2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 316 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40343Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9451 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 09:29 AM
Member
 
marv117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by munnarg View Post
Does anyone know what this spot is supposed to be for? It's on my 65".
Would like to know as well.

I thought it was a place for an external drive but I tried one of my WD passport drives and it wouldn't fit with the cover.
marv117 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9452 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 09:38 AM
Member
 
megabitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Freak View Post
Could you provide a link? I just ordered the Luminoodle too, but didn't think of this. Thanks.
added Luminoodle TV backlight to the cart on Amazon - $14.99

then got a popup for professional installation - $165.49 - um, no, think not
Ricoflashback likes this.

Sony XBR65X900E
Denon AVR-X4400H
B&W 683 front, CC6 S2 center, DM601 S2 surround, DM603 rear, ASW1000 powered sub woofer, 4 X SP-T22A-LR Dolby Atmos
NVIDIA Shield | XBox One S | Plex | HDHomeRun | Nintendo Wii | Xbox 360 | Popcorn A400
megabitee is offline  
post #9453 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,312
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by megabitee View Post
added Luminoodle TV backlight to the cart on Amazon - $14.99

then got a popup for professional installation - $165.49 - um, no, think not
Hey, how about "Extended Warranty?" You forgot about that!
Elemental101 likes this.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9454 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
The screen is configured for HDR, SDR 24p and, SDR non-24p. The screen will adjust automatically according to what content is fed.


So what are the changes when you go from sdr to hdr?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Raiders4life12 is online now  
post #9455 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 10:40 AM
 
WinMod21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
For those of you who just got this tv what is the manufacturer date on the back? I bought a 55 inch from Best Buy and ended up with one from June. A friend bought a 65 inch and his was made in November. Both our sets are fully updated but his seems to be faster than mine when navigating the home screen and menus. I am wondering if I should exchange mine and try to get a newer one in case some improvements were made over the year. Thanks for any input.
We have an August 2017, 'Made in Mexico', that seems almost annoyingly slow at startup, but then fast whilst switching channels and also fast whilst navigating the Android TV smart features etc. So I wish it was faster at startup, but it has been explained to me that our startup is probably slower due to our DirecTV C61 running [via HDMI] to/thru our soundbar, where it apparently insists on "handshaking" with everyone, before continuing on [via HDMI ARC] to final destination of tv.

Last edited by WinMod21; 12-18-2017 at 10:58 AM.
WinMod21 is offline  
post #9456 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 10:53 AM
 
WinMod21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
****Responding to WinMod21 post***

Neither have the TK-421 modification so no triple quad sound for you.
What do you mean..... Neither have the TK-421 Modification !?! How the heck are we supposed to get triple quad yield then !?!

I didn't notice the ARC in the Yamaha specs. And thanks so much for checking/reviewing. Don't really know how I'd convince the boss to agree to return another thing though; because if I do, she may have me committed to a mental institution.

And what about the Yamaha not supporting these surround sound formats: DTS-ES, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS 96/24, Dolby Digital, DTS, and Dolby Digital Plus?...(all not supported on the Yamaha, but are supported w/the NT5). I think I've read in the past where you're a big advocate of DD+? But of course I have no idea what any of that means.

Last edited by WinMod21; 12-18-2017 at 11:14 AM.
WinMod21 is offline  
post #9457 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 11:41 AM
Member
 
marv117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
For those of you who just got this tv what is the manufacturer date on the back? I bought a 55 inch from Best Buy and ended up with one from June. A friend bought a 65 inch and his was made in November. Both our sets are fully updated but his seems to be faster than mine when navigating the home screen and menus. I am wondering if I should exchange mine and try to get a newer one in case some improvements were made over the year. Thanks for any input.
Mine has "Nov, 2017", "Made in Mexico". Seems to be navigating through Menus just fine.
marv117 is offline  
post #9458 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,312
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by WinMod21 View Post
What do you mean..... Neither have the TK-421 Modification !?! How the heck are we supposed to get triple quad yield then !?!

I didn't notice the ARC in the Yamaha specs. And thanks so much for checking/reviewing. Don't really know how I'd convince the boss to agree to return another thing though; because if I do, she may have me committed to a mental institution.

And what about the Yamaha not supporting these surround sound formats: DTS-ES, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS 96/24, Dolby Digital, DTS, and Dolby Digital Plus?...(all not supported on the Yamaha, but are supported w/the NT5). I think I've read in the past where you're a big advocate of DD+? But of course I have no idea what any of that means.
The Yamaha has ALL those codecs covered. DD+ is via "ARC" or your regular HDMI connection. It's capable of compressed Dolby Atmos soundtracks, although they are few and far between - - mostly on pay per view movies and only supported on certain TV's or players (Example: Netflix Dolby Atmos via X Box One, S & X & LG OLED TV's.)

Don't worry about returning something else - - get what you want. Mama will calm down once she hears that great soundstage!
WinMod21 likes this.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #9459 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,004
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6395 Post(s)
Liked: 6394
Quote:
Originally Posted by OK KO View Post
My God. I'm starting to favor the TV's remote over my Harmony One.

What is the matter with me.........
Programming every single button into a universal remote is a bear, you will always need the old remote for something.......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #9460 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello dear AVS folks and x900e owners. Maybe you could help me with this question.

I don't own the TV yet but I've read that there were potential issues in some circumstances with disabling the x900e's internal speakers permanently. I've got all of my inputs going through my 4K receiver (which does HDR) and I'm planning on using Input 2 (?) on the x900e as the *only* HDMI input. All the sounds are coming from my receiver. I am planning on turning off the TV's speakers, and I would like to permanently keep them off. I read reports that when you reboot the TV or off/on, the speakers on the TV are activated but it could depend on the order in which things are starting, like receiver first would fix it... So I'm not sure if this is an issue or if the problems I'm reading about always involve ARC? I won't be using ARC.

Any help from someone in that situation would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
WillyBaldy is offline  
post #9461 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 02:07 PM
Member
 
jlukes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've had my TV speakers off since I got the TV in March and they've never turned themselves back on
jlukes is offline  
post #9462 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Elemental101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: A Sanctuary State, unfortunately
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airsculpture View Post
Try the variety and see which you prefer would be my recommendation. All eyes and rooms are different, nevermind setups.

By the way, the thread is no price talk.
Yeah the thread also says Owners only....look how that's working out...lol
Elemental101 is offline  
post #9463 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 03:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Elemental101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: A Sanctuary State, unfortunately
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyBaldy View Post
Hello dear AVS folks and x900e owners. Maybe you could help me with this question.

I don't own the TV yet but I've read that there were potential issues in some circumstances with disabling the x900e's internal speakers permanently. I've got all of my inputs going through my 4K receiver (which does HDR) and I'm planning on using Input 2 (?) on the x900e as the *only* HDMI input. All the sounds are coming from my receiver. I am planning on turning off the TV's speakers, and I would like to permanently keep them off. I read reports that when you reboot the TV or off/on, the speakers on the TV are activated but it could depend on the order in which things are starting, like receiver first would fix it... So I'm not sure if this is an issue or if the problems I'm reading about always involve ARC? I won't be using ARC.

Any help from someone in that situation would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Yes, HDR but what about HDCP v2.2?
My CT800 is flawless and is one with the Force of the 900E.
Ok, yes I did see The Last Jedi yesterday.
Is the AVR missing some Midiclorians?
Elemental101 is offline  
post #9464 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Elemental101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: A Sanctuary State, unfortunately
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
Fine. Enjoy the RVU.
I was worried that not using the RVU would break the Sony Synergy but so far, so good.
Elemental101 is offline  
post #9465 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 907 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
I may get another FALD Vizio P series since the FALD is superior plmus features are extensive for it...plus 65” will be cheaper. Not that I want too but I’ll take less upscaling and less brightness of the Vizio vs the terrible issues of this poor mans FALD x900e
Everything is not greener in Vizio land. I am here reading X900E because of issues with my Vizio with flashing white lines. I am ready to move to X900E as many of us recent Vizio owners have a few quirks with the Vizio.
sheshechic likes this.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #9466 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Elemental101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: A Sanctuary State, unfortunately
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Everything is not greener in Vizio land. I am here reading X900E because of issues with my Vizio with flashing white lines. I am ready to move to X900E as many of us recent Vizio owners have a few quirks with the Vizio.
Yes and it seems we hear from the grapevine that even OLED (gasp) is not even up to the 900E level with HDR!
Elemental101 is offline  
post #9467 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 907 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elemental101 View Post
Yes and it seems we hear from the grapevine that even OLED (gasp) is not even up to the 900E level with HDR!
Hmm, not sure I buy that. My main TV is LG 65C7 and I love it, HDR looks awesome, sure I probably don’t get the same specular highlight peaks like the 930, 940 or Z9D, but the blacks are amazing like a drug.
sheshechic likes this.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #9468 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Elemental101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: A Sanctuary State, unfortunately
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Hmm, not sure I buy that. My main TV is LG 65C7 and I love it, HDR looks awesome, sure I probably don’t get the same specular highlight peaks like the 930, 940 or Z9D, but the blacks are amazing like a drug.
True, it's only a rumor.
I wouldn't turn one down.
Elemental101 is offline  
post #9469 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 06:03 PM
Member
 
u8mycrackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Diberville Ms
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Replacing my 75x850c with the 75x900e. Will my current wall mount work with the new TV? Also I understand that it is powered with a power brick. How long is the cable from the TV back to the brick? All my cabling is run in the walls and I can't hide a PB in the wall.
Thanks
u8mycrackers is offline  
post #9470 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Edgewood, MD
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by u8mycrackers View Post
Replacing my 75x850c with the 75x900e. Will my current wall mount work with the new TV? Also I understand that it is powered with a power brick. How long is the cable from the TV back to the brick? All my cabling is run in the walls and I can't hide a PB in the wall.
Thanks
No brick with the 75"...
mneuman916 is offline  
post #9471 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 06:07 PM
Member
 
u8mycrackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Diberville Ms
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 30
great thanks!
u8mycrackers is offline  
post #9472 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 06:39 PM
 
WinMod21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
The Yamaha has ALL those codecs covered. DD+ is via "ARC" or your regular HDMI connection. It's capable of compressed Dolby Atmos soundtracks, although they are few and far between - - mostly on pay per view movies and only supported on certain TV's or players (Example: Netflix Dolby Atmos via X Box One, S & X & LG OLED TV's.)

Don't worry about returning something else - - get what you want. Mama will calm down once she hears that great soundstage!
Thanks very much for perusing & reviewing again. Although most if not all of that stuff is 'Fly By'...Whoooosh!...right over my head.
And looking at them on amazon---to try and find out more about them---is just depressing, as there's a bunch of them (those Yamaha AVR's) that all look & spec so similar, I'd never be able to choose which to buy.... since I don't know enough.... to know enough.

But sounds like if you had to choose btwn the NT5 and one of those low-end low-budget entry level Yamaha HTS's....you'd go with the cheap Yamaha 5.1 sys (like that YHT-4930), if the NT5 and it were the same price? Is that what I'm decoding ova' here?

Last edited by WinMod21; 12-18-2017 at 06:43 PM.
WinMod21 is offline  
post #9473 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 06:41 PM
Member
 
iphilologos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
Not really...to say I’m trolling is a bit of a stretch. Just stating the obvious that you can get a lot more for your money as far as FALD goes, and get better FALD performance. My statement isn’t trolling it’s simply stating the Vizio offers more for the money for those looking for good performance and pretty good FALD without the issues going on with the x900e.



I own a P50 2016 and have said multiple times that I wish I didn’t. Just wish Sony would implement the same style FALD. Vizio can do so much for so cheap cuz they get parts from 20 different places where as Sony is mostly Sony parts, so higher price with less features when ur not paying a premium.



My statement is a reality statement, either TV you choose has it’s downfalls but one offers better value for your money especially with screen size, over the other.



Wish the x850c or x800c never had light bleed or edge issues cuz they were great TVs held down by the tech in them. Relax dude, people can have opinions without being a “troll.” What are we 7 years old? This is TVs, not a political debate


The P series dims to reduce bloom which will affect your highlights. Vizios typically do not upscale well. They also exhibit judder with cinema over 60i/p. If you are feeding their P a steady diet of 4K, then and only then does the gap begin to close.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
iphilologos is offline  
post #9474 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Airsculpture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: English but in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elemental101 View Post
Yeah the thread also says Owners only....look how that's working out...lol


It doesn't say owners only, it says owners, so owners can discuss and give advise to potential owners , just saying.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Madmax67 likes this.

Sony XBR65X900E, Oppo UDP-203 Universal Player
Front L&R - Polk TSx550t, Centre - Polk CSiA6 all in Cherry
Surrounds & Rears - Mission 77DS & Mission 780s
Subwoofer - Polk PSW125 in Cherry
Receiver - Marantz SR6012
Airsculpture is offline  
post #9475 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 07:01 PM
Member
 
gnojham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 17
i dont want to get into a 'what settings are you using' thing, but just out of curiosity, are most of you keeping the brightness up at max or near it? seems if i get too far away from max, it gets too dark too fast. seems weird. i dont mean too dark to see, but just too dark to look good.
thanks
gnojham is offline  
post #9476 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Airsculpture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: English but in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnojham View Post
i dont want to get into a 'what settings are you using' thing, but just out of curiosity, are most of you keeping the brightness up at max or near it? seems if i get too far away from max, it gets too dark too fast. seems weird. i dont mean too dark to see, but just too dark to look good.

thanks


I think from memory mine is set at 20


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
WinMod21 likes this.

Sony XBR65X900E, Oppo UDP-203 Universal Player
Front L&R - Polk TSx550t, Centre - Polk CSiA6 all in Cherry
Surrounds & Rears - Mission 77DS & Mission 780s
Subwoofer - Polk PSW125 in Cherry
Receiver - Marantz SR6012
Airsculpture is offline  
post #9477 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,312
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by WinMod21 View Post
Thanks very much for perusing & reviewing again. Although most if not all of that stuff is 'Fly By'...Whoooosh!...right over my head.
And looking at them on amazon---to try and find out more about them---is just depressing, as there's a bunch of them (those Yamaha AVR's) that all look & spec so similar, I'd never be able to choose which to buy.... since I don't know enough.... to know enough.

But sounds like if you had to choose btwn the NT5 and one of those low-end low-budget entry level Yamaha HTS's....you'd go with the cheap Yamaha 5.1 sys (like that YHT-4930), if the NT5 and it were the same price? Is that what I'm decoding ova' here?
Try them all, return all but the one you like. The more speakers, generally, the more immersive the sound field. Make sure you're happy with the center channel. That's where the majority of dialog comes from.
WinMod21 likes this.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #9478 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 07:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnojham View Post
i dont want to get into a 'what settings are you using' thing, but just out of curiosity, are most of you keeping the brightness up at max or near it? seems if i get too far away from max, it gets too dark too fast. seems weird. i dont mean too dark to see, but just too dark to look good.
thanks
15- 30 unless I'm watching HDR. I have a bright room too.
WinMod21 likes this.

You can call me Sheila.
sheshechic is offline  
post #9479 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 09:29 PM
Member
 
gnojham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airsculpture View Post
I think from memory mine is set at 20


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post
15- 30 unless I'm watching HDR. I have a bright room too.
yikes
maybe im just old or something
WinMod21 likes this.
gnojham is offline  
post #9480 of 19000 Old 12-18-2017, 10:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnojham View Post
yikes
maybe im just old or something
I'm the old one.

When brightness is too high my skin tones don't look natural. My whites are still very bright and white.
WinMod21 likes this.

You can call me Sheila.
sheshechic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off