2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 394 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40421Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11791 of 19436 Old 01-26-2018, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Best way to clean our fancy new TV's?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
sparks_mandrill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11792 of 19436 Old 01-26-2018, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks_mandrill View Post
Best way to clean our fancy new TV's?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
I use pledge multi surface with a new microfiber towel do not use cheap paper towels to clean it.
omston is offline  
post #11793 of 19436 Old 01-26-2018, 10:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damar1979 View Post
Just Saying. You never see the 900e in the open Box/return pile at Best Buy.
They had three at my Best Buy today lol
coolguy949 and teezee1000 like this.
fssfguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11794 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 04:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got my 900e, beautiful but im scared to update it. IS IT SAFE TO UPDATE?.....had it 8 hours it already cut off and front led blinked red 4 times..pff
ChristCutlass is offline  
post #11795 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 07:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone, I greet you from Argentina

I have the 55 "x900e and it is without a doubt the best LED TV that I had in my life, it was between this and the B7P, but it does not make sense to pay fortune for the latter with the (serious) defects that the technology still has, BI / RI / ABL / HDR with crushing blacks / Gray Bands.
That said I wanted to do a general query, have you tried games like uncharted with the motionflow activated and out of game mode? While I notice that the inputlag increases, I also believe that the experience in the movement is great! and I practically do not feel that it becomes INJUGABLE set in this mode.

On the other hand, did anyone try the fifa 18 in game mode? I feel a minimum of Motionblur, this can be partly due to the HDMI cable of poor quality?
However, I do not perceive this when I watch football or another sport ....

Sorry for my English, I do what I can

Thank you !
Fer ARG is offline  
post #11796 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Furyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by al210 View Post
Thanks. Motion is very important since I watch a lot of hockey, football and basketball. It’s the only issue with my 2 generations old LG Oled. It don’t handle motion well.


My 900e has very little to no DSE (I can’t see it) and hockey looks great. Compared to my Visio where it’s readily apparent. Very happy with the 900e all around. Motion is also very good to my eyes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ricoflashback likes this.

Sony XBR-65X900E / Sony STRDN1080 / Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 Series / Vizio P55-C1 / Vizio SB4031-D5 / DirecTV Genie (non-4K) / Apple TV 4 / Apple TV 4K / Roku Premiere+
Furyus is offline  
post #11797 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flightpath View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flightpath View Post
Yup, Peaky Blinders and 4K Birchwood Fire on Netflix through internal app as well as the Netflix app on my kids Xbox One X. It's the same results under the same settings.
Using the internal app, the Fireplace video, I did not see any light bleed, and my brightness was set to 20, contrast was 85, gamma, -1, dymanic local dimming high, xtended dynamic range set to high.

If you have clouding with brightness at 7, then something needs to be done by Sony.
Well here's a picture I just took of the same image using your settings.
Yup, this is the same result I get also. It's the oct-Nov tv's. I find it hard to believe that Sony says this is normal, I wonder if there is anything else we can do about this. I get the feeling Sony is aware and have briefed their reps on what to say to this issue.
Newb00 is offline  
post #11798 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristCutlass View Post
Just got my 900e, beautiful but im scared to update it. IS IT SAFE TO UPDATE?.....had it 8 hours it already cut off and front led blinked red 4 times..pff
Seem like that happened to me in the first few days I had it. That was so long ago, and maybe 6 updates ago. In that first month I believe I did two factory resets. Knock on wood, the TV has gotten better with each update. Mainly it's gotten more stable. The only persistent problem I continue to have is failure to power on, requiring me to reset the PMU. However, I've had that since day one, and has come and gone, not necessarily related to updates.

Sony appears to have rolled out a half-baked TV OS, and slowly but surely they are improving it. I'm not sure what your concern is with updating it, but it can only get better. It's hard to imagine an update that would break it, and even if it did, Sony would fix it pretty quickly.
Mac128 is offline  
post #11799 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 10:01 AM
Member
 
chilipad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
FWIW, I recently watched the Battlestar Galactica Collection on Blu-ray. I have the Sony X800, which is connected by HDMI to HDMI 2 on my 900E. I have Optical Out going to a fairly old Onkyo AVR. But the Onkyo consistently receives, displays, and plays the DTS Audio that's on these discs.

Since you're playing from a different source, you may be encountering different issues. But just wanted to let you know that at least with this hardware, DTS is supported and put out by Optical Audio.

I also get Dolby 5.1 on Amazon and Netflix. I'm almost certain, but not 100%, that with perhaps rare exception, the Google Play App and YouTube App, do not support 5.1 (sometimes in conflict with what it says on screen). (This is using the TV's apps, not the ones on the Sony Blu-ray player. I do use the X800 to watch some YouTube HDR demos, which this player does support, while the TV's YouTube App does not.)
Ok thanks. I was referring specifically to the built in apps. I still can't believe they don't even support 5.1 on Google play and other apps. I will have to try Amazon when renting a 4K movie. Haven't yet because I didn't want to pay for it and not get 5.1. I do play blu-rays and other video but just run the optical straight to the avr, however my player and 2 media players do not support 4K. I love this set but the OS is pretty bad for a premium product.
DLCPhoto likes this.
chilipad is offline  
post #11800 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys got a question for y'all!

I have a Vizio sound bar hooked up to the TV using the aux cable. But sometimes the volume fluctuates.. I already turned on truvolume but it still does it.

So I hooked it up using the optical cable. It won't fluctuate anymore but now I can't control the volume with the Sony remote which is a pain.

So I decided to try the bluetooth and it works great but sometimes I turn the TV on and it won't connect to the sound bar. It's rare but still does it which is dumb.

I wish the aux cable didn't fluctuate anyone else tried this?
Kjrayo18 is offline  
post #11801 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,420
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7133 Post(s)
Liked: 7175
Quote:
Originally Posted by al210 View Post
Thanks. Motion is very important since I watch a lot of hockey, football and basketball. It’s the only issue with my 2 generations old LG Oled. It don’t handle motion well.
The sets that handle motion best are not made anymore, a plasma TV. With this said, it is what it is as far as motion. You may find a little better set, but no TV will handle motion real well made today.....The great news is most people do not notice
Madmax67 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #11802 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
William L Carman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oceanside, California (San Diego County)
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Hello. I have a 49" Sony 900E and I can't figure out how to "click on the enhanced format" in HDMI. I think I've clicked on everything, and I can't find it in the settings menus. Can anyone help me? If so, it would be very much appreciated. Thank you.
William L Carman is offline  
post #11803 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 01:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone,

I just got this TV recently and in love with it! Amazing so far. I did get one of the 55 inch October builds but the quality seems to be ok. I just have a question, is there any way to get the Sony to launch onto the "Home" page when the TV starts up? Instead it keeps hunting for inputs and says no input available (if on one of the unused ones). It's annoying to keep having to hit the home button every time the TV powers on. People keep turning it on and thinking the TV is broken.... grrrr.

Thanks for any advice.

Cheers,
cwoguelph
cwoguelph is offline  
post #11804 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by William L Carman View Post
Hello. I have a 49" Sony 900E and I can't figure out how to "click on the enhanced format" in HDMI. I think I've clicked on everything, and I can't find it in the settings menus. Can anyone help me? If so, it would be very much appreciated. Thank you.
Hi there,

It's a bit annoying but to turn on the enhanced HDMI - you have to go to the Home Page / Settings / External Inputs / HDMI signal format / Then turn on the enhanced mode. Only works on HDMI 2 and 3.

Cheers,
Colin
cwoguelph is offline  
post #11805 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
Seem like that happened to me in the first few days I had it. That was so long ago, and maybe 6 updates ago. In that first month I believe I did two factory resets. Knock on wood, the TV has gotten better with each update. Mainly it's gotten more stable. The only persistent problem I continue to have is failure to power on, requiring me to reset the PMU. However, I've had that since day one, and has come and gone, not necessarily related to updates.

Sony appears to have rolled out a half-baked TV OS, and slowly but surely they are improving it. I'm not sure what your concern is with updating it, but it can only get better. It's hard to imagine an update that would break it, and even if it did, Sony would fix it pretty quickly.
Hey man i appreciate the reply. Just so many horror storys about after update tv powers off and wont come back on or etc. I got lucky finally with a panel that has clean uniformity. So you say yours cut off and blinked red too?
ChristCutlass is offline  
post #11806 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 01:45 PM
Newbie
 
BLWedge09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristCutlass View Post
Hey man i appreciate the reply. Just so many horror storys about after update tv powers off and wont come back on or etc. I got lucky finally with a panel that has clean uniformity. So you say yours cut off and blinked red too?
I’ve got the 65” version of the X900E. I installed the latest update via usb (it wasn’t showing up for me via the tv yet) and had my first episode of red flashing lights when switching over to the PS4 yesterday. I think it flashed red 8 times (2 sets of 4) then rebooted. Worked ok after that.

Beyond that, this latest update has really got me wondering if I can find a happy balance on motion processing. For regular tv, I’m watching Dish Network via a Hopper 3 oh HDMI port 1 since I’m never gonna need HDR from it. I actually like the SOE, but I have issues with it on some channels and it isn’t artifacting. It’s almost like judder, but more like a constant skipping...almost like a strobe light effect. While one channel will be smooth as silk, something else might get that jittery skipping effect. Turning off all motion processing just isn’t an option. I just came from a 60 inch plasma, and the lack of smoothness when it’s all turned off bothers my eyes. I swear it really seems like the processor in the tv just can’t keep up with the motion processing. For now, the best balance I can find is Motionflow on custom, smoothness at 2, clearness at min, and Cinemotion on high.

My set is a November build, has the light band/bleed edges on some scenes on the left, right, and top. It was purchased from a third party through Amazon and I have through Feb. 3rd to return it. I’m tempted, but I have no idea what I’d get in it’s place. It would have to be something from Amazon, because I paid for half of the TV with a Amazon e-gift card.
BLWedge09 is offline  
post #11807 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1444 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by al210 View Post
Stopped at a local BB to see the 900e and 940e. The PQ was better on the 940e. Is this something they setup just to make the more $ set look better. The 940e had more pop. Looking at getting a 75”
940e has the better picture by far- almost double the contrast and virtually zero blooming in dark scenes with bright highlights. But motion was really blurry, to the point where i returned mine for the 900. I think the trade off was worth it but it has more pop, everything has a 3d type effect. If you are not sensitive to motion, the 940e has an unbeatable picture.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #11808 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,776
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 782
So my wife has a 55X900E and I have a Vizio P65 with the flashing white line issue. I have been contemplating moving to a 65X900E, but on her TV I see light edge bleeding along the left in mixed light scenes that have darkness along the left side. Is this common, how many folks see this? Does the 65 suffer from the same issue? The X930E being edge lit does it have this problem due to edge lit or is this something with X900E? As much as I hate to spend the extra $500 for a X930E if it will not have edge bleed and the X900E will then I may go for the X930E. The colors on her X900E are phenomenal even in SDR.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #11809 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
So my wife has a 55X900E and I have a Vizio P65 with the flashing white line issue. I have been contemplating moving to a 65X900E, but on her TV I see light edge bleeding along the left in mixed light scenes that have darkness along the left side. Is this common, how many folks see this? Does the 65 suffer from the same issue? The X930E being edge lit does it have this problem due to edge lit or is this something with X900E? As much as I hate to spend the extra $500 for a X930E if it will not have edge bleed and the X900E will then I may go for the X930E. The colors on her X900E are phenomenal even in SDR.
Pretty common, many of us here have brought up to Sony and get the "it's working within specifications", if your wife has this t.v. and has the issue, I suggest reporting it. If enough people report the issue it might make Sony change tune. If you do buy the 65" check it as soon as you get home, if you have the light bleed I would take it back. It's a great tv for sure, but on my 65" it's pretty noticeable during dark scenes
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180125_215228_1517092631812.jpg
Views:	549
Size:	2.51 MB
ID:	2351956   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180125_180028_1517092655710.jpg
Views:	524
Size:	3.55 MB
ID:	2351958  
Newb00 is offline  
post #11810 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by chilipad View Post
Ok thanks. I was referring specifically to the built in apps. I still can't believe they don't even support 5.1 on Google play and other apps. I will have to try Amazon when renting a 4K movie. Haven't yet because I didn't want to pay for it and not get 5.1. I do play blu-rays and other video but just run the optical straight to the avr, however my player and 2 media players do not support 4K. I love this set but the OS is pretty bad for a premium product.
Pretty sure I get 5.1 on Google play.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Billy Williams is offline  
post #11811 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 04:41 PM
Member
 
tubaman1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Would a couple of folks be kind enough to look at a specific scene (1080p stream) on the native Netflix app: It's at the 40 min, 50 sec mark of episode 4 (caves) in season 1 of Planet Earth: The Complete Collection.

Most of the images look beautiful, but I've never seen so much "shimmering" graininess in a dark image as this specific scene. See pic - and my camera is definitely NOT exaggerating what I see on my set. Also, I do not believe my settings are particularly unusual: Cinema Pro, Brightness 14, Contrast 98, Auto local dimming High, etc.

I'd love some feedback about that specific scene from others. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GrainyExample.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	752.6 KB
ID:	2351982  
tubaman1000 is offline  
post #11812 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubaman1000 View Post
Would a couple of folks be kind enough to look at a specific scene (1080p stream) on the native Netflix app: It's at the 40 min, 50 sec mark of episode 4 (caves) in season 1 of Planet Earth: The Complete Collection.

Most of the images look beautiful, but I've never seen so much "shimmering" graininess in a dark image as this specific scene. See pic - and my camera is definitely NOT exaggerating what I see on my set. Also, I do not believe my settings are particularly unusual: Cinema Pro, Brightness 14, Contrast 98, Auto local dimming High, etc.

I'd love some feedback about that specific scene from others. Thanks!
I just watched it. It looks extremely grainy definitely not the TV.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Billy Williams is offline  
post #11813 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What's this update for?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
shadowmelt is offline  
post #11814 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Furyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 154
2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubaman1000 View Post
Would a couple of folks be kind enough to look at a specific scene (1080p stream) on the native Netflix app: It's at the 40 min, 50 sec mark of episode 4 (caves) in season 1 of Planet Earth: The Complete Collection.



Most of the images look beautiful, but I've never seen so much "shimmering" graininess in a dark image as this specific scene. See pic - and my camera is definitely NOT exaggerating what I see on my set. Also, I do not believe my settings are particularly unusual: Cinema Pro, Brightness 14, Contrast 98, Auto local dimming High, etc.



I'd love some feedback about that specific scene from others. Thanks!


Mine looks okay - no graininess. I think I have default settings as I don’t use the internal apps much. Cinema Pro, 25 Brightness, 90 contrast, -2 Gamma, LD low, Motion Flow Clear and Cinemotion High.

I think 98 contrast is too high


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65X900E / Sony STRDN1080 / Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 Series / Vizio P55-C1 / Vizio SB4031-D5 / DirecTV Genie (non-4K) / Apple TV 4 / Apple TV 4K / Roku Premiere+

Last edited by Furyus; 01-27-2018 at 05:57 PM.
Furyus is offline  
post #11815 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Furyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 154
2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65X900E / Sony STRDN1080 / Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 Series / Vizio P55-C1 / Vizio SB4031-D5 / DirecTV Genie (non-4K) / Apple TV 4 / Apple TV 4K / Roku Premiere+

Last edited by Furyus; 01-27-2018 at 06:00 PM. Reason: Duplicate
Furyus is offline  
post #11816 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I've had this TV a while and not sure why the app for registering the TV is still there. Anyone know how to remove it? I've already done it. Also the top bar with all the suggestions anyone know how to disable that. Already turned off samba.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Billy Williams is offline  
post #11817 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 06:02 PM
Longtime Member
 
psklenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
wow. received my 75" today and just ... wow. no tuning yet. watched Ghost in the Shell (4K HDR). Now watching a basketball game (merely 1080p). i am so impressed so far!

pat----

psklenar is offline  
post #11818 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I noticed if i'm streaming a native 1080P movie if my connection speed drops to 720p the picture gets a lot more sharp and 4k like anyone else notice this?

Last edited by omston; 01-27-2018 at 06:54 PM.
omston is offline  
post #11819 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Guys I’ve hit a wall with this TV and sports motion...

Picture looks great but when I start watching sports (hockey, basketball) the picture starts to pixelate like CRAZY... I have tried playing with all the motion settings and simply can not get it to a point that looks even “ok” compared to the 10 year old Samsung LCD that it is replacing. I’m a big sports guy so this is an issue any suggestions?

Source is Xfinity X1 (I know...)

***I have also tried changing the set top box from 1080i to 720p and even 1080p with no real change.
jeremiahpreston3 is offline  
post #11820 of 19436 Old 01-27-2018, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Furyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremiahpreston3 View Post
. I’m a big sports guy so this is an issue any suggestions?

.

DirecTV?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I WANT MORE likes this.

Sony XBR-65X900E / Sony STRDN1080 / Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 Series / Vizio P55-C1 / Vizio SB4031-D5 / DirecTV Genie (non-4K) / Apple TV 4 / Apple TV 4K / Roku Premiere+
Furyus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off