2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 388 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40400Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11611 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 10:32 AM
Member
 
rimshaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After the recent update, HDR mode no longer automatically sets brightness to MAX like before. Anyone else notice?
rimshaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11612 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1115 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshaker View Post
After the recent update, HDR mode no longer automatically sets brightness to MAX like before. Anyone else notice?
Well that woudl suck, that is my sure fire way to confirm something was really in HDR to check the Brightness and Extended Range as they both got to Max and High.

Sony 77A9G (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #11613 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
eddysnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshaker View Post
After the recent update, HDR mode no longer automatically sets brightness to MAX like before. Anyone else notice?
I haven't been checking after watching a few things too... If you make changes in HDR mode, will they still save for future HDR content?
eddysnake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11614 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 11:43 AM
Member
 
rimshaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddysnake View Post
I haven't been checking after watching a few things too... If you make changes in HDR mode, will they still save for future HDR content?
Yes I just tried it. Changes in HDR mode are saved on subsequent playbacks. Tried it for HDR10 and HLG.

Not defaulting to max brightness in HDR mode is actually a good thing for overall PQ. Some reviewers have mentioned that last year.
rimshaker is offline  
post #11615 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
eddysnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshaker View Post
Yes I just tried it. Changes in HDR mode are saved on subsequent playbacks. Tried it for HDR10 and HLG.

Not defaulting to max brightness in HDR mode is actually a good thing for overall PQ. Some reviewers have mentioned that last year.
so max brightness is not recommended for HDR content?
eddysnake is offline  
post #11616 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
My TV screen is still blinking everytime I turned it on, I tried different HDMI cable, I tried to start the tv without any external device connected and this still happens. They only way I have to fix it is to switch to the tuner and then for some reason the TV is ok.


This is an example:

https://streamable.com/06ir2
SilentRage47 is offline  
post #11617 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 12:08 PM
Member
 
ccoates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: CO
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddysnake View Post
so max brightness is not recommended for HDR content?
I would think that you would still want to set brightness to max for HDR content. If you don't, you will not be able to achieve the max peak brightness that the TV is capable of. I suppose you may not like the image to be that bright. But my experience with most HDR content that I've viewed is that it definitely benefits from setting the backlight to max.

Last edited by ccoates; 01-24-2018 at 12:32 PM.
ccoates is offline  
post #11618 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,949
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6862 Post(s)
Liked: 6863
Quote:
Originally Posted by algorithmic View Post
(I have not yet put the TV through more demanding tests, which I intend to do over the next day or two.)
More than likely you will find more flaws, I would not be testing your set if I was you. Enjoy what you have, something stands out that is one thing, testing it is a whole different ball game? The bottom line is no TV made today will pass demanding tests time and time again.......
Madmax67 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #11619 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by fssfguy View Post
Hey guys, looking at buying a 65”, what’s the dse and clouding like on these sets ?
Anyone ? Cheers
fssfguy is offline  
post #11620 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Well that woudl suck, that is my sure fire way to confirm something was really in HDR to check the Brightness and Extended Range as they both got to Max and High.
I'll second that. I hadn't thought to verify HDR that way, but makes sense. Regardless, they really need to code the HDR indicator to appear in the info box activated by the Display button.

And while I'm at it: they need a more direct way to access the Picture settings.
I WANT MORE likes this.
Mac128 is offline  
post #11621 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by fssfguy View Post
Anyone ? Cheers
You should check the rtings.com review. Clouding and DSE is virtually non-existent on my set.
Mac128 is offline  
post #11622 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
ursa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VT USA
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Hdr10+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
Good post and no bubble bursted. While HDR10+ is more of a "static" metadata versus Dolby Vision (at least right now - HDR10+ is moving to "dynamic" metadata), my main point was that there doesn't appear to be any technical hurdles to providing HDR10+ for Sony TV's.

I think Sony is missing the boat by not adopting HDR10+ - - especially for Sony 900E owners who will never get Dolby Vision. And, as with all standard's "wars" - - who knows what will eventually win out. Since I haven't seen anything in HDR10+ or Dolby Vision - - it might be "much ado about nothing." And, if there isn't much difference between HDR10 compared to HDR10+ (at least to the viewer's eyes), then no harm, no foul.

Link to more info on HDR10+

https://www.cnet.com/news/what-is-hdr10/
>...main point was that there doesn't appear to be any technical hurdles to providing HDR10+ for Sony TV's.

Exactly and that is my frustration with Sony. They COULD provide it if they wanted to and keep a lot of current owners happy who are shut out from what they did decide to support, Dolby Vision. To bad because it's a great TV with potential that will apparently go untapped.
Ricoflashback and kenoh89 like this.
ursa99 is offline  
post #11623 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
You should check the rtings.com review. Clouding and DSE is virtually non-existent on my set.
Thank you, I will do so
fssfguy is offline  
post #11624 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,385
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1838 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ursa99 View Post
>...main point was that there doesn't appear to be any technical hurdles to providing HDR10+ for Sony TV's.

Exactly and that is my frustration with Sony. They COULD provide it if they wanted to and keep a lot of current owners happy who are shut out from what they did decide to support, Dolby Vision. To bad because it's a great TV with potential that will apparently go untapped.
And from my understanding reading the latest on Sony's DV implementation - - it's half baked, as well:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#40787e98498a

The Sony 900E is still a great TV (especially the 75" panel) and those folks who are holding off on buying a Sony TV because it lacks Dolby Vision - - I'd question whether Sony TV's will ever work properly with DV the way Dolby intends it to. Why pay any licensing fee for DV if it's a half baked solution? Doesn't make sense to me. Why not just adopt an open standard like HDR10+ as move on to bigger and better things?

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)

Last edited by Ricoflashback; 01-24-2018 at 02:25 PM.
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #11625 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by double_b View Post
Does it degrade from the VERTICAL angle? I know it will from the side to side.
While not as bad as side to side, it still degrades. However, if you get a wall mount that can tilt, you should be able to angle it downward to avoid this.
Klotera is offline  
post #11626 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Well that woudl suck, that is my sure fire way to confirm something was really in HDR to check the Brightness and Extended Range as they both got to Max and High.
That's kinda pointless isn't it. Since the HDR logo appears in the display settings menu where you would adjust brightness. Seems like the big HDR badge would be the better indicator.
RUBEN PORTILLO likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #11627 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddysnake View Post
so max brightness is not recommended for HDR content?
It is, but this tv will have some blooming issues with max brightness whenever you have a very bright highlight on the screen or next to the black bars near the top and bottom. I find that if you drop brightness just slightly to 90-95 and Xtended Dynamic Range to medium you can minimize blooming quite a bit with hdr content.
PeeJHooK and eddysnake like this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #11628 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 02:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ursa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VT USA
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 117
HDR10+ and Sony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
And from my understanding reading the latest on Sony's DV implementation - - it's half baked, as well:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#40787e98498a

The Sony 900E is still a great TV (especially the 75" panel) and those folks who are holding off on buying a Sony TV because it lacks Dolby Vision - - I'd question whether Sony TV's will ever work properly with DV the way Dolby intends it to. Why pay any licensing fee for DV if it's a half baked solution? Doesn't make sense to me. Why not just adopt an open standard like HDR10+ as move on to bigger and better things?
Good article you posted by Forbes. Looks like Sony really screwed this up. I've owned Sony's and Vizios. Currently have the 75" 900E and expected a LOT more from Sony when I switched back. Vizio, in spite of their reputation has rolled out many updates and they actually worked. I'm somewhat shocked that Sony with it's 'premium' reputation rolled out a great TV then screwed up the top level of them with a bungled DV roll out and forgot about the rest of us who probably make up the majority of owners. I wonder who decided not to go with HDR10+ vs DV. Seems like HDR10+ would be cheaper from a licensing perspective and be avail to a much larger Sony owners audience. It will be interesting to see a full comparison of HDR10+ vs DV.

Ursa
ursa99 is offline  
post #11629 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
In a movie theater HDR and DV might really be an awesome thing with the screen size and equipment to project it right. But on my tv's its not such a profound turning point that i'm not content watching regular UHD content with out it. Especially on the UH 8500 it really stinks both versions IMO.
omston is offline  
post #11630 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 03:51 PM
Member
 
DeltaOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've owned my X900E for about 3 to 4 months. I think the best content, picture-wise, I've seen yet is BBC America's Planet Earth: Blue Planet II. (I don't do Blu-Ray discs.)

There's been one episode of this series so far...the picture quality was outstanding.
DeltaOne is offline  
post #11631 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
I've owned my X900E for about 3 to 4 months. I think the best content, picture-wise, I've seen yet is BBC America's Planet Earth: Blue Planet II. (I don't do Blu-Ray discs.)

There's been one episode of this series so far...the picture quality was outstanding.
As another poster stated check out Anthony Bourdain on NF super clear and detailed i just wish i liked his programs. I watched 47 meters yesterday my internet was dogged the best it would do was 720p but the upscaling was outstanding it was super clear. I guess cellular internet is some really clean data but IDK.
omston is offline  
post #11632 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by avswonka View Post
Thanks for the response. Other than that one crash, its been perfect.
Its interesting to me that they had the 900e setting next to a 930e in the magnolia room at bb and the 900e looked DARK compared to the 930e.
I said to my wife i wish we could afford the 940e but there is no way we are paying over 4k for a tv.
To our complete shock, we turn on the 900e and say " DAMN thats bright ". I suspect the 900e is set up that way on purpose and
there is a higher profit margin on the 930/940 series. its amazing how much brighter it is as compared to the 65 samsung we took down.
Im my worthless opinion, the 900e is every bit as bright as the 940 for normal viewing.

As a side question - Is it the general consensus that you should keep auto update turned off and or no ethernet cable or wifi connection ?

Thanks again.
According to the measurements taken by Rtings the 930E does get quite a bit brighter but that is something you will only ever notice by having them side by side. The 900E is much brighter than most older tvs and many of us here lower the brightness to well below the default setting for anything other than HDR content. As for auto update I leave it off so I can read about the firmware before I install it in case there is a bug. The internet I leave connected all the time.
snorge is offline  
post #11633 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Would you guys say my tv is defective? I hadn't paid it too much attention but when I read a few had the edge bleed issue and I think my tv is one of them
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180124_174342_1516838538090.jpg
Views:	224
Size:	3.96 MB
ID:	2350694   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180124_174320_1516838558391.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	3.55 MB
ID:	2350696  
Newb00 is offline  
post #11634 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
Cant imagine sony will keep updates coming as soon as the F version goes on sale.
I think they will, my 2+ year old 810C is still getting firmware and Android software updates.
snorge is offline  
post #11635 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccoates View Post
I would think that you would still want to set brightness to max for HDR content. If you don't, you will not be able to achieve the max peak brightness that the TV is capable of. I suppose you may not like the image to be that bright. But my experience with most HDR content that I've viewed is that it definitely benefits from setting the backlight to max.
That is what I thought as well so it seems strange they would change it. I wonder if they think it will extend the life of the tvs and have done so to avoid warranty claims or something silly like that.
snorge is offline  
post #11636 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeeJHooK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 97
alright, a non-picture-quality related question: Anyone know of any 3rd party tv base/stands that would allow this tv to be positioned as low as possible to the table I have it sitting on? I've searched for various ones on amazon, so I have a couple i'm looking at. But I wanted to see if anyone knew of any that would be a sure bet so i'm not taking any chances with any of them. I'm not really liking the 3-4 inch height it's situated on with the tv stand it comes with. Plus I prefer the low(er) profile look.

LG OLED55C7P | Sony 75X950G | Apple TV 4K | Pioneer VSX-1121
PeeJHooK is offline  
post #11637 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Mustangalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What version is the update? Mine is 7.0 and when i check for updates it says up to date.
Mustangalley is offline  
post #11638 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newb00 View Post
Would you guys say my tv is defective? I hadn't paid it too much attention but when I read a few had the edge bleed issue and I think my tv is one of them


That looks worse than mine, and mine was pretty bad, especially on the right side. My TV is going back to Best Buy and I'm waiting out until this is resolved. When was yours manufactured?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
obsidian8817 is offline  
post #11639 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
I think they will, my 2+ year old 810C is still getting firmware and Android software updates.
Yes they will I have the 850c that from April 2015 and we just got Nagout a week gon
fssfguy is offline  
post #11640 of 19314 Old 01-24-2018, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
I think they will, my 2+ year old 810C is still getting firmware and Android software updates.
Yes they will I have the 850c that from April 2015 and we just got Nagout a week ago
fssfguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off