Official 2016 Vizio M-Series Owner's Thread - Page 97 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5367Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by balla01 View Post
Hey everyone, I purchased the m65-d0 on sale for $999 at Costco. I haven't been able to find any good picture settings for this set as of yet. Usually I go off of Cnet's recommendation, but David K. didn't give one on this set. I tried the rtings.com setting and wasn't a fan of it at all. I use the set mostly for gaming in my man cave and I have a Playstation Pro. Any suggestions?
Use Calibrated/Calibrated Dark, adjust only Backlight to your liking and change color from Normal to Computer, done... Even the Rtings settings says to change the color to something cooler if you want.
danbfree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,201
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Use Calibrated/Calibrated Dark, adjust only Backlight to your liking and change color from Normal to Computer, done... Even the Rtings settings says to change the color to something cooler if you want.
That's a relief. Very cool that you don't have to go crazy with settings like you had to on the 2014 series M's, etc.

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is online now  
post #2883 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
Happy Thanksgiving from one M series owner to another:


Yea, basic comcast HD, not the best....
Not bad, but see if Comcast has a promo to get you on X1 platform, ... It upscales everything to 1080p first, which REALLY helps!
danbfree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2884 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
That's a relief. Very cool that you don't have to go crazy with settings like you had to on the 2014 series M's, etc.
Yes, exactly! I was very pleasantly surprised thats all I really needed to adjust and looks great!
danbfree is offline  
post #2885 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,201
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
Happy Thanksgiving from one M series owner to another:


Yea, basic comcast HD, not the best....
Not bad, but see if Comcast has a promo to get you on X1 platform, ... It upscales everything to 1080p first, which REALLY helps!
I have the X1 with the voice remote yes it does, but some stations of course aren't as nice as others. I do love that voice remote.
Jasonn B is online now  
post #2886 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 09:57 AM
Member
 
montecore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok here we go again.....I have not been on here in awhile but always come here to do my research. I currently have VIZIO E601i-A3 60-inch 1080p Razor LED Smart HDTV (2013 Model) and helped many people with the BSOD issues that has plagued that model. This has been rock solid for the most part however there is a phantom where the TV decides to turn itself on again after turning off with remote.

I have been doing a lot of research on some of these newer features to see if an upgrade is needed.

At Costco there is the vizio e70-e3 ($979) vs m70-d3 ($1649). The only thing that I see that is different is really the effective refresh rate of 120 for 240Hz and Dolby Vision. Is there anything else I should know about? Why the significant price difference between E vs M? I definitely want an EVEN model number as those use SHARP panels and are much better quality. SHARP was the first to make the largest panels and still a pioneer in panels.

From all the research I have done so far there is a lot of concern about the connection reliability of the 6" Tablet. I know many have ditched this tablet and relied on their smartphone but seems like you are not taking full advantage of the cost for such a 2016 model.

I do not have a chromecast currently so this would be new to me but could see how this would be beneficial and the wave of the future. However like someone else said really this is a big fancy expensive 70" monitor since there is no QAM tuner like my current Vizio.

I also had to determine if there will be room where my Vizio sits right now and after lots of research found this that will be helpful to others that have the same question......I have determine the 70" model will call for a room makeover as my stand will not support that size.

M Series Size Chart
Model, Total TV Width, Distance Between Feet
M50-D1, 44.4", 33.58"
M55-D0, 48.98", 38.63"
M60-D1, 53.12", 41.86"
M65-D0, 57.59", 45.66"
M70-D3, 61.70", 49.39"
M80-D3, 71.63", 56.88"

Last edited by montecore; 11-24-2016 at 10:00 AM.
montecore is offline  
post #2887 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
I have the X1 with the voice remote yes it does, but some stations of course aren't as nice as others. I do love that voice remote.
Voice remote works surprisingly VERY well! But ya, make sure you go into the cable box settings to force 1080p for everything but still, some channels have lower bitrate for sure...
danbfree is offline  
post #2888 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
I have ALLCAST, which works nice. What's localCast?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ocalcast&hl=en
It allows you to cast any video from your PC to the chromecast device (in this case the TV).

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #2889 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by montecore View Post
Ok here we go again.....I have not been on here in awhile but always come here to do my research. I currently have VIZIO E601i-A3 60-inch 1080p Razor LED Smart HDTV (2013 Model) and helped many people with the BSOD issues that has plagued that model. This has been rock solid for the most part however there is a phantom where the TV decides to turn itself on again after turning off with remote.

I have been doing a lot of research on some of these newer features to see if an upgrade is needed.

At Costco there is the vizio e70-e3 ($979) vs m70-d3 ($1649). The only thing that I see that is different is really the effective refresh rate of 120 for 240Hz and Dolby Vision. Is there anything else I should know about? Why the significant price difference between E vs M? I definitely want an EVEN model number as those use SHARP panels and are much better quality. SHARP was the first to make the largest panels and still a pioneer in panels.

From all the research I have done so far there is a lot of concern about the connection reliability of the 6" Tablet. I know many have ditched this tablet and relied on their smartphone but seems like you are not taking full advantage of the cost for such a 2016 model.
Compare the Rtings reviews between the E and M series... It's pretty clear the M series panel is different/better in every way. Honestly, I'd dare say it's as good an 8-bit non-WCG display PQ can get, period... So that said, if you can fit a 65" and can afford the M series at that special price we can't discuss, then go 65" M series. If you have a router close to tablet remote then it works great also. I have a 5Ghz router same room and display wired with excellent results.
danbfree is offline  
post #2890 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by montecore View Post
I definitely want an EVEN model number as those use SHARP panels and are much better quality. SHARP was the first to make the largest panels and still a pioneer in panels.
I'm kind of curious - what do you mean by an "EVEN model number"?

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
jtrosky is offline  
post #2891 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@jtrosky
He means the M50, M60 (?), M70 and M80.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #2892 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
talk show host's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Happy turkey day everyone. Does anyone have any good settings they use for watching sports? I'm not particularly thrilled with the blockiness/pixelization watching football. I know that this is primarily the fault of my cable box, but I'm wondering if the vizio has any settings to help minimize the blockiness and make the picture look a bit better with smooth movement.

Also, has anyone had any luck streaming 4K content via Plex? I can't get some 4K movies I have to stream via Plex - it only works if I downgrade the picture to 1080p/12mbps instead of "original."
talk show host is offline  
post #2893 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by talk show host View Post
Happy turkey day everyone. Does anyone have any good settings they use for watching sports? I'm not particularly thrilled with the blockiness/pixelization watching football. I know that this is primarily the fault of my cable box, but I'm wondering if the vizio has any settings to help minimize the blockiness and make the picture look a bit better with smooth movement.

Also, has anyone had any luck streaming 4K content via Plex? I can't get some 4K movies I have to stream via Plex - it only works if I downgrade the picture to 1080p/12mbps instead of "original."
First, try to ask your cable company for a newer box that can upscale to 1080p, otherwise try bumping sharpness to 40 and those filters for noise up to medium.

As far as Plex, check to make sure you have the latest updates, they added 4k support recently.
danbfree is offline  
post #2894 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,201
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by talk show host View Post
Happy turkey day everyone. Does anyone have any good settings they use for watching sports? I'm not particularly thrilled with the blockiness/pixelization watching football. I know that this is primarily the fault of my cable box, but I'm wondering if the vizio has any settings to help minimize the blockiness and make the picture look a bit better with smooth movement.

Also, has anyone had any luck streaming 4K content via Plex? I can't get some 4K movies I have to stream via Plex - it only works if I downgrade the picture to 1080p/12mbps instead of "original."
Plex 4k, it will only work locally (ie server on same network) and the server is updated to the newer version. You should see in the menu when a video will play in 4k.

That being said with the latest update I had some odd items happening where I couldn?t stream. I had to remove all the connected devices and reconnect them from the plex / settings / devices. And then change these settings. Please report back. This is for Windows and iPhone settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1480011765687.jpeg
Views:	2918
Size:	15.9 KB
ID:	1787993   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1480011773262.jpeg
Views:	3011
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	1788001   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1480011781550.jpeg
Views:	3020
Size:	69.1 KB
ID:	1788009  
Jasonn B is online now  
post #2895 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskier93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
PLEX USERS

Supposedly there is a way to stream 4k files with the Plex app. Me and a friend are trying to do this but aren't having any luck. The latest version of plex says you can do this. Can anyone give some tips?

Wondering if I should make a new thread about streaming on 2016 Vizios?
I don't believe the plex app supports casting 4K yet.
I have NEVER been able to get the Plex app to stream 4K from either iOS or Android, BUT, the AllCast app does it fine from the Plex Server, but no HDR. *sigh* Looks like it is a firmware/Cast version issue. Perhaps to be remedied in the 3.x firmware being beta tested now?!

Last edited by libertyforall; 11-24-2016 at 12:57 PM.
libertyforall is offline  
post #2896 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 11:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
Has anyone tried LocalCast to cast things to the TV?
I have ALLCAST, which works nice. What's localCast?

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskier93 View Post
I don't believe the plex app supports casting 4K yet.
It does!

2.6.2
NEW: 4k and HEVC on capable devices with built-in Chromecast support (2016 Vizio TVs and the Nvidia Shield)

2.6.2 for what? Plex Server? Plex Web? Plex iPhone app?

The iPhone app is on 4.5 (2.6.2 would have been over 3 years ago). Unless I missed it I haven't seen 4K casting support in the release notes for the iPhone app.

Edit: Figured it out, you are looking here https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/21...for-chromecast

I'm still not quite sure what those are release notes for since there is no Chromecast "application".

Again, I'm not seeing anything about 4K Chromecast support in the server release notes or iPhone app release notes.

Edit 2: http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/229...not-chromecast

I suspect the issue is still the fact that Plex doesn't seem to support the more generic Google Cast (what our Vizios use) and are only supporting Chromecast devices. Although, from that thread, it sounds like it's not even working on the new Ultracast.

Long story short, regardless of what Plex is saying, 4K casting is broken.

Last edited by freeskier93; 11-24-2016 at 12:26 PM.
freeskier93 is offline  
post #2897 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
Couple of shots of Lucy UHD from the Samsung K8500 4K/UHD player.

I just took a couple a few minutes into the movie. I am sure there are even better shots.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Any problems with this samsung uhd player and our 2016 M series? Im between this and xbox one s.... but everybody here knows about xbox one s and M series black outs...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
MrEdCeD is offline  
post #2898 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Lightbulb

Same concept as Allcast...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ocalcast&hl=en
It allows you to cast any video from your PC to the chromecast device (in this case the TV).
libertyforall is offline  
post #2899 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
libertyforall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Post

Notice the following which implies it *should* work, but has not for me via the Plex app:
https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/art...are-supported-

Allcast on iOS works like a charm for 4K from Plex Server however.


I am uncertain what the technical differences are between Google Cast and Chromecast, reportedly they are one in the same. The only difference I am aware of is that these '16 Vizio's are using 1.19 Vs. the latest 1.21 version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskier93 View Post
2.6.2 for what? Plex Server? Plex Web? Plex iPhone app?

The iPhone app is on 4.5 (2.6.2 would have been over 3 years ago). Unless I missed it I haven't seen 4K casting support in the release notes for the iPhone app.

Edit: Figured it out, you are looking here https://forums.plex.tv/discussion/21...for-chromecast

I'm still not quite sure what those are release notes for since there is no Chromecast "application".

Again, I'm not seeing anything about 4K Chromecast support in the server release notes or iPhone app release notes.

Edit 2: http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/229...not-chromecast

I suspect the issue is still the fact that Plex doesn't seem to support the more generic Google Cast (what our Vizios use) and are only supporting Chromecast devices. Although, from that thread, it sounds like it's not even working on the new Ultracast.

Long story short, regardless of what Plex is saying, 4K casting is broken.
libertyforall is offline  
post #2900 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
talk show host's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
Plex 4k, it will only work locally (ie server on same network) and the server is updated to the newer version. You should see in the menu when a video will play in 4k.

That being said with the latest update I had some odd items happening where I couldn?t stream. I had to remove all the connected devices and reconnect them from the plex / settings / devices. And then change these settings. Please report back. This is for Windows and iPhone settings.
No luck. I followed those instructions, deleted devices, downloaded the latest server version, but Same problem as before. The vizio Plex app will show the movie is 4K and 7.1; however, it will not launch the movie. It will go to the screen as it fits about to start, but the movie time will stay at 0:00. As soon as I switch to a lower quality other than "original", the movie starts. Just won't do 4k. I've also tried enabling and disabling direct stream and direct play with no luck there either.
talk show host is offline  
post #2901 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
talk show host's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Compare the Rtings reviews between the E and M series... It's pretty clear the M series panel is different/better in every way. Honestly, I'd dare say it's as good an 8-bit non-WCG display PQ can get, period... So that said, if you can fit a 65" and can afford the M series at that special price we can't discuss, then go 65" M series. If you have a router close to tablet remote then it works great also. I have a 5Ghz router same room and display wired with excellent results.
I thought the m series now supported 10 bit after an update. Otherwise how can it claim to support Dolby vision and hdr10?
talk show host is offline  
post #2902 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
talk show host's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
First, try to ask your cable company for a newer box that can upscale to 1080p, otherwise try bumping sharpness to 40 and those filters for noise up to medium.

As far as Plex, check to make sure you have the latest updates, they added 4k support recently.
Thanks for the tip on calling th cable company. I'll give that a try!
talk show host is offline  
post #2903 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by talk show host View Post
I thought the m series now supported 10 bit after an update. Otherwise how can it claim to support Dolby vision and hdr10?
Exactly, it "supports" the signal, but it would have to have a 10 bit panel with 10 bit processor to actually display HDR10 properly. I'd like to know for sure too whether that's all it needed was Ann update if the 10 bit hardware is there.
libertyforall likes this.
danbfree is offline  
post #2904 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@libertyforall
Not exactly, LocalCast lets you cast videos\movies you have on your PC, you don't need plex or any other 'server' running on your PC, just a simple file sharing.
It lags like hell on my chromecast, and I wonder if it's due to the tablet I have or something to do with the chromecast not liking this sort of cast.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #2905 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Official 2016 Vizio M-Series Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrEdCeD View Post
Any problems with this samsung uhd player and our 2016 M series? Im between this and xbox one s.... but everybody here knows about xbox one s and M series black outs...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


No issues at all with the tv. I have had random issues with it being sensitive to playing discs that aren't totally clean.

It has 2 HDMI outs. I run one to the TV and one to my older sound bar.

Lastly, I went with this BC it finally hit my price point. Being a PS guy, I didn't want to get a game system just for movies.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20

Last edited by jedurocher; 11-24-2016 at 03:33 PM.
jedurocher is offline  
post #2906 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ok. So I finally figured out how to cast kodi from the tablet other then using screen mirroring

If anyone IS interested it took me all week to figure it out.
You need to install kodi. Then install es file explorer to show hidden files. Download local cast. Then download a xml file called playerfactorycore.
The rest can be found on google.

I'm screaming kodi at 1080p now and can shut the tablet off.
No more screen mirroring.

Also Netflix casts at 4K 2160 and so does YouTube.

Still can't get around amazon video. I have it installed but again it can only be played on the tv using screen mirroring so again 720p and tablet has to remain on

Hope my struggles helps anyone else
danbfree likes this.
BlueWaffles is offline  
post #2907 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
No issues at all with the tv. I have had random issues with it being sensitive to playing discs that aren't totally clean.

It has 2 HDMI outs. I run one to the TV and one to my older sound bar.

Lastly, I went with this BC it finally hit my price point. Being a PS guy, I didn't want to get a game system just for movies.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks!
MrEdCeD is offline  
post #2908 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueWaffles View Post
Ok. So I finally figured out how to cast kodi from the tablet other then using screen mirroring

If anyone IS interested it took me all week to figure it out.
You need to install kodi. Then install es file explorer to show hidden files. Download local cast. Then download a xml file called playerfactorycore.
The rest can be found on google.

I'm screaming kodi at 1080p now and can shut the tablet off.
No more screen mirroring.

Also Netflix casts at 4K 2160 and so does YouTube.

Still can't get around amazon video. I have it installed but again it can only be played on the tv using screen mirroring so again 720p and tablet has to remain on

Hope my struggles helps anyone else
Thanks for the info for the Kodi crowd...personally I just found Plex to suit my needs but this great to know!

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #2909 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 04:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Thanks for the info for the Kodi crowd...personally I just found Plex to suit my needs but this great to know!

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
Yeah it's nice not to have to screen mirror the kodi app and only get 720p
danbfree likes this.
BlueWaffles is offline  
post #2910 of 10276 Old 11-24-2016, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Exactly, it "supports" the signal, but it would have to have a 10 bit panel with 10 bit processor to actually display HDR10 properly. I'd like to know for sure too whether that's all it needed was Ann update if the 10 bit hardware is there.
Correct, the M-Series doesn't have a 10-bit panel. Like you said, it code decode 10-bit signals, but it can't take advantage of them. It's a hardware limitation, so it cannot be "fixed" via an update. You'd have to upgrade to the P-Series to get a true 10-bit panel. The M-Series has very "low" HDR capabilities.

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
jtrosky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2016 , m-series , m70-d3 , m80-d3 , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off