2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40381Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
Lmao ya thats funny stuff id probably have the most disliked video after call of duty infinite warfare
i watched that video ended up spitting out a mouthful of coffee lol my kid is just looking at me like what a idiot dad lol
Blake1990wilson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platnumn View Post
Just got the 900e delivered last night, trying some settings from the 930d forum since that's what I'm coming from.



So far a lot to play around with, will check back in.



One thing to note when playing Iron Fist on Netflix HDR, the very beginning scene in the building has a LOT of static/noise. Is there a setting to fix this? As there's no noise reduction/smoothing/etc enabled, maybe I need to use one of those? I typically hate the artificial picture that comes with noise reduction software.



@morphinapg what do you think? I know you don't have experience with this TV, but can you comment on the HDR/static issue in general?


Quote:
Originally Posted by McBlundersnuggle View Post
Our old TV got a lot of noise on Netflix, it was because of the bit rate at which the Netflix stream was being sent. I had to go on the the Netflix account and tell it to stream at HD rather than automatically determine how fast based on bandwidth. The issue showed up as noise in the image, basically white/grey dots all over the screen.


Okay - been going through more content - the noise I'm referring to is only present on the Netflix HDR "Iron Fist"

I put it through the following shows and the results were flawless and gorgeous and showed NO grain:
-chefs table (hdr)
-chapelle standup (hdr)
-abstract (hdr)
-oasis (amazon hdr)
-top gear (amazon hdr)

I read the Marvel Netflix HDR shows actually may intend some of that grain, so I guess that's that.

Will keep testing!!
Platnumn is offline  
post #273 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
Ya your right lol sorry math isn't my strong suit before my first cup of coffee
Lol. It's good. ITt probably won't be long before the 55 drops to $1500.
synccoil likes this.
maddog510 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:11 AM
Member
 
enigmascv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
getting the 49 inch delivered today.Anybody have any tips or suggestions? Of course i i will keep everyone updated and answer questions or take pictures if needed.
Please do since I'm looking at the same model! I was very impressed when I saw it at my local Best Buy.
enigmascv is offline  
post #275 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I'll just take a bunch of photos and upload them lol
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #276 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I've been using @morphinapg settings that looked flawless on the X930D. If anyone has any suggested changes to these let me know, but they're looking good so far.

Brightness: 13
Contrast: 95
Gamma: -2
Black Lvl: 50 (other settings showed 30 but I found that would wash out my blacks)
Black adj: off
Adv contrast enhance: off
Auto local dimming: High
X-tended dynamic range: off

Color: 53
Hue: 0
Color Temp: Expert 1
Advanced Color Temp:
--R-Gain: -6
--G-Gain: -5
--B-Gain: Max
Live Color: off

Sharpness: 50
Reality Creation: Auto
Random noise reduction: off
Digital noise reduction: off
Smooth gradation: off

Motionflow: True Cinema
CineMotion: High

FOR HDR
Same settings except:
Brightness: Max
Contrast: Max
Reality Creation: off

Cheers!!
Platnumn is offline  
post #277 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platnumn View Post
I've been using @morphinapg settings that looked flawless on the X930D. If anyone has any suggested changes to these let me know, but they're looking good so far.

Brightness: 13
Contrast: 95
Gamma: -2
Black Lvl: 50 (other settings showed 30 but I found that would wash out my blacks)
Black adj: off
Adv contrast enhance: off
Auto local dimming: High
X-tended dynamic range: off

Color: 53
Hue: 0
Color Temp: Expert 1
Advanced Color Temp:
--R-Gain: -6
--G-Gain: -5
--B-Gain: Max
Live Color: off

Sharpness: 50
Reality Creation: Auto
Random noise reduction: off
Digital noise reduction: off
Smooth gradation: off

Motionflow: True Cinema
CineMotion: High

FOR HDR
Same settings except:
Brightness: Max
Contrast: Max
Reality Creation: off

Cheers!!
thank ill try these settings as soon as i get my tv and get it set up
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #278 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
So anyone who owns this tv are all hdmi port full bandwith for hdr?
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #279 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:10 AM
Member
 
apw100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
what sucks is i cant find hardly any reviews or any videos on youtube of people unboxing and using it lol. Are we some of the few people to actually own this new tv?
There are probably a couple of reasons for this.
First, most people probably don't know that this tv exists. When I bought mine last Wednesday at Best Buy it wasn't on display yet and the salesman didn't even know that they had received them. I only knew because I checked the availability on the website.
Also, tv sales are very low at this time of the year. It's pretty soon after the holiday sales, and here in the US, there was just a Superbowl sale. The average joe who wanted a new tv probably already bought it. That leaves only the AVS Forum nerds like us.
sat24 likes this.
apw100 is offline  
post #280 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:17 AM
Member
 
apw100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
So anyone who owns this tv are all hdmi port full bandwith for hdr?
I believe HDR is supported on HDMI inputs 2 and 3. According to the specs, it looks like HDMI ports 1 and 4 are v1.4 and ports 2 and 3 are v2.0b.

Last edited by apw100; 03-21-2017 at 11:50 AM.
apw100 is offline  
post #281 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guys the first price drop on new tv's comes on summer ;
synccoil likes this.
DJTaurus is offline  
post #282 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Thats kinda stupid. Why not on all of them for this price?
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #283 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:38 AM
 
Viper187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw100 View Post
I believe HDR is supported on HDMI inputs 2 and 3. According to the specs, it looks like HDMI ports 1 and 2 are v1.4 and ports 2 and 3 are v2.0b.
AHHHHHHHHHHHH. Why are all these ****ing ports different now!? Every HDMI port on a new TV should be current and ****ing equal.
Viper187 is offline  
post #284 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
So 3 and 4 full bandwidth or 2 and 3?
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #285 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw100 View Post
I believe HDR is supported on HDMI inputs 2 and 3. According to the specs, it looks like HDMI ports 1 and 2 are v1.4 and ports 2 and 3 are v2.0b.
Which of the ports supports CEC? I use a receiver with HDR passthrough, but I'm not willing to go back to a non-CEC experience, so if CEC is only on port 1, but port 1 doesn't support HDR, this TV is a no go for me. Which is super lame, cause it sounds really awesome otherwise.
theboomr is offline  
post #286 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw100 View Post
I believe HDR is supported on HDMI inputs 2 and 3. According to the specs, it looks like HDMI ports 1 and 2 are v1.4 and ports 2 and 3 are v2.0b.

It should do HDR on all ports, but if you want above 30hz, then it needs to be on inputs 2 and 3.
family_guy is online now  
post #287 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
So 3 and 4 full bandwidth or 2 and 3?


2 and 3
Platnumn is offline  
post #288 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,826
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2320 Post(s)
Liked: 1877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platnumn View Post
Just got the 900e delivered last night, trying some settings from the 930d forum since that's what I'm coming from.

So far a lot to play around with, will check back in.

One thing to note when playing Iron Fist on Netflix HDR, the very beginning scene in the building has a LOT of static/noise. Is there a setting to fix this? As there's no noise reduction/smoothing/etc enabled, maybe I need to use one of those? I typically hate the artificial picture that comes with noise reduction software.

@morphinapg what do you think? I know you don't have experience with this TV, but can you comment on the HDR/static issue in general?
That's an issue with the show itself, not the TV. Marvel's Netflix shows have a lot of grain in them, which is very noticeable in HDR.
Platnumn likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Atomos Ninja Inferno
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #289 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
what sucks is i cant find hardly any reviews or any videos on youtube of people unboxing and using it lol. Are we some of the few people to actually own this new tv?
I have my set coming tomorrow...can't wait! I watched these a couple of times, about the only unboxing i found so far!

Javelin is offline  
post #290 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Waiting on ups to drop mine off now
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #291 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 11:58 AM
Member
 
apw100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by family_guy View Post
It should do HDR on all ports, but if you want above 30hz, then it needs to be on inputs 2 and 3.
I don't think so. Only HDMI v 2.0a and higher can transmit HDR metadata. If ports 1 and 4 were indeed v 2.0a then they would also support [email protected], which is a standard of v 2.0 and higher. (Edit: The possible exception would be video games that are 30hz or lower since games don't use HDR metadata as every frame sent to the tv contains full image data.)


I'll go rent a PS4 game that supports HDR and try each input tonight.
snapmaverick likes this.

Last edited by apw100; 03-21-2017 at 12:06 PM.
apw100 is offline  
post #292 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platnumn View Post
Okay - been going through more content - the noise I'm referring to is only present on the Netflix HDR "Iron Fist"

I put it through the following shows and the results were flawless and gorgeous and showed NO grain:
-chefs table (hdr)
-chapelle standup (hdr)
-abstract (hdr)
-oasis (amazon hdr)
-top gear (amazon hdr)

I read the Marvel Netflix HDR shows actually may intend some of that grain, so I guess that's that.

Will keep testing!!
What episode number were you watching? Iron Fist is one of the shows I've thought about watching, but just haven't since we have less time than shows available. Maybe I'll go check out the episode and see if it does the same on my set.
McBlundersnuggle is offline  
post #293 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackvette94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 284
So Rtinngs did a review of the Samsung q7 and in the video it showed the input lag of 4 tvs including the Sony x900e.

They just pulled the video for it because in the input lag section it was showing 20.4ms for the Sony x900e and it is actually 31ms. Also in pc mode the q7 has 19ms of input lag and full 4:4:4 so they didn't even mention that.

I wish the Sony had 20ms of lag, I would go up to Best Buy right now and buy one if that was the case!!
Blackvette94 is offline  
post #294 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackvette94 View Post
So Rtinngs did a review of the Samsung q7 and in the video it showed the input lag of 4 tvs including the Sony x900e.

They just pulled the video for it because in the input lag section it was showing 20.4ms for the Sony x900e and it is actually 31ms. Also in pc mode the q7 has 19ms of input lag and full 4:4:4 so they didn't even mention that.

I wish the Sony had 20ms of lag, I would go up to Best Buy right now and buy one if that was the case!!
you wont notice a difference honestly. anything under 40 for a tv is good and anything over sucks lol
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #295 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Here's the box for the 49 inch lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170321_155928683_1490126427636.jpg
Views:	550
Size:	108.1 KB
ID:	2040505  
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #296 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackvette94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackvette94 View Post
So Rtinngs did a review of the Samsung q7 and in the video it showed the input lag of 4 tvs including the Sony x900e.

They just pulled the video for it because in the input lag section it was showing 20.4ms for the Sony x900e and it is actually 31ms. Also in pc mode the q7 has 19ms of input lag and full 4:4:4 so they didn't even mention that.

I wish the Sony had 20ms of lag, I would go up to Best Buy right now and buy one if that was the case!!
you wont notice a difference honestly. anything under 40 for a tv is good and anything over sucks lol
I do notice, you may not but I do and it make a large difference to me
Blackvette94 is offline  
post #297 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Burningcoals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackvette94 View Post
So Rtings did a review of the Samsung q7 and in the video it showed the input lag of 4 tvs including the Sony x900e.

They just pulled the video for it because in the input lag section it was showing 20.4ms for the Sony x900e and it is actually 31ms. Also in pc mode the q7 has 19ms of input lag and full 4:4:4 so they didn't even mention that.

I wish the Sony had 20ms of lag, I would go up to Best Buy right now and buy one if that was the case!!
I am curious as to why people choose the 900e over the KS8000, according to rtings they still recommend a slight edge to the KS8000, better blacks, etc. It is also much brighter.

Was just curious obviously might be brand loyalty. But I would think most would prefer Tizen OS over Android OS given everything being equal.
sat24 likes this.

Spoiler!
Burningcoals is offline  
post #298 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Unpacked
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #299 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Stickers off lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1490128268012-1858838147_1490128276735.jpg
Views:	608
Size:	63.2 KB
ID:	2040569  
Gillietalls likes this.
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #300 of 19188 Old 03-21-2017, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
More pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170321_163321_01_1490128420409.jpg
Views:	675
Size:	174.4 KB
ID:	2040577   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170321_163319_01_1490128443897.jpg
Views:	649
Size:	170.0 KB
ID:	2040585  
Gillietalls and venus933 like this.
Blake1990wilson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off