**OFFICIAL** Entry Level 2016 Samsung 4K UHD KU6300/6500/6600 Series TV Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 388Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 04:59 AM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
I'm looking into this TV as it seems to a good "bang for your buck" option. However I've noticed a lot of reviews on Best Buy and a decent amount of reviews on Amazon reference an issue with the screen going black off and on when viewing HDMI sources. Has anyone else experienced this issue and is it still a problem?
HDMI handshake issues.
Not the tvs fault. Could be specific devices, cables, etc.
I figured that would be the case, my only concern was that I see an unusually high amount of complaints around the KU6300. Although I haven't seen a single reference to the issue here.

The complaints seem to indicate that the TV goes black randomly for half a second on some HDMI inputs. Has anyone found higher than normal HDMI handshake issues with this TV? I'm considering this TV but grew concerned with the "black screen flickering" complaints in reviews that don't seem to appear on other TVs.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
I figured that would be the case, my only concern was that I see an unusually high amount of complaints around the KU6300. Although I haven't seen a single reference to the issue here.

The complaints seem to indicate that the TV goes black randomly for half a second on some HDMI inputs. Has anyone found higher than normal HDMI handshake issues with this TV? I'm considering this TV but grew concerned with the "black screen flickering" complaints in reviews that don't seem to appear on other TVs.
The dimming issue happens when no devices on the HDMI is connected. The issue is not a deal breaker to be honest. It doesn't happen on the fly or when you are using it. At least for me. Just make sure the eco solution and power options are not on power save mode.
drunkonpiss is offline  
post #363 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScAndal View Post
I am also getting the error. Please cross-post here if you here anything from the reddit threads.


Just an update I got from Samsung. They are telling me our TVs are detecting an unreleased version right now and that is why we are getting the error. They are saying to check in a few weeks again when the final version is released.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ras82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #364 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkonpiss View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
I figured that would be the case, my only concern was that I see an unusually high amount of complaints around the KU6300. Although I haven't seen a single reference to the issue here.

The complaints seem to indicate that the TV goes black randomly for half a second on some HDMI inputs. Has anyone found higher than normal HDMI handshake issues with this TV? I'm considering this TV but grew concerned with the "black screen flickering" complaints in reviews that don't seem to appear on other TVs.
The dimming issue happens when no devices on the HDMI is connected. The issue is not a deal breaker to be honest. It doesn't happen on the fly or when you are using it. At least for me. Just make sure the eco solution and power options are not on power save mode.
I will make sure those settings are disabled. If you look on Best Buy's site a lot of reviews state it actually just cue to black every few minutes, but has no one here experienced that issue? I trust this site more than BB reviews.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #365 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 09:19 AM
Member
 
vrsixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ras82 View Post
Just an update I got from Samsung. They are telling me our TVs are detecting an unreleased version right now and that is why we are getting the error. They are saying to check in a few weeks again when the final version is released.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
My 6300 updated to 1150 successfully yesterday. Unfortunately, now YouTube is broken and will not launch. Netflix is working fine. Haven't noticed much else in limited use.
vrsixer is offline  
post #366 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
I will make sure those settings are disabled. If you look on Best Buy's site a lot of reviews state it actually just cue to black every few minutes, but has no one here experienced that issue? I trust this site more than BB reviews.
Can't speak for anybody else, but I haven't had that particular issue. I've been very pleased with this set, and an issue like that would be a deal breaker for me.
Gregory G Wied Jr is offline  
post #367 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,741
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3204 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Quote:
Originally Posted by vrsixer View Post
My 6300 updated to 1150 successfully yesterday. Unfortunately, now YouTube is broken and will not launch. Netflix is working fine. Haven't noticed much else in limited use.
Try unplugging it for a minute.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #368 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Has it been verified that the KU6290 is the same as the KU6300 except for Bluetooth and remote? Someone on Amazon remaked that they found the build quality on the 6300 to be different. If the panels are the same, I often see the 6290 for $50 less than the 6300.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #369 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregory G Wied Jr View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
I will make sure those settings are disabled. If you look on Best Buy's site a lot of reviews state it actually just cue to black every few minutes, but has no one here experienced that issue? I trust this site more than BB reviews.
Can't speak for anybody else, but I haven't had that particular issue. I've been very pleased with this set, and an issue like that would be a deal breaker for me.
Thanks! It is the only concern I have with the set as it would be a deal breaker for me too. I'm glad it isn't a design defect that everyone is having. Other than that the reviews look really good. It seems to be a great all around set for the price.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #370 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Those two are literally the same tv, but minus the smart remote and bluetooth. That's why the small deviation in model number.
Gregory G Wied Jr is offline  
post #371 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
quamosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The DMV (Montgomery County)
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
Has it been verified that the KU6290 is the same as the KU6300 except for Bluetooth and remote? Someone on Amazon remaked that they found the build quality on the 6300 to be different. If the panels are the same, I often see the 6290 for $50 less than the 6300.
I have the 6290 and the only thing missing is Bluetooth. The 6290 comes with the Smart Remote.

My First Build Ever in progress
quamosa is offline  
post #372 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Just curious is anyone has noticed poor wifi performance on the newer Samsung TVs. I have a 2013 model that works flawlessly and gets excellent throughput but I've tried two new Samsung 6200 and 6300 TVs and the performance has been terrible.

For example, if I run the netflix speed test on 2.4Ghz I get 10Mbps about 15 feet from the router. My phone and laptop at the exact same spot get 40-50mbps. My older TV gets equally good results.

Haven't tested the 5ghz band yet but it seems odd that performance is so bad on a modern TV.
rosmakloma likes this.
Jo Ma is offline  
post #373 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo Ma View Post
Just curious is anyone has noticed poor wifi performance on the newer Samsung TVs. I have a 2013 model that works flawlessly and gets excellent throughput but I've tried two new Samsung 6200 and 6300 TVs and the performance has been terrible.

For example, if I run the netflix speed test on 2.4Ghz I get 10Mbps about 15 feet from the router. My phone and laptop at the exact same spot get 40-50mbps. My older TV gets equally good results.

Haven't tested the 5ghz band yet but it seems odd that performance is so bad on a modern TV.
I can't say I've done a speedtest (didn't even know netflix had one...learned something new...), but in practice everything seems fine. My router is about 4-5 feet away, only running N speeds (on my laptop, throughput typically runs between 39 and 60, but does have occasional drops into the teens or 20s).

As far as practicality, 4k streams load quickly and with no artifacts or buffering, in my experience so far.
Gregory G Wied Jr is offline  
post #374 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,741
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3204 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo Ma View Post
Just curious is anyone has noticed poor wifi performance on the newer Samsung TVs.
Not for me.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #375 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregory G Wied Jr View Post
I can't say I've done a speedtest (didn't even know netflix had one...learned something new...),
Yep, the app does have a speed test or you can use the browser and go to the Netflix speed test site (which I can't link to yet) I ran a few more tests, changed to the 5ghz band which has nothing else on it, still only got 10Mbit. Went back to the old TV and got 30-40Mbit. Really weird. The wired connection works fine but that was just to test since I don't have any drops in the TV rooms. Router is a AC1750 which can push good speeds to my other devices, just not the new TVs. Internet speed is 250Mbit. Might try another router just to see if it changes but since my phones, tables and laptops can get well above 50Mbit seems like it's the TVs.
Jo Ma is offline  
post #376 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbutitta View Post
I'm having this same issue while my pc is coming out of sleep mode. mvpcrossxover, have you figured out any solution?

Has anyone figured out a reliable fix for this issue?
Haven't found a fix for it yet. Was hoping for fix through a Samsung update.
mvpcrossxover is offline  
post #377 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 06:37 PM
Member
 
gugarci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
Thanks! It is the only concern I have with the set as it would be a deal breaker for me too. I'm glad it isn't a design defect that everyone is having. Other than that the reviews look really good. It seems to be a great all around set for the price.
I don't have this issue either.
gugarci is offline  
post #378 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregory G Wied Jr View Post
Those two are literally the same tv, but minus the smart remote and bluetooth. That's why the small deviation in model number.
That's what I figured. So panel specs, such as input lag and contrast ratio should be the same in the 6290 as the 6300? I'm considering going together with some friends as a gift for someone, but they game a lot and I wanted to make sure the 6290 would perform similarly to the 6300 which has low input lag and a good contrast ratio due to the VA panel. Otherwise we would try to pull together the last $50 for the 6300.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #379 of 2407 Old 11-16-2016, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
Has it been verified that the KU6290 is the same as the KU6300 except for Bluetooth and remote? Someone on Amazon remaked that they found the build quality on the 6300 to be different. If the panels are the same, I often see the 6290 for $50 less than the 6300.
I have the 6290 and the only thing missing is Bluetooth. The 6290 comes with the Smart Remote.
Is your 6290 the same panel as the 6300? My goal is to find something with a good contrast ratio (VA panel) that also has low input lag in game mode.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #380 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,741
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3204 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
Is your 6290 the same panel as the 6300? My goal is to find something with a good contrast ratio (VA panel) that also has low input lag in game mode.
Not even all 6300 have the same panel. However there will be no difference with the 6290.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #381 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 04:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,741
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3204 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Amazon has the 65" for $1,077.99
Heck of a deal
Bond 007 is offline  
post #382 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarpSpeed2013 View Post
Is your 6290 the same panel as the 6300? My goal is to find something with a good contrast ratio (VA panel) that also has low input lag in game mode.
Not even all 6300 have the same panel. However there will be no difference with the 6290.
Fair point, the Samsung panel lottery means there are usually some panel variations in a given model, I just wanted to make sure they didn't do a drastic switch in the 6290 like move from a VA to an IPS or drastically change the input lag. But it sounds like I can expect similar panel performance and build quality in the 6290.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #383 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Was looking at the rtings test for 5.1 passthrough.
http://www.rtings.com/tv/tests/input...io-passthrough

They only list the 70" KU6300 as having 5.1 passthrough over HDMI ARC and optical. What about other models such as KU6290 65" etc.

Anyone have any personal confirmation/test with KU6290 models?
digitaleight is offline  
post #384 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Best Buy has a specific Samsung 55 inch model UN55KU6270FXZA on sale for BF for $479. I cannot seem to find any information about this tv but it looks nearly identical to the UN55KU6300....there are a few questions/answers on the BB website and some seem to think it is the same tv but just marketed exclusively for BB BF sale. Been debating for almost the whole year about getting the 50 or 55 inch 6300 and still just may go get this one at Costco but curious what you all think.

Well wouldn't you know Samsung has finally put this model up on their website...it was not there yesterday. Here are the differences for anyone else that is concerned:

The 6270 lists the following as N/A on the website:
Ultra Clear Panel Smart Hub, Component, Component In, DTS Premium Sound

I did contact Samsung via chat and they indicated both tvs do have the Ultra Clear Panel. The 6270 does not have bluetooth and no smart remote.

Knowing this if I do purchase will probably stick with the 6300 model.

Last edited by iluvwahoo; 11-17-2016 at 11:20 AM.
iluvwahoo is offline  
post #385 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvwahoo View Post
Best Buy has a specific Samsung 55 inch model UN55KU6270FXZA on sale for BF for $479. I cannot seem to find any information about this tv but it looks nearly identical to the UN55KU6300....there are a few questions/answers on the BB website and some seem to think it is the same tv but just marketed exclusively for BB BF sale. Been debating for almost the whole year about getting the 50 or 55 inch 6300 and still just may go get this one at Costco but curious what you all think.
Unfortunately with the Black Friday exclusive models it is hard to tell what might be different. If I were to guess I'd say it would be similar to the KU6300/KU6290, but without someone going through a full review of the KU6270 specifically, it is only a guess. It's a good guess that some features have been removed from the KU6290 to create the KU6270, but I don't know what.
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #386 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,741
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3204 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitaleight View Post
Was looking at the rtings test for 5.1 passthrough.
http://www.rtings.com/tv/tests/input...io-passthrough

They only list the 70" KU6300 as having 5.1 passthrough over HDMI ARC and optical. What about other models such as KU6290 65" etc.

Anyone have any personal confirmation/test with KU6290 models?
Youre using a soundbar?
Bond 007 is offline  
post #387 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
WarpSpeed2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvwahoo View Post
Best Buy has a specific Samsung 55 inch model UN55KU6270FXZA on sale for BF for $479. I cannot seem to find any information about this tv but it looks nearly identical to the UN55KU6300....there are a few questions/answers on the BB website and some seem to think it is the same tv but just marketed exclusively for BB BF sale. Been debating for almost the whole year about getting the 50 or 55 inch 6300 and still just may go get this one at Costco but curious what you all think.

Well wouldn't you know Samsung has finally put this model up on their website...it was not there yesterday. Here are the differences for anyone else that is concerned:

The 6270 lists the following as N/A on the website:
Ultra Clear Panel Smart Hub, Component, Component In, DTS Premium Sound

I did contact Samsung via chat and they indicated both tvs do have the Ultra Clear Panel. The 6270 does not have bluetooth and no smart remote.

Knowing this if I do purchase will probably stick with the 6300 model.
This is funny because the 6290 was supposed to be the model without Bluetooth or the smart remote, but many of users have said the 6290 still comes with the smart remote (but no Bluetooth).
WarpSpeed2013 is offline  
post #388 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Has anyone been already able to watch Youtube in HDR?
Metsuki is offline  
post #389 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,741
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3204 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Anyone else update yet?
Any problems like Youtube that the other poster had?
Bond 007 is offline  
post #390 of 2407 Old 11-17-2016, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,741
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3204 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Quote:
Originally Posted by vrsixer View Post
My 6300 updated to 1150 successfully yesterday. Unfortunately, now YouTube is broken and will not launch. Netflix is working fine. Haven't noticed much else in limited use.
Still having the problem?
Bond 007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off