**OFFICIAL** 2017 SONY XBR-X930E (Owner's Thread)(No Price Talk) - Page 369 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15273Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11041 of 11070 Old 06-14-2020, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post
I have only noticed this when........

I have 65 inch 930e and after I enable Pro Mode (Hotel Mode) with info+mute+volume up+home button (european model) and I enable "Optimize PC Display", the whole picture quality changes. The TV is much more brighter (at 20 of 50 brightness, the screen feels like 40/50 in normal mode), way less DSE, way more cleaner and crisper picture, more colors, more depth of field, white is whiter, less posterization, brighter greys, cleaner blacks, text and icons of the android interface are sharper and brighter. The downside is that google services doesn't keep me logged in, so I can't login into youtube. Also I cannot edit global settings, global settings menu is not available (If I want to change something, I need to go into normal mode which takes 3-4 minutes). Only picture/audio settings are available. Netflix app and HBO GO app working to login, which is enough for me. This may be due to Sony forcing 16-255 limited range instead of 0-255 full range. Tried this many times over the last few months and the difference is noticeable right away, at least for my TV.


I have the latest firmware, 6.6555 and I can't tell if this problem was since day 1 (2 years ago) or not. All I can say is stock firmware had much better motion.

Last edited by tyDi; 06-14-2020 at 09:34 PM.
tyDi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11042 of 11070 Old 06-15-2020, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello fellow media enthusiast.

So I have this TV and I am looking at getting a new AVR that will play AAC audio, as my current setup does not and I want to avoid re-encoding thousands of files from AAC AC3.

Does anyone know if I can play a movie on the Plex app on the TV and it will directly pass the AAC audio to the AVR without having to transcode it into AC3 or something else?
Darkrenzo is offline  
post #11043 of 11070 Old 06-18-2020, 12:41 PM
Member
 
cdx47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkrenzo View Post
Hello fellow media enthusiast.

So I have this TV and I am looking at getting a new AVR that will play AAC audio, as my current setup does not and I want to avoid re-encoding thousands of files from AAC AC3.

Does anyone know if I can play a movie on the Plex app on the TV and it will directly pass the AAC audio to the AVR without having to transcode it into AC3 or something else?
That's not a Sony TV question, that's a Plex question. But the short answer is yes it should but why not use VLC or another player to play AAC? Plus you could just get an Android box to do the same thing.
cdx47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11044 of 11070 Old 06-18-2020, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdx47 View Post
That's not a Sony TV question, that's a Plex question. But the short answer is yes it should but why not use VLC or another player to play AAC? Plus you could just get an Android box to do the same thing.
No.That is indeed a Sony question.
I didn't ask what Plex can do. I already know what it can do. I asked if the Sony hardware is capable of passing the AAC (PVM/LPVM) audio directly to the AVR over HDMI.
Darkrenzo is offline  
post #11045 of 11070 Old 06-18-2020, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2307 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkrenzo View Post
No.That is indeed a Sony question.
I didn't ask what Plex can do. I already know what it can do. I asked if the Sony hardware is capable of passing the AAC (PVM/LPVM) audio directly to the AVR over HDMI.

As long as you have the Plex setting under Advanced/Passthrough set to HDMI it should work. I don’t have an AVR to test but I think you should be fine.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #11046 of 11070 Old 06-19-2020, 10:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
As long as you have the Plex setting under Advanced/Passthrough set to HDMI it should work. I don’t have an AVR to test but I think you should be fine.
Thanx. I am hoping so too. I have just been reading stuff about the differences between eARC and ARC and I am worried that the TV will not pass 5.1 AAC down to the receiver and instead convert it to 2.0.

Thats why I was hoping to find someone with a similar setup to confirm whether it would pass multi channel AAC.
Darkrenzo is offline  
post #11047 of 11070 Old 06-23-2020, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Just passed my 2 year anniversary with my XBR65X930E. What a beautiful picture this has.
Best TV ever! 😁
Lend27 is offline  
post #11048 of 11070 Old 06-23-2020, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
Just passed my 2 year anniversary with my XBR65X930E. What a beautiful picture this has.
Best TV ever! 😁
It's been hard to find a suitable LCD upgrade from this model. Feels like Sony did something special in 2016-2017 and then dropped the ball in favor of OLED.
mgh26 likes this.
family_guy is offline  
post #11049 of 11070 Old 06-23-2020, 08:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Dang Sony just upgraded a bunch of C and D model TV's to Android 8. I thought we were done with updates but now I wonder if we will get Android 9.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00016747
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #11050 of 11070 Old 06-23-2020, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Kiler View Post
Dang Sony just upgraded a bunch of C and D model TV's to Android 8. I thought we were done with updates but now I wonder if we will get Android 9.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00016747

Doubtful. The C, D, E and F models all have the MediaTek 5890 or 5891 CPU. Only TV’s with the 5893 CPU (which is significantly faster) got Android 9.

A few people with C TV’s said Oreo is laggy.
Morac is online now  
post #11051 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post
Doubtful. The C, D, E and F models all have the MediaTek 5890 or 5891 CPU. Only TV’s with the 5893 CPU (which is significantly faster) got Android 9.

A few people with C TV’s said Oreo is laggy.



That's my only disappointment with this TV. Lack of support beyond first couple years. TV's are not smartphones, and this is a fantastic TV. I even like android tv, but it's just frustrating that it isn't better supported over a longer time period.
ichy_b is offline  
post #11052 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Carlsbad, Ca.
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichy_b View Post
That's my only disappointment with this TV. Lack of support beyond first couple years. TV's are not smartphones, and this is a fantastic TV. I even like android tv, but it's just frustrating that it isn't better supported over a longer time period.
Agree but that seems to be the norm for tvs these days. Certainly is for Samsung which I will never buy again.
SoCalCyclist is offline  
post #11053 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Carlsbad, Ca.
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by family_guy View Post
It's been hard to find a suitable LCD upgrade from this model. Feels like Sony did something special in 2016-2017 and then dropped the ball in favor of OLED.
That's exactly what I'm seeing. I was thinking about upgrading to get eARC, Homekit, Airplay 2, iTunes etc but I'm not thrilled with what Sony is now offering for LCD and Sony OLED is such a big jump in price most will look at LG Oled instead.
SoCalCyclist is offline  
post #11054 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichy_b View Post
That's my only disappointment with this TV. Lack of support beyond first couple years. TV's are not smartphones, and this is a fantastic TV. I even like android tv, but it's just frustrating that it isn't better supported over a longer time period.
I feel better about Netflix supporting our android TV apps a lot longer than the other devices Netflix has already decommissioned. I know we will not get 20 years of support but if we can get 10 years of app support i will be happy.

TV - Sony XBR-75Z9F | Receiver - Yamaha RX-V577 | 4K player - Sony UBP-X700 | PS3 | Router - Asus RT-AC86U | SVS SB-2000 sub | Paradigm Monitor SE 6000F L/R | Paradigm Monitor SE 2000C center | Paradigm ADP-170 v.3 rears | 2nd TV - Sony 65XBR-930e
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #11055 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2307 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichy_b View Post
That's my only disappointment with this TV. Lack of support beyond first couple years. TV's are not smartphones, and this is a fantastic TV. I even like android tv, but it's just frustrating that it isn't better supported over a longer time period.

I don’t think this is right. For kicks, I just went to Sony’s support site to check on updates of 5 and 6 year old TV’s. They just got an update a week ago.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #11056 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I don’t think this is right. For kicks, I just went to Sony’s support site to check on updates of 5 and 6 year old TV’s. They just got an update a week ago.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

They are updating, but the updates aren’t doing much. For example the release notes for the last update the X930E got simply said it fixed an issue with updating the TV.
Morac is online now  
post #11057 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2307 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post
They are updating, but the updates aren’t doing much. For example the release notes for the last update the X930E got simply said it fixed an issue with updating the TV.

True but the TV’s from 5, 6 or more years ago just got Oreo so my point is I wouldn’t be surprised to get security and bug fixes for a couple more years at least but probably no new features.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Vandellyn likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #11058 of 11070 Old 06-29-2020, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
True but the TV’s from 5, 6 or more years ago just got Oreo so my point is I wouldn’t be surprised to get security and bug fixes for a couple more years at least but probably no new features.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Yeah the update to Oreo for old TVs was surprising, but thinking about it, it’s not actually that surprising. The chip in those TVs is the same as the one in the X930E, so it’s likely most of the “heavy lifting” had already been done. As such it probably wasn’t that difficult to update the older TV’s to Oreo and doing so means less work for Sony as they only have to support two different versions of Android.

I think the added benefit is that Oreo split out many of Google’s apps from being part of the OS to being apps in the Google Play Store, so now they can be updated without needed to update the TV software. Again, less work for Sony.
Jim Kiler likes this.
Morac is online now  
post #11059 of 11070 Old 07-03-2020, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Does anybody know if DSE is something that can all of a sudden develop in a panel? Last night I was playing a game on my PS4 and for the first time I noticed some pretty prominent DSE on my 65” 930e.

I find it hard to believe I’m just noticing this DSE after almost 3 years of owning this set. In fact this set was a replacement for a 930e where I noticed some DSE.

Has anybody experience DSE developing later on their 930e or any panel in general?
tmdorsey is offline  
post #11060 of 11070 Old 07-03-2020, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I wouldn’t think so. But I’ve seen stranger things happen before. My 930e and 900e are two of the cleanest panels I’ve had the pleasure of owning. I wasn’t as lucky with the 900f.

Are you certain it was DSE? Try running modernwize DSE test off of YouTube and see how much it shows up.
Majcric is offline  
post #11061 of 11070 Old 07-03-2020, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Wolfe13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon Prime Video

Does anyone know how to see the video quality of the video your watching on Amazon Prime Video since it was updated on June 26 to version 5.2.17 on the built in app? Before this update you could press the enter or ok button and it would tell you if it was Ultra HD or 1080 P.

Thanks in advance.
Wolfe13 is offline  
post #11062 of 11070 Old 07-03-2020, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Kiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MN
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfe13 View Post
Does anyone know how to see the video quality of the video your watching on Amazon Prime Video since it was updated on June 26 to version 5.2.17 on the built in app? Before this update you could press the enter or ok button and it would tell you if it was Ultra HD or 1080 P.

Thanks in advance.
Too many apps do not tell you the resolution, yes i am looking at you Disney +, Hulu, and FandangoNow.

TV - Sony XBR-75Z9F | Receiver - Yamaha RX-V577 | 4K player - Sony UBP-X700 | PS3 | Router - Asus RT-AC86U | SVS SB-2000 sub | Paradigm Monitor SE 6000F L/R | Paradigm Monitor SE 2000C center | Paradigm ADP-170 v.3 rears | 2nd TV - Sony 65XBR-930e
Jim Kiler is offline  
post #11063 of 11070 Old 07-04-2020, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Modicen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: R.I.
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majcric View Post
I wouldn’t think so. But I’ve seen stranger things happen before. My 930e and 900e are two of the cleanest panels I’ve had the pleasure of owning. I wasn’t as lucky with the 900f.

Are you certain it was DSE? Try running modernwize DSE test off of YouTube and see how much it shows up.
What is DSE?
Modicen is offline  
post #11064 of 11070 Old 07-04-2020, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2307 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modicen View Post
What is DSE?

Dirty Screen Effect


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Jim Kiler and Modicen like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #11065 of 11070 Old 07-04-2020, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Modicen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: R.I.
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Dirty Screen Effect


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks for the reply, I will look into this.
m_snow likes this.
Modicen is offline  
post #11066 of 11070 Old 07-04-2020, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2307 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modicen View Post
Thanks for the reply, I will look into this.

I checked mine (2017 build 65” 930E) using that YT video and I didn’t have any DSE.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #11067 of 11070 Old 07-04-2020, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majcric View Post
I wouldn’t think so. But I’ve seen stranger things happen before. My 930e and 900e are two of the cleanest panels I’ve had the pleasure of owning. I wasn’t as lucky with the 900f.

Are you certain it was DSE? Try running modernwize DSE test off of YouTube and see how much it shows up.

Thanks for the tip. Ran that YouTube test you suggested and thankfully didn’t see anything like I saw on the game.

Another weird thing is I played the game again last night and didn’t see any of the dark sections I saw the other night. Looks like it was something weird going on with the game or PS4.
Modicen likes this.
tmdorsey is offline  
post #11068 of 11070 Old 07-04-2020, 02:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
Thanks for the tip. Ran that YouTube test you suggested and thankfully didn’t see anything like I saw on the game.

Another weird thing is I played the game again last night and didn’t see any of the dark sections I saw the other night. Looks like it was something weird going on with the game or PS4.
That’s good to hear. Hopefully everything will be fine
tmdorsey and Modicen like this.
Majcric is offline  
post #11069 of 11070 Old 07-04-2020, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichy_b View Post
That's my only disappointment with this TV. Lack of support beyond first couple years. TV's are not smartphones, and this is a fantastic TV. I even like android tv, but it's just frustrating that it isn't better supported over a longer time period.
Its industry wide I’m afraid. No one vendor goes above and beyond. Samsung are probably the worst IMO. On the plus side the TV is amazing and really only downside is upgraded netflix app with each major release. Was impressed with got the Oero update.
geoffo11 is offline  
post #11070 of 11070 Old 07-06-2020, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Carlsbad, Ca.
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffo11 View Post
Its industry wide I’m afraid. No one vendor goes above and beyond. Samsung are probably the worst IMO. On the plus side the TV is amazing and really only downside is upgraded netflix app with each major release. Was impressed with got the Oero update.
They are and I will never buy another Samsung TV again because of it.
SoCalCyclist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
jimmyhigh; solzun; zachfeen; johnerz

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off