2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 513 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40368Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15361 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
This is almost to my tv. I can't see it. That's why I'm confused on what that dark spot is

Sent from my LEX727 using Tapatalk
Blake1990wilson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15362 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Is there a way to detect OTA signal strength for testing the best orientation for an antenna?
My old Sony TV (xbr9) with the cross-bar menu like the PS3 had a support menu with a signal strength bar and tuner data.
Tfid is offline  
post #15363 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Is there a way to remove all references in the interface to anything related to DirectTV and Playstation Vue? DirectTV is in my input list and the Playstation vue app is on the home screen.
Tfid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15364 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 888 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
Is there a way to remove all references in the interface to anything related to DirectTV and Playstation Vue? DirectTV is in my input list and the Playstation vue app is on the home screen.
The DirecTV piece you are seeing is most like the RVU. Disable that as an "input" and it should go away.
meburdick is online now  
post #15365 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
I have contrast on my 900E at "MAX" for HDR and really anything from the the X800, streaming, Blu Ray and 4k Blu Ray. Is there anything wrong with that?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15366 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 01:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Todd Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
I have contrast on my 900E at "MAX" for HDR and really anything from the the X800, streaming, Blu Ray and 4k Blu Ray. Is there anything wrong with that?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
I have brightness & contrast on max for HDR. As well as extended dynamic range on high. I am using the same X800 player too.
Todd Scott is offline  
post #15367 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Todd Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1990wilson View Post
I recently noticed this after over a year of owning the tv. I can't see it at all From the couch or even almost in front. It doesn't show on any content from where sit. Is this a Dead pixel?

Sent from my LEX727 using Tapatalk
Looks like a dust particle. Try tapping the screen gently and you might get it to drop to the bottom. But it is likely so small that it is being held in place by static charge. If you can't see it then I wouldn't worry about it.
Todd Scott is offline  
post #15368 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Blake1990wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Ya I've been taping for like 30 minutes lol it's annoyed. But I cant see it unless my face is right in the screen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Scott View Post
Looks like a dust particle. Try tapping the screen gently and you might get it to drop to the bottom. But it is likely so small that it is being held in place by static charge. If you can't see it then I wouldn't worry about it.
Sent from my LEX727 using Tapatalk
Blake1990wilson is offline  
post #15369 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
I have contrast on my 900E at "MAX" for HDR and really anything from the the X800, streaming, Blu Ray and 4k Blu Ray. Is there anything wrong with that?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Not if you like it. Picture settings are purely personal preference. Unless you are intentionally trying to calibrate for a reference picture, just set it to what you like and don't worry about it.

I found dropping contrast down to 90 on everything that isn't HDR helped with blooming a little bit so I just left it there, but if you don't have any personal issues with it I'd say you are fine.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 55x930d (Retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #15370 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Scott View Post
I have brightness & contrast on max for HDR. As well as extended dynamic range on high. I am using the same X800 player too.
Doesn't brightness automatically go to max if an HDR signal is detected? Isn't extended dynamic range only for non HDR content?
Tfid is offline  
post #15371 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Not if you like it. Picture settings are purely personal preference. Unless you are intentionally trying to calibrate for a reference picture, just set it to what you like and don't worry about it.

I found dropping contrast down to 90 on everything that isn't HDR helped with blooming a little bit so I just left it there, but if you don't have any personal issues with it I'd say you are fine.
Exactly, I agree. HDR I like it definitely at MAX. It is whatever you like right. I just dropped sharpness to (0) when watching anything through the X800 player.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15372 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
Doesn't brightness automatically go to max if an HDR signal is detected? Isn't extended dynamic range only for non HDR content?
Brightness does, contrast doesn't, XDR does. XDR is actually for HDR material, but can be used for a fake HDR effect on SDR stuff.
bradman is offline  
post #15373 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Scott View Post
I have brightness & contrast on max for HDR. As well as extended dynamic range on high. I am using the same X800 player too.
Ok great, I'm not the only one. To me HDR didn't really pop till I put contrast to MAX.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15374 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
Is there a way to detect OTA signal strength for testing the best orientation for an antenna?
My old Sony TV (xbr9) with the cross-bar menu like the PS3 had a support menu with a signal strength bar and tuner data.
Home>Help>Signal Diagnostics
Mac128 and weatherchannel like this.
bradman is offline  
post #15375 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
I have contrast on my 900E at "MAX" for HDR and really anything from the the X800, streaming, Blu Ray and 4k Blu Ray. Is there anything wrong with that?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
You are probably clipping whites, but roll with it if you like.
bradman is offline  
post #15376 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
You are probably clipping whites, but roll with it if you like.
Ok dummy question. What exactly does clipping whites mean?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15377 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by meburdick View Post
The DirecTV piece you are seeing is most like the RVU. Disable that as an "input" and it should go away.
I'll look to see if I can hide that input when I get home tonight. I didn't know DirectTV was an 'input' to the TV. Where is the DirectTV connector on the back? What is 'RVU'?
On the Nvidia Shield, I can 'disable' system apps in the settings, and the icon won't show up on the home screen. Can I do that on this TV?
Tfid is offline  
post #15378 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Ok dummy question. What exactly does clipping whites mean?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
What is 'blooming'? Is that the same as colors 'bleeding' into each other. I know what clipping is in audio, but not for video or 'whites'.
Tfid is offline  
post #15379 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
What is 'blooming'? Is that the same as colors 'bleeding' into each other. I know what clipping is in audio, but not for video or 'whites'.
Oh ok. I didn't mean to insult you. I was calling myself dummy. Sorry about that. I know blooming but not clipping I guess.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15380 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Oh ok. I didn't mean to insult you. I was calling myself dummy. Sorry about that. I know blooming but not clipping I guess.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Clipping is actually hard to do these days, but it means going above the standard range for white, and losing detail in the brightest scenes.
This can be checked by test patterns via download or disc. Too much contrast(white level) can also cause blooming, this can be checked by test pattern, as well.
Default in almost all picture modes on the 900e is 90 and that's where most testers and reviewers found it to be accurate. Rtings were going to 95 in Custom mode, and reported no issues.
bradman is offline  
post #15381 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
What is 'blooming'? Is that the same as colors 'bleeding' into each other. I know what clipping is in audio, but not for video or 'whites'.
Whites and brights coming together to create a bloom or halo effect. Video signals can clip like audio signals.
bradman is offline  
post #15382 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
Clipping is actually hard to do these days, but it means going above the standard range for white, and losing detail in the brightest scenes.
This can be checked by test patterns via download or disc. Too much contrast(white level) can also cause blooming, this can be checked by test pattern, as well.
Default in almost all picture modes on the 900e is 90 and that's where most testers and reviewers found it to be accurate. Rtings were going to 95 in Custom mode, and reported no issues.
Oh you bring up another question I have. Does it matter which picture mode you use when you are gonna change then to your looking anyway? I have seen people suggest using custom, or cinema pro or home but if your going to change all the settings anyway what does it matter or does it?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15383 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
I'll look to see if I can hide that input when I get home tonight. I didn't know DirectTV was an 'input' to the TV. Where is the DirectTV connector on the back? What is 'RVU'?
On the Nvidia Shield, I can 'disable' system apps in the settings, and the icon won't show up on the home screen. Can I do that on this TV?
The DirecTV RVU is a built in client that works like an app. It isn't an input like HDMI 1,2,3, etc.
There are ways to reorganize the Home screen as far as apps go..
bradman is offline  
post #15384 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Oh you bring up another question I have. Does it matter which picture mode you use when you are gonna change then to your looking anyway? I have seen people suggest using custom, or cinema pro or home but if your going to change all the settings anyway what does it matter or does it?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
The different modes handle things like brightness differently, (and of course Game disables enhancements and interpolations). These differences are outside of the controls you have with the various picture settings.
C-Pro and Home, as well as Custom and Game are the most accurate. Standard, Vivid, and Sports are not, they have wild brightness, edge enhancements and other things that you can't calibrate out.

To quote one review;
"One thing that is noticeable with the Sony X900E is that the tone mapping varies a lot between Cinema Pro, Custom, and Standard modes. We measured Calibrated Pro initially, since it should track the standards like we want it to, but watching Pan I found that Custom did a better job with tone mapping the extremely bright highlights. More detail was present compared to Cinema Pro, while Standard just blew them out. We will have to go back and perform a full set of measurements on Custom to see how it compared to Cinema Pro, but I prefer how it does the tone mapping."

Further quoting;
"I’ve gone through and measured more of the presets on the X900E after the update to Android 7.0 and have some notes on each of them.
Cinema Pro: This is the most accurate mode. It tracks the EOTF correctly and has the lowest grayscale errors of any of the presets.
Cinema Home: Cinema Home makes everything brighter, earlier. So a pixel that should be 95 nits is coming out at 251 nits, while one that should be 10 nits is 34 nits. This continues all the way up. What it does provide is a brighter, punchier image in many scenes, but when you have bright highlights those clip to a high degree and you lose lots of detail.
Custom: Custom tracks the opposite way that Cinema Home does, it in that it makes everything dimmer. This leads you to seeing more detail in bright highlights, but most other scenes are dimmer than they should be. A pixel that should be 10 nits is instead 8.4, one that should be 94 nits comes out at 73 nits. The first value that should peak at 906 nits instead is only 554 nits."
bradman is offline  
post #15385 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
The different modes handle things like brightness differently, (and of course Game disables enhancements and interpolations). These differences are outside of the controls you have with the various picture settings.
C-Pro and Home, as well as Custom and Game are the most accurate. Standard, Vivid, and Sports are not, they have wild brightness, edge enhancements and other things that you can't calibrate out.

To quote one review;
"One thing that is noticeable with the Sony X900E is that the tone mapping varies a lot between Cinema Pro, Custom, and Standard modes. We measured Calibrated Pro initially, since it should track the standards like we want it to, but watching Pan I found that Custom did a better job with tone mapping the extremely bright highlights. More detail was present compared to Cinema Pro, while Standard just blew them out. We will have to go back and perform a full set of measurements on Custom to see how it compared to Cinema Pro, but I prefer how it does the tone mapping."

Further quoting;
"I’ve gone through and measured more of the presets on the X900E after the update to Android 7.0 and have some notes on each of them.
Cinema Pro: This is the most accurate mode. It tracks the EOTF correctly and has the lowest grayscale errors of any of the presets.
Cinema Home: Cinema Home makes everything brighter, earlier. So a pixel that should be 95 nits is coming out at 251 nits, while one that should be 10 nits is 34 nits. This continues all the way up. What it does provide is a brighter, punchier image in many scenes, but when you have bright highlights those clip to a high degree and you lose lots of detail.
Custom: Custom tracks the opposite way that Cinema Home does, it in that it makes everything dimmer. This leads you to seeing more detail in bright highlights, but most other scenes are dimmer than they should be. A pixel that should be 10 nits is instead 8.4, one that should be 94 nits comes out at 73 nits. The first value that should peak at 906 nits instead is only 554 nits."
Holy cow that was interesting and I had no freaking idea. I just happen to be using cinema pro so that's good. I guess I just thought about it that way. Thanks a lot for that info and post.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15386 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Yeah, man, the reality is, the TV is quite accurate out of the box, C-Pro + Expert 1 color and default almost everything else is gold.
bradman is offline  
post #15387 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
Yeah, man, the reality is, the TV is quite accurate out of the box, C-Pro + Expert 1 color and default almost everything else is gold.
I agree, there isn't a whole lot to do settings wise.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #15388 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 04:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,328
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1786 Post(s)
Liked: 1264
Is there a way to detect OTA signal strength for testing the best orientation for an antenna?
My old Sony TV (xbr9) with the cross-bar menu like the PS3 had a support menu with a signal strength bar and tuner data.

Home>Help>Signal Diagnostics

Also - check out www.antennaweb.org

It's a great resource to determine what channels you can receive as well as orientation on where they are being broadcast from. (A visual map from your location/address showing West, East, North & South.)

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #15389 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Oh ok. I didn't mean to insult you. I was calling myself dummy. Sorry about that. I know blooming but not clipping I guess.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Blooming is when you have an area that is supposed to be dark being lit up because there is a bright object. Example, subtitles will light up letterbox bars in movies, or a bright light or torch in a dark scene. I was really annoyed but the bottom letterbox bar lighting up all the time but with the correct settings and some bias lighting I was able to pretty much eliminate it, or at least my eyes ability to notice it.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 55x930d (Retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #15390 of 19053 Old 05-14-2018, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,977
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1024
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Blooming is when you have an area that is supposed to be dark being lit up because there is a bright object. Example, subtitles will light up letterbox bars in movies, or a bright light or torch in a dark scene. I was really annoyed but the bottom letterbox bar lighting up all the time but with the correct settings and some bias lighting I was able to pretty much eliminate it, or at least my eyes ability to notice it.
Bias lighting will be here tomorrow, can't wait! I'm reading how cool it is.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off