**OFFICIAL** Entry Level 2016 Samsung 4K UHD KU6300/6500/6600 Series TV Thread - Page 71 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 388Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
Mussels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by salam2009 View Post
When I turn my PC on, the TV comes up with the message "Mode/Resolution Not Supported" while it's booting to DOS/BIOS then the Windows appears just fine!
I'm using the "PC" mode, have the latest TV firmware, tried connecting to another HDMI input, along with tweaking other settings but there's still no picture. (my other KS8000 works fine btw)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
what graphics card? Works just fine for me with booting/BIOS on geforce 970/980/1080
Mussels is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 04:01 PM
Member
 
salam2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mussels View Post
what graphics card? Works just fine for me with booting/BIOS on geforce 970/980/1080
GTX 690 with newest drivers.
salam2009 is offline  
post #2103 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
Mussels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by salam2009 View Post
GTX 690 with newest drivers.
its not defaulting to the IGP is it? If you have onboard/IGP set as the primary GPU in the BIOS settings, nothing will be displayed until you hit windows on a secondary/dedicated card.

That would happen regardless of screen used, but might be worth looking into.

Aternatively if its an old GPU without UEFI support on a modern motherboard, it may not display an image at all until you load into windows if windows 8/10 was installed in UEFI mode (again, this would affect all screens and not just the one)
Mussels is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2104 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 05:06 PM
Member
 
salam2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mussels View Post
its not defaulting to the IGP is it? If you have onboard/IGP set as the primary GPU in the BIOS settings, nothing will be displayed until you hit windows on a secondary/dedicated card.

That would happen regardless of screen used, but might be worth looking into.

Aternatively if its an old GPU without UEFI support on a modern motherboard, it may not display an image at all until you load into windows if windows 8/10 was installed in UEFI mode (again, this would affect all screens and not just the one)
Actually, I don't have onboard/IGP & I've already set my GTX as the primary GPU. My motherboard is an old one & I use Windows 7.
Strangely, the DOS/BIOS shows up normally on my KS8000 TV !
salam2009 is offline  
post #2105 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Kevin Parrott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, I didn't think they could make the YouTube app any worse, but with the latest firmware they came through like a champ. Now it'll just freeze on the menu. You can still hear yourself clicking through, but nothing moves. Have to unplug the TV to reset it (never get tired of doing that). Way to go, Google. You're the absolute worst smart TV developer. Even shell apps that just link through to YouTube videos do it better than you.
Kevin Parrott is offline  
post #2106 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 06:49 PM
Member
 
08CivicSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08CivicSi View Post
Just picked up a 55" 6300 a few days ago from Walmart on clearance. Very happy with it so far after disabling all the motion effects. However, i was watching HD racing videos on youtube from my Firestick and the screen kept lagging/jumping. Was this an issue with the stream or the tv? I've never had a 60hz TV so i'm not sure what to expect with fast moving scenes (i believe the tv I am replacing with this is 240hz but i bought it in 2011 - Vizio XVT3D474SV) Also, the tv this replaces had a full array backlight with local dimming...will i notice a difference with this set?

The wifi was sort of spotty using a 2.4ghz signal but seems to be doing fine on a 5ghz.


After a couple of weeks of owning this TV now, I have to say the ONLY time I notice the "judder" is when using the YouTube app on my Firestick, even trying various judder reduction settings...but I can certainly live with this being the only judder experience on this TV. I've watched movies and shows on Amazon video and Netflix with no issues...not sure what it is about the Youtube vids. Very happy with the set so far!


New question...my Firestick is in HDMI 1, and my receiver is HDMI 3...while I'm watching my Firestick, if I turn on the receiver the TV automatically switches to HDMI 3 for the receiver...I cannot seem to find a way to turn this off, unless someone here knows something that I haven't found!
Lp85253 likes this.

Last edited by 08CivicSi; 06-06-2017 at 08:03 PM.
08CivicSi is offline  
post #2107 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi everyone, I bought a 70ku6000 ( Australian model) and I must say I'm really impressed!
I owned a Samsung 65h8000, loved this TV and loved the curved screen, last week I've seen this TV on special and I decided to buy it, I've watched blue-ray, played with Ps4 and Xbox one, watched sports and Netflix, so far no judder, great colors and compared to my old tv is really an amazing improvement.
When playing games, even without game mode enabled I didn't notice any input lag, played battlefield 1 and Uncharted.
Reading all the comments above, and rting review, I don't know if I've been lucky or if the australian panels are different with the one used in the US.
Francesco77 is offline  
post #2108 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,831
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3248 Post(s)
Liked: 2552
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08CivicSi View Post
After a couple of weeks of owning this TV now, I have to say the ONLY time I notice the "judder" is when using the YouTube app on my Firestick, even trying various judder reduction settings...but I can certainly live with this being the only judder experience on this TV. I've watched movies and shows on Amazon video and Netflix with no issues...not sure what it is about the Youtube vids. Very happy with the set so far!


New question...my Firestick is in HDMI 1, and my receiver is HDMI 3...while I'm watching my Firestick, if I turn on the receiver the TV automatically switches to HDMI 3 for the receiver...I cannot seem to find a way to turn this off, unless someone here knows something that I haven't found!
Turn off HDMI Control, CEC, Anynet+, etc. in all devices
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2109 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Zuk109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I have the 2016 70" 6300 and it sucks! Every time I watch hockey or football or anything (movie,tv) that pans quickly across the screen, I have judder issues.

I also have serious banding issues and clouds the size of footballs in all 4 corners. Luckily I finally got Samsung to approve a full refund, minus the sales tax. Never again, next up will be a Sony.
smokozuna likes this.

Last edited by Zuk109; 06-11-2017 at 10:21 PM.
Zuk109 is offline  
post #2110 of 2409 Old 06-06-2017, 09:14 PM
Member
 
08CivicSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Turn off HDMI Control, CEC, Anynet+, etc. in all devices
I know Anynet is off, but didn't see any other settings on the TV...ill have to check my receiver menu for something
08CivicSi is offline  
post #2111 of 2409 Old 06-07-2017, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Dargent0628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Might have asked this before, sorry if I'm repeating myself: anyone else have problems navigating the onscreen keyboard with their remote? I can't use it to fill out login info, etc the cursor will not move in response to input from the remote. I wanted to switch from my wired connection to wireless to satisfy my curiosity about connection speed, but the remote won't interact with the onscreen keyboard so I can't enter network password. Frustrating.
Dargent0628 is offline  
post #2112 of 2409 Old 06-07-2017, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Berklon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargent0628 View Post
Might have asked this before, sorry if I'm repeating myself: anyone else have problems navigating the onscreen keyboard with their remote? I can't use it to fill out login info, etc the cursor will not move in response to input from the remote. I wanted to switch from my wired connection to wireless to satisfy my curiosity about connection speed, but the remote won't interact with the onscreen keyboard so I can't enter network password. Frustrating.
Never had that issue. Any chance the battery in the remote needs replacing?
Berklon is offline  
post #2113 of 2409 Old 06-08-2017, 05:08 PM
Member
 
salam2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by salam2009 View Post
When I turn my PC on, the TV comes up with the message "Mode/Resolution Not Supported" while it's booting to DOS/BIOS then the Windows appears just fine!
I'm using the "PC" mode, have the latest TV firmware, tried connecting to another HDMI input, along with tweaking other settings but there's still no picture. (my other KS8000 works fine btw)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Could somebody help me please?
salam2009 is offline  
post #2114 of 2409 Old 06-08-2017, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Dargent0628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berklon View Post
Never had that issue. Any chance the battery in the remote needs replacing?
Nope. Fresh batteries.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk
Dargent0628 is offline  
post #2115 of 2409 Old 06-11-2017, 01:20 AM
Member
 
HWTest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm contemplating the Samsung UE43KU6072 (KU6300 in the US) and I want to use it as a PC monitor.
Any of the owners of that model tried it?
HWTest is offline  
post #2116 of 2409 Old 06-11-2017, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWTest View Post
I'm contemplating the Samsung UE43KU6072 (KU6300 in the US) and I want to use it as a PC monitor.
Any of the owners of that model tried it?
I connected mine once for my wife to watch a webinar at 1080 resolution; it was quite satisfactory. I've not evaluated for 2160 or with intricate images.
HWTest likes this.
gbynum is offline  
post #2117 of 2409 Old 06-11-2017, 05:40 AM
Newbie
 
Mussels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I use mine as a PC monitor (slightly different model, but should be close enough), you can see my detailed settings a few pages back.

Default settings are either blurry, or smear things - but it can be tuned in quite well, given time.
HWTest likes this.
Mussels is offline  
post #2118 of 2409 Old 06-12-2017, 12:35 AM
Member
 
HWTest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you gbynum and especially Mussels
Mussels likes this.
HWTest is offline  
post #2119 of 2409 Old 06-12-2017, 05:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,074
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1632 Post(s)
Liked: 2235
Rolled back the thread and deleted as many of the bickering posts as I could find. If you posted legitimate comments, but also personal attacks, the entire post was deleted. If you post included quoting an attack, the post was deleted.

Please stop the personal attacks. If you have posted your comments (pro or con), then please move on. The next round of attacks will result in both infractions and a ban from posting in this thread.
rboster is online now  
post #2120 of 2409 Old 06-13-2017, 09:26 AM
Member
 
jra2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francesco77 View Post
hi everyone, I bought a 70ku6000 ( Australian model) and I must say I'm really impressed!

I owned a Samsung 65h8000, loved this TV and loved the curved screen, last week I've seen this TV on special and I decided to buy it, I've watched blue-ray, played with Ps4 and Xbox one, watched sports and Netflix, so far no judder, great colors and compared to my old tv is really an amazing improvement.

When playing games, even without game mode enabled I didn't notice any input lag, played battlefield 1 and Uncharted.

Reading all the comments above, and rting review, I don't know if I've been lucky or if the australian panels are different with the one used in the US.


Glad you like the TV. The input lag is actually very good on this series.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
jra2k1 is offline  
post #2121 of 2409 Old 06-14-2017, 07:48 AM
Member
 
jra2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Do any of you use more than one picture profile for different content?

I use game mode for my PS4 and the movie profile for pretty much everything else.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
jra2k1 is offline  
post #2122 of 2409 Old 06-14-2017, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
Massi IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi everyone!
I bought a SAMSUNG UE43KU6000 (which is the european 43' version of the KU6300) three months ago. I have to ask you one question: is it me or this TV suffers from a VERY BAD DSE (or vertical banding) when watching sports like football (or soccer, as american people like to call it ), hockey etc.? I immediately noticed this issue, but I thought it was temporary... and I was wrong. For me it's a disgrace, because I watch hundreds of football matches every year, and this problem distracts me a lot. When there's a moving image, you can clearly see these orrible vertical patches right in the middle of the screen. I don't know if it's a problem of my panel or if it affects all these models, and so I don't know what I should do (trying to send it back to get another panel or not). Thank you for your help.
Massi IV is offline  
post #2123 of 2409 Old 06-14-2017, 05:54 PM
Member
 
jra2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Massi IV View Post
Hi everyone!

I bought a SAMSUNG UE43KU6000 (which is the european 43' version of the KU6300) three months ago. I have to ask you one question: is it me or this TV suffers from a VERY BAD DSE (or vertical banding) when watching sports like football (or soccer, as american people like to call it ), hockey etc.? I immediately noticed this issue, but I thought it was temporary... and I was wrong. For me it's a disgrace, because I watch hundreds of football matches every year, and this problem distracts me a lot. When there's a moving image, you can clearly see these orrible vertical patches right in the middle of the screen. I don't know if it's a problem of my panel or if it affects all these models, and so I don't know what I should do (trying to send it back to get another panel or not). Thank you for your help.


I don't have any vertical banding. I'd return it or exchange it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lp85253 likes this.
jra2k1 is offline  
post #2124 of 2409 Old 06-15-2017, 01:17 AM
Newbie
 
Massi IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jra2k1 View Post
I don't have any vertical banding. I'd return it or exchange it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Even when you watch football or hockey games? In my case, every quick movement of the camera makes these shadows visible. So it might be an issue relating to my panel...
Massi IV is offline  
post #2125 of 2409 Old 06-15-2017, 04:25 AM
Newbie
 
Massi IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I've made a couple of videos to show you the problem (in the last one it's particularly evident). You can select the 1080p version:





PS: sorry for the double post (isn't there an edit function?).
Lp85253 likes this.
Massi IV is offline  
post #2126 of 2409 Old 06-15-2017, 05:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,831
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3248 Post(s)
Liked: 2552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Massi IV View Post
I've made a couple of videos to show you the problem (in the last one it's particularly evident).

PS: sorry for the double post (isn't there an edit function?).
1 second vids dont show much.
Does it do it on any other source? Bluray for example.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #2127 of 2409 Old 06-15-2017, 05:15 AM
Newbie
 
Massi IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
1 second vids dont show much.
Does it do it on any other source? Bluray for example.
Yes, it happens also with other sources like PS4 (for example when you quickly move the in-game camera looking at the sky), or when I watch football games on digital TV.
Massi IV is offline  
post #2128 of 2409 Old 06-15-2017, 07:44 AM
Member
 
jra2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
**OFFICIAL** Entry Level 2016 Samsung 4K UHD KU6300/6500/6600 Series TV Thread

I do have a little of that but it's not that apparent. I sort of notice it with a blue sky but I have to really look for it. My in laws have a Sony 4K set and has that banding more than mine. I'd get another set asap though as this will drive you crazy.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Massi IV likes this.

Last edited by jra2k1; 06-15-2017 at 07:55 AM.
jra2k1 is offline  
post #2129 of 2409 Old 06-16-2017, 05:18 AM
Newbie
 
rosmakloma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I give up. I have tried both wired and wireless connections, but I cannot seem to cross 22 Mbps with the Netflix app. I'm subscribed so I can get the 4K feed, but I don't think it's coming through. I have plenty of speed otherwise, as this was taken from my iPhone in the same spot as my TV:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	2190505  
rosmakloma is offline  
post #2130 of 2409 Old 06-16-2017, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought the 55'' KU6380G Curved for $947. The non-curve was about $30 dollars less. Did I just **** up? The KS8000 was at 65-70,000 USD.
I live in one of the island if the Philippines and shipping costs from the mainland increased the prices. MU series TV's were already in stock but mall prices didn't adjust yet nor they would ever plan to.
Jaco Paz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off