2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 397 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40400Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11881 of 19314 Old 01-28-2018, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
I've owned my X900E for about 3 to 4 months. I think the best content, picture-wise, I've seen yet is BBC America's Planet Earth: Blue Planet II. (I don't do Blu-Ray discs.)

There's been one episode of this series so far...the picture quality was outstanding.
I watched that last night, and some parts were AMAZING... but there were others that just KILLED me with digital artifacting and awful noise and grain issues. A lot of the show was just visually fantastic, but there was quite a bit that was noticeably unclear on my set. Generally, I have very good bandwidth, so I didn't expect it was due to that, but who knows? I was watching through my Apple TV 4k, and it seemed like the BBC app was a little noisier than downloading through iTunes, but even the downloaded version had some issues.
TragerJonnes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11882 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 05:15 AM
Member
 
DeltaOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TragerJonnes View Post
I watched that last night, and some parts were AMAZING... but there were others that just KILLED me with digital artifacting and awful noise and grain issues. A lot of the show was just visually fantastic, but there was quite a bit that was noticeably unclear on my set. Generally, I have very good bandwidth, so I didn't expect it was due to that, but who knows? I was watching through my Apple TV 4k, and it seemed like the BBC app was a little noisier than downloading through iTunes, but even the downloaded version had some issues.
Last night's episode 2 had parts that were visually amazing, but some were not. Episode 1 was better...at least as far as wowing one with the visuals.

We watched it via our Comcast feed, I didn't notice any visual problems as you mentioned.

Someone here recommended Netflix's Cosmo Laundromat...the detail is amazing. It's animated, 12 minutes long.
DeltaOne is offline  
post #11883 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 06:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristCutlass View Post
I did just do the factory reset and if it does again im taking it back and this perfect panel will probably not be on the next one. ARE THERE ALOT OF PEOPLE ON HERE THAT HAD THERE TV SHUT OFF AND GIVE THE ERROR RED LIGHT BLINKS THAT GOT FIXED BY UPDATE/FACTORY RESET AND NOW THERE TV IS OK?
I had the red blinking lights only after the latest update. It was when I would play shadow of war in 4k HDR on the PS4 Pro. I turned off game mode and it was resolved (so far)
hunter91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11884 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Is anyone able to uncompress the latest firmware on the Sony.com site for the 900e? PKG6.2818.0075NAA

I can download it just fine, but when I try to extract it, it comes back with a checksum error for the .pkg file.

When I try to update through my TV, it says the previous package from 2017 is still the latest one. My TV is a USA model, and I'm located in the USA.

Did Sony purposely stop deployment of the 1/16/2018 firmware?
Bangback is offline  
post #11885 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
Is anyone able to uncompress the latest firmware on the Sony.com site for the 900e? PKG6.2818.0075NAA

I can download it just fine, but when I try to extract it, it comes back with a checksum error for the .pkg file.

When I try to update through my TV, it says the previous package from 2017 is still the latest one. My TV is a USA model, and I'm located in the USA.

Did Sony purposely stop deployment of the 1/16/2018 firmware?
You may have already taken these steps but, reformat the drive at fat32, download a fresh copy of the installation file, then see if you can extract the file without any errors. I used Winrar to extract the file to a flash drive.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #11886 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hello i have a question is there any way to limit the resolution or data flow to the apps NF or Hulu or in the tv options? I have a capped amount and would like to conserve sometimes.
omston is offline  
post #11887 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
I've owned my X900E for about 3 to 4 months. I think the best content, picture-wise, I've seen yet is BBC America's Planet Earth: Blue Planet II. (I don't do Blu-Ray discs.)

There's been one episode of this series so far...the picture quality was outstanding.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TragerJonnes View Post
I watched that last night, and some parts were AMAZING... but there were others that just KILLED me with digital artifacting and awful noise and grain issues. A lot of the show was just visually fantastic, but there was quite a bit that was noticeably unclear on my set. Generally, I have very good bandwidth, so I didn't expect it was due to that, but who knows? I was watching through my Apple TV 4k, and it seemed like the BBC app was a little noisier than downloading through iTunes, but even the downloaded version had some issues.



You guys should have seen it in 4K/HDR. Really outstanding picture in some parts.
tmdorsey is offline  
post #11888 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:29 AM
Member
 
DeltaOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
You guys should have seen it in 4K/HDR. Really outstanding picture in some parts.
Are you seeing it in 4K/HDR via an Apple TV or something similar?
DeltaOne is offline  
post #11889 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
You may have already taken these steps but, reformat the drive at fat32, download a fresh copy of the installation file, then see if you can extract the file without any errors. I used Winrar to extract the file to a flash drive.
I didn't even get that far. I downloaded the file onto my hard drive and tried to extract it first with Windows 10, which reported an error and WinRAR which said there was a checksum error. Never even got to copying over to the flash drive.

The file must have gotten corrupted on the Sony server, perhaps when the updated the comments with putting Dolby Vision back in the comments as being part of the package again, but if users have issues, they have to get updates for their external devices?
Bangback is offline  
post #11890 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
I didn't even get that far. I downloaded the file onto my hard drive and tried to extract it first with Windows 10, which reported an error and WinRAR which said there was a checksum error. Never even got to copying over to the flash drive.

The file must have gotten corrupted on the Sony server, perhaps when the updated the comments with putting Dolby Vision back in the comments as being part of the package again, but if users have issues, they have to get updates for their external devices?
Do you have another PC available where you can download and extract the file?

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #11891 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If I am watching Netflix or Hulu and then put the TV in rest mode (press power) when I come back Hulu says "critical error - There's a problem connecting to servers. Please restart the application"

I restart the application and everything works fine. I feel like this is a network problem - anyone have a work around? Can I keep the TV connected to network in sleep mode?
hunter91 is offline  
post #11892 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
Is anyone able to uncompress the latest firmware on the Sony.com site for the 900e? PKG6.2818.0075NAA

I can download it just fine, but when I try to extract it, it comes back with a checksum error for the .pkg file.

When I try to update through my TV, it says the previous package from 2017 is still the latest one. My TV is a USA model, and I'm located in the USA.

Did Sony purposely stop deployment of the 1/16/2018 firmware?
Update caused problems for my 900e, so you should probably be thankful you didn't update! (8 red blinking lights with my PS4 in HDR mode)
hunter91 is offline  
post #11893 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Do you have another PC available where you can download and extract the file?
Yup. I tried a different computer. Same error when trying to extract the file on the hard drive, still onto the hard drive. Checksum error.

I must have downloaded that file at least 6 times. It's huge too being over 1GB. Just wanted to see if anyone else was having the issue.

Also was wondering why my TV couldn't find the update through the Sony servers? My TV box says "USA", and the TV was built in October 2017, so even if it's region based, it should find the update?
Bangback is offline  
post #11894 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunter91 View Post
Update caused problems for my 900e, so you should probably be thankful you didn't update! (8 red blinking lights with my PS4 in HDR mode)
Uggh! Maybe I shouldn't update then? I noticed the judder seems pretty bad with the built in Amazon Prime Video app on the TV with the version that I'm on right now. (PKG6.2676.0070NAA)
Bangback is offline  
post #11895 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
Yup. I tried a different computer. Same error when trying to extract the file on the hard drive, still onto the hard drive. Checksum error.

I must have downloaded that file at least 6 times. It's huge too being over 1GB. Just wanted to see if anyone else was having the issue.

Also was wondering why my TV couldn't find the update through the Sony servers? My TV box says "USA", and the TV was built in October 2017, so even if it's region based, it should find the update?
Updates are usually spread out over a couple of weeks. I did not receive an OTA update as well, so I just downloaded the file and extracted it to a flash drive.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
post #11896 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by omston View Post
Hello i have a question is there any way to limit the resolution or data flow to the apps NF or Hulu or in the tv options? I have a capped amount and would like to conserve sometimes.
Use a VPN such as IPvanish. Caps are absurd. This will also protect your privacy so you do get an advertisement of something you've googled for on your PC.

Last edited by Gaslitnation; 01-29-2018 at 09:12 AM.
Gaslitnation is offline  
post #11897 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
Is anyone able to uncompress the latest firmware on the Sony.com site for the 900e? PKG6.2818.0075NAA

I can download it just fine, but when I try to extract it, it comes back with a checksum error for the .pkg file.

When I try to update through my TV, it says the previous package from 2017 is still the latest one. My TV is a USA model, and I'm located in the USA.

Did Sony purposely stop deployment of the 1/16/2018 firmware?
Why are you in a hurry to update when people are complaining of audio problems with it?
omston is offline  
post #11898 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
Are you seeing it in 4K/HDR via an Apple TV or something similar?

Via Directv.
tmdorsey is offline  
post #11899 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 516
I've heard and read alot of people complaining about the new update but no issues here. My tv is working just fine.
steve1971 is offline  
post #11900 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by omston View Post
Why are you in a hurry to update when people are complaining of audio problems with it?

...because I was hoping that it would help fix some of the performance issues with my current load, which is what is stated as addressed in the notes for the new release.


But if people are having issues with audio and red lighting, then I should probably stay clear of it!
Bangback is offline  
post #11901 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
...because I was hoping that it would help fix some of the performance issues with my current load, which is what is stated as addressed in the notes for the new release.


But if people are having issues with audio and red lighting, then I should probably stay clear of it!

Is it possible to go back a version if someone has a lot of issues? Or is this a one-way journey?
Bangback is offline  
post #11902 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Updates are usually spread out over a couple of weeks. I did not receive an OTA update as well, so I just downloaded the file and extracted it to a flash drive.

Makes sense. I unboxed my 75" 900e two days ago and it had a firmware from July. OTA update got it to October, but not to January.
Bangback is offline  
post #11903 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
...because I was hoping that it would help fix some of the performance issues with my current load, which is what is stated as addressed in the notes for the new release.


But if people are having issues with audio and red lighting, then I should probably stay clear of it!
I don't have the new update yet either. I always wait till it gets pushed to me, i don't like to force an update!
Mac128 likes this.
Javelin is offline  
post #11904 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangback View Post
Uggh! Maybe I shouldn't update then? I noticed the judder seems pretty bad with the built in Amazon Prime Video app on the TV with the version that I'm on right now. (PKG6.2676.0070NAA)
Do you have another option to stream Amazon with? I avoid the built in apps as i have had small freezes while streaming. Using a Roku Premier+ the issues have gone away!
Javelin is offline  
post #11905 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javelin View Post
Do you have another option to stream Amazon with? I avoid the built in apps as i have had small freezes while streaming. Using a Roku Premier+ the issues have gone away!

Yes, just hooked up an Apple TV 4K last night and the Amazon video seems to be a lot smoother with it.


The judder on the TV gets worse with the Amazon app running if I go into the TV menus to change the settings -- almost as if there isn't enough processing power to do everything all at the same time.
Bangback is offline  
post #11906 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 11:20 AM
Member
 
PrepP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Suggestions please

New 900E owner here! Been waiting for this TV to hit my price point for almost a year. Finally ordered it and can't wait to get it setup. Upgrading from a 10 year old Samsung 71" DLP.

Anyway I have a few questions I was hoping you guys could help with.

1- Can you control this TV via a stand alone good home device? I have a google home mini in my living room and was hoping I could use it to turn the tv on/off and do some basic controls.

2- Can anyone recommend a good affordable bias lighting kit for this size tv?

3- Using PS4 pro mainly for games, any recommended settings to get the most out of this tv and the ps4 pro?

Thanks in advance!
PrepP is offline  
post #11907 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
eddysnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Does anyone use the "Animation" setting on here? Would that be for cartoons?

Also regarding picture quality, Peaky Blinders on Netflix (HD) looks incredible. Season 4 is stunning at times (also how it's filmed, it tests your set out in regards to blooming in certain scenes)
eddysnake is offline  
post #11908 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrepP View Post
New 900E owner here! Been waiting for this TV to hit my price point for almost a year. Finally ordered it and can't wait to get it setup. Upgrading from a 10 year old Samsung 71" DLP.

Anyway I have a few questions I was hoping you guys could help with.

1- Can you control this TV via a stand alone good home device? I have a google home mini in my living room and was hoping I could use it to turn the tv on/off and do some basic controls.

2- Can anyone recommend a good affordable bias lighting kit for this size tv?

3- Using PS4 pro mainly for games, any recommended settings to get the most out of this tv and the ps4 pro?

Thanks in advance!

1.) google home support is limited... can change volume / channel but cannot turn on / off TV. You can with amazon alexa... annoying! Hopefully more updates come FAST
hunter91 is offline  
post #11909 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 01:26 PM
Member
 
Bangback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Does anyone know what the little compartment on the back of the 75" 900e and 65" 900e is for? The cover comes off but there's nothing in there. Is it for an antenna? I couldn't find anything about it in the manual.
Bangback is offline  
post #11910 of 19314 Old 01-29-2018, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,957
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6864 Post(s)
Liked: 6863
Quote:
Originally Posted by TragerJonnes View Post
I watched that last night, and some parts were AMAZING... but there were others that just KILLED me with digital artifacting and awful noise and grain issues. A lot of the show was just visually fantastic, but there was quite a bit that was noticeably unclear on my set. Generally, I have very good bandwidth, so I didn't expect it was due to that, but who knows? I was watching through my Apple TV 4k, and it seemed like the BBC app was a little noisier than downloading through iTunes, but even the downloaded version had some issues.
I would say it was the stream if most of it was AMAZING
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off