Samsung MU8000 (No Price Talk) - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 978Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1546 Old 12-13-2017, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
coumadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MU8000 vs JU7100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Muldrow View Post
Not sure I could justify getting a tv that’s two years older and doesn’t support full HDR for 3” inches but to each their own. I’ve heard the JU7100 is a great tv but so is the MU and in all respects is probably better in every way but 3” smaller

thanks, thats what i thought. I was opting for sony 900e at 75 inch but its too small for my room and 20 feet distance from TV. Then went to 85 inch, but saw 82inch prob better (mu8000). Then thought, well is 82 big ENOUGH from 75 inch (as sony 900e has much better picture). In the end, i pulled trigger on samsung mu8000 82 inch, it will be delivered on sunday. I think the 7 extra inches in my room sitting 20 feet away will be important. And 82 to 85 inch is not that different.
thanks for your input
coumadin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1546 Old 12-13-2017, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Sorry for my late respons about the settings i'm using gor my 65mu8000 But here they are;

Picture mode - movie
Backlight - 5 (at night i even use 3 or 4 but thats personal)
Brightness - 0
Contrast - 96
Sharpness - 0
Colour - 50
Tint - 50
Digital clean view - off (on for regular tv watching)
Auto motion plus - custom
(- blur 3) ( judder 3) (led clear motion - off) this is not calibrated and needs adjustment I guess.
Local dimming - low
Contrast enhancer- off (not sure yet if this is the best setting. Anybody??)
HDR+ - off, do not use this !
Colour tone - warm2
White balance 2 point:
RG 12, GG -6, BG -8, RO-1, GO 0, BO 0
Gamma BT 1886 gamma 0
Colour space auto
Energies saving mode - off
Motion lightning- off

Im not a professional calibrator but I hope this can be useful for some people ;-)
kingstonian likes this.
Guzzpower is offline  
post #453 of 1546 Old 12-13-2017, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by coumadin View Post
I have the option of buying the samsung 82 uncgmu8000 or the JU7100 85 inch for similar price. The price doesn't make a difference to me at this point between the two. Which is the better set?
Mu8000 is newer, but i do like the 3 extra inches.

any suggestions?
The JU7100 will not be getting HDR10+ so that would be a deal breaker for me
Boomenbass1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #454 of 1546 Old 12-13-2017, 04:27 PM
Member
 
XstatiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just out of curiosity, are any of you concerned with the security of your MU8000 Smart TV and if so, what are you doing to better secure it? This is my first Smart TV and obviously there is a history of exploits with all the vendors that many of us would like to avoid. The only sure way is to take it off the internet entirely and maybe use external devices instead of the built in programs for Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, etc.
XstatiK is offline  
post #455 of 1546 Old 12-19-2017, 01:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello everyone!

My first time posting here.
Im planning on buying the UN75MU8000 on Boxing Day (Canada)
and went to a local Visions store here today to check the picture quality.
Overall I am convinced that I am all set for this specific model.

Just one thing that bothered me, the side and top bezel of the 75 inch is thicker than the 65 and 82 inch.
Its like a bar of aluminum/stainless on both sides and top, compared to the 65 and 82 inch.

Did you guys who bought the 75 inch also have the same thick bezel?



Thanks!
hdrnewbie is offline  
post #456 of 1546 Old 12-19-2017, 01:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I tried to post image of the bezel but I think I still need a couple of posts to be able to link images.
hdrnewbie is offline  
post #457 of 1546 Old 12-19-2017, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
DestroVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poolshark69 View Post
Does anyone have Netflix with the Ultra HD package level? I am watching Planet Earth 2 in Ultra 4K HD (whatever that means for netflix) and my Samsung is not going into HDR mode. I am 99% sure Planet Earth 2 is in 4k and HDR
If I switch to Iron Fist on Netflix which is HDR only from what I can tell the Picture type switches to Standard HDR.
Also I added Bias lighting to test things out using the MU8000 USB port and wondering if there is a way to control the port at all? When I turn the TV off the lighting stays powered.
Thanks
I have it but I’m also new to this TV. Have had it for about two weeks. How do I even know if the TV has gone into HDR mode?
DestroVega is offline  
post #458 of 1546 Old 12-19-2017, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Go to settings, then the symbol on the left has "hdr" in it.
Guzzpower is offline  
post #459 of 1546 Old 12-19-2017, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guzzpower View Post
Go to settings, then the symbol on the left has "hdr" in it.
I have a 65" 8000 that I for the most part love. I'm wondering if there is something in the settings that I can do with some upscaled 1080 video. When I watch some of my snowboard movies everything looks amazing except for fast scenes with lots of arm or board rotation seems to blur around the edges.

I'm not 100% certain it isnt the source as they are x264 movies, but I never noticed it on my 1080p native tv that I used to use.

The source is out of a raspberry pi outputing HD video. Any special settings I could use for that input source?
f00bar00 is offline  
post #460 of 1546 Old 12-20-2017, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can anyone with the 75 inch please post a pcture of the aide and top bezels. Thanks!
hdrnewbie is offline  
post #461 of 1546 Old 12-20-2017, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I mean the side and top bezels please. Thank you.
hdrnewbie is offline  
post #462 of 1546 Old 12-21-2017, 03:18 AM
Member
 
Jeff Merheb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Beirut, Lebanon
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hello
I still have a good Sony w600b FHD TV but I am tempted to sell it to get a 55'' MU8000, I have a couple of questions:
-I have read in rtings that it has 120hz panel, is that right? Can you play with PC at [email protected]?
-How good is HDR gaming? Will I be amazed by the difference with a FHD non HDR TV?
-I used to have a samsung 3D TV in the past that had a panel defect twice (darken burned part), is the MU8000 free of important known defects?
Jeff Merheb is offline  
post #463 of 1546 Old 12-23-2017, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Merheb View Post
Hello
I still have a good Sony w600b FHD TV but I am tempted to sell it to get a 55'' MU8000, I have a couple of questions:
-I have read in rtings that it has 120hz panel, is that right? Can you play with PC at [email protected]?
-How good is HDR gaming? Will I be amazed by the difference with a FHD non HDR TV?
-I used to have a samsung 3D TV in the past that had a panel defect twice (darken burned part), is the MU8000 free of important known defects?
The 55 inch version of the MU8000s are 60hz. The rest are 120hz but they do not accept a 120hz input. For a 55 I'd go with the TCL P series with Dolby Vison, its still only 60hz but you get full array dimming at $599. If you want a 120hz input you'll probably have to go LG or Sony but you'll be missing HDR10+ which the new XBOX is going to support. The Samsungs have Upgradable One Connect boxes so it might be possible to get 120hz by purchasing a future box.
Boomenbass1 is offline  
post #464 of 1546 Old 12-24-2017, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Poolshark69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomenbass1 View Post
The 55 inch version of the MU8000s are 60hz. The rest are 120hz but they do not accept a 120hz input. For a 55 I'd go with the TCL P series with Dolby Vison, its still only 60hz but you get full array dimming at $599. If you want a 120hz input you'll probably have to go LG or Sony but you'll be missing HDR10+ which the new XBOX is going to support. The Samsungs have Upgradable One Connect boxes so it might be possible to get 120hz by purchasing a future box.
i think you mean the 49" version is 60 while the rest are 120? According to rtings at least

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/mu8000

Gamertag: Quicksilver1663
Poolshark69 is offline  
post #465 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
dhkinil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried searching this thread but saw no posts on this. I have a un75mu8000 and have a problem. I also have an Onkyo 676 receiver. It took several phone calls with Onkyo, but eventually the ARC function worked for a while. Unfortunately, I had to reset the receiver when I reset my wifi password and since then I can not find the ARC speakers. I spent an hour with Samsung this morning and they went through every setting and completely reset the TV and still could not find it. I have turned on the ARC function in the Onkyo as well. I called Onkyo (I have spent a lot of phone time with them over this) and they finally said today that it is the one connect box that is highly unstable. Is this Onkyo making an excuse for something they can't fix or is there really a problem?

Thanks,

DHK
dhkinil is offline  
post #466 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
dhkinil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdrnewbie View Post
I mean the side and top bezels please. Thank you.
I have a 75" one, what specifically would you like to see on the bezels?

DHK
dhkinil is offline  
post #467 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
dhkinil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdrnewbie View Post
I mean the side and top bezels please. Thank you.
Not sure this helps, but these are pics I just took.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1228.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	542.4 KB
ID:	2335586   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1227.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	2335588  
dhkinil is offline  
post #468 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhkinil View Post
Not sure this helps, but these are pics I just took.
Thanks for the pictures.
Exactly as I thought it would be.
The 75 inch bezel is different from the 65 and 82 inch which looks like this




I am confused why Samsung would do that.
hdrnewbie is offline  
post #469 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quicksilv3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orangeville Canada
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhkinil View Post
I tried searching this thread but saw no posts on this. I have a un75mu8000 and have a problem. I also have an Onkyo 676 receiver. It took several phone calls with Onkyo, but eventually the ARC function worked for a while. Unfortunately, I had to reset the receiver when I reset my wifi password and since then I can not find the ARC speakers. I spent an hour with Samsung this morning and they went through every setting and completely reset the TV and still could not find it. I have turned on the ARC function in the Onkyo as well. I called Onkyo (I have spent a lot of phone time with them over this) and they finally said today that it is the one connect box that is highly unstable. Is this Onkyo making an excuse for something they can't fix or is there really a problem?

Thanks,

DHK
Ok well ARC is the most horrendous way to setup audio. Do your self a favour and just use digital optical. I had the same issue. I had ARC working for a few weeks, then there was a firmware update and it killed my ARC connection. If you read anywhere here on AVS, ARC is the worst and stupidest thing you should be doing.

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk

tv: Samsung UN75MU800, Receiver: Denon AVR 730H, speakers: 4x M&K S-1B and M&K S85c for center, sub: MKsound V12 HTPC, Samsung UBP-K8500, Rogers Digital PVR, Chromecast Ultra
Quicksilv3r is offline  
post #470 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
dhkinil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quicksilv3r View Post
Ok well ARC is the most horrendous way to setup audio. Do your self a favour and just use digital optical. I had the same issue. I had ARC working for a few weeks, then there was a firmware update and it killed my ARC connection. If you read anywhere here on AVS, ARC is the worst and stupidest thing you should be doing.

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
except if i do that I can't easily use the samsung remote
dhkinil is offline  
post #471 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quicksilv3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orangeville Canada
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhkinil View Post
except if i do that I can't easily use the samsung remote
Get a Logitech Harmony remote then. Or suck it up for no audio.

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
Chuck666 likes this.

tv: Samsung UN75MU800, Receiver: Denon AVR 730H, speakers: 4x M&K S-1B and M&K S85c for center, sub: MKsound V12 HTPC, Samsung UBP-K8500, Rogers Digital PVR, Chromecast Ultra
Quicksilv3r is offline  
post #472 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Size of Y stand?

Posted on the other thread, but hoping someone can help here?

Hi everybody.

I've decided to upgrade to the UE75MU8000 (great price from PRCDIRECT) but am finding it impossible to find out the dimensions of the Y stand.

Can an owner of the 75" help me out here so I can decide whether it will fit on my old unit.

I'm looking for the width from the outer edge of the Y "feet" and the same for the depth if possible please in cm.

Thanks in advance!
meherenow2000 is offline  
post #473 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 03:35 PM
Member
 
webdzynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couldnt find any previous posts so thought I'd ask here - Just got my Samsung MU8000 set up and while everything is good, evidently it does not have the ability to play Pandora? The Pandora app indicates the TV does not have the "proper codec". Any suggestions for someone not too familiar with all this stuff on how to fix this, if at all??
webdzynes is offline  
post #474 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by meherenow2000 View Post
Posted on the other thread, but hoping someone can help here?

Hi everybody.

I've decided to upgrade to the UE75MU8000 (great price from PRCDIRECT) but am finding it impossible to find out the dimensions of the Y stand.

Can an owner of the 75" help me out here so I can decide whether it will fit on my old unit.

I'm looking for the width from the outer edge of the Y "feet" and the same for the depth if possible please in cm.

Thanks in advance!

120cm x 35.56cm from foot to foot width and depth. Hope it helps. Great set by the way. Very pleased.


Kevin
KevinB13 is offline  
post #475 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 11
un75mu8000 vs xbr75x850e

un75mu8000 vs xbr75x850e?

Both are so close in price right now for boxingday. The sammy being 200 higher.

Which one you guys think is better? Is the sammy ips as well at 75inch?
criskoe is offline  
post #476 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poolshark69 View Post
i think you mean the 49" version is 60 while the rest are 120? According to rtings at least

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/mu8000
Ahh yes I stand corrected
Boomenbass1 is offline  
post #477 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 11:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by criskoe View Post
un75mu8000 vs xbr75x850e?

Both are so close in price right now for boxingday. The sammy being 200 higher.

Which one you guys think is better? Is the sammy ips as well at 75inch?
No, it is a VA panel. That means less blooming, I would go with the Samsung.
cb86 is offline  
post #478 of 1546 Old 12-26-2017, 11:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinB13 View Post
120cm x 35.56cm from foot to foot width and depth. Hope it helps. Great set by the way. Very pleased.


Kevin
120 cm converts to about 47.5 inches. Are you sure that's right? From the pictures it seems like it would be more.
cb86 is offline  
post #479 of 1546 Old 12-28-2017, 12:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinB13 View Post
120cm x 35.56cm from foot to foot width and depth. Hope it helps. Great set by the way. Very pleased.
Kevin
OK that's great thanks - new stand it is then.

I've went for this cantilever number from Amazon UK - cant post links but the search is B01KXCC73W. Says up to 70" but I am confident what with the lowish weight.
meherenow2000 is offline  
post #480 of 1546 Old 12-28-2017, 12:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb86 View Post
120 cm converts to about 47.5 inches. Are you sure that's right? From the pictures it seems like it would be more.
Seems spot on to me when you consider the length of the entire unit is 1676mm... that leaves about 24 cm on either side of the Y Stand feet.
meherenow2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2017 model , high dynamic range , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off