Sony XBR-65Z9D / XBR-75Z9D Calibration & Fine Tuning Thread OWNERS only - Page 11 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 146Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 351 Old 12-15-2018, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I have a x800 BR connected to the Z9D... but I am going to do a lot of testing during Christmas compared to a Apple 4K, to see if Im going to switch over completely to streaming compared to BR discs.

The x800 has COAX and HDMI.. while the Z9D has optical out (don´t rembember if any other )..
Northman83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 351 Old 12-15-2018, 09:14 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2421 Post(s)
Liked: 4691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northman83 View Post
How do I connect the Z9D to a stereo amp?

I am going back and forth against a 2.0 or 5.2 system.

Now I want to know about how I best connect the Z9D to a stereo amp?


My first thoughts:
Optical out --> DAC --> RCA in
Tv --> DAC --> Amp

Is there a better way?
This a specific thread for calibration. Connection questions might go better in the more generic owner's thread. Thanks.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #303 of 351 Old 12-15-2018, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,406
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2714
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post
Who performed your calibration?
Robert Heron
egdave likes this.
mutelight is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #304 of 351 Old 12-15-2018, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Inseconds99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Need someone to calibrate my 75Z9D, live on Long Island in NY, d-nice did my zt60 years ago. Looking for recommendations on local calibrators or people who tour the area.

Getting the tv Monday and it should only take me a 2 weeks or less to get it broken in. Going for surgery Bd will be out of work for a few weeks recovering and watching the tv lol.

I’d like to get it done as soon as possible.

Last edited by Inseconds99; 12-15-2018 at 08:49 PM.
Inseconds99 is offline  
post #305 of 351 Old 12-20-2018, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,362
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 837 Post(s)
Liked: 237
I might be on the wrong forum for this but I am considering getting the 75" version of this TV since the price has been considerably reduced due to the new Z9F model that came out. The newer model doesn't do 3D which is a negative. I know the newer model has a supposedly a better processor, better wider angle viewing and Netflix calibrated but is also more expensive. I would appreciate Anyone who can share there thoughts on my dilemma on why I should go with one over the other.
shark91962 likes this.

Sony A9G
Oppo UDP-205 4k Universal Player
Classe SSP-800 Pre/Pro
Parasound Halo 5 Channel Amp
mt14942 is offline  
post #306 of 351 Old 12-20-2018, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,406
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2714
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post
I might be on the wrong forum for this but I am considering getting the 75" version of this TV since the price has been considerably reduced due to the new Z9F model that came out. The newer model doesn't do 3D which is a negative. I know the newer model has a supposedly a better processor, better wider angle viewing and Netflix calibrated but is also more expensive. I would appreciate Anyone who can share there thoughts on my dilemma on why I should go with one over the other.
You want this thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...lk-please.html

My quick answer is that I wanted the Z9F to beat the Z9D and for the technology to move forward. In the few times I have auditioned the Z9F, it was immediately obvious that the contrast and backlighting system was inferior.
mutelight is online now  
post #307 of 351 Old 12-21-2018, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
njfoses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Has anyone tested if Custom now tone maps with the Oreo update?
njfoses is offline  
post #308 of 351 Old 12-21-2018, 11:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
My quick answer is that I wanted the Z9F to beat the Z9D and for the technology to move forward.

I think it's safe to say most Z9D owners would have liked this to happen, and then subsequently would have upgraded. I know I would, that was my intention. I was actually counting on it.

Guess it will be a little longer for such a thing to happen. Unless...Sony has a surprise for us in store at CES next year...
DJR662 is offline  
post #309 of 351 Old 12-30-2018, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
shammah98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony 75 Z9D SDR picture quality

Ordered from one of the sony authorized online vendors (BB didn't have in stock). Coming from a 57' Panny Plasma. First set (manufacture date Sept 2018) arrived with a ceacked panel right down the middle. Requested a replacement set. Just arrived a couple of days ago. Manufacture date April 2017. Box looks actually a bit beat up more than the first set (it's older), but no obvious damage on TV/panel. HDMI from input 3 to Marantz SR5010 reciever. All my sources are connected by HDMI to the Marantz (Roku, DIRECTV, bluray). 4K/HDR content, especially through the TV apps, but even from Roku, look great. cleaner, brighter, than my plasma image I'm used to. SDR content, especially from the DTV box, doesn't look good, worse than what im used to. fuzzy, artifacts, not sharp, pixelation. It's not 480p bad, but I guess I was expecting the upscaling to work better, or teh SDR to look at least as good as the plasma image. same resolution, although I know its a larger screen.
Am I expecting too much? Is it possible the Marantz is affecting the video processing? I'm hoping this panel doesn't have a defect also, but before going that route, I wanted to make sure my expecations were reasonable.
thanks!
shammah98 is offline  
post #310 of 351 Old 12-30-2018, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Youre seeing two things: plasma tends to be a little "gentler" than LCD or OLED with subpar sources (which is pretty much all OTA and cable/sat sources in the US), and screen size makes a huge difference in subpar material as well--larger screens enlarge all the defects. So you have moved to a technology and size that will more clearly display the defects in the source.

Are you noticing these issues with SDR 1080p blu ray content?
340z likes this.
dkfan9 is offline  
post #311 of 351 Old 12-30-2018, 10:17 AM
Member
 
340z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by shammah98 View Post
Ordered from one of the sony authorized online vendors (BB didn't have in stock). Coming from a 57' Panny Plasma. First set (manufacture date Sept 2018) arrived with a ceacked panel right down the middle. Requested a replacement set. Just arrived a couple of days ago. Manufacture date April 2017. Box looks actually a bit beat up more than the first set (it's older), but no obvious damage on TV/panel. HDMI from input 3 to Marantz SR5010 reciever. All my sources are connected by HDMI to the Marantz (Roku, DIRECTV, bluray). 4K/HDR content, especially through the TV apps, but even from Roku, look great. cleaner, brighter, than my plasma image I'm used to. SDR content, especially from the DTV box, doesn't look good, worse than what im used to. fuzzy, artifacts, not sharp, pixelation. It's not 480p bad, but I guess I was expecting the upscaling to work better, or teh SDR to look at least as good as the plasma image. same resolution, although I know its a larger screen.
Am I expecting too much? Is it possible the Marantz is affecting the video processing? I'm hoping this panel doesn't have a defect also, but before going that route, I wanted to make sure my expecations were reasonable.
thanks!
Make sure you are not scaling 2 or even 3 times, too.

Try setting the DTV to output at native display rates and make sure the Marantz is in a pass thru mode, too.

Otherwise you are scaling at the DTV box, then the Marantz and then the Sony, too.

Dolby Atmos 5.1.4 - Revel F226Be's, C205, M126Be's - Rythmik F12SE - Revel C763L's
Marantz 8805 - McIntosh MC275 (L&R), McIntosh MC8207 (everything else)
Sony 75 Z9D - Sony UBP X800M2

Second room - Pioneer KRP-600 with Heos SoundBar 2.1
340z is online now  
post #312 of 351 Old 12-30-2018, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VA_DaveB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1583 Post(s)
Liked: 795
The clearest most accurate display will always be achieved when the display resolution exactly matches the content resolution. Any processing to upscale the content will have to introduce some level of artifacts which are more noticeable on a larger display. As mentioned, check to make sure that you're not performing multiple levels of sequential processing to the signal through the DTV, ATV and TV.
VA_DaveB is online now  
post #313 of 351 Old 12-30-2018, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,994
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1351 Post(s)
Liked: 1094
Like the others have said already, you're now looking at a crappy low quality picture (720p, 1080i) that's heavily compressed via a large 75 inch 4k TV. Cable is notoriously bad quality and the ironic thing is that a better TV will make it look worse.

In your Reality Creation settings, try setting that to Auto, bump up sharpness to 60, put smooth gradation to Low, and put the 2 noise settings to High.

Sony XBR-77A9G / Panasonic DP-UB9000 / Marantz SR7011 / Def Tech 9060 Series
pbz06 is online now  
post #314 of 351 Old 12-30-2018, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
shammah98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone! processing was on on both DTV and AVR. turned both off seems to have helped. Yes, the larger, better TV does seem to have amplified an inferior signal so it looks worse to my eyes, but I think I can live with this. most of the time we're on Netflix and Amazon anyway, and that content looks pretty good.
shammah98 is offline  
post #315 of 351 Old 12-30-2018, 11:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,272
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2385 Post(s)
Liked: 2664
Quote:
Originally Posted by shammah98 View Post
Thanks everyone! processing was on on both DTV and AVR. turned both off seems to have helped. Yes, the larger, better TV does seem to have amplified an inferior signal so it looks worse to my eyes, but I think I can live with this. most of the time we're on Netflix and Amazon anyway, and that content looks pretty good.
You should use the Sony's picture enhancement settings with standard 480i DirectTV. The bottom 3 under Clarity im the Sony's picture settings. Not recommended to have those on for blu ray content other than maybe the smooth gradation setting but you can have a different picture setting for both. Cinema pro for blu ray and Custom for the satellite feed for example.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #316 of 351 Old 12-31-2018, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Old World
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ah, thank you mutelight, I had just been wondering if the 10 point calibration control issue had been resolved, clearly it hasn't.

Shame on Sony, this was identified as an issue virtually the day the Z9D was released.
Paul Butler is offline  
post #317 of 351 Old 12-31-2018, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Butler View Post
Ah, thank you mutelight, I had just been wondering if the 10 point calibration control issue had been resolved, clearly it hasn't.

Shame on Sony, this was identified as an issue virtually the day the Z9D was released.
According to Sony, Portrait Studios, and a number of pro calibrators the autoCal does in fact properly "fix" 10pt via the rolling cal that is done at the end of the sequence.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #318 of 351 Old 01-01-2019, 04:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Old World
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
According to Sony, Portrait Studios, and a number of pro calibrators the autoCal does in fact properly "fix" 10pt via the rolling cal that is done at the end of the sequence.
Thats interesting, i had been swithering about getting a Pro Calibration done but if the 10pt controls were useless I couldn't see the point (I've done a 2pt calibration myself but it won't be as good as a pro calibration would be with 10pt).
Paul Butler is offline  
post #319 of 351 Old 01-01-2019, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Butler View Post
Thats interesting, i had been swithering about getting a Pro Calibration done but if the 10pt controls were useless I couldn't see the point (I've done a 2pt calibration myself but it won't be as good as a pro calibration would be with 10pt).
According to @D-Nice , the key to avoiding posterization and banding after 10pt is to first do a 100% manual gain adjustment then move on to the 10pt. Additionally, the reports are that Custom no longer hard clips and tone maps pretty much the same as Cinema Pro. Cinema Home still has some undefeatable hidden features that make it a poor candidate for autoCal. You have to "trick" calMAN to run autoCal on Cinema Pro but it can be done.
Paul Butler likes this.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #320 of 351 Old 01-01-2019, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
The above is with the Oreo update.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #321 of 351 Old 01-02-2019, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,406
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2714
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
According to Sony, Portrait Studios, and a number of pro calibrators the autoCal does in fact properly "fix" 10pt via the rolling cal that is done at the end of the sequence.
Hmm, that is interesting. The guy checking to see if my Z drifted after calibration and I noticed the 10 point was behaving stranger than normal when doing the sanity check. The A1E was fine but the Z was being super screwy...

Wonder if I should have done another factory reset even though I did prior to the Oreo update.
mutelight is online now  
post #322 of 351 Old 01-02-2019, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Hmm, that is interesting. The guy checking to see if my Z drifted after calibration and I noticed the 10 point was behaving stranger than normal when doing the sanity check. The A1E was fine but the Z was being super screwy...

Wonder if I should have done another factory reset even though I did prior to the Oreo update.
According to @jrref Custom now behaves like Cinema Pro in terms of tone mapping and such (have not had the chance to verify) but that Cinema Home is not recommended for AutoCal due to some undefeatable behind the scenes processing. Oreo apparently did some significant modifications.

When I'm on my other computer I'll post some screen captures from the AutoCal runs I've done.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #323 of 351 Old 01-02-2019, 08:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,406
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2714
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
According to @jrref Custom now behaves like Cinema Pro in terms of tone mapping and such (have not had the chance to verify) but that Cinema Home is not recommended for AutoCal due to some undefeatable behind the scenes processing. Oreo apparently did some significant modifications.

When I'm on my other computer I'll post some screen captures from the AutoCal runs I've done.
Hmm we may have used Custom on the Z9D the first time he was here and when he did the tune-up we used Cinema Home.

That said, even so when calibrating the A1E, it was a lot less finicky and was respecting the 10pt controls far more.
mutelight is online now  
post #324 of 351 Old 01-05-2019, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,001
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Custom and CinemaPro do look similar now after the update. See gamma comparision between both and CinemaHome, with XDR on high setting.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CinemaHome(pre)_vs_Custom(post).PNG
Views:	76
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	2506224   Click image for larger version

Name:	CinemaPro(pre)_vs_Custom(post).PNG
Views:	77
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	2506226  
Paul Butler, njfoses and grtuck like this.
Pres2play is offline  
post #325 of 351 Old 01-10-2019, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
The above is with the Oreo update.
Hi All,

I'm getting a 65 Z9D delivered tomorrow and have been reviewing relevant posts from all you experts.

I assume the "oreo" update is an new version of the OS, where do I download this from?

I will also download the latest Sony firmware update.

I've reviewed settings from rtings.com and consumer reports, any others I should look at? I'll be using AppleTv, HULU and Netflix for most of my content.

Thanks for your help, Lyle
c5auto is offline  
post #326 of 351 Old 01-10-2019, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by c5auto View Post
Hi All,

I'm getting a 65 Z9D delivered tomorrow and have been reviewing relevant posts from all you experts.

I assume the "oreo" update is an new version of the OS, where do I download this from?

I will also download the latest Sony firmware update.

I've reviewed settings from rtings.com and consumer reports, any others I should look at? I'll be using AppleTv, HULU and Netflix for most of my content.

Thanks for your help, Lyle
You can download from the sony site and update via a usb drive. Other method is from the home screen select settings, about, software and check for an update. It's rolling out so this method is not available at the same time for all users.

Software OS = firmware.
Shrike645 is offline  
post #327 of 351 Old 01-11-2019, 03:08 AM
Member
 
Black05Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by c5auto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
The above is with the Oreo update.
Hi All,

I'm getting a 65 Z9D delivered tomorrow and have been reviewing relevant posts from all you experts.

I assume the "oreo" update is an new version of the OS, where do I download this from?

I will also download the latest Sony firmware update.

I've reviewed settings from rtings.com and consumer reports, any others I should look at? I'll be using AppleTv, HULU and Netflix for most of my content.

Thanks for your help, Lyle
10k’s settings in the Z9D thread are excellent.
Black05Hemi is offline  
post #328 of 351 Old 02-06-2019, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Kbadone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Anybody played Resident Evil 2 on his Z9D? The HDR mode looks washed out on my PS4 Pro. Any suggestions how to fix it? I have been playing around with settings all day but still looks bad in HDR mode!
Kbadone is offline  
post #329 of 351 Old 02-06-2019, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,406
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbadone View Post
Anybody played Resident Evil 2 on his Z9D? The HDR mode looks washed out on my PS4 Pro. Any suggestions how to fix it? I have been playing around with settings all day but still looks bad in HDR mode!

I am playing on PC in HDR and there are areas where the black levels are somewhat elevated. If you look carefully you can see them fluctuate based on the area you are in and adjust on the fly when a new corridor/area loads/streams in. They seem to have done the HDR grading based on zones in the environment.
mutelight is online now  
post #330 of 351 Old 02-06-2019, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Kbadone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
I am playing on PC in HDR and there are areas where the black levels are somewhat elevated. If you look carefully you can see them fluctuate based on the area you are in and adjust on the fly when a new corridor/area loads/streams in. They seem to have done the HDR grading based on zones in the environment.
Looks like a different approach for HDR than RE7? But yeah I see what your saying, I noticed the sewer section looks calibrated differently than the dark corridors in RPD for example.

What game settings do you recommend to use for the Z9D for SDR and HDR?
Kbadone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
XBR-65Z9D

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off