Bias Lighting? - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 293Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 704 Old 04-19-2017, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ax75f92 View Post
Quads are up on their site now


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Thanks i signed up for $20 off of first order subscription but never received any thing ;(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
zibaji is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 704 Old 04-19-2017, 09:30 PM
 
audacious nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by zibaji View Post
Thanks i signed up for $20 off of first order subscription but never received any thing ;(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
They're still offering $30 off. Just message them.
King Richard likes this.
audacious nick is offline  
post #33 of 704 Old 04-19-2017, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would love that! I sent multiple messages with my contact info, no response;( i guess they dont want my business!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
zibaji is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 704 Old 04-20-2017, 07:06 AM
 
audacious nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by zibaji View Post
I would love that! I sent multiple messages with my contact info, no response;( i guess they dont want my business!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Contact them on Facebook. They respond within a few minutes.
audacious nick is offline  
post #35 of 704 Old 04-20-2017, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ax75f92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Darn. I'm one of the only ppl on earth without a FB acct. any other way to take advantage of the $30 off?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ax75f92 is offline  
post #36 of 704 Old 04-20-2017, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
ucsdsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by ax75f92 View Post
Darn. I'm one of the only ppl on earth without a FB acct. any other way to take advantage of the $30 off?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by audacious nick View Post
They're still offering $30 off. Just message them.
I just placed an order for the Quad system on Biaslighting.com.

On the checkout page just enter the code "TheQuadIsHere" to get the $30 discount. So $59.99 shipped.
King Richard likes this.
ucsdsig is offline  
post #37 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 12:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ax75f92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ax75f92 is offline  
post #38 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 01:25 AM
Senior Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Can the biaslighting.com leds be controlled with a harmony elite remote? I'm using some cheap rgb leds from Amazon that have a remote. I taught the commands to my harmony elite and it works well. I'm just not happy with the lights themselves and am looking to upgrade


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
ZippZopp is offline  
post #39 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 10:30 AM
Member
 
opideegs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucsdsig View Post
I just placed an order for the Quad system on Biaslighting.com.



On the checkout page just enter the code "TheQuadIsHere" to get the $30 discount. So $59.99 shipped.


I tried ordering with that code it says my order does not qualify do you know if still offering that promotion


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
opideegs is offline  
post #40 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
ucsdsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by opideegs View Post
I tried ordering with that code it says my order does not qualify do you know if still offering that promotion


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strange. I just tried using the coupon on the website and it was accepted.

Just make sure you've added the Quad system ($89.99). Code doesn't work on other systems.
ucsdsig is offline  
post #41 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 02:40 PM
Member
 
opideegs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucsdsig View Post
Strange. I just tried using the coupon on the website and it was accepted.



Just make sure you've added the Quad system ($89.99). Code doesn't work on other systems.


I'll try again thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
opideegs is offline  
post #42 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 02:45 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippZopp View Post
Can the biaslighting.com leds be controlled with a harmony elite remote? I'm using some cheap rgb leds from Amazon that have a remote. I taught the commands to my harmony elite and it works well. I'm just not happy with the lights themselves and am looking to upgrade


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
We will be offering an infrared add-on at our cost in the near future. It has been tested with the Harmony and did the trick (we are not customising the remote because the goal is to not use the included remote at all). The IR dimmer doesn't have a preset on the Harmony, so you'd need to teach it, but it works. (I'm trying to see if I can have a custom version made that uses the volume and channel settings from a discontinued TV brand, so it doesn't need to be taught, but that's a stretch goal for now).

The remote that I'm ordering in bulk is already available on eBay from another seller for about $11. Our cost for the IR remote would be about $3 plus shipping, so about $5-6 dollars if not treated as an add-on to an existing shipment. We're not looking to make money on the remotes, but rather to support our lights, which is where our focus will be.

Jason
h1pst3r88 and King Richard like this.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #43 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 02:48 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Quote:
Originally Posted by opideegs View Post
I'll try again thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
The problem with the coupon is that it should be used with the "dropdown" version of the product on our site, and not the standalone product page. I will fix this later. I'm heading out the door right now. There is one page listing that has a dropdown to select one of the 3 versions of the lights now available.

We have a longer 12v strip in the works for custom builds, home theatres, editing bays, and DIY projects. We're pretty excited about it. It won't run off of USB, though.

Jason
King Richard likes this.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #44 of 704 Old 04-21-2017, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,510
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3669 Post(s)
Liked: 2645
@Jason - What about those of us who purchased the MediaLight kit when you first introduced it? Will we be able to use our Harmony remotes as well? I rarely need to use the little remote that you included in your kit but it would be nice to be able to change the light percentage using the Harmony.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #45 of 704 Old 04-22-2017, 01:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Got it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
zibaji is offline  
post #46 of 704 Old 04-22-2017, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,431
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1861 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
My favorite source is Inspired LED out of Arizona. http://www.inspiredled.com/

Bias LED lighting can be cut to size if you want it around your entire TV. They have "kits" based on your TV size. I also use their toggle switch (4 settings) and to me, it's very reasonably priced. I just set the switch behind my TV and turn it on and off when needed. They also have a USB option but be careful and make sure when your TV is off that the USB port isn't getting any power - - otherwise your lights will stay on.

Great service, too!

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #47 of 704 Old 04-22-2017, 09:27 AM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
@Jason - What about those of us who purchased the MediaLight kit when you first introduced it? Will we be able to use our Harmony remotes as well? I rarely need to use the little remote that you included in your kit but it would be nice to be able to change the light percentage using the Harmony.
At minimum, we'd make them available at our cost. From our perspective, it's a way to better support our product.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #48 of 704 Old 04-22-2017, 09:32 AM
Member
 
opideegs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by opideegs View Post
I'll try again thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Thanks again I got it to work through the drop-down menu


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
opideegs is offline  
post #49 of 704 Old 04-22-2017, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,510
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3669 Post(s)
Liked: 2645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scenic Labs View Post
At minimum, we'd make them available at our cost. From our perspective, it's a way to better support our product.
That sounds reasonable. How do we go about "upgrading" our MediaLight? BTW, will this work for all Harmony remotes? I have an old, reliable Harmony 880.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #50 of 704 Old 04-22-2017, 10:08 AM
Member
 
opideegs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scenic Labs View Post
We will be offering an infrared add-on at our cost in the near future. It has been tested with the Harmony and did the trick (we are not customising the remote because the goal is to not use the included remote at all). The IR dimmer doesn't have a preset on the Harmony, so you'd need to teach it, but it works. (I'm trying to see if I can have a custom version made that uses the volume and channel settings from a discontinued TV brand, so it doesn't need to be taught, but that's a stretch goal for now).



The remote that I'm ordering in bulk is already available on eBay from another seller for about $11. Our cost for the IR remote would be about $3 plus shipping, so about $5-6 dollars if not treated as an add-on to an existing shipment. We're not looking to make money on the remotes, but rather to support our lights, which is where our focus will be.



Jason


I just ordered the quad system and I also use a Harmony elite remote would definitely be interested in how the operation would work with the Harmony remote


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
opideegs is offline  
post #51 of 704 Old 04-22-2017, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can these work with my control 4 or lutron


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
zibaji is offline  
post #52 of 704 Old 04-25-2017, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Still waiting for response. Those r on my way. Otherwise we shall have to use hues i guesd


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
zibaji is offline  
post #53 of 704 Old 04-26-2017, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Dhalmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 130
I'm not doing color grading so I'm more interested in immersion and extending the experience rather than the pure D65 perfect white setup I have now. I have an Sony OLED A1E coming in next week so I really don't think I'll need contrast enhancement benefits of the backlighting.

I ordered a Lightpack 2 UHD version set to ship in May (Kickstarter so fingers crossed). This backlighting is dynamic, taking the HDMI signal (HDCP 2.2 compliant) and extending the border colors of the on-screen picture on the fly with no latency as its a split signal. I used a similar setup for gaming using a DreamScreen but they don't offer any UHD options and the backlighting intensity was dim compared to the Lightpacks. I'll report back with some pictures when it ships and I've tested.

Here a demo from their website in case anyone is interested: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4W...80Qzc2OVk/view
Dhalmo is offline  
post #54 of 704 Old 05-01-2017, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ax75f92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhalmo View Post
I ordered a Lightpack 2 UHD version set to ship in May (Kickstarter so fingers crossed). This backlighting is dynamic, taking the HDMI signal (HDCP 2.2 compliant) and extending the border colors of the on-screen picture on the fly with no latency as its a split signal. I used a similar setup for gaming using a DreamScreen but they don't offer any UHD options and the backlighting intensity was dim compared to the Lightpacks. I'll report back with some pictures when it ships and I've tested.



Here a demo from their website in case anyone is interested: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4W...80Qzc2OVk/view

Wow, half a million dollars raised on kickstarter. How did you find out about this?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ax75f92 is offline  
post #55 of 704 Old 05-01-2017, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,510
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3669 Post(s)
Liked: 2645
^^^^^^ similar products have been available but it's not technically bias lighting. Does not achieve what bias lighting does, but it does look kinda cool if you one likes circus lighting when watching tv.
King Richard likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #56 of 704 Old 05-01-2017, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
checker9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1657 Post(s)
Liked: 379
WHat type of bias light set-up do people use with TVs far from wall? Mine is about 3 feet from wall.
checker9 is offline  
post #57 of 704 Old 05-01-2017, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Dhalmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
^^^^^^ similar products have been available but it's not technically bias lighting. Does not achieve what bias lighting does, but it does look kinda cool if you one likes circus lighting when watching tv.
I used a similar product for PC and the immersion effect is unparalleled, you have to see it to experience it. In particular, it really extends the peripheral response. I agree, the intent of bias lighting is to essentially increase the perceived contrast while softening the eye strain. I have normal bias lighting now and comparing the two for overall enjoyment I prefer the "circus", lol!

Sent from my LGLS992 using Tapatalk

Sony A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD (Calibrated Cinema Pro / Cinema Home / HDR) - LG UP970 UHD Player
NVidia Shield Pro (2015) - Chromecast Ultra
PS4 Pro 1TB - 30TB NFS Share Over LAN (Win7 HaneWin)
SANUS VLF525-B1 Wall Mount
Dhalmo is offline  
post #58 of 704 Old 05-01-2017, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,510
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3669 Post(s)
Liked: 2645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhalmo View Post
I used a similar product for PC and the immersion effect is unparalleled, you have to see it to experience it. In particular, it really extends the peripheral response. I agree, the intent of bias lighting is to essentially increase the perceived contrast while softening the eye strain. I have normal bias lighting now and comparing the two for overall enjoyment I prefer the "circus", lol!

Sent from my LGLS992 using Tapatalk
Yeah. I have a friend who has a similar system and for games, it seems pretty cool. But I find it very distracting for movies.
zibaji likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #59 of 704 Old 05-01-2017, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just received my quads and installed with brightness 60% , i like it very much


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
zibaji is offline  
post #60 of 704 Old 07-18-2017, 04:26 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Just an update that the Harmony remote-compatible infrared remotes and dimmers are FINALLY now available for the MediaLight (we didn't customize the included remote as the main attraction is the harmony-compatibility, however, they are tested with all versions included the new 16+-foot-long MEGA 12v.

How do you feel about CREE compatibility? Is that a big deal to anyone here?

Anyway, if you ordered the MediaLight in the past, contact me with your screenname here and I'll send you a free infrared dimmer (limited offer, so if you are reading this and it's still July 2017, I'm game. If you are international, you may have to pick up the cost of shipping. The remotes cost much less than international shipping.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off