2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 430 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40469Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12871 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by macara View Post
I have a 55" 900E and I watch it from about 8 feet as well. I thought of exchanging it to a 65" but decided against it because I like it when the whole picture is within my field of view and 55" is perfect from where I watch. 65" will be big in that regard. Also, I watch some low res low bandwidth streamed TV which results in pixellation/blockiness sometimes. It is tolerable on a 55" but will be annoying on a 65". I upgraded from a 47" Samsung and I am blown away by the PQ of this TV (regardless of a few issues).
That's a very good point. I often realize that my 65" requires me to turn my head to follow the action, as I do sometimes in a theater when I'm sitting too close. And it's on such occasions when I realize the 65" was overkill. I think it was THE HATEFUL EIGHT which really highlighted the problem as it was shot in Super Panavision 70, and took full advantage of the extreme width available to frame scenes.

And yes, SD looks far worse the larger the TV. This I think accounts for more criticism of 1080 cable signals looking worse than on a smaller native 1080p TV, than the 4K upscaling by the 900E. However, when I'm across the room, SD content looks amazing -- the difference of being 15 feet away rather than 8. Meanwhile, I can sit less than 8 feet from my 720p 32" Samsung and SD content looks fantastic.
Mac128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12872 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by logan456 View Post
I currently have a vizio p65 c1 and am looking to upgrade to 75 inch. Is it worth for me to upgrade to 75 inch 900 E? I was looking at the 940 E but the motion issue has me concerned because I do watch sports and play video games.
Honestly the picture quality of the 900e is a very big step up from the Vizio P series. The colors are much more vivid, your cable tv will look 100 times better, and the jump from 65 yo 75 is a HUGE jump. The 900f will be available soon and it may have a better picture quality, but it won't be as inexpensive as the 900e is now.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #12873 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
New 4k HDR picture settings

I made a quick video of my new picture settings for 4k HDR (easier than typing them all out) I get WAY less blooming and haloing since the tv isn't tilted so far forward on the wall mount. I also added a couple still shots as my camera does better with stills than video. Hope this helps someone else get the most out of their 900e.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	02-21-2018_12-25_0121.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	717.9 KB
ID:	2364704   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-21-2018_12-25_0122.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	533.0 KB
ID:	2364706   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-21-2018_12-24_0120.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	805.7 KB
ID:	2364708  

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12874 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
New SDR Movie Settings

Here's the updated SDR settings for movies. Pretty similar to the 4k settings. Enjoy.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	02-21-2018_12-23_0115.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	631.8 KB
ID:	2364720   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-21-2018_12-23_0116.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	730.4 KB
ID:	2364722   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-21-2018_12-23_0114.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	984.3 KB
ID:	2364724  

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #12875 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I question ports 2-3 being the only ones full bandwidth in the specs of the tv at Sony .com all 4 are listed the same. The downloadable PDF seems to be generic for many models across the board maybe at sometime 2-3 were the only 2.2 on a certain model.
omston is offline  
post #12876 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by omston View Post
I question ports 2-3 being the only ones full bandwidth in the specs of the tv at Sony .com all 4 are listed the same. The downloadable PDF seems to be generic for many models across the board maybe at sometime 2-3 were the only 2.2 on a certain model.
Not sure where you're looking but the Reference Guide definitely delineates that HDMI 2 & 3 ONLY support 4K @ 60Hz.

https://docs.sony.com/release//REF_4690447131.pdf

Quote:
HDMI IN 1/2/3/4 (Support 4K resolution, HDCP 2.2-compatible)
Video:
4096 × 2160p (60 Hz)*1*2, 4096 × 2160p (24 Hz)*1, 3840 × 2160p (60 Hz)*2, 3840 × 2160p (24, 30 Hz), 1080p (30, 60 Hz), 1080/24p, 1080i (60 Hz), 720p (30, 60 Hz), 720/24p, 480p, 480i, PC Formats*3
*1 When 4096 × 2160p is input and [Wide
mode] is set to [Normal], the resolution is displayed as 3840 × 2160p. To display 4096 × 2160p, set [Wide mode] setting to [Full 1] or [Full 2].
*2 HDMIIN2/3only.
*3 RefertotheHelpGuidefordetails.
The Marketing Specs list it this way:

Quote:
Up to 18Gbps:4K
60p 4:4:4(8bit), 4:2:2(8,10,12bit), 4:2:0(8,10bit) HDR included for HDMI 2/3
I suspect it's this that makes people assume HDR is only provided on ports 2 & 3, when all four ports support HDR, just not at 60p, and at those bit depths and chroma.

The Help guide couldn't be more clear however:

Quote:
When you display the High-Quality 4K format with the HDMI input, set [HDMI signal format] in [External inputs].
HDMI signal format
To change the HDMI signal format setting, press the HOME button, then select [Settings] — [External inputs] — [HDMI signal format].
Standard format
Standard HDMI format*1 for normal use.
Enhanced format
High-Quality HDMI format*1*2. Set only when using capable devices.
*1 HDR included (HDR models only). HDR models have [HDR mode] in [Settings] — [Picture & Display] — [Picture adjustments] — [Advanced settings] — [Video options].
*2 4K 60p 4:2:0 10bit, 4:4:4:, 4:2:2 etc.
HDCP 2.2 is a separate issue from HDMI 2.0. All four ports are HDCP 2.2 compatible, but only 2 & 3 are HDMI 2.0 compatible. Though not explicitly clear, that's what the PDF states.
bradman likes this.

Last edited by Mac128; 02-21-2018 at 01:01 PM.
Mac128 is offline  
post #12877 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HuskerHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lincoln,Neb
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
Not sure where you're looking but the Reference Guide definitely delineates that HDMI 2 & 3 ONLY support 4K @ 60Hz..
Which port should I be useing with my 4K Dish Hopper3, HDMI 1?
HuskerHarley is offline  
post #12878 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 01:22 PM
Member
 
jvilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Here's the updated SDR settings for movies. Pretty similar to the 4k settings. Enjoy.

https://youtu.be/JUeu25SX178
Did you use a spectrometer for these settings for the tv? If so which one because i am thinking about investing in one.
jvilla is offline  
post #12879 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 01:25 PM
Member
 
jvilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by trinitynzxt View Post
I don't want to root it i just want to get some of the crap thats on there off. There has to be a way to get the crappy featured apps out of there and remove some of the advertisement crud on the top bar and just be able to go to the home screen and see my downloaded apps. Also doing this to free up some computing power as my tv seems sluggish at times trying to navigate the menus especially when first turning on.
This script does not root the Tv it only debloats some of the apps that sony packaged into the tv.
jvilla is offline  
post #12880 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I continue to have issues, when having HDR on it flashes saying no signal etc. Now some 1080p content is also having this problem. At this point should I just return it and try again? Try another brand? I don't think contacting Sony will do anything is this is just software.
jba252 is offline  
post #12881 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvilla View Post
Did you use a spectrometer for these settings for the tv? If so which one because i am thinking about investing in one.
Heck no...I just used my eyes. I don't need an expensive piece of equipment to tell me what i like. The guys over at rtings use all the equipment and i personally hated the way my tv looked when i used their calibrations. Talk about dull and boring...No offense to them, but I just calibrate by what I like to see. Who cares what is technically "right"?

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #12882 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by jba252 View Post
I continue to have issues, when having HDR on it flashes saying no signal etc. Now some 1080p content is also having this problem. At this point should I just return it and try again? Try another brand? I don't think contacting Sony will do anything is this is just software.
Is this with the built in apps or via an external device? If it's external, you might have a bad HDMI cable.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #12883 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerHarley View Post
Which port should I be useing with my 4K Dish Hopper3, HDMI 1?
Shouldn't matter with the cable box. You're not going to need super high bandwidth for that. The signals are compressed and don't require anything special.

I use port 2 for my Xbox One S and port 3 for my Sony 4k player.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #12884 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by captclueless View Post
Can I ask what you put your settings to?
Sorry for the delay, here are the current settings.


Cinema Home
Off
40
50
Light sensor ON

Advanced
Brightness
MAX
MAX
0
50
Off
High
High
High
Color
50
0
Expert 1
None
Off
Clarity
50
Off
Off
Off
Low
Motion
Off
High
Video Options
Auto
Auto
Auto
bbwiscfan is offline  
post #12885 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:10 PM
Member
 
wavytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Upper Left hand corner of Westchester (NY)
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airsculpture View Post
Using the native Netflix app I selected a couple of shows just to see how things looked via Netflix in 4K . One show Altered Carbon has the HDR marker against it and the other, a Chris Rock special has Ultra HD 4K against the title. On pressing the display button, the former came up with 720p and the latter came up with 1080p. Am I doing something wrong ? BTW I Currently have the Premium subscription until March 1st


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
It seems to take a few minutes to get to 2160.
Mac128 likes this.

Sony XBR-55X900E
Roku 3
Windows 10 PC /KODI/Media Player/VLC/CyberlinkPowerDVD
Philips DVP640 >> Sony UBP X-800 Harmony One
Yamaha RX-V592
wavytoo is offline  
post #12886 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the 65 xbr900e and the sony htct800 sound bar.

My Ps4, comcast box and apple tv 4k are connected to the soundbar and the HDMI is connected to the tv on HDMI 3/ARC.

The HDMI inputs for the three devices do not show up in the HDMI list unless they're on for several minutes. This is annoying to switch inputs. Is there a way to force all sound bar HDMI inputs to be listed even if the devices are in standby?

Further, how do I turn off auto HDMI switching, this feature doesn't really seem to work reliably.
hunter91 is offline  
post #12887 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerHarley View Post
Which port should I be useing with my 4K Dish Hopper3, HDMI 1?
I don't know what a 4K Dish Hopper3 is. What kind of bandwidth can it support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jba252 View Post
I continue to have issues, when having HDR on it flashes saying no signal etc. Now some 1080p content is also having this problem. At this point should I just return it and try again? Try another brand? I don't think contacting Sony will do anything is this is just software.
Have you done a factory reset?

Did you ever try new HDMI high speed cables? Or is this still with your Amazon and old Vizio cables?
Mac128 is offline  
post #12888 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
I don't know what a 4K Dish Hopper3 is. What kind of bandwidth can it support?



Have you done a factory reset?

Did you ever try new HDMI high speed cables? Or is this still with your Amazon and old Vizio cables?
I've tried new cables from walmart as well, same issue occurs
jba252 is offline  
post #12889 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
also did a factory reset
jba252 is offline  
post #12890 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by jba252 View Post
I've tried new cables from walmart as well, same issue occurs
Someone else can address the cable issue, but I doubt I would hinge a return on cables sold by Wal-mart. I know that I was using a high quality HDMI cable which did not work on my TV. So I switched to one given to me by an AV pro and it worked, though I have had issues every now and then with my Apple TV Netflix app saying that I didn't have authorization to play the video. That problem randomly began a few weeks ago, but seems to have just as randomly gone away. I was about to do some research into HDMI cables. And I would not have bought Amazon basics cables, or cables from Wal-Mart. There are threads devoted to HDMI cables on the internet because it's not so simple.

If you performed a factory reset, did you also re-install your computer software? Could be a corrupt driver, or other issue causing the problem.
Mac128 is offline  
post #12891 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HuskerHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lincoln,Neb
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
I don't know what a 4K Dish Hopper3 is. What kind of bandwidth can it support??
I don’t know the specifications. It’s the 4K DVR provided by dish satellite.

I’ll be setting the TV up tomorrow and was wondering which port would be THE one to feed the dish Box to it.
HuskerHarley is offline  
post #12892 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the 75” and I’ve come to the conclusion that the x-tended dynamic range feature is not too crash hot.

It gives more pop, but in certain scenes it’s obvious it has the side effect of elevating greys together with the peaks. This is not blooming as real black maintains its richness, but dark scenes can take on a glow that shouldn’t be there.

Just my 2c.
MuzzakusReturns is online now  
post #12893 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2082 Post(s)
Liked: 1574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davird_Jr View Post
Following up on this HDMI CEC issue, I have been researching the excellent DENON AVR threads done by JDSMOOTHIE and BATPIG and it turns out that all recent models of Denon AVR have as their default when using HDMI CEC connected to other equipment that the AVR turns on and changes to the "TV" input (as I have posted in previous threads that mine was doing). So I was a bit too quick to blame my Sony equipment when it was actually a Denon "design feature." I am happy not to use the HDMI CEC anyway because I have the Harmony remote that does everything I need it to.
If you want to use ARC then you need CEC enabled. What will be interesting is when I pickup the new Comcast 4K STB in conjunction with a 4K HDMI switcher.

I plan on using the Sony Input 2 (non ARC enabled) for the new 4K STB and other non 4K sources with only a single HDMI cable from my Denon AVR (HDMI 1 Out (ARC enabled)) to the Sony HDMI Input 3 (ARC enabled) solely for internal apps & DD+ audio.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, Denon X6700H & Emotiva XPA-3, OPPO 103 - 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's-V.5 (FL/FR), CC-690-V.5 (C), ADP 590-V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub, Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides). Stereo 2 Channel Only - Dali Evidence 470 & MartinLogan Forte Amplifier/Streamer with ARC.
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #12894 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlindo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 6,328
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 984 Post(s)
Liked: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Heck no...I just used my eyes. I don't need an expensive piece of equipment to tell me what i like. The guys over at rtings use all the equipment and i personally hated the way my tv looked when i used their calibrations. Talk about dull and boring...No offense to them, but I just calibrate by what I like to see. Who cares what is technically "right"?
Those of us who want an accurate image that represents what the content creators intended it to look like care what is technically correct.

I do completely agree that people should set up their TVs to whichever way most pleases them and if someone wants their display to be very oversaturated then all the power to them.
bradman likes this.
rlindo is offline  
post #12895 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 04:23 PM
Member
 
sixtytooneratio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
If you're 65" vino does everything you like at present, why force the issue? The 900F is available now, and in a few months will likely start going on sale to rival current 900E prices. What's the rush?



THIS. The only fear I had until recently was whether HDR-10 would be supported where DV was otherwise offered. The way it looks now is that any media that supports DV also likely supports HDR-10. Unless there's a major shift in the industry, all major platforms should support both. So the lack of DV on the 900E is never likely to be a problem except for the most particular viewer, and even then, they're not likely to have settled for the 900E in the first place.
Get the 900E, the picture is incredible.Watching the Olympics on a 75" is breathtaking.Feels like I could just walk into the screen and be in South korea!
sixtytooneratio is offline  
post #12896 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
pos1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Michigan
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinMod21 View Post
My main point was, if they do a careful and excellent job of it then sure, good of ya to do that. If they just carry it up to the door, like a UPS/FEDEX delivery then no. But if they do as Cleveland Plasma aptly put it, a "white glove" job, removing from box, setting up and installing, then a tip is reasonable, and yeah I was also thinking 10.
We are in agreement. My point too.
pos1121 is offline  
post #12897 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Honestly the picture quality of the 900e is a very big step up from the Vizio P series. The colors are much more vivid, your cable tv will look 100 times better, and the jump from 65 yo 75 is a HUGE jump. The 900f will be available soon and it may have a better picture quality, but it won't be as inexpensive as the 900e is now.
So I owned both at the same time and I don’t know that I would say the Sony is a huge jump. If you try to get both sets close to similar performance I did not find the difference to be huge. I posted in the Vizio forum. I ran my Vizio in Calibrated mode with color cranked up to 56 from 50. On the Sony I ran Custom it’s brightness down to 30 and the enhanced contrast and dynamic range to off. The TVs were very close. The Sony had slightly better color, depth, and richness. I also feel that the blacks looked bette in depth mostly due to the Vizio's matte screen vs. Sony's more glossy. Skin tones looked better on the Sony. That said my guess if both sets were professionally calibrated they would be even closer.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #12898 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Honestly the picture quality of the 900e is a very big step up from the Vizio P series. The colors are much more vivid, your cable tv will look 100 times better, and the jump from 65 yo 75 is a HUGE jump. The 900f will be available soon and it may have a better picture quality, but it won't be as inexpensive as the 900e is now.
So I owned both at the same time and I don?t know that I would say the Sony is a huge jump. If you try to get both sets close to similar performance I did not find the difference to be huge. I posted in the Vizio forum. I ran my Vizio in Calibrated mode with color cranked up to 56 from 50. On the Sony I ran Custom it?s brightness down to 30 and the enhanced contrast and dynamic range to off. The TVs were very close. The Sony had slightly better color, depth, and richness. I also feel that the blacks looked bette in depth mostly due to the Vizio's matte screen vs. Sony's more glossy. Skin tones looked better on the Sony. That said my guess if both sets were professionally calibrated they would be even closer.
I don't doubt that you could get them close, but having xtended dynamic range gives a pop that the vizio can't do and is a big selling point of the x1 processor
Social Justice likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #12899 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Drew_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I have a 75" 900E scheduled for delivery next week, replacing my 940D with bad motion streaks. I've read every single page of this thread and I'm hopeful I end up with one of the great sets that others own. I'm a little concerned with some of the drops in spec's on paper, but if it means a smooth picture for hockey without seeing multiple versions of the player...I'll take it.
Drew_N is offline  
post #12900 of 19673 Old 02-21-2018, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
nihilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuzzakusReturns View Post
I have the 75” and I’ve come to the conclusion that the x-tended dynamic range feature is not too crash hot.



It gives more pop, but in certain scenes it’s obvious it has the side effect of elevating greys together with the peaks. This is not blooming as real black maintains its richness, but dark scenes can take on a glow that shouldn’t be there.



Just my 2c.


I agree. I found that turning off extended dynamic range really improved the dark scenes and letterbox bars when watching altered carbon. Couldn’t see any upside.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kluken likes this.
nihilan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off