2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 188 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40400Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5611 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 01:43 PM
Member
 
MWOLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post
Is that with Local Dimming on Medium?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes it is. Custom picture setting. Brightness at 10.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
MWOLF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5612 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 172
2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MWOLF View Post
Yes it is. Custom picture setting. Brightness at 10.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk


Yeah, the Local Dimming is not working properly on your set. Return it. Take a photo of the serial number and make sure your replacement has a serial number that’s not close to yours, or your replacement might be from the same batch.

Good luck!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bradman likes this.
Mr Berry is offline  
post #5613 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 01:57 PM
Member
 
MWOLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post
Yeah, the Local Dimming is not working properly on your set. Return it. Take a photo of the serial number and make sure your replacement has a serial number that’s not close to yours, or your replacement might be from the same batch.

Good luck!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am still in the return window, so I will be returning. Thanks for your help.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
Mr Berry likes this.
MWOLF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5614 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by MWOLF View Post
I am still in the return window, so I will be returning. Thanks for your help.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk


No problem. Anytime.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mr Berry is offline  
post #5615 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Anyone using a universal remote that works with the voice search on this tv?
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #5616 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
xenokai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Hows the image retention on the x900e? rtings shows that it has some but what is it like? anyone noticed it before?
xenokai is offline  
post #5617 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenokai View Post
Hows the image retention on the x900e? rtings shows that it has some but what is it like? anyone noticed it before?
None at all. Not even a hint of it.
green666 likes this.
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #5618 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,812
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javelin View Post
I noticed some judder last night watching Skull Island on BR. Motion was set on true cinema w/ cinemotion high, i switched to custom 3 and it seemed to help quite a bit.
Not sure what you mean by custom 3. I also am plagued by judder on my blu rays and want to try this but im not sure what it is.

Matt
mattg3 is offline  
post #5619 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
jbdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
UBP-X800 streaming UHD disc at 1080p, not 4k

Apologies. I have seen this somewhere in the string, but cannot find it. I have a UBP-X800 and my disc is streaming in 1080p, not 4k. I recall seeing a fix was to toggle a setting. Need some help finding the right control. Yes, I have Enhanced Mode selected. Thanks.
paul416 likes this.
jbdawg is offline  
post #5620 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 08:03 PM
Member
 
philly33flyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Wall Mounting

Dumb question...

I just purchased the 75" 900e. There are 4 screws on the back of the TV where the wall mount brackets would go. Can I use these to attach my wall mount brackets or do I need to use the ones that came with the wall mount? I'm not using the "official" Sony wall mount, just a generic one that holds up to 150 lbs.

I wasn't sure if the screws that were already in the back of the TV were supported for the brackets or not.

I know, dumb question, but better safe than sorry for a 75" beast.

Thanks in advance.
philly33flyers is offline  
post #5621 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 08:51 PM
Member
 
mike350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: West Chester, Pa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by philly33flyers View Post
Dumb question...

I just purchased the 75" 900e. There are 4 screws on the back of the TV where the wall mount brackets would go. Can I use these to attach my wall mount brackets or do I need to use the ones that came with the wall mount? I'm not using the "official" Sony wall mount, just a generic one that holds up to 150 lbs.

I wasn't sure if the screws that were already in the back of the TV were supported for the brackets or not.

I know, dumb question, but better safe than sorry for a 75" beast.

Thanks in advance.
<<where the wall mount brackets would go. Can I use these to attach my wall mount brackets or do I need to use the ones that came with the wall mount? >>

No the Sony screws are too short. Use the ones that came with the wall mount. Usually they provide several lengths, be sure to pick the lengrh that has the most thread engagement without bottoming out.

Make sure you have a helper when you mount the TV to the wall bracket <G>,
mike350 is offline  
post #5622 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 09:25 PM
Member
 
philly33flyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike350 View Post
<<where the wall mount brackets would go. Can I use these to attach my wall mount brackets or do I need to use the ones that came with the wall mount? >>

No the Sony screws are too short. Use the ones that came with the wall mount. Usually they provide several lengths, be sure to pick the lengrh that has the most thread engagement without bottoming out.

Make sure you have a helper when you mount the TV to the wall bracket <G>,
Thanks,

I saw in the manual something about the screw should be 8mm-12mm past the wall mount bracket into the screw hole. The 12mm screws that came with my wall mount kit looked to be same length as the ones I unscrewed from the back of the TV. Are you sure they are too short? If so, I'll need to pick up screws longer than 12mm.
philly33flyers is offline  
post #5623 of 19308 Old 10-01-2017, 11:25 PM
Member
 
Mauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
Not sure what you mean by custom 3. I also am plagued by judder on my blu rays and want to try this but im not sure what it is.
I think he means motionflow on custom, then smooth on 3
mattg3 likes this.
Mauer is offline  
post #5624 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 05:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,812
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 324
On Blu ray/dvd playback I found that on my Oppo 103 I had the player video output set to 4K/2K and when I switched it to 1080P and let the Sony do the upconversion my picture judder seemed to calm down. Watched a dvd version of new transformers film and with all that insane movement I never noticed the judder and the picture quality was amazing.
Mauer and Ricoflashback like this.
mattg3 is offline  
post #5625 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 49
REALLY REALLY Dumb question. I just bought an Apple TV to go with this set. I have the HDMI ports set up to Enhanced. However 2 different brands of "Certified Premium" HDMI cables I got from Amazon (Terra Grand) and SecurOMax) wont go above 420. However, my Amazon Basic is giving me 422. Can this TV do 444? If so, what cables do I need to achieve it? Or am I just stupid?
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #5626 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
Is there no way to record OTA content via USB to a Stick or HDD? The specifications indicate not, but was wondering if there's a work-around?

This is pretty surprising - I bought my daughter an inexpensive Vizio last year, and we put in a USB Stick, so she can now at least pause live TV.

Can't do this with this TV?

I've been watching some OTA content, and I'm impressed with how network channels look. Better than my Time Warner Cable box. I would love to pause, record if possible.
I never did get a response here. That may be because there's no way to get this working, but as it would really come in handy, thought I'd try again.

JVC NX7, DCR Lens, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #5627 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 08:43 AM
Member
 
mike350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: West Chester, Pa
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by philly33flyers View Post
Thanks,

I saw in the manual something about the screw should be 8mm-12mm past the wall mount bracket into the screw hole. The 12mm screws that came with my wall mount kit looked to be same length as the ones I unscrewed from the back of the TV. Are you sure they are too short? If so, I'll need to pick up screws longer than 12mm.
Mount the wall bracket to the back of the TV, I think you'll find the screws that came with the wall mount are longer than the Sony screws to compensate for the bracket thickness and that you'll get deeper thread engagement. But try the Sony screws if they engage just as deeply you might try them. In my case it wasn't close.
mike350 is offline  
post #5628 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,935
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6851 Post(s)
Liked: 6855
Quote:
Originally Posted by philly33flyers View Post
Thanks,

I saw in the manual something about the screw should be 8mm-12mm past the wall mount bracket into the screw hole. The 12mm screws that came with my wall mount kit looked to be same length as the ones I unscrewed from the back of the TV. Are you sure they are too short? If so, I'll need to pick up screws longer than 12mm.
Depends how thick your wall mount is and the washer you use for the screw. They sell metric screws at the Home depot. Get "course" thread which is also known as "standard" thread screws. Do not get "fine" thread.
Madmax67 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #5629 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 09:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just found this thread, and hope you don't mind a non-owner posting.

I've been reading about TVs and there's so much terminology to keep up! There's a lot of talk about Atmos, etc. Is X900E a safe investment at this time, or should I go for something OLED and with Atmos at twice the price, like LG C7 or Sony A1E? I'd rather not have to buy another TV for 3-4 years at least. I've owned my Sony W600B for almost three years now, and I really like it. However, it's only 40", and I want to get something bigger for the living room, probably 55" as that is at the limit of what I can afford right now. I use the TV mainly for watching soccer. Thanks!

PS. Is it worth waiting until Black Friday? I don't usually see Sony TVs getting discounted on past BF threads?
rolledoff is offline  
post #5630 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Mauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
On Blu ray/dvd playback I found that on my Oppo 103 I had the player video output set to 4K/2K and when I switched it to 1080P and let the Sony do the upconversion my picture judder seemed to calm down. Watched a dvd version of new transformers film and with all that insane movement I never noticed the judder and the picture quality was amazing.
Maybe the problem with mine is the xbox one s not being a dedicated bluray player. After playing around with the motion settings I got motionflow on custom with smoothness on 2 and cinemotion on high. This seems to be a sweet spot for me where the judder and the soap opera effect are minimal enough not to bother me.
mattg3 likes this.
Mauer is offline  
post #5631 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
atbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolledoff View Post
Just found this thread, and hope you don't mind a non-owner posting.

I've been reading about TVs and there's so much terminology to keep up! There's a lot of talk about Atmos, etc. Is X900E a safe investment at this time, or should I go for something OLED and with Atmos at twice the price, like LG C7 or Sony A1E? I'd rather not have to buy another TV for 3-4 years at least. I've owned my Sony W600B for almost three years now, and I really like it. However, it's only 40", and I want to get something bigger for the living room, probably 55" as that is at the limit of what I can afford right now. I use the TV mainly for watching soccer. Thanks!

PS. Is it worth waiting until Black Friday? I don't usually see Sony TVs getting discounted on past BF threads?
I wouldn't buy an OLED yet with the burn in risks. I just wouldn't want that risk in my head. As for Black Friday, you could always purchase now on a CC with price protection and make a claim when prices drop. Good luck.
Madmax67 likes this.

Sony XBR-65X930E | NVIDIA SHIELD TV | Apple TV 4K | Samsung BD-P1600
Yamaha TSR-7810 | Energy C-100 / Energy C-C100 / Energy S10.3 / Polk RC60i
Logitech Harmony 950 / Smart Control w/ Harmony Hub
atbear is offline  
post #5632 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
xenokai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolledoff View Post
Just found this thread, and hope you don't mind a non-owner posting.

I've been reading about TVs and there's so much terminology to keep up! There's a lot of talk about Atmos, etc. Is X900E a safe investment at this time, or should I go for something OLED and with Atmos at twice the price, like LG C7 or Sony A1E? I'd rather not have to buy another TV for 3-4 years at least. I've owned my Sony W600B for almost three years now, and I really like it. However, it's only 40", and I want to get something bigger for the living room, probably 55" as that is at the limit of what I can afford right now. I use the TV mainly for watching soccer. Thanks!

PS. Is it worth waiting until Black Friday? I don't usually see Sony TVs getting discounted on past BF threads?
Dude im in the same boat as you, I have a Sony W600B 48" and i love its color and black levels but am eyeing a 4k, looking at oleds and the 900e. Still debating on the 900e but ive been debating on waiting until next year, I think sonys input lag will come down on 2018 models again but im not sure if im gonna wait.
xenokai is offline  
post #5633 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauer View Post
I think he means motionflow on custom, then smooth on 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
Not sure what you mean by custom 3. I also am plagued by judder on my blu rays and want to try this but im not sure what it is.
In the motion settings i used the custom option which lets you adjust the level of smoothness. It made enough of a difference that i wasn't looking for the judder anymore the rest of the movie.
Javelin is offline  
post #5634 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenokai View Post
Dude im in the same boat as you, I have a Sony W600B 48" and i love its color and black levels but am eyeing a 4k, looking at oleds and the 900e. Still debating on the 900e but ive been debating on waiting until next year, I think sonys input lag will come down on 2018 models again but im not sure if im gonna wait.
I came from a 55" W700B (had even lower lag than the 600B) and posted my thoughts in post 5505 of this thread if they're helpful. Sounds like your use case is pretty similar to mine and I'm totally happy with the 900E.
KSpan is online now  
post #5635 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 12:11 PM
Member
 
danzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
picked up X900E 65, blown away

Hi all,

I finally picked up the X900E 65" over the weekend. (FYI, there's currently a good sale on the full Sony line at Best Buy in Canada.)

I'm coming from a Panasonic Plasma 50" and a LG Plasma (bedroom), and I'm totally blown away by the image quality. I was expecting much less at this price point. I know it's "just an LCD", and the blacks aren't as inky deep as OLED. I'm also aware that the limited local dimming zones are probably not perfect for real purists running non-real-world calibration tests. For the record, I'm quite difficult to please with all A/V equipment. I'm the type that calibrates my friends & family's TV's & audio systems.

For anyone who is on the fence about this model, has a limited budget, I say ignore the negative nitpicking reviews and go for it. Unless your budget allows you to spend 2x the price for OLED (which has well known drawbacks), this is an excellent tv with probably the best bang for the buck and quality design in my view. After 3 days of non-stop watching, testing, and calibrating, so far, the slightly sluggish responsiveness of the Android platform is my only very minor complaint at this point.

Theater: Sony X900E 65" | Denon AVR-X4500H 5.2.4 + zone2 | KEF | Polk 8.5" in-ceiling (x8) | Polk & Yamaha subs
Kids: Panasonic 50" plasma | Denon AVR-890 | HD-DVD(!) | Klipsch | Xbox One X | miniDSP 2x4
Studio: Native Instruments | Soundcraft | Ableton | Roland TD-20 vdrums | Gretsch | Fender | Shure | AKG
Vintage: Yamaha CA-610 II | Mission 760i | Technics SL1200 mkII | Akai, Nakamichi, Technics, JVC gear
danzero is offline  
post #5636 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
MutlyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I connect my Sony XBR 900E to my desktop homegroup?

I have the Sony XBR 900E that is connect to the Ethernet via LAN line through my ASUS Router and switch. I also have a desktop computer running Windows 10.
I would like to connect my XBR 900E to my Windows Home Group so I can share my folders on my Desktop computer with my XBR 900E so that I can have a video mp3 on my desktop and then view that video on my XBR 900E.


Is that the best way to view videos that are on my Desktop on my XBR 900E?




Is that possible????


Thanks
MutlyP is offline  
post #5637 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenokai View Post
Debating on getting the x900e this week. I have a few questions if anyone could help id really appreciate it. Does this tv have a Wide Zoom aspect ratio setting? Where you can strech the 4x3 images left and right without having it overscan the top? My 2014 Sony w600b has that option and I use it alot. Also I was wonder if anyone has seen any image retention on this tv? Rtings review meantions it can suffer from image retention. How noticable is it and does it happen alot?
Quote:
Originally Posted by danzero View Post
Hi all,

I finally picked up the X900E 65" over the weekend. (FYI, there's currently a good sale on the full Sony line at Best Buy in Canada.)

I'm coming from a Panasonic Plasma 50" and a LG Plasma (bedroom), and I'm totally blown away by the image quality. I was expecting much less at this price point. I know it's "just an LCD", and the blacks aren't as inky deep as OLED. I'm also aware that the limited local dimming zones are probably not perfect for real purists running non-real-world calibration tests. For the record, I'm quite difficult to please with all A/V equipment. I'm the type that calibrates my friends & family's TV's & audio systems.

For anyone who is on the fence about this model, has a limited budget, I say ignore the negative nitpicking reviews and go for it. Unless your budget allows you to spend 2x the price for OLED (which has well known drawbacks), this is an excellent tv with probably the best bang for the buck and quality design in my view. After 3 days of non-stop watching, testing, and calibrating, so far, the slightly sluggish responsiveness of the Android platform is my only very minor complaint at this point.
I second that advice. There are also issues with OLED that haven't been addressed, or confirmed in long term use, especially with the more affordable models. Unless I just have the money to replace the OLED set in a couple of years, I'd prefer to go with what is arguably the best of the tried and true, which should get me through another few years until OLED prices come down and we know their reliability in prolonged use situations.
Mac128 is offline  
post #5638 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by philly33flyers View Post
Thanks,

I saw in the manual something about the screw should be 8mm-12mm past the wall mount bracket into the screw hole. The 12mm screws that came with my wall mount kit looked to be same length as the ones I unscrewed from the back of the TV. Are you sure they are too short? If so, I'll need to pick up screws longer than 12mm.
It really depends on the bracket. I happen to have a caliper, and the Sony screws that came with the set worked fine, just barely achieving the minimums required by Sony, once through the bracket.
Mac128 is offline  
post #5639 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by MutlyP View Post
I have the Sony XBR 900E that is connect to the Ethernet via LAN line through my ASUS Router and switch. I also have a desktop computer running Windows 10.
I would like to connect my XBR 900E to my Windows Home Group so I can share my folders on my Desktop computer with my XBR 900E so that I can have a video mp3 on my desktop and then view that video on my XBR 900E.


Is that the best way to view videos that are on my Desktop on my XBR 900E?




Is that possible????


Thanks
Have you tried double clicking it on the network folder? I did and it's asking me network credentials
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #5640 of 19308 Old 10-02-2017, 02:39 PM
Member
 
danzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MutlyP View Post
I have the Sony XBR 900E that is connect to the Ethernet via LAN line through my ASUS Router and switch. I also have a desktop computer running Windows 10.
I would like to connect my XBR 900E to my Windows Home Group so I can share my folders on my Desktop computer with my XBR 900E so that I can have a video mp3 on my desktop and then view that video on my XBR 900E.

Is that the best way to view videos that are on my Desktop on my XBR 900E?
I've just had my X900E for a few days so I'm not sure if this is directly possible with the Sony android OS on the tv, but if you install/use Plex or Kodi, you should be able to access and view/listen to media on your network shares by following the set up guides of either of those apps.

Theater: Sony X900E 65" | Denon AVR-X4500H 5.2.4 + zone2 | KEF | Polk 8.5" in-ceiling (x8) | Polk & Yamaha subs
Kids: Panasonic 50" plasma | Denon AVR-890 | HD-DVD(!) | Klipsch | Xbox One X | miniDSP 2x4
Studio: Native Instruments | Soundcraft | Ableton | Roland TD-20 vdrums | Gretsch | Fender | Shure | AKG
Vintage: Yamaha CA-610 II | Mission 760i | Technics SL1200 mkII | Akai, Nakamichi, Technics, JVC gear
danzero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off