**OFFICIAL** 2017 SONY XBR-X930E (Owner's Thread)(No Price Talk) - Page 254 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15227Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7591 of 10807 Old 05-17-2018, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leon Lasker View Post
Ok wow, did not know that. Looks weird for someone who does not know it.




Yes, that's true we have two big windows on the other side of the room. But we have a bought blackout curtains, immediately after buying this tv because otherwise, we could not see a thing during the day. So the only light the tv see's is from the other windows from like 3 meters to the side.

Thanks for both your responses.
No worries, the reason you only see it in direct sunlight is because panels aren’t perfectly flat, they have deferential and play for heat expansion and retractions. So I’ve found the bigger the screen the more apparent it is as the is obviously more area of deferential. Both my 65” 930e and 850c arecabout the same like yours but my small 55” 900e fairs much better in natural light evennknow both the 900 and 930 have the exact same anti glare coating.
Madmax67 likes this.
fssfguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7592 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,558
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6674 Post(s)
Liked: 6670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leon Lasker View Post
Ok wow, did not know that. Looks weird for someone who does not know it.




Yes, that's true we have two big windows on the other side of the room. But we have a bought blackout curtains, immediately after buying this tv because otherwise, we could not see a thing during the day. So the only light the tv see's is from the other windows from like 3 meters to the side.

Thanks for both your responses.
Ya, in that type of room, no TV will do a good job without help !
Lend27 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #7593 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Need help understanding picture formats please

Hi guys, I need some help understanding the various picture formats as it relates to my new Sony X930E:
4K
Dolby Vision
HDR

I have an Apple TV 4K and a Roku 4K.

I want to check to see if I am able to view movies in 4K, HDR, and Dolby Vision.
I am using HDMI 2 on the tv.
Do I need to install something on the tv to enable Dolby Vision? I have the latest firmware installed on the Sony and the date of mfg is March 2018.
Should I use Netflix as an app on the TV or from my Apple TV or my Roku?
I don’t see Dolby Vision listed anywhere in the Apple TV video settings.
Is there anything I can check while viewing that will confirm the video format ?

Thanks for the help!
Lend27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7594 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
Hi guys, I need some help understanding the various picture formats as it relates to my new Sony X930E:
4K
Dolby Vision
HDR

I have an Apple TV 4K and a Roku 4K.

I want to check to see if I am able to view movies in 4K, HDR, and Dolby Vision.
I am using HDMI 2 on the tv.
Do I need to install something on the tv to enable Dolby Vision? I have the latest firmware installed on the Sony and the date of mfg is March 2018.
Should I use Netflix as an app on the TV or from my Apple TV or my Roku?
I don’t see Dolby Vision listed anywhere in the Apple TV video settings.
Is there anything I can check while viewing that will confirm the video format ?

Thanks for the help!
First are you routing your devices through a receiver? If so, you'll need to make sure that A) your receiver can pass HDR and/or DV and B) the receiver is setup for enhanced 4K. This is different for each maker, so let us know what AVR you have.

The 930E will need to have it's 4K mode set to Enhanced. Here's a video (not mine) that shows where this setting is:

Once the TV and AVR are setup properly......you may want to pull the power to all devices and then plug everything back in. Sometimes this is needed. Also make sure your HDMI cables are new and support 4K HDR/DV.

The Roku can only do 4K HDR. The Apple TV can do 4K HDR and Dolby Vision. Your TV needs to be on the latest firmware that includes DV, and the Apple TV needs to be on 11.3 for DV to work with the Sony.

There is no popup badge for HDR content. The only way you will know is if you bring up the Picture settings and see the HDR badge in the upper right.
There should be a badge for Dolby Vision if the TV detects DV as a signal and switches to it. You can also pull up the picture settings and see the HDR badge in the upper right and the picture mode will be listed as Dolby Vision.

Using the built-in Netflix app is a good test to make sure you are seeing DV on the TV. If you don't with Netflix, then you have to troubleshoot that. Also note you do need to be on the UltraHD plan at Netflix for 4K.
Madmax67, m_snow and jdchdtv like this.
kbmb is offline  
post #7595 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 12:11 PM
E05
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just ordered my 930E through Crutchfield, I usually go through my local best buy. But they longer carry the model and I saved myself on tax as well. Another 120 Can't wait to get it installed and put up
aflorida and vman83 like this.

--Denon AVR2400H--Sony XBR65in930E--Monolith THX 10"--OPPO 203--
E05 is offline  
post #7596 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
First are you routing your devices through a receiver? If so, you'll need to make sure that A) your receiver can pass HDR and/or DV and B) the receiver is setup for enhanced 4K. This is different for each maker, so let us know what AVR you have.

The 930E will need to have it's 4K mode set to Enhanced. Here's a video (not mine) that shows where this setting is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjN3pKe2kSI

Once the TV and AVR are setup properly......you may want to pull the power to all devices and then plug everything back in. Sometimes this is needed. Also make sure your HDMI cables are new and support 4K HDR/DV.

The Roku can only do 4K HDR. The Apple TV can do 4K HDR and Dolby Vision. Your TV needs to be on the latest firmware that includes DV, and the Apple TV needs to be on 11.3 for DV to work with the Sony.

There is no popup badge for HDR content. The only way you will know is if you bring up the Picture settings and see the HDR badge in the upper right.
There should be a badge for Dolby Vision if the TV detects DV as a signal and switches to it. You can also pull up the picture settings and see the HDR badge in the upper right and the picture mode will be listed as Dolby Vision.

Using the built-in Netflix app is a good test to make sure you are seeing DV on the TV. If you don't with Netflix, then you have to troubleshoot that. Also note you do need to be on the UltraHD plan at Netflix for 4K.
Thanks for that info! It was not set to “Enhanced Inputs”. Now it is.
I will follow your additional instructions when I have more time.
Thank you so much for the help 😀
Lend27 is offline  
post #7597 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 69
With every title I watch in HDR10 rather than Dolby Vision, part of me dies. Just watched the Phantom Thread last night in HDR10 because still no DV blu ray support. We have been patient. where is the update?!!!!
isarafan is offline  
post #7598 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: California
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
If you pay that kind of price now, you are shopping at the wrong places.

Oh, I know! Both the 55B6 and 55B7 came out $2199 or more, but when I got them they were $1799 and $1599, respectively. That's more their value. Unfortunately, I can't wait 8-10 months for the C8 to drop to $1800, so it was a Sony for me (for now).
jdchdtv is offline  
post #7599 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: California
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by isarafan View Post
With every title I watch in HDR10 rather than Dolby Vision, part of me dies. Just watched the Phantom Thread last night in HDR10 because still no DV blu ray support. We have been patient. where is the update?!!!!

Do you maybe have the X900F? The X930E has had the DV update for months already. Also, Sony has infamously implemented their DV "update" kinda 1/2 azzed-- for you to get DV via a blu ray player (or any other source) that particular blu ray player will have to have its own firmware updated as well as the X930E's firmware updated to DV and the blu ray player must be capable of supporting DV. That might be why you're not getting DV on blu ray.

Last edited by jdchdtv; 05-18-2018 at 04:11 PM.
jdchdtv is offline  
post #7600 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 04:08 PM
Member
 
CollegeHTMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by isarafan View Post
With every title I watch in HDR10 rather than Dolby Vision, part of me dies. Just watched the Phantom Thread last night in HDR10 because still no DV blu ray support. We have been patient. where is the update?!!!!
Can’t argue with that sentiment! I have found that DV streaming looks better than HDR10 discs of the same material. That also has caused me to buy more digital DV content even though I have a 4K player.
CollegeHTMan is offline  
post #7601 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
is Netflix down on these today?

EDIT: did a reset and it's working now

Last edited by qwank; 05-18-2018 at 05:44 PM.
qwank is offline  
post #7602 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeHTMan View Post
Can’t argue with that sentiment! I have found that DV streaming looks better than HDR10 discs of the same material. That also has caused me to buy more digital DV content even though I have a 4K player.
I have yet to notice a difference with DV over HDR10. Westworld in HDR10 is the best I have seen so far.

TV - Sony 65XBR-930e | Receiver - Yamaha RX-V577 | 4K player - Sony UBP-X700 | PS3 | Router - Asus RT-AC86U | SVS SB-2000 sub | Paradigm Monitor SE 6000F L/R | Paradigm Monitor SE 2000C center | Paradigm ADP-170 v.3 rears
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #7603 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Kiler View Post
I have yet to notice a difference with DV over HDR10. Westworld in HDR10 is the best I have seen so far.
Check out some DV via either the internal Netflix app or the new Vudu Android app. The DV is gorgeous.
Roborope likes this.
kbmb is offline  
post #7604 of 10807 Old 05-18-2018, 08:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Check out some DV via either the internal Netflix app or the new Vudu Android app. The DV is gorgeous.
I have the beta Vudu app but after watching Last Jedi and the first half of Baby Driver i have yet to notice a difference compared to HDR10 from discs. Maybe after a month or two of DV i will be better but right now that is not the case.

TV - Sony 65XBR-930e | Receiver - Yamaha RX-V577 | 4K player - Sony UBP-X700 | PS3 | Router - Asus RT-AC86U | SVS SB-2000 sub | Paradigm Monitor SE 6000F L/R | Paradigm Monitor SE 2000C center | Paradigm ADP-170 v.3 rears
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #7605 of 10807 Old 05-19-2018, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Kiler View Post
I have the beta Vudu app but after watching Last Jedi and the first half of Baby Driver i have yet to notice a difference compared to HDR10 from discs. Maybe after a month or two of DV i will be better but right now that is not the case.
Very interesting. I don't do physical discs, but noticed a huge difference with Vudu DV and the Android app compared to HDR10. Also still waiting for Sony/Dolby and Apple to get the Apple TV DV HDMI up to par with the internal app.

I noticed the biggest difference with the new Jumanji. Colors were richer and had overall more pop.
kbmb is offline  
post #7606 of 10807 Old 05-20-2018, 08:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Turned on my 65X930E this morning and it won't accept any HDMI input. That's across the board, to include a direct tv receiver, apple tv 4k, and Oppo 203. Checked all connections, ensured enhanced HDMI was turned on, just nothing. Internal apps are working fine. Anyone else experienced this or have an idea to get it sorted? Thanks in advance.
Anchorman80 is offline  
post #7607 of 10807 Old 05-20-2018, 08:46 AM
Member
 
Roborope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Anyway to speed up the menu opening? Petty I know but when I streaming and want to try out different video options I’ll press the action menu and nothing will happen for ... what seems like 10 seconds.
Roborope is offline  
post #7608 of 10807 Old 05-20-2018, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Does the FandangoNow app on this TV not support HDR at all? It plays 4K, but not HDR. Why would they do that? Note I don’t normally use FandangoNow, but have a free rental.
Morac is offline  
post #7609 of 10807 Old 05-20-2018, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roborope View Post
Anyway to speed up the menu opening? Petty I know but when I streaming and want to try out different video options I’ll press the action menu and nothing will happen for ... what seems like 10 seconds.


Pause the video first. The TV’s processor is also pretty weak so make sure you aren’t running much in the background.
Morac is offline  
post #7610 of 10807 Old 05-20-2018, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,954
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2224 Post(s)
Liked: 2516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchorman80 View Post
Turned on my 65X930E this morning and it won't accept any HDMI input. That's across the board, to include a direct tv receiver, apple tv 4k, and Oppo 203. Checked all connections, ensured enhanced HDMI was turned on, just nothing. Internal apps are working fine. Anyone else experienced this or have an idea to get it sorted? Thanks in advance.
Try a reboot of the TV . I believe you extend holding the power button down and the set will reboot. If no joy do a total reset of the T.V. The latter is a pain as you have to start the setup over but no working HDMI inputs is a worse pain.

EDIT: Before the latter reset option I would disconnect all HDMI cables going into the set at both ends and wait a few minutes then reconnect.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #7611 of 10807 Old 05-20-2018, 06:51 PM
Member
 
peanut1015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I’ve been in contact with Sony about that oil or tape residue on the screen from protective film. I’ve followed all your valuable advice about trying to clean the screen to no avail. I sent the pics to the Sony engineers and they’re setting up a replacement. Anyone done this? At this point I don’t know if it’s a full swap or just a panel. I sure hope I don’t get a worse screen!
peanut1015 is offline  
post #7612 of 10807 Old 05-21-2018, 05:11 AM
Member
 
Roborope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post
Pause the video first. The TV’s processor is also pretty weak so make sure you aren’t running much in the background.
Thank you. Tried that and it didn’t help.
Not a huge issue.
Roborope is offline  
post #7613 of 10807 Old 05-21-2018, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Heard that. Best Buy is no longer seillg our 65. What will be the model that is equal or better but in the same price range?

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #7614 of 10807 Old 05-21-2018, 11:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
Heard that. Best Buy is no longer seillg our 65. What will be the model that is equal or better but in the same price range?
Correct, the X930E is now discontinued by Sony so no one (aside from those with current inventory) will be selling the X930E. The closest equivalent to the X930E is the X900F. There will not be a direct 930 replacement (and likely ever). That being said, the X900F is almost identical to the 930e, the only real difference is the FALD backlighting instead of the edgelit. It uses the same processor and same Sony branded technology. Most would say this makes the X900F the superior TV, but I believe it has fewer dimmable zones so it’s blacks aren’t as controlled as the X930E (based on reviewer information obviously). The 900F also has X-Motion Clarity (zonal black-frame insertion) where the X930E does not so motion is also improved.

Well that, and the build materials used on the of the set which most people won’t see after they place their tv again anyway.
yanks1 and Madmax67 like this.
TimHansonE36 is offline  
post #7615 of 10807 Old 05-21-2018, 11:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by peanut1015 View Post
So I’ve been in contact with Sony about that oil or tape residue on the screen from protective film. I’ve followed all your valuable advice about trying to clean the screen to no avail. I sent the pics to the Sony engineers and they’re setting up a replacement. Anyone done this? At this point I don’t know if it’s a full swap or just a panel. I sure hope I don’t get a worse screen!
I’ve had my set replaced under warranty earlier this year for faulty lighting. They should email you instructions once they get all the logistics set up and will explain prior to sending a tech out what you’ll need to do.

With my replacement, they were replacing the entire tv so all I had to do was take my tv down from the wall and have all the accessories sitting with it for when the delivery guys got here with the new one. They unboxed my replacement (these guys don’t know how to handle tv’s for the record, so you need to make sure they know how to hold the tv if you don’t want it damaged) then boxed up the old one using the new sets box. Less garbage for you do deal with. You’ll be on your own for wall mounting it if needed, the delivery guys won’t wall mount even with the “white glove treatment.”
TimHansonE36 is offline  
post #7616 of 10807 Old 05-21-2018, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York City
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 220
930E vs 900E vs 900F

VINCENT of HDTV Reviews recently did a comparison video between our 930E,the 900E,and the new 900F.
...and our 930E seems to still come out the winner.....

I recently shopped on line just for the hell of it (I currently own the 65 inch 930E that I bought last Black Friday at PC RICHARDS) and saw that the 930E was still available,new and ready to ship either in the 55 inch or the 65 inch size or both.
Check the following sites(I dont know if they are still available and ready to ship since I did my "shopping around" more than a week ago and they move fast):
Try...CRUTCHFIELD,AMAZON,CLEVELAND PLASMA,B&H,ABT,PC RICHARDS to name a few that had them.
Madmax67 likes this.
aflorida is offline  
post #7617 of 10807 Old 05-21-2018, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Setzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimHansonE36 View Post
Correct, the X930E is now discontinued by Sony so no one (aside from those with current inventory) will be selling the X930E. The closest equivalent to the X930E is the X900F. There will not be a direct 930 replacement (and likely ever). That being said, the X900F is almost identical to the 930e, the only real difference is the FALD backlighting instead of the edgelit. It uses the same processor and same Sony branded technology. Most would say this makes the X900F the superior TV, but I believe it has fewer dimmable zones so it’s blacks aren’t as controlled as the X930E (based on reviewer information obviously). The 900F also has X-Motion Clarity (zonal black-frame insertion) where the X930E does not so motion is also improved.

Well that, and the build materials used on the of the set which most people won’t see after they place their tv again anyway.

I don't think the X900F has Dolby Vision.
Setzer is offline  
post #7618 of 10807 Old 05-21-2018, 09:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post
I don't think the X900F has Dolby Vision.
Currently. Its meant to get it but only Sony knows the answer to "when". You would think given the Z9D/940E are FALD and running X1 Extreme would not be too hard to do. Maybe the new X-Motion Clarity feature requires additional software modifications to the DV implementation.
gyates11 is offline  
post #7619 of 10807 Old 05-22-2018, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 777
I was looking at some settings in my quest to understand the difference between Dolby Vision using the internal Vudu app and DV using an ATV4K. As I've stated before, the internal Vudu app with DV has colors that pop more and look richer. All of my settings on my Sony 930e between the inputs were identical, yet the DV picture from the ATV looked duller and not as vibrant (this was for both the ATV Vudu app and iTunes movies).

Today I was testing on the ATV and went into the color settings on the 930e and adjusted the Live Color setting. Normally I have this setting Off, but I adjusted it between Low/Med/High and noticed that setting it to Medium (Low didn't do much and High was a little too over saturated) had the picture on the ATV start to match the Vudu internal app while playing DV. Curious, I went back into the Vudu internal app and looked at the TV picture settings. The Live Color was also set to Off, but when I played a DV movie and adjusted the Live Color settings, I noticed changing between Low/Med/High really didn't make much difference in the picture. So I'm wondering if Sony has configured something with DV related to Live Color and the internal app vs a device over HDMI where adjusting Live Color for the internal apps doesn't do much?

Wondering if others with a ATV and a Sony are seeing similar results.
kbmb is offline  
post #7620 of 10807 Old 05-22-2018, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
I was looking at some settings in my quest to understand the difference between Dolby Vision using the internal Vudu app and DV using an ATV4K. As I've stated before, the internal Vudu app with DV has colors that pop more and look richer. All of my settings on my Sony 930e between the inputs were identical, yet the DV picture from the ATV looked duller and not as vibrant (this was for both the ATV Vudu app and iTunes movies).



Today I was testing on the ATV and went into the color settings on the 930e and adjusted the Live Color setting. Normally I have this setting Off, but I adjusted it between Low/Med/High and noticed that setting it to Medium (Low didn't do much and High was a little too over saturated) had the picture on the ATV start to match the Vudu internal app while playing DV. Curious, I went back into the Vudu internal app and looked at the TV picture settings. The Live Color was also set to Off, but when I played a DV movie and adjusted the Live Color settings, I noticed changing between Low/Med/High really didn't make much difference in the picture. So I'm wondering if Sony has configured something with DV related to Live Color and the internal app vs a device over HDMI where adjusting Live Color for the internal apps doesn't do much?



Wondering if others with a ATV and a Sony are seeing similar results.


Yes, you’re on to something!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bonkrood and srkmish like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
jimmyhigh; solzun; zachfeen; johnerz

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off