Bias Lighting? - Page 28 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 339Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 830 Old 06-19-2020, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,446
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2005 Post(s)
Liked: 2305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scenic Labs View Post
.... our upcoming MediaLight Bulb

TLCI = 99

Nice. These bulbs should come in handy for specific situations.
zeus33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 830 Old 06-19-2020, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO metro area, www.cinemaquestinc.com
Posts: 3,849
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 349
This bulb is a dream come true! Bravo, Jason!


Best regards and beautiful pictures,
G. Alan Brown, President
CinemaQuest, Inc.
SMPTE, PVA, THX, ISF, Lion AV Consultants


"Advancing the art and science of electronic imaging"
GeorgeAB is offline  
post #813 of 830 Old 06-19-2020, 12:48 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
We are happy with the custom Mk2 chip. And that was why I held off on updating the entire line. I knew that the next chip was VERY tight and I wanted it in the bulbs and the desk lamp.

The bulb, MediaLight Mk2 (pronounced Mark 2), and Ideal Lume Pro+MediaLight desk lamp have identical chips and identical SPD.

This is particularly helpful when combining multiple products in one installation. As you know, even a slight difference in SPD can result in a perceptual mismatch when side by side. Kind of like matching the paint on a car even when a colorimeter says it matches.

Basically the performance of the MediaLight Pro for the price of the regular MediaLight. Seems like a good combination.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeAB View Post
This bulb is a dream come true! Bravo, Jason!


Best regards and beautiful pictures,
G. Alan Brown, President
CinemaQuest, Inc.
SMPTE, PVA, THX, ISF, Lion AV Consultants


"Advancing the art and science of electronic imaging"
GeorgeAB and Synomenon like this.
Scenic Labs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #814 of 830 Old 06-25-2020, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
irishluck73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CNY
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Good time to order the 5 meter MediaLight Mk2 for a 75" TV at this point?

Sony XBR-75Z9F; JTR 110HT, 8HT, Captivator 1400; JBL SP8CII (Atmos); Denon X4200W; Outlaw 2200; Sony X800M2; ATV4K
irishluck73 is offline  
post #815 of 830 Old 06-25-2020, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I think it is a distracting waste of money. But that is me. I do not like any sort of other Igor, what so ever in the room, besides what is coming from the TV itself when I am watching it.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
ryan.carlson82 is offline  
post #816 of 830 Old 06-29-2020, 03:53 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan.carlson82 View Post
I think it is a distracting waste of money. But that is me. I do not like any sort of other Igor, what so ever in the room, besides what is coming from the TV itself when I am watching it.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
There are people who adhere standards and people ignore them. We don't make any of our products for people who ignore them.
Synomenon and pilotart like this.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #817 of 830 Old 06-29-2020, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 2
what brightness settings do you have your media light set to for sdr and hdr 10 20 30 etc
Kid Poker is offline  
post #818 of 830 Old 06-29-2020, 07:07 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Poker View Post
what brightness settings do you have your media light set to for sdr and hdr 10 20 30 etc
Depends on the display, wall color, distance from the wall, distance of the strip from the edge of the display.

Here’s a reference pattern to use to set the lights no brighter than 10% of the maximum brightness.

https://www.biaslighting.com/pages/reference-pattern

Some recommend as high as 15%, but I don’t have a pattern for that.
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #819 of 830 Old 07-04-2020, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2555 Post(s)
Liked: 3854
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Don’t know if you may be using a Harmony remote, but the MediaLight is in the Harmony database. When I power my equipment off or on, the Harmony power toggles the MediaLight as well. It’s magic!
I have a Harmony 655 en-route and as of yet I can't find any literature on how to program it to work with the MediaLight. Do you recall the steps to make this work with the Harmony?
Aliens is offline  
post #820 of 830 Old 07-04-2020, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2555 Post(s)
Liked: 3854
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan.carlson82 View Post
I think it is a distracting waste of money. But that is me. I do not like any sort of other Igor, what so ever in the room, besides what is coming from the TV itself when I am watching it.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Not that big of a deal if you are watching a brightly lit room. However, if you are watching in a dark room with little or no light other than the TV, you are subjecting your eyes to a lot of eye stain. The MediaLight does an exceptional job at minimizing this.
Aliens is offline  
post #821 of 830 Old 07-04-2020, 06:57 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,703
Mentioned: 488 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12739 Post(s)
Liked: 7670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
I have a Harmony 655 en-route and as of yet I can't find any literature on how to program it to work with the MediaLight. Do you recall the steps to make this work with the Harmony?
It is pretty straight-forward and took only about five minutes. Your Harmony model is different than mine, so there may be some setup differences.

Step 1: Add the MediaLight to your device list (it is in the harmony database).



Step 2: Configure when you want the device powered on and off:



Step 3: For each activity, add the MediaLight as a device used (Watch AppleTV example):





Step 4 (Optional): Add a button on the touchscreen to manually toggle the bias lighting off and on:




Let me know if you have additional questions after you get your MediaLight.
Aliens and Spidacat like this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #822 of 830 Old 07-04-2020, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2555 Post(s)
Liked: 3854
Thanks for the detailed post, Jerry.

I installed the MediaLight a couple of weeks ago, I'm waiting for the arrival of the Harmony on Monday.

With the exception of two nightlights in the rear of my entertainment room, the MediaLight, other than the obvious TV, is my only source of light. I love this light. It greatly reduces eye strain. I like the way the light appears to change between light and dark scenes, when in reality it doesn't. A big thumbs up!
Aliens is offline  
post #823 of 830 Old 07-04-2020, 08:15 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,703
Mentioned: 488 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12739 Post(s)
Liked: 7670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
Thanks for the detailed post, Jerry.

I installed the MediaLight a couple of weeks ago, I'm waiting for the arrival of the Harmony on Monday.

With the exception of two nightlights in the rear of my entertainment room, the MediaLight, other than the obvious TV, is my only source of light. I love this light. It greatly reduces eye strain. I like the way the light appears to change between light and dark scenes, when in reality it doesn't. A big thumbs up!
And being able to completely control it with a remote, including selecting intensity level, is very cool.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #824 of 830 Old 07-05-2020, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
The MediaLight does come with a tiny remote control that you can set for 10%, 20%, 40%, 60%, 80%, and 100% brightness. You can either use an extra USB port on the tv for power or use the included ac adapter. I use the adapter and have it connected to an outlet that I can control from a light switch on an adjacent wall. We only use it at night and just hit the switch on the wall in the evening.
my firestick remote turns the light off and on when i volume down it just happened kinda funny
Kid Poker is offline  
post #825 of 830 Old 07-05-2020, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,263
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4042 Post(s)
Liked: 2898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Poker View Post
my firestick remote turns the light off and on when i volume down it just happened kinda funny
Sounds like a problem to me.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #826 of 830 Old 07-05-2020, 09:02 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
I have a Harmony 655 en-route and as of yet I can't find any literature on how to program it to work with the MediaLight. Do you recall the steps to make this work with the Harmony?
When they added medialight, they only added the Quad. So, search for “medialight quad” and it pops up in the database. Not sure why leaving out Quad would not come up in search, but that’s what happens.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #827 of 830 Old 07-05-2020, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Are MediaLight remote codes in URC's database? Can't seem to find them. If not do other device codes work? I don't actually have any MediaLights yet, just looking ahead...
redsandvb is offline  
post #828 of 830 Old 07-08-2020, 10:35 PM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
Are MediaLight remote codes in URC's database? Can't seem to find them. If not do other device codes work? I don't actually have any MediaLights yet, just looking ahead...

I don't think they are in Universal, but the codes used for the smaller manufacturers or "generic" manufacturers can overlap and it could be there if another LED device shares the codes. About 8 years ago, I had a Vizio TV that used the same power code as my space heater. I think that some Vizio Black Friday deals are rebadged TVs because remote interference happens a lot with vizio to this day.

The codes are in the Harmony database.

If using with a universal remote, the key command to teach is the power command. There really isn't a need to change brightness, and if the TV is one that shuts the USB port off, the dimmer has memory, so it will come back to the previous brightness level.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
post #829 of 830 Old 07-10-2020, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
irishluck73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CNY
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Just ordered the Mk2 5 meter for our 75" Z9F.

Got my tracking number in under 10 seconds! That's fast!

Sony XBR-75Z9F; JTR 110HT, 8HT, Captivator 1400; JBL SP8CII (Atmos); Denon X4200W; Outlaw 2200; Sony X800M2; ATV4K
irishluck73 is offline  
post #830 of 830 Old 07-11-2020, 09:19 AM
Biased (but nice)
 
Scenic Labs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kinnelon, NJ
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Send a message via Skype™ to Scenic Labs
Your order came in before our post office run. . (We use shipstation, so we press one button and the labels and invoices print out for us). Usually, anything before 3pm goes out the same day, but when we were under lockdown, we only did daily pickup and that happened when they showed up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by irishluck73 View Post
Just ordered the Mk2 5 meter for our 75" Z9F.

Got my tracking number in under 10 seconds! That's fast!
irishluck73 and pilotart like this.

Jason Rosenfeld
Scenic Labs, LLC
Publisher of Spears & Munsil Benchmark UHD HDR Benchmark.
Maker of The ISF-certified MediaLight 6500K Bias Lighting System
Scenic Labs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off