***Official*** LeEco 2016 UMax85 Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please - Page 105 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1528Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3121 of 3152 Old 06-02-2019, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Game Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Game Fan View Post
I agree. Ads are gone.
Well...all the full screen, normal ads are gone. However, a small, what I'd call a pop up ad, has started in the lower right hand corner of the screen. It appears during the last phase of boot up, when the spinning circle comes on. Seems like it lasts about 10 seconds, then goes away. The ad started showing up on Saturday, June 1st and has continued ever since.
Game Fan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3122 of 3152 Old 06-02-2019, 08:38 PM
Member
 
TimDugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Haven't seen anything like that. Video of complete boot process would be of interest.
TimDugan is offline  
post #3123 of 3152 Old 06-03-2019, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Moscow
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Game Fan View Post
Well...all the full screen, normal ads are gone. However, a small, what I'd call a pop up ad, has started in the lower right hand corner of the screen. It appears during the last phase of boot up, when the spinning circle comes on. Seems like it lasts about 10 seconds, then goes away. The ad started showing up on Saturday, June 1st and has continued ever since.
Hello! What kind of popup are you talking about? I have not seen other types of advertising. Write more and attach, please, photos.
neekzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3124 of 3152 Old 06-04-2019, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Game Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Game Fan View Post
Well...all the full screen, normal ads are gone. However, a small, what I'd call a pop up ad, has started in the lower right hand corner of the screen. It appears during the last phase of boot up, when the spinning circle comes on. Seems like it lasts about 10 seconds, then goes away. The ad started showing up on Saturday, June 1st and has continued ever since.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
Haven't seen anything like that. Video of complete boot process would be of interest.
Quote:
Originally Posted by neekzz View Post
Hello! What kind of popup are you talking about? I have not seen other types of advertising. Write more and attach, please, photos.

After having the pop up ads over the weekend, they are now gone. Very odd. I turned the tv off & on, numerous times on Monday evening, to take a video and pics, but no pop up ads. Maybe it was just an anomaly. If it happens again, I'll do my best to get pics and a video too.
Game Fan is offline  
post #3125 of 3152 Old 06-10-2019, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Game Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
There is a gouge on DTV on the 4pda forum that provides good detail, https://4pda.ru/forum/index.php?show...#entry70120666 and lets you get away from CN frequencies, but I haven't had success. I think our US TV standard ATSC is missing from the CN firmware. Still trying to pin that down!

Having any luck?
Game Fan is offline  
post #3126 of 3152 Old 06-10-2019, 10:07 AM
Member
 
TimDugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Game Fan View Post
Having any luck?
No luck to date. Still pecking at it. I think all the software is there. Trick is to get it loaded. I found a few differences between the US and CN initiation scripts (there is a framework_letv.jar file that is not in the CN software and the framework-letv.jar file is different in the CN software. The init.environ.rc file in the CN software doesn't include franework_letv.jar and has framework-settingadapter.jar that is not in the US software.) Tried changing things around (surprised I didn't break anything) but still not recognizing an ATSC signal. I'm really not smart enough to really know what I'm doing, but might get lucky! Success will be made known, when and if.

In a not related aside, I did notice a small pop-up during my last boot. Didn't last long or I would have grabbed a picture (I was mainly happy that it booted with my changes!)
TimDugan is offline  
post #3127 of 3152 Old 06-10-2019, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Game Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
No luck to date. Still pecking at it. I think all the software is there. Trick is to get it loaded. I found a few differences between the US and CN initiation scripts (there is a framework_letv.jar file that is not in the CN software and the framework-letv.jar file is different in the CN software. The init.environ.rc file in the CN software doesn't include franework_letv.jar and has framework-settingadapter.jar that is not in the US software.) Tried changing things around (surprised I didn't break anything) but still not recognizing an ATSC signal. I'm really not smart enough to really know what I'm doing, but might get lucky! Success will be made known, when and if.

In a not related aside, I did notice a small pop-up during my last boot. Didn't last long or I would have grabbed a picture (I was mainly happy that it booted with my changes!)

Maybe you're getting close and maybe neekzz is too. On the pop up, now you know what I was talking about, at least.
Game Fan is offline  
post #3128 of 3152 Old 06-10-2019, 02:16 PM
Newbie
 
foxilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
No luck to date. Still pecking at it. I think all the software is there. Trick is to get it loaded. I found a few differences between the US and CN initiation scripts (there is a framework_letv.jar file that is not in the CN software and the framework-letv.jar file is different in the CN software. The init.environ.rc file in the CN software doesn't include franework_letv.jar and has framework-settingadapter.jar that is not in the US software.) Tried changing things around (surprised I didn't break anything) but still not recognizing an ATSC signal. I'm really not smart enough to really know what I'm doing, but might get lucky! Success will be made known, when and if.

In a not related aside, I did notice a small pop-up during my last boot. Didn't last long or I would have grabbed a picture (I was mainly happy that it booted with my changes!)
I wonder if you have seen anything in your looking around that may be an avenue to improve HDR10 performance (e.g. edit picture modes, anything related to Dolby Vision picture mode, etc.). I have poked around quite a bit opening system files to no avail, and haven't seen anything on this point from neekzz or on the Russian forum; it seems this is an unknown area.
foxilla is offline  
post #3129 of 3152 Old 06-10-2019, 03:43 PM
Member
 
TimDugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxilla View Post
I wonder if you have seen anything in your looking around that may be an avenue to improve HDR10 performance (e.g. edit picture modes, anything related to Dolby Vision picture mode, etc.). I have poked around quite a bit opening system files to no avail, and haven't seen anything on this point from neekzz or on the Russian forum; it seems this is an unknown area.
I have seen some picture settings someplace, can't remember just where, or what they controlled. My post#3125 includes a link to activation of digital TV (for Europe). That should give you a feel for how to proceed. You need to sideload Activity Launcher, then select All Activities. Lots of stuff there, explore at your own risk. Some stuff requires a mouse. There's a way to patch our remote to act as an aerial mouse. Let me know if you need that info.
TimDugan is offline  
post #3130 of 3152 Old 06-10-2019, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
foxilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
I have seen some picture settings someplace, can't remember just where, or what they controlled. My post#3125 includes a link to activation of digital TV (for Europe). That should give you a feel for how to proceed. You need to sideload Activity Launcher, then select All Activities. Lots of stuff there, explore at your own risk. Some stuff requires a mouse. There's a way to patch our remote to act as an aerial mouse. Let me know if you need that info.
Thank you. I have just been using a root file explorer, so I will certainly look in to this - hopefully over this next week.
foxilla is offline  
post #3131 of 3152 Old 06-20-2019, 03:30 PM
Member
 
TimDugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Update:

I have continued to look for ways to either bring Dolby Vision to US firmware or ATSC (US) TV to CB firmware. The CN firmware is built to support CIBN (China International Broadcasting Network) and patching in ATSC support may not be possible.

I continue to dig into the software. For info, the US firmware contains about 8015 files in 1270 folders amounting to about 3.29GB. The CN firmware contains about 11007 files in 2029 folders amounting to about 2.79 GB.

So don't expect anything from me. Just enjoy what we have.
Game Fan likes this.
TimDugan is offline  
post #3132 of 3152 Old 06-20-2019, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Game Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
Update:

I have continued to look for ways to either bring Dolby Vision to US firmware or ATSC (US) TV to CB firmware. The CN firmware is built to support CIBN (China International Broadcasting Network) and patching in ATSC support may not be possible.

I continue to dig into the software. For info, the US firmware contains about 8015 files in 1270 folders amounting to about 3.29GB. The CN firmware contains about 11007 files in 2029 folders amounting to about 2.79 GB.

So don't expect anything from me. Just enjoy what we have.

That's a whole lot of files! If it can't be done, then so be it. You gave it a heckuva shot and I appreciate your efforts.
Game Fan is offline  
post #3133 of 3152 Old 06-26-2019, 05:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Game Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Has anyone else, who rooted their TV, noticed the gray bar that now appears at the bottom of the screen, when the TV turns off? There are three icons within it and the left hand icon is a count down for the TV to turn off. This has been happening for the last two or three days.
Game Fan is offline  
post #3134 of 3152 Old 06-28-2019, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Eric Van Boven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
Update:

I have continued to look for ways to either bring Dolby Vision to US firmware or ATSC (US) TV to CB firmware. The CN firmware is built to support CIBN (China International Broadcasting Network) and patching in ATSC support may not be possible.

I continue to dig into the software. For info, the US firmware contains about 8015 files in 1270 folders amounting to about 3.29GB. The CN firmware contains about 11007 files in 2029 folders amounting to about 2.79 GB.

So don't expect anything from me. Just enjoy what we have.
I am more interested in the dolby vision for US firmware as I just ended up making Plex become the Live TV tuner and can get it anywhere versus having to rely on it going to a tv. Easier not having to switch inputs as well.
Eric Van Boven is offline  
post #3135 of 3152 Old 07-19-2019, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikemav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Leesburg, VA ,USA
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A while back in this thread several posters mentioned filing claim with your credit card company given their extended warranty coverage benefits on purchases. A few I believe said they were credited back the purchase price of the TV for failing to meet specs (lack of Dolby Vision w/ US firmware on HDMI sources despite Dolby logo on box/spec sheet. etc...) Wondering if anyone did this with Capital One? I am also sick and tired of the TV randomly tuning itself off (anyone else have this?) and am thinking of filing a claim, just wondering if anyone has experience with dealing with CapOne benefits on this?
mikemav is offline  
post #3136 of 3152 Old 07-19-2019, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post
A while back in this thread several posters mentioned filing claim with your credit card company given their extended warranty coverage benefits on purchases. A few I believe said they were credited back the purchase price of the TV for failing to meet specs (lack of Dolby Vision w/ US firmware on HDMI sources despite Dolby logo on box/spec sheet. etc...) Wondering if anyone did this with Capital One? I am also sick and tired of the TV randomly tuning itself off (anyone else have this?) and am thinking of filing a claim, just wondering if anyone has experience with dealing with CapOne benefits on this?


I get a lot of finger pointing between credit card coverage and Square warranty. Square won’t cover “software” issues and the card won’t cover if they can point at Square to make it extended warranties issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bennutt is offline  
post #3137 of 3152 Old 07-19-2019, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikemav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Leesburg, VA ,USA
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennutt View Post
I get a lot of finger pointing between credit card coverage and Square warranty. Square won’t cover “software” issues and the card won’t cover if they can point at Square to make it extended warranties issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yeah I guess Square might be complicating things (and might have been better off in retrospect not mentioning it to cc company?)
mikemav is offline  
post #3138 of 3152 Old 07-19-2019, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post
Yeah I guess Square might be complicating things (and might have been better off in retrospect not mentioning it to cc company?)


It was not only the first question asked, but the warranty purchase shares the invoice :/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bennutt is offline  
post #3139 of 3152 Old 07-24-2019, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mhconley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Thanks for all the great work guys! It's been a while since I visited this thread. I'm still loving my Umax85. I've installed the 8.0.080S_0412 firmware.


Quick question: If I root the TV and add Gapps do I need to still use the ADS remover?


Thanks,
Martin

Video: LeEco uMax85, Pioneer Elite SC-LX801; Klipsch Reference RF-82 II, RC-62 II, RS-52 II & RB-51 II; 2 Reaction Audio Echo 15 subs; Comcast X1 / Philips BDP7302 / Apple TV 4K / Xbox One X
Audio: YS-Audio Audio Experience Balanced A2; DIY ICEpower 1200AS1 monoblocks; Tube Fantasy 300b PSET monoblocks; Von Schweikert VR-4 Gen III HSE; Topping DX7s; Raspberry Pi 3 B+ running Volumio; PS Audio GCPH; Opera Consonance LP-2.0; Mørch UP-4; Grado Sonata; Sennheiser HD 598
mhconley is offline  
post #3140 of 3152 Old 07-24-2019, 09:02 AM
Member
 
TimDugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhconley View Post
Thanks for all the great work guys! It's been a while since I visited this thread. I'm still loving my Umax85. I've installed the 8.0.080S_0412 firmware.


Quick question: If I root the TV and add Gapps do I need to still use the ADS remover?


Thanks,
Martin
Yes, ad remover is necessary (if you want to avoid ads). I normally just turn the screen off, so ads not an issue and I have instant on.
TimDugan is offline  
post #3141 of 3152 Old 07-30-2019, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemav View Post
A while back in this thread several posters mentioned filing claim with your credit card company given their extended warranty coverage benefits on purchases. A few I believe said they were credited back the purchase price of the TV for failing to meet specs (lack of Dolby Vision w/ US firmware on HDMI sources despite Dolby logo on box/spec sheet. etc...) Wondering if anyone did this with Capital One? I am also sick and tired of the TV randomly tuning itself off (anyone else have this?) and am thinking of filing a claim, just wondering if anyone has experience with dealing with CapOne benefits on this?
I had an issue with my TV turning itself off quite a bit. I thought (and still do) that it was a handshake problem between the TV and the receiver. With the latest CN update, I no longer have this issue.
AudioPHILE88 is offline  
post #3142 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snpanago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 692
It's been awhile that any posts appeared on this thread. I'm assuming most of us are continuing to enjoy this fantastic 4K, HDR, DV, 3D, 85 inch display.
Of course, I could jinx myself as no one knows how long the average set will last. But at least for the present time, all smiles.
snpanago is offline  
post #3143 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My tv is working fine with English firmware. Except when it randomly shut down here and there while watching tv or movie.
punks123 is online now  
post #3144 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by snpanago View Post
It's been awhile that any posts appeared on this thread. I'm assuming most of us are continuing to enjoy this fantastic 4K, HDR, DV, 3D, 85 inch display.

Of course, I could jinx myself as no one knows how long the average set will last. But at least for the present time, all smiles.


All good on Chinese firmware.
I keep looking for a TV or projector to replace it, but nothing touches 7 feet of FALD Dolby Vision, with 3D and low game lag. Nothing under 10 grand anyway...

Still awesome!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
snpanago likes this.
bennutt is offline  
post #3145 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here using a external antena for the tv in chinese firmware? If so which one?
punks123 is online now  
post #3146 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by punks123 View Post
Anyone here using a external antena for the tv in chinese firmware? If so which one?


To my knowledge, no US tv signals are possible with Chinese firmware. Best bet is to go through an Xbox or anything that feeds a tuner signal via HDMI.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bennutt is offline  
post #3147 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So even with an external tuner it wont work for chinese firmware? I was thinking of switching to chinese firmware since it keep turning off during use.
punks123 is online now  
post #3148 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by punks123 View Post
So even with an external tuner it wont work for chinese firmware? I was thinking of switching to chinese firmware since it keep turning off during use.


Correct. However, feed it a Dolby vision signal from an Apple TV (only possible with Chinese version) and you will forget tuner signals ever mattered.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bennutt is offline  
post #3149 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to get live us local tv channel using nvdia shield or apple tv?
punks123 is online now  
post #3150 of 3152 Old 09-04-2019, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by punks123 View Post
Is there any way to get live us local tv channel using nvdia shield or apple tv?


Looks like an HD Homerun device lets you.
https://www.imore.com/how-watch-live...-without-cable


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bennutt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
dolbyvision , hdr10 , leeco , uhd , umax85

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off