2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 404 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40453Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12091 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by usersrdumavs View Post
Thanks for clarifying. How does the 900E handle streaming DV where there is no fall back?
It ignores it. If metadata is not available that the TV understands, then it will not display it. But that's not likely to be a problem on major streaming platforms, nor likely any in the future, and it's not possible at all with Blu-ray discs which require HDR10 metadata on all DV encoded discs.
Mac128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12092 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by green666 View Post
Still no update for EU models, 25.10.2017 was the last one ;( sigh.
Sony supposedly pulled the update for everyone due to complaints about crackling.
Mac128 is offline  
post #12093 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 10:57 AM
Member
 
guitarpete987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestyk View Post
I have to agree. I just got the 55" and I was dismayed that my old Sony XBR from 2009 was sharper. But it's not with just regular cable, it's sharper with Netflix too, which is built into my cable box. (Soon I will try the 900E's Netflix). Plus the viewing angles suck as well. Unless you're near dead center, the picture gets washed out. I'm actually thinking about calibrating my TV while sitting on an angle and seeing what it looks like dead center.
It's a vertical alignment panel. It's inherent to the technology that the optimal point will be dead center to about 25 degrees to either side. Basically if you're sitting on a sofa in front of the TV you should be good. This type of panel does provide far better black levels and contrast than other types.

TV: Sony XBR65X900E
Receiver: Yamaha RX-V479
Speakers: Fronts: Sony SS-F6000, Center: Sony SS-CN5000 , Rears: Sony SS-B1000, Sub: Sony SA-W3000
-pete-
guitarpete987 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12094 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestyk View Post
I have to agree. I just got the 55" and I was dismayed that my old Sony XBR from 2009 was sharper. But it's not with just regular cable, it's sharper with Netflix too, which is built into my cable box. (Soon I will try the 900E's Netflix). Plus the viewing angles suck as well. Unless you're near dead center, the picture gets washed out. I'm actually thinking about calibrating my TV while sitting on an angle and seeing what it looks like dead center.
Upscaled content on a 4K TV almost always looks a bit 'softer' than the same content on native 1080 TV. This is due to the upscaling process, which some TVs do better than others, and the effect can be even more apparent if the source is less than 1080P. It's one reason why it sort of sucks for many consumers that TVs made the move to 4K when they did.
J_Dova likes this.
KSpan is online now  
post #12095 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSpan View Post
Upscaled content on a 4K TV almost always looks a bit 'softer' than the same content on native 1080 TV. This is due to the upscaling process, which some TVs do better than others, and the effect can be even more apparent if the source is less than 1080P. It's one reason why it sort of sucks for many consumers that TVs made the move to 4K when they did.
While this is true, the 900E does the best job I've ever seen upscaling content. In particular I watch OTA broadcasts in 720p and 1080i -- both of which look fantastic. I've never seen network broadcasts so sharp and clear.

The issue being debated here has to do with the often poor quality cable and satellite services, which is often hit or miss depending on the provider and equipment, not to mention people who have stepped up from a smaller HD display to a larger 4K display, where the picture naturally loses some clarity as the image is enlarged, where any defects were previously overlooked on a smaller screen.
guitarpete987 likes this.
Mac128 is offline  
post #12096 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post
Based on what you said, your old setup should have gotten you audio, as well as the new setup. I don't know of any tv that doesn't send audio out from the internal tuner.

So with this new set, you have the hdmi from the receiver to the TV's hdmi 3 port, correct? If so, the only other thing you'll need to do on the TV is go to Action Menu-Speakers and set it to Receiver.

Now, my Onkyo receiver, when turned on, automatically does this and switches to the right input. When watching content from the TV's apps or the tuner, my receiver switches to the TV input, to get sound from the TV. Not sure if it's labeled the same on your set, but I would think that would be the issue, that your receiver is not set to receive audio from the TV.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Thank you. Initially I had connected it to HDMI 2 , then while browsing all the options I noticed it said HDMI-3(ARC) but not for other HDMI, That solved the issue as you mentioned Thank you for the quick reply and yes this has solved the issue. My Yamaha receiver also needed an update and I did that too. Now I am getting the sound to my receiver from in-built apps. Thank you again for your time and effort to put this info. Appreciated.
troy48084 is offline  
post #12097 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 02:09 PM
Member
 
RolandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 14
High Pitched Sound after Jan 2018 Firmware Upgrade

Upgraded my 900E with the January 2018 upgrade from SONY. Experienced the high-pitched sound that occurs when using a remote to navigate your Cable Box/DVR, which has been written about in the Forum. Searching the SONY Community Board, I believe I found a solution. On the DVR's device setting for Audio, change Dolby 5.1 to Stereo. I did this and so far it seems to have worked. Here's a link to the discussion of the issue on the SONY board.
RolandM is offline  
post #12098 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I just picked up an X900e, and I was wondering if there's any way to get the Optimum App on it? (or to customize the home screen to get rid of all the apps I don't want/use and only see the ones I do).
djdwosk97 is offline  
post #12099 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
While this is true, the 900E does the best job I've ever seen upscaling content. In particular I watch OTA broadcasts in 720p and 1080i -- both of which look fantastic. I've never seen network broadcasts so sharp and clear.

The issue being debated here has to do with the often poor quality cable and satellite services, which is often hit or miss depending on the provider and equipment, not to mention people who have stepped up from a smaller HD display to a larger 4K display, where the picture naturally loses some clarity as the image is enlarged, where any defects were previously overlooked on a smaller screen.
Gotcha. I've only used OTA on mine so can't comment about cable, but the OTA stuff that I watch does look good.
KSpan is online now  
post #12100 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by green666 View Post
Still no update for EU models, 25.10.2017 was the last one ;( sigh.
Sony supposedly pulled the update for everyone due to complaints about crackling.
Exactly why I will not update until the very last update for the tv.
Blackblades is offline  
post #12101 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 05:46 PM
Member
 
urbanracer34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hi everyone.

I was wondering about something...

Has anyone heard if this model is being discontinued? My local AV store says online (AVAILABLE IN LIMITED QUANTITIES) and they have a store in my city.

Any information is appreciated.

Thanks,

urbanracer34
urbanracer34 is offline  
post #12102 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 3,652
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2013 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damar1979 View Post
It upscales nicely depending on content. Network shows and movies that do broadcast in HD do look better. But other networks (such as the DIY home improvement network) that aren't in HD, no amount of upscaling is going to save that.
What is the model number of your new Comcast 4K STB? We have three Tv's in our house with the man cave having the main box and the other Tv's using the remote client. Can you get 4K from a remote setup?

From my understanding, the newest Comcast STB does not have HDR. I've read that the HDR box will not be available until later this year.

Lastly - I've heard that the only 4K is via streaming. Do you let the Comcast STB upscale to 4K or the Sony 900E upscale? What have you watched in 4K?

Thx, Rico.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, Bluesound Node 2i, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3, AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 - 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's-V.5 (FL/FR), CC-690-V.5 (C), ADP 590-V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub, Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #12103 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damar1979 View Post
Hi! The 930E did receive an update sometime back that fixed its motion issues somewhat (judder, pixelation etc). However when it comes to 930e strength being peak brightness, stronger contrast and detail, the 900e's best strength (to me) was always it's motion capability. I actually went from a 900e, to a 930e...back to a 900e for that specific reason. I just think it happens to do everything well.

I also have a Samsung JS9500. To me the motion was somewhat equal but much less screen pixelation on the 900e during fast movements. With much better and bolder color too in my opinion, along with better local dimming (both are fald sets).

But keep in mind no amount of upscaling is going to compensate for poor source material. Just recently upgraded my cable Box to the Comcast 4K box. Try to see if your Box can do either 1080P or even 720P.

But taking it back to the TV's. If you want Dolby vision with high peak brightness, then you're definitely in the right ballpark with the 930e. If however you just want a more fluid experience that's very well balanced, you may want to give the 900e a shot

how's the comcast 4k box?
hunter91 is offline  
post #12104 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 06:44 PM
Member
 
sixtytooneratio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by troy48084 View Post
Thank you. Initially I had connected it to HDMI 2 , then while browsing all the options I noticed it said HDMI-3(ARC) but not for other HDMI, That solved the issue as you mentioned Thank you for the quick reply and yes this has solved the issue. My Yamaha receiver also needed an update and I did that too. Now I am getting the sound to my receiver from in-built apps. Thank you again for your time and effort to put this info. Appreciated.
Purchased a 900e and have this problem.Connected receiver out to HDMI arc3,switched TV speakers to audio system and still no sound from my receivers speakers when on you tube app.When I had it connected to HDMI one on the TV I got sound from the cable feed as well as the app feed. Onkyo receiver.
sixtytooneratio is offline  
post #12105 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 06:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
All I have to say is Altered Carbon in HDR on NETFLIX is stunning. Just checkout the beggining of episode 1. The cigarette he lights in the dark room actually looks like real fire and the window sunrise is realistically blinding. Simply amazed with this set.
pauldryan and jayruguitar like this.
bKid23 is offline  
post #12106 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1303 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by bKid23 View Post
All I have to say is Altered Carbon in HDR on NETFLIX is stunning. Just checkout the beggining of episode 1. The cigarette he lights in the dark room actually looks like real fire and the window sunrise is realistically blinding. Simply amazed with this set.
This, along with The Grand Tour, season 2, episode 8, the Ford GT Segment.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #12107 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 07:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunter91 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damar1979 View Post
Hi! The 930E did receive an update sometime back that fixed its motion issues somewhat (judder, pixelation etc). However when it comes to 930e strength being peak brightness, stronger contrast and detail, the 900e's best strength (to me) was always it's motion capability. I actually went from a 900e, to a 930e...back to a 900e for that specific reason. I just think it happens to do everything well.

I also have a Samsung JS9500. To me the motion was somewhat equal but much less screen pixelation on the 900e during fast movements. With much better and bolder color too in my opinion, along with better local dimming (both are fald sets).

But keep in mind no amount of upscaling is going to compensate for poor source material. Just recently upgraded my cable Box to the Comcast 4K box. Try to see if your Box can do either 1080P or even 720P.

But taking it back to the TV's. If you want Dolby vision with high peak brightness, then you're definitely in the right ballpark with the 930e. If however you just want a more fluid experience that's very well balanced, you may want to give the 900e a shot

how's the comcast 4k box?
While there currently is no 4k content cable wise, it does a nice job of upscaling.
Damar1979 is offline  
post #12108 of 19591 Old 02-02-2018, 11:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by murali_v_2000 View Post
I had similar issue and I found a workaround to address this. I found that Sony XBR900E does a poor upscaling if the input is 1080i (which most of the broadcasters transmit in). I took an old Google TV device (Vizio Costar VAP430) and set it up such that it outputs a 1080p signal. The output of cable box connects to the HDMI input of VAP430 & the HDMI output of VAP430 connects to TV. With this arrangement, I can get close to 4K quality output from Cable sources. Basically my inference is that Sony XBR900E doesn't seem to handle interlaced content well.
This doesn't make much sense to me. The 900E scales both 1080i and 720p from my cable box beautifully. It must be your source but also I don't understand how converting it to 1080p with another device first would give you anywhere close to 4K quality. That is technically impossible.
bradman likes this.
snorge is offline  
post #12109 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 04:07 AM
Member
 
vtpossum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have to agree, the picture quality on my 900e and spectrum cable is great. I also have an antenna hooked to mine so I can quickly compare pictures and there is not a whole lot of difference. There are certain cable channels that look pretty bad (like law and order on WE network) but that is source problems.

On a side note, why do people on here keep telling others to turn Enhanced HDR on for ports 2 & 3? That is only needed if you are running the latest Xbox or PS4. For normal 4k bluray player it is not needed unless you are watching a movie in 60fps which are very few. Also you can connect a 4k player or any other device that can transmit HDR into any of the 4 hdmi ports and still get HDR, it don't have to be ports 2 & 3.
Mac128 and wavytoo like this.

Sony 55X900E, Sony STR-DE635, Sony PS3, Samsung UBD-M7500
Samsung LN46D630
vtpossum is offline  
post #12110 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Rdawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
I've owned my X900E for about 3 to 4 months. I think the best content, picture-wise, I've seen yet is BBC America's Planet Earth: Blue Planet II. (I don't do Blu-Ray discs.)

There's been one episode of this series so far...the picture quality was outstanding.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TragerJonnes View Post
I watched that last night, and some parts were AMAZING... but there were others that just KILLED me with digital artifacting and awful noise and grain issues. A lot of the show was just visually fantastic, but there was quite a bit that was noticeably unclear on my set. Generally, I have very good bandwidth, so I didn't expect it was due to that, but who knows? I was watching through my Apple TV 4k, and it seemed like the BBC app was a little noisier than downloading through iTunes, but even the downloaded version had some issues.



You guys should have seen it in 4K/HDR. Really outstanding picture in some parts.
Planet Earth 2 on Netflix is Amazing! Would like to see Blue Planet 2 which is being released soon I believe.
Rdawg16 is offline  
post #12111 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 05:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericthemidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I tried to play Injustice 2, a fighting game that recently got Hdr support, and it crashed my TV. The TV turned off and the light by the Sony logo started to blink red.

On the pc I had hdr enabled and launched the game. Havent gone back to try again as I am afraid



Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Ericthemidget is offline  
post #12112 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 05:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtpossum View Post
On a side note, why do people on here keep telling others to turn Enhanced HDR on for ports 2 & 3? That is only needed if you are running the latest Xbox or PS4. For normal 4k bluray player it is not needed unless you are watching a movie in 60fps which are very few. Also you can connect a 4k player or any other device that can transmit HDR into any of the 4 hdmi ports and still get HDR, it don't have to be ports 2 & 3.
Because only on ports 2 and 3 with enhanced activated can you access the full bandwidth of 4K with HDR. You can get 4K through all of the ports, but if you want the full experience of HDR with it, it has to go through ports 2 and 3 with enhanced activated
Damar1979 is offline  
post #12113 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanracer34 View Post
Hi everyone.

I was wondering about something...

Has anyone heard if this model is being discontinued? My local AV store says online (AVAILABLE IN LIMITED QUANTITIES) and they have a store in my city.

Any information is appreciated.

Thanks,

urbanracer34
The new X900F is replacing the 900E, newer model!
Javelin is offline  
post #12114 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
nihilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by bKid23 View Post
All I have to say is Altered Carbon in HDR on NETFLIX is stunning. Just checkout the beggining of episode 1. The cigarette he lights in the dark room actually looks like real fire and the window sunrise is realistically blinding. Simply amazed with this set.


Agreed. One thing this show demonstrates, at least on my panel is that “extended dynamic range” really introduces more blooming/clouding in dark scenes. With it turned to “off”, the blacks look much better, and the black bars look very dark and crisp. This is in a dimly lit room, with the rest of the settings left on the “cinema home” default.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
nihilan is offline  
post #12115 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 07:00 AM
Member
 
wavytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Upper Left hand corner of Westchester (NY)
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bKid23 View Post
All I have to say is Altered Carbon in HDR on NETFLIX is stunning. Just checkout the beggining of episode 1. The cigarette he lights in the dark room actually looks like real fire and the window sunrise is realistically blinding. Simply amazed with this set.
Oh yeah! Just watched it last night. Awesome w/o adjustments may need a bit of tweeking and it is a good segment to test against!

Sony XBR-55X900E
Roku 3
Windows 10 PC /KODI/Media Player/VLC/CyberlinkPowerDVD
Philips DVP640 >> Sony UBP X-800 Harmony One
Yamaha RX-V592
wavytoo is offline  
post #12116 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 07:03 AM
Member
 
wavytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Upper Left hand corner of Westchester (NY)
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixtytooneratio View Post
Purchased a 900e and have this problem.Connected receiver out to HDMI arc3,switched TV speakers to audio system and still no sound from my receivers speakers when on you tube app.When I had it connected to HDMI one on the TV I got sound from the cable feed as well as the app feed. Onkyo receiver.
I am a newby here and do not have a compatible receiver but should that not be "receiver input" ?

Sony XBR-55X900E
Roku 3
Windows 10 PC /KODI/Media Player/VLC/CyberlinkPowerDVD
Philips DVP640 >> Sony UBP X-800 Harmony One
Yamaha RX-V592
wavytoo is offline  
post #12117 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Jameshtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbrooke26 View Post
I'd love to add them to the spreadsheet
UPDATE: Located mikeyphd from an Xbox One forum who has 3 settings, one specifically for Sports. The spreadsheet has the direct link and the settings added. Thanks, and can't wait to try them myself.
I'm also looking for advice on sports settings. The spreadsheet for mikeyphd says directTv. Will those settings be the same for me if i'm watching the game on regular OTA cable Nbc-hd?
Jameshtx is offline  
post #12118 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 3,652
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2013 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
This, along with The Grand Tour, season 2, episode 8, the Ford GT Segment.
And how about the Netflix series “Dark,” which another poster mentioned. This series has a lot of dark/cave scenes. Check out the moon shot in Episode 2. The shadow detail is exceptional. And even though the soundtrack is straight DD 5.1 and via ARC and DD+ with my Dolby Atmos setup, upscaled via DSU sounds fantastic! Especially the rain scenes which there are many.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, Bluesound Node 2i, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3, AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 - 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's-V.5 (FL/FR), CC-690-V.5 (C), ADP 590-V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub, Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #12119 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 09:23 AM
Member
 
J_Dova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdwosk97 View Post
I just picked up an X900e, and I was wondering if there's any way to get the Optimum App on it? (or to customize the home screen to get rid of all the apps I don't want/use and only see the ones I do).
That is a good question and I am also still looking for an answer for modifying the home screen. I currently have two Amazon Prime Apps back to back and can't seem to change it at all. We have a little 28" Samsung in our son's room and although you can't get rid of all the bloat (+1 Sony there), you can still at least rearrange it to you liking. We also own the UBP-X800 Blu Ray player and it's home screen seemingly can't be changed either. Admittedly I don't have a ton of free time being a small business owner and father to two children. I tend to spend the time I have enjoying the product and not messing with it

Quote:
The greatest teacher, failure is.... -Yoda TLJ
J_Dova is offline  
post #12120 of 19591 Old 02-03-2018, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damar1979 View Post
The Sony however to me looks great! And I honestly believe the x900e looks better than the JS9500 overall. Be it cable or streaming. The only thing I will definitely put in favor on the JS9500 was that all of is HDMI ports could do HDR, as opposed to just 2 on the Sony (which makes no sense)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damar1979 View Post
Because only on ports 2 and 3 with enhanced activated can you access the full bandwidth of 4K with HDR. You can get 4K through all of the ports, but if you want the full experience of HDR with it, it has to go through ports 2 and 3 with enhanced activated
Then you are doing something wrong. All four of my HDMI ports will display 4K HDR.

Ports 2 & 3 are the only ports that support 60p and 10-bit, 4:4:4 chroma, at 4K HDR, but otherwise they're all the same. The only time you're going to want to use that kind of bandwidth is with video games and PC graphics, and some sports that support it. Standard 4K HDR programs streamed by most people from Amazon and Netflix don't need that kind of bandwidth. So the only people who really need 4 enhanced ports are gamers with multiple game consoles and PCs plugged into the set, which I'd say even in the gaming world is pretty rare. This isn't going to be an issue for most people and the 4K HDR content they'll viewing.

Last edited by Mac128; 02-03-2018 at 10:39 AM.
Mac128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off