**OFFICIAL** 2017 SONY XBR-X930E (Owner's Thread)(No Price Talk) - Page 301 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15227Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9001 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flygaff View Post
As far as I know, I have had the 930e longer than anyone. I have had the 930E since before it was released to the public. I purchased a 930D in November of 2016. Had nothing but problems after a few weeks. After beating on Sony for a few months they agreed to replace the unit. They told me they had to supply me the 930E. I received the replacement in February 2017. This unit has been great since then. I have had no issues at all. The only problem just started yesterday is my remote is giving me some problems. I have to stand right in front of the tv for it to work.
You might try replacing the batteries and see if that helps - I installed my 930e in April and continue to be impressed by the picture quality - waiting on delivery of a 4K UHD player to take my viewing pleasure up another notch.

ggsantafe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9002 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: AMERICA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Remote

I have tried a few sets of new batteries without any change. I tried cleaning everything. the remote will not work unless I am very close to the TV. Strange issue. I bought the Oppo 203 for my 4K player. I love it except for the fact they are getting out of the business.
Flygaff is offline  
post #9003 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 09:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flygaff View Post
I have tried a few sets of new batteries without any change. I tried cleaning everything. the remote will not work unless I am very close to the TV. Strange issue. I bought the Oppo 203 for my 4K player. I love it except for the fact they are getting out of the business.
You might also try some of the steps suggested by Sony: http://www.sony.com/electronics/supp...icles/00030297

ggsantafe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9004 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1717 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flygaff View Post
I have tried a few sets of new batteries without any change. I tried cleaning everything. the remote will not work unless I am very close to the TV. Strange issue. I bought the Oppo 203 for my 4K player. I love it except for the fact they are getting out of the business.


I think if all else fails I would just replace the remote with a programmable remote or a brand new OEM replacement. IIRC they are very cheap.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #9005 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 03:13 PM
Member
 
jev7266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Yeah but that's not what his HD channels will be sending. 1080i is the resolution used for HD cable and sat. providers. He should have the cable box send whatever native resolution the channels send and let the TV's X1 Extreme processor handle the rest.
Wondering if all cable providers are sending 1080i. Attached are two images: first is a screenshot of my Xfinity cable box's display setting (1080p) and the second is the signal info from my Yamaha RX-v581 which sends (pass-thru) the cable signal to the tv. The latter suggests that it's 1080p.

I'm probably missing something and any input from folks more knowledgeable is appreciated.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xfinity display quality-sm.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	181.3 KB
ID:	2469398   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yamaha Signal info-sm.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	118.9 KB
ID:	2469400  

TVs: Sony XBR65X930E (2017), v8.0.0 (6.6510) / Samsung UN50JU7100 (2015) w/ IA02 panel, sw v.1530.1
AVR: Yamaha RX-v581, sw v.2.65
Speakers 5.1.2: Polk Audio RM6750 (surround) + Pioneer SP-T22A-LR Atmos height
jev7266 is offline  
post #9006 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,291
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2244 Post(s)
Liked: 2529
Quote:
Originally Posted by jev7266 View Post
Wondering if all cable providers are sending 1080i. Attached are two images: first is a screenshot of my Xfinity cable box's display setting (1080p) and the second is the signal info from my Yamaha RX-v581 which sends (pass-thru) the cable signal to the tv. The latter suggests that it's 1080p.

I'm probably missing something and any input from folks more knowledgeable is appreciated.

Thanks.
All broadcast is 1080i and 720p via satellite and cable. If you are seeing 1080p, your cable box is converting the 720p and 1080i signals to 1080p.
Madmax67 likes this.
mutelight is offline  
post #9007 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jev7266 View Post
Wondering if all cable providers are sending 1080i. Attached are two images: first is a screenshot of my Xfinity cable box's display setting (1080p) and the second is the signal info from my Yamaha RX-v581 which sends (pass-thru) the cable signal to the tv. The latter suggests that it's 1080p.



I'm probably missing something and any input from folks more knowledgeable is appreciated.



Thanks.


Xfinity converts all channels except locals to 720p, so if you their box set to output 1080i, the box is converting around 99% of the channels (basically everything except NBC, CBS and ABC) from their “native” 720p resolution to 1080p. The TV could probably do a better job, though with Xfinity everything will look too soft because of their mangling of channels.
Morac is offline  
post #9008 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
We use DirecTV. Would it be good to lock in settings? If so can someone tell me how to set lock?

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #9009 of 10805 Old 10-16-2018, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone still have 6.2669 (or other 6.2 firmware) on their x930e ? Currently is 6.5629.
I think 6.2 had the most amazing motion, exactly like x900e.
DV update made it noticeable worse. Newest 6.5629 improved it, but still nowhere near how it was with 6.2. Can anyone confirm this ?

Last edited by tyDi; 10-16-2018 at 08:16 PM.
tyDi is offline  
post #9010 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 04:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Is X930E also suffering from issue with Dolby Vision picture being too dark?
Vincent is mentioning this problem in his Sony OLED comparison video:
blackie333 is offline  
post #9011 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackie333 View Post
Is X930E also suffering from issue with Dolby Vision picture being too dark?
Vincent is mentioning this problem in his Sony OLED comparison video:
Me personally have found it darker than HDR10 but when we first got the update I adjusted my settings to match what I had set under custom and cinema pro. I had to change them back closer to the default DV was set at to get them closer.

I haven’t used DV too much since my AVR only recently got updated to support it but I may even just try resetting the DV profile to see what it looks like default.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is offline  
post #9012 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: AMERICA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I think if all else fails I would just replace the remote with a programmable remote or a brand new OEM replacement. IIRC they are very cheap.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I have the problem resolved. I setup my Vive VR headset in the same room. The lasers from the light house units apparently interfere with the remote signal. Turn off the VR system and the remote works. Strange problem resolved
m_snow likes this.
Flygaff is offline  
post #9013 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
We use DirecTV. Would it be good to lock in settings? If so can someone tell me how to set lock?
With Directv Satellite services you need to set the display resolution support in the settings section to support all of the resolutions in the list. Then you need to set the output format to native. This will bypass all of the receiver video scaling. Which let's the TV do all the conversions to the 4K panel.
49Merc and Madmax67 like this.
Ronomy is offline  
post #9014 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,291
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2244 Post(s)
Liked: 2529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flygaff View Post
I have the problem resolved. I setup my Vive VR headset in the same room. The lasers from the light house units apparently interfere with the remote signal. Turn off the VR system and the remote works. Strange problem resolved
That will definitely do it, the lighthouses spew IR all over the room when they are on.
mutelight is offline  
post #9015 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have still noticed with DV that the native apps on the tv are much brighter than anything over HDMI. Vudu, Netflix, Prime, and apple movies just look darker. I have tested on my Apple TV, Xbox one X, Roku. And yes I have my inputs already set for hdr, and I have good hdmi cables. Also brighter than hdr10 for su
JakeS550 is offline  
post #9016 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by fssfguy View Post
Ahh man that sucks. 😢 sorry dude, hopefully they upgrade you tho!

Has anyone here owned a 930 from release with no issues ?

I haven't had any problems with my 930 purchased last October.
JD23 is offline  
post #9017 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 12:32 PM
Member
 
jev7266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
If you are seeing 1080p, your cable box is converting the 720p and 1080i signals to 1080p.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post
the box is converting around 99% of the channels (basically everything except NBC, CBS and ABC) from their “native” 720p resolution to 1080p.
Thanks for the info, guys.

TVs: Sony XBR65X930E (2017), v8.0.0 (6.6510) / Samsung UN50JU7100 (2015) w/ IA02 panel, sw v.1530.1
AVR: Yamaha RX-v581, sw v.2.65
Speakers 5.1.2: Polk Audio RM6750 (surround) + Pioneer SP-T22A-LR Atmos height
jev7266 is offline  
post #9018 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Slooshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackie333 View Post
Is X930E also suffering from issue with Dolby Vision picture being too dark?

Yes
Slooshy is offline  
post #9019 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackie333 View Post
Is X930E also suffering from issue with Dolby Vision picture being too dark?
Vincent is mentioning this problem in his Sony OLED comparison video:

I don’t see it with the native apps. My Vudu app on mine is gets so bright. Same with Netflix. But those two apps on my Apple TV or my Xbox don’t get that bright.
JakeS550 is offline  
post #9020 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Just took the plunge and purchased a 65 x930e. Been watching this tv for a year. Amazon was down to 3 after being at 18 in inventory through a 3rd party on Sunday. If anyone is still on the fence now's the time. Hoping my panel is solid. No sales tax and 5% back saved me a bundle.

This will replace my 5 year old KDL-W850B 70 inch unit that I have loved. Going to sell it to fund a UBP-X700 and STR-DH790 for a full, yet budgeted 4k HDR set up.

New to the Forum as well though been reading these for years.
awbooth is offline  
post #9021 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Mookeylama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyDi View Post
Anyone still have 6.2669 (or other 6.2 firmware) on their x930e ? Currently is 6.5629.
I think 6.2 had the most amazing motion, exactly like x900e.
DV update made it noticeable worse. Newest 6.5629 improved it, but still nowhere near how it was with 6.2. Can anyone confirm this ?
is there any way to choose WHICH update/s u can install?
Mookeylama is offline  
post #9022 of 10805 Old 10-17-2018, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mookeylama View Post
is there any way to choose WHICH update/s u can install?


You can choose not to update by disabling automatic updates and then never checking for updates. Once a new update comes out though, you can’t choose to update to a prior update unless you’ve already downloaded the update file and saved it.
Morac is offline  
post #9023 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1717 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
**OFFICIAL** 2017 SONY XBR-X930E (Owner's Thread)(No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post
You can choose not to update by disabling automatic updates and then never checking for updates. Once a new update comes out though, you can’t choose to update to a prior update unless you’ve already downloaded the update file and saved it.


Are you sure you can install an older update from a saved file? I have not of anyone doing that.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #9024 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by awbooth View Post
Just took the plunge and purchased a 65 x930e. Been watching this tv for a year. Amazon was down to 3 after being at 18 in inventory through a 3rd party on Sunday. If anyone is still on the fence now's the time. Hoping my panel is solid. No sales tax and 5% back saved me a bundle.

This will replace my 5 year old KDL-W850B 70 inch unit that I haDve loved. Going to sell it to fund a UBP-X700 and STR-DH790 for a full, yet budgeted 4k HDR set up.

New to the Forum as well though been reading these for years.
Has anyone measured the pixel response time on the 65inch x930e? I know Rtings got 13s, but that was on the 55inch. I am most likely trading in my x930e 65inch for the z9d 65inch. I'm just curious about the difference in the pixel response time. Someone in the z9d thread said that the pixel response time was about 29-30s on their 65inch x930e. Does anyone know? There's very few reviews on the x930e 65inch and they didn't even advertise the set in most BBs when it was still for sale. Thanks in advance.
Fuzalert likes this.
MLM87 is offline  
post #9025 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
Has anyone measured the pixel response time on the 65inch x930e? I know Rtings got 13s, but that was on the 55inch. I am most likely trading in my x930e 65inch for the z9d 65inch. I'm just curious about the difference in the pixel response time. Someone in the z9d thread said that the pixel response time was about 29-30s on their 65inch x930e. Does anyone know? There's very few reviews on the x930e 65inch and they didn't even advertise the set in most BBs when it was still for sale. Thanks in advance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzalert View Post
Attached is the result from my 65" x930E. Thoguhts? Browser zoom level shouldn't matter, right?
Check here from my previous test that I just dug up.
Fuzalert is offline  
post #9026 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzalert View Post
Check here from my previous test that I just dug up.
What site is this from? I am going to test this on my 65 x930e tonight. How does this test work?
MLM87 is offline  
post #9027 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLM87 View Post
What site is this from? I am going to test this on my 65 x930e tonight. How does this test work?
Honestly, I don't remember. Try looking at the previous posts since I think other users were using it as well. I think you're supposed to measure the distance between the ghost of the trail and the next trail or something.

For the site, I think you can try googling UFO Tests. Most sites are banned at my workplace so I can't look it up atm.
Fuzalert is offline  
post #9028 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzalert View Post
Honestly, I don't remember. Try looking at the previous posts since I think other users were using it as well. I think you're supposed to measure the distance between the ghost of the trail and the next trail or something.

For the site, I think you can try googling UFO Tests. Most sites are banned at my workplace so I can't look it up atm.
okay, will do. Thank you.
MLM87 is offline  
post #9029 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Are you sure you can install an older update from a saved file? I have not of anyone doing that.

You can't downgrade from a newer version so you can't update to the latest version and then go back to an old version, but I'm fairly certain you can upgrade to an older version as long as it is newer than what you have installed.
Morac is offline  
post #9030 of 10805 Old 10-18-2018, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1717 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post
You can't downgrade from a newer version so you can't update to the latest version and then go back to an old version, but I'm fairly certain you can upgrade to an older version as long as it is newer than what you have installed.


Ah, okay I understand what you’re saying now.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
jimmyhigh; solzun; zachfeen; johnerz

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off