right track. Changed HDMI cable on Dish input, and things look better.

A few casting pics with slightly tweeked P Series forum settings from YouTube.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Link to settings?
mr stroke is offline  
post #1057 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Crazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: L.A., CA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl95403 View Post
Right - the big issue here is hdcp 2.2. I had an older Yamaha that did 4k, but confirmed that no hdcp 2.2 meant I couldn't pass through protected content. Updating my reciever to a newer yamaha did the trick.
Just found my onkyo 809 does upscale to 4K. What do you think? Do you think it will do a better job of upscaling then the reviews given by rting for the 2016 M series?

http://filedepot.onkyousa.com/Files/...info-sheet.pdf
Crazz is offline  
post #1058 of 10276 Old 08-17-2016, 10:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazz View Post
Just found my onkyo 809 does upscale to 4K. What do you think? Do you think it will do a better job of upscaling then the reviews given by rting for the 2016 M series?

http://filedepot.onkyousa.com/Files/...info-sheet.pdf
Just try it and let the rest of us know. No harm, no foul,ha.

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Yamaha RX-A2070 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 4 Atrium 5 front & rear Tops | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000 | AppleTV 4K | miniDSP 2 X 4 |
Chuck666 is offline  
post #1059 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 02:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr stroke View Post
Link to settings?
@MR stoke https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post43160458

I used calibrated dark, but set the judder and motion blur to 10. Color to 53, Sharpness to 20, Backlight is between 30 and 35, Reduce Signal and Block Noise to Off, Black Detail Low

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #1060 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 06:39 AM
Member
 
bklyn1028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Perhaps someone can give me some insight please.
I currently have:
Sony KDS R70-xbr2, this Dec it'll be 10 yrs old, still going strong. Colors aren't as vibrant as they "should" be, or perhaps normal, but not as sharb as the newer TVs. I sit about 9' away. Denon X2200W receiver.

I watch cable, haven't watched a blu-ray in ages, primarly use raspberry pi-openelec media center for movies, as well as Netflix.

I will not get another 70", makes no sense, I prefer to go 80" and whichever I get I will mount it on the wall behind my current setup which will save me about 3 feet, hence viewing distance will be about 11 or so feet.
My dilemma is the P75, or M80-D3. Is WCG THAT much of a difference. I am also one who wants the best, and will 64 more zones make THAT much more of a difference.

Above the TV is a skylight which makes it a little tough for daytime watching, however the new one will be about 3 or so feet back.

As you can see by the pic that the wall is perfect.
Thanks for any insight.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160818_083604.jpg
Views:	280
Size:	160.3 KB
ID:	1609313  
bklyn1028 is offline  
post #1061 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
JonM in MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cottage Grove MN
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
IOS to Google Cast?

Think I've got most of this casting stuff figured out with one exception.

Has anybody found a good solution to getting IOS photos/video to the TV from iPhone/iPad?
JonM in MN is offline  
post #1062 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 07:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM in MN View Post
Think I've got most of this casting stuff figured out with one exception.

Has anybody found a good solution to getting IOS photos/video to the TV from iPhone/iPad?
Does the Google Photos app for iOS support this? I'm an android user, but I would assume it does. + free backups~
SomeoneUnknown is offline  
post #1063 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wmarkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
@MR stoke https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post43160458

I used calibrated dark, but set the judder and motion blur to 10. Color to 53, Sharpness to 20, Backlight is between 30 and 35, Reduce Signal and Block Noise to Off, Black Detail Low
I started with those settings and i do prefer them over rtings. I might switch back. If i recall he doesnt set the color tuner/white point. I did read that if you adjust Color Temperature (normal, computer, etc) you can adjust/customize the color tuner and those settings will stick for that selected temperature.
jedurocher and trannysphotos like this.
wmarkw is offline  
post #1064 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bklyn1028 View Post
Perhaps someone can give me some insight please.
I currently have:
Sony KDS R70-xbr2, this Dec it'll be 10 yrs old, still going strong. Colors aren't as vibrant as they "should" be, or perhaps normal, but not as sharb as the newer TVs. I sit about 9' away. Denon X2200W receiver.

I watch cable, haven't watched a blu-ray in ages, primarly use raspberry pi-openelec media center for movies, as well as Netflix.

I will not get another 70", makes no sense, I prefer to go 80" and whichever I get I will mount it on the wall behind my current setup which will save me about 3 feet, hence viewing distance will be about 11 or so feet.
My dilemma is the P75, or M80-D3. Is WCG THAT much of a difference. I am also one who wants the best, and will 64 more zones make THAT much more of a difference.

Above the TV is a skylight which makes it a little tough for daytime watching, however the new one will be about 3 or so feet back.

As you can see by the pic that the wall is perfect.
Thanks for any insight.
Your only drawback is that with the TV being wall mounted 3 feet further back, a 75" may seem to be no improvement over a 70" that's closer, in terms of visual impact. But going by distance charts, 11' for a 75" is still good, and the advantages of the P series--wider color gamut, more dimming zones, much higher brightness--are visible at any distance. I'd go with the P-series but totally understand the appeal of the M80.
CEM79 is offline  
post #1065 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 08:25 AM
Member
 
mjmoreno72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Here are some screen shots of the Olympics in 4K. Honestly pictures don't do it justice. Pictures taken with a Samsung Note 4. What is the best way to capture screen shots, with low light....some ambient light or in the dark? I also have a Nikon I can try it just takes a little longer to get images from it and upload. I also don't know if that will make the screen look closer to what I see or worse since I'd be using a better camera to take a picture of a screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_234504.jpg
Views:	343
Size:	161.2 KB
ID:	1609401   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_234425.jpg
Views:	311
Size:	204.0 KB
ID:	1609409   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_234324.jpg
Views:	287
Size:	115.9 KB
ID:	1609417   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_234304.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	306.6 KB
ID:	1609425   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_234621.jpg
Views:	283
Size:	197.2 KB
ID:	1609433  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_235502.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	107.0 KB
ID:	1609441   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_235448.jpg
Views:	276
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	1609449   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_235321.jpg
Views:	280
Size:	194.6 KB
ID:	1609457   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_234903.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	264.0 KB
ID:	1609465   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160817_235503.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	124.5 KB
ID:	1609473  

mjmoreno72 is offline  
post #1066 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 08:58 AM
Member
 
twxabfn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM in MN View Post
Think I've got most of this casting stuff figured out with one exception.

Has anybody found a good solution to getting IOS photos/video to the TV from iPhone/iPad?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeoneUnknown View Post
Does the Google Photos app for iOS support this? I'm an android user, but I would assume it does. + free backups~
I can confirm that it does. I created a dummy Google account that my wife and I both sign in to from our iPhones (means that all the pictures we take of our kids show up in the same place for viewing/backup purposes), and I've casted pics to the M70 from the app.
twxabfn is offline  
post #1067 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by twxabfn View Post
I can confirm that it does. I created a dummy Google account that my wife and I both sign in to from our iPhones (means that all the pictures we take of our kids show up in the same place for viewing/backup purposes), and I've casted pics to the M70 from the app.
Something to note here, I'm not entirely sure on how much space it will backup at full quality or compressed. Don't assume everything is backed up. I ended up paying ~$2.99 a month for 100GB of storage so I could use full quality.
SomeoneUnknown is offline  
post #1068 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Has anyone seen this issue? I've had the TV about a month now, and this has probably happened about 4 times. Power cycle does resolve the issue, but it's clearly on the TV (not the inputs, etc since cycles those does not resolve the issue). I thought I'd read something similar previously in this thread but can't find it. I know there's something about split screen issues on the P (at least according to the first post there),.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160817_210601.jpg
Views:	341
Size:	281.9 KB
ID:	1609489  
Lapaillard is offline  
post #1069 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 09:54 AM
Member
 
twxabfn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeoneUnknown View Post
Something to note here, I'm not entirely sure on how much space it will backup at full quality or compressed. Don't assume everything is backed up. I ended up paying ~$2.99 a month for 100GB of storage so I could use full quality.
There's no limit to compressed images; it's only 15GB for full quality images. When we hit our 15GB limit, I downloaded what was there to my PC and cleared it out. It's way easier than saving the pics from our phones individually, plus I'll only have to do it once every couple of years.
twxabfn is offline  
post #1070 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
mr stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by bklyn1028 View Post
Perhaps someone can give me some insight please.
I currently have:
Sony KDS R70-xbr2, this Dec it'll be 10 yrs old, still going strong. Colors aren't as vibrant as they "should" be, or perhaps normal, but not as sharb as the newer TVs. I sit about 9' away. Denon X2200W receiver.

I watch cable, haven't watched a blu-ray in ages, primarly use raspberry pi-openelec media center for movies, as well as Netflix.

I will not get another 70", makes no sense, I prefer to go 80" and whichever I get I will mount it on the wall behind my current setup which will save me about 3 feet, hence viewing distance will be about 11 or so feet.
My dilemma is the P75, or M80-D3. Is WCG THAT much of a difference. I am also one who wants the best, and will 64 more zones make THAT much more of a difference.

Above the TV is a skylight which makes it a little tough for daytime watching, however the new one will be about 3 or so feet back.

As you can see by the pic that the wall is perfect.
Thanks for any insight.

I had the same issue, but for me it came down to size. 80" > smaller 75" P series or Sony/LG. I put the Vizio M next to our LG OLED and the OLED destroys the Vizio in all areas, so IMO you really aren't going to get a big step in PQ until you go to an OLED. Might as well go with the biggest size available (unless you can afford a 20k 77" OLED )
mr stroke is offline  
post #1071 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 11:47 AM
Member
 
andy582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Really interesting.. Looks like a rock-solid, detailed picture. No blooming. A little muted, but in a responsible way. It is strange, though, the HDR images I've seen make me *expect* the image to "pop", to be more vibrant and illuminated. Looks like you've got the backlight really low, though. Anyone have any before/after HDR/DV grabs?
andy582 is offline  
post #1072 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Unhappy

I'm pulling my hair out. I couldn't get my cable box to work with this TV - tried all inputs, bought all new cables - nothing. I had Vizio swap out the TV which arrived today - same damn issue. I've had the cable company swap boxes and it fixed the issue for a week but it's remanifested... every time I try to watch cable I get the "No Signal" message.

Anyone else have this and fixed it?!?!?! I'm at my wits end!
epH1n_rJ is offline  
post #1073 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
@MR stoke https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post43160458

I used calibrated dark, but set the judder and motion blur to 10. Color to 53, Sharpness to 20, Backlight is between 30 and 35, Reduce Signal and Block Noise to Off, Black Detail Low
Please tell me those aren't your settings for HDR content?
Lastson91 is offline  
post #1074 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 01:24 PM
Member
 
lexi73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Finally wrapped up the setup of the m65-D0 and got the cords my Harmony remote all programmed.

Wanted to thank all in here for the help! Found recommendations for the View TV to get my OTA signals, works awesome, like the ability to record also! Got recommendations on here for my full motion mount (Omnimount Play 70) Which is AWESOME also. And finally the m65-DO with accompanying settings and details. Setup and running awesome. I'm loving the upgrade form my 52" 720p DLP samsung.

For those with problems using the tablet & casting. I'd highly recommend a Harmony. It helps streamline the usability greatly. I dont have the hub, but may upgrade in the future if i feel its necessary. Also download the app on your phone if you'd like. The casting works great and it's been easy to make transition. THANKS EVERYONE!
lexi73 is offline  
post #1075 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiredgoon View Post
Hence the FYI in-front. Just adding cool info that work to the thread.

Also it work out anywhere in the house on wifi.
To my surprise, Chrome on a Macbook includes "casting" on my "VizioCastDisplay." This is without having done any setup within Chrome.

Vizio M70-D3
LG OLED55B6P
Samsung UBD-KM85c 4K Ultra HD Streaming Blu-ray Player
HRS2403 is offline  
post #1076 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 01:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiredgoon View Post
Hence the FYI in-front. Just adding cool info that work to the thread.

Also it work out anywhere in the house on wifi.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJ_Reda View Post
So not a fan of the "paper clip" legs on the M-series.
Agreed, because it means your stand must be almost as wide as the display itself. With the more-commonly found center support stands, this is not the case. (I had to buy a new stand because of the Vizio's wide stance.)
RJ_Reda likes this.

Vizio M70-D3
LG OLED55B6P
Samsung UBD-KM85c 4K Ultra HD Streaming Blu-ray Player
HRS2403 is offline  
post #1077 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy582 View Post
Really interesting.. Looks like a rock-solid, detailed picture. No blooming. A little muted, but in a responsible way. It is strange, though, the HDR images I've seen make me *expect* the image to "pop", to be more vibrant and illuminated. Looks like you've got the backlight really low, though. Anyone have any before/after HDR/DV grabs?
The only HDR-10 content I've viewed on my M70-D3 is from the Samsung 8500 player with 4K/HDR movies. To my eyes at least, while I can see a slight difference between HDR and non-HDR (by switching Color Subsampling on/off in HDMI1), it is hardly an "OMG" improvement. In some cases, in fact, I prefer non-HDR.
vibro likes this.

Vizio M70-D3
LG OLED55B6P
Samsung UBD-KM85c 4K Ultra HD Streaming Blu-ray Player
HRS2403 is offline  
post #1078 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 03:00 PM
Member
 
pagabriel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
Well, looks like I got things going down the right track. Changed HDMI cable on Dish input, and things look better.

A few casting pics with slightly tweeked P Series forum settings from YouTube.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Can you tell me what HDMI cable you switched to and what HDMI input you are using on your Vizio?

I also have Dish Network and the Vizio M80-D3. I connect my HDMI cable from my Dish box to my Onkyo TX-NR809 THX A/V Receiver and out to HDMI 1 on my Vizio.

When I turn on the Olympic 4K channel, it does not recognize the TV as a 4K TV and will not display the 4K contents. I'm hoping it's the HDMI cable. My Onkyo receiver can display 4k and I have it set to Auto.

If someone else has other ideas, please share.
pagabriel is offline  
post #1079 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lastson91 View Post
Please tell me those aren't your settings for HDR content?

You ask that like there are better settings. If there are, please share. I'm willing to learn (it's in my signature z), but compared to what things were when I first set things up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cerebrex likes this.

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #1080 of 10276 Old 08-18-2016, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Official 2016 Vizio M-Series Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by pagabriel View Post
Can you tell me what HDMI cable you switched to and what HDMI input you are using on your Vizio?

I originally had a v1.3 cable going from the Hopper to the soundbar to the TV. I just used a Vizio cable and plugged into HDMI 2. I plan to buy a new set of cables from Monoprice in the near future.

For sound, I just hooked up a TosLink from the TV to the sound bar. I'm my older age, and having 3 busy kids, I've become more concerned about visuals and would rather spend my money there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pagabriel View Post
I also have Dish Network and the Vizio M80-D3. I connect my HDMI cable from my Dish box to my Onkyo TX-NR809 THX A/V Receiver and out to HDMI 1 on my Vizio.

When I turn on the Olympic 4K channel, it does not recognize the TV as a 4K TV and will not display the 4K contents. I'm hoping it's the HDMI cable. My Onkyo receiver can display 4k and I have it set to Auto.

If someone else has other ideas, please share.
It probably is a compliance issue. Sorry o can't help any more. Others can do a better job with that.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20

Last edited by jedurocher; 08-18-2016 at 04:20 PM.
jedurocher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016 , m-series , m70-d3 , m80-d3 , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off