2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 583 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40390Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17461 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 02:04 PM
Member
 
MentatYP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
So then what do people who don't want the data to be compressed, do?

I was under the impression, from the posts since yesterday, that ARC was the preferred way since it allowed all audio to go to an external receiver. So I thought this was the "best" way, from these recent posts.
ARC is the best way currently available. It's just not the ideal way. My understanding:

Optical is capped at Dolby Digital 5.1.
ARC is capped at Dolby Digital Plus + Atmos, i.e. lossy compression.
The ideal connection would allow Dolby Digital TrueHD + Atmos, i.e. lossless compression.

I believe eARC will allow that once TVs and receivers implement HDMI 2.1, which requires new hardware, again AFAIK.


Sony XBR-55X900E || Sony UBP-X800 | Sony PS4 Pro | Sony PS3 | Roku Premiere 2018
Sony SCD-555ES || Marantz SR6012 | AC Infinity Aircom T8 || Paradigm Studio 80, 20, CC v2 | Polk OWM3 | PSA XS30
MentatYP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17462 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 02:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,630
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1027 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
Per spec Digital Optical cannot handle 5.1 which some cable companies and both Dish and DirecTV support.

This is a good and recent primer on digital optical support: https://www.lifewire.com/digital-opt...ection-1846881
The article phrases it poorly (calling it 5.1/7.1), but optical connections have no problem with Dolby Digital 5.1. It's anything better than 5.1 they can't handle.

I've been using optical to pass DD 5.1 signals for at least a decade, as has everyone else using it.
DougDingle is offline  
post #17463 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
MattSchick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by MentatYP View Post
I use a Harmony remote that has a macro that turns on the AVR first, then the TV. I think there's a way to increase the delay between turning on devices, so I'll try that if possible.
Good idea, but unfortunately no change. I also added a 5s in addition to powering up the AVR first but the TV still has to switch after it come on.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
MattSchick is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17464 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
is it recommended to do a factory reset/restore after an update like this latest one ?

Last edited by Potatolays; 09-21-2018 at 04:49 PM.
Potatolays is offline  
post #17465 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potatolays View Post
is it recommended to do a factory reset/restore after an update like the this latest one ?
Why?
Blackblades is offline  
post #17466 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potatolays View Post
is it recommended to do a factory reset/restore after an update like this latest one ?
Why would you want to do a factory reset? No reason unless you're having issues. You'd have to setup the tv all over again...

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17467 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Airsculpture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: English but in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potatolays View Post
is it recommended to do a factory reset/restore after an update like this latest one ?


God no. I would lose all my Pro Calibrations and have to enter them again for each input

I’d never bother doing another update.

Usually the update will do a soft reboot itself before finishing


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Madmax67 likes this.

Sony XBR65X900E, Oppo UDP-203 Universal Player
Front L&R - Polk TSx550t, Centre - Polk CSiA6 all in Cherry
Surrounds & Rears - Mission 77DS & Mission 780s
Subwoofer - Polk PSW125 in Cherry
Receiver - Marantz SR6012
Airsculpture is offline  
post #17468 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 07:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I read that somewhere on reddit , can’t find it now
Potatolays is offline  
post #17469 of 19214 Old 09-21-2018, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 16
@joshua goard or someone, can you help me with this post?

Thanks.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post56844470
nuraman00 is offline  
post #17470 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
@joshua goard or someone, can you help me with this post?

Thanks.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post56844470
I guess I don't understand what you're asking...Are you asking me or someone else to make a decision on what you should buy to strap your Roku to the back of your tv?

Personally, if it requires a screw to be mounted I would assume you have to drill a hole in the back of the tv or use a self tapping screw...I would never do that. Why not just get some velcro strips? Cheaper and it's not permanent and doesn't require any tools...
Madmax67 likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17471 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 04:45 PM
Member
 
RhinoBalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello all, just bought the 4k Atmos Fire Stick. I have my soundbar that can decode DTS and DD attached to the TV via optical connection. Can I process DTS/DD/Atmos from the Stick (HDMI inserted) to the soundbar?

Still unsure what surround audio the TV provides via its optical out.

Thx
RhinoBalls is offline  
post #17472 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
I guess I don't understand what you're asking...Are you asking me or someone else to make a decision on what you should buy to strap your Roku to the back of your tv?

Personally, if it requires a screw to be mounted I would assume you have to drill a hole in the back of the tv or use a self tapping screw...I would never do that. Why not just get some velcro strips? Cheaper and it's not permanent and doesn't require any tools...

Tivo Mini, but yes. I'm asking for advice on what I should use to mount a Tivo Mini. Either on the back of my TV, or in the wall area behind my TV.


It can't go to the left or right of the TV, because there's no space. It could go above or below the TV. But I'd prefer it in the space behind the TV, for a cleaner look.


For Velcro strips, I don't like the idea of the strips leaving a sticky residue on the back of the TV, if I ever have to remove the device.


Can you post some links to what you used to mount your devices in this picture? I will read some more and see if I could use them in the wall area behind the TV.


Do you think they could be used in that space?


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/attac...p;d=1537548678
nuraman00 is offline  
post #17473 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,029
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 610
@RhinoBalls It appears that your Soundbar will be the elephant in the room, meaning that you will not be decode any Atmos or Dolby Digital Plus (EAC-3) via Optical through your Firestick if it's connected to your Soundbar. Is there any way for your Soundbar to connect to your TV via HDMI?

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #17474 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
Tivo Mini, but yes. I'm asking for advice on what I should use to mount a Tivo Mini. Either on the back of my TV, or in the wall area behind my TV.


It can't go to the left or right of the TV, because there's no space. It could go above or below the TV. But I'd prefer it in the space behind the TV, for a cleaner look.


For Velcro strips, I don't like the idea of the strips leaving a sticky residue on the back of the TV, if I ever have to remove the device.


Can you post some links to what you used to mount your devices in this picture? I will read some more and see if I could use them in the wall area behind the TV.


Do you think they could be used in that space?


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/attac...p;d=1537548678
What i used could not be placed behind the tv. I cannot help you. You are going to have to decide for yourself. If it comes down to a sticky residue (that could be easily cleaned with some GooGone) or using a self tapping screw to drill a permanent hole in the back of the tv and potentially damage something inside of it...I would pick the sticky residue 1000 times over the screw...If you want my opinion, there it is. Other than that, I have no advice.
Madmax67 likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17475 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
What i used could not be placed behind the tv. I cannot help you. You are going to have to decide for yourself. If it comes down to a sticky residue (that could be easily cleaned with some GooGone) or using a self tapping screw to drill a permanent hole in the back of the tv and potentially damage something inside of it...I would pick the sticky residue 1000 times over the screw...If you want my opinion, there it is. Other than that, I have no advice.

I agree I don't want to drill a hole in the TV.


For the first device mount I linked to earlier, it appears you can use the existing TV wall mount, but I don't get how exactly.


Here's a diagram:


https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....L._SL1000_.jpg


I emailed their customer support and asked for a real picture of a TV that uses both a wall mount and device mount, so let's see what they say.


Here's a picture of someone using it, but I don't think they're also using a wall mount:


https://i.imgur.com/DNY3b4q.png


I almost wonder if I can use those Velcro straps to strap the Tivo Mini to the wall mount itself, somehow.


If none of these mounts can work without drilling a hole, then yeah, I'll try the Velcro straps route.
nuraman00 is offline  
post #17476 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
I agree I don't want to drill a hole in the TV.


For the first device mount I linked to earlier, it appears you can use the existing TV wall mount, but I don't get how exactly.


Here's a diagram:


https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....L._SL1000_.jpg


I emailed their customer support and asked for a real picture of a TV that uses both a wall mount and device mount, so let's see what they say.


Here's a picture of someone using it, but I don't think they're also using a wall mount:


https://i.imgur.com/DNY3b4q.png


I almost wonder if I can use those Velcro straps to strap the Tivo Mini to the wall mount itself, somehow.


If none of these mounts can work without drilling a hole, then yeah, I'll try the Velcro straps route.

The only way you could use the tv wall mount holes is if you did not wall mount the tv...you obviously have wall mounted it so you cannot use those holes...

Just velcro them to the wall behind the tv if you're that worried about a sticky residue on the tv itself...problem solved. You can get the non-permanent velcro strips that are easily removed without a residue. They sell them virtually anywhere with a hardware department...Walmart, your local grocery store, ace, etc

Or just mount the bracket to the wall instead of the tv, it would be taking up the same space
Madmax67 likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17477 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
The only way you could use the tv wall mount holes is if you did not wall mount the tv...you obviously have wall mounted it so you cannot use those holes...

Just velcro them to the wall behind the tv if you're that worried about a sticky residue on the tv itself...problem solved. You can get the non-permanent velcro strips that are easily removed without a residue. They sell them virtually anywhere with a hardware department...Walmart, your local grocery store, ace, etc

Or just mount the bracket to the wall instead of the tv, it would be taking up the same space

Yeah, I think I'll try this.


Or I'll try Velcro-ing to the wall behind the TV.



Also, can you post a link to the non-permanent Velcro strips? Just so I'm looking at the right one.
nuraman00 is offline  
post #17478 of 19214 Old 09-22-2018, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
Yeah, I think I'll try this.


Or I'll try Velcro-ing to the wall behind the TV.



Also, can you post a link to the non-permanent Velcro strips? Just so I'm looking at the right one.

http://a.co/d/iEBY3TA

Just look for anything that says "Damage free hanging" on it. That means it's easy to remove
nuraman00 likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17479 of 19214 Old 09-23-2018, 12:26 AM
Member
 
atomic dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by RhinoBalls View Post
Hello all, just bought the 4k Atmos Fire Stick. I have my soundbar that can decode DTS and DD attached to the TV via optical connection. Can I process DTS/DD/Atmos from the Stick (HDMI inserted) to the soundbar?

Still unsure what surround audio the TV provides via its optical out.

Thx
You won't get Atmos via optical. The only way possible would be to connect a receiver via HDMI 3 using ARC. Ideally you would connect the fire stick to your AV receiver, that will capture Atmos, and pass the picture to the TV.

The types of digital audio signals that can be transferred by a digital optical connection include two-channel stereo PCM, Dolby Digital/Dolby Digital EX, DTS Digital Surround, and DTS ES.

It is important to note that digital audio signals, such as 5.1/7.1 multi-channel PCM, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD Master Audio, DTS:X, and Auro 3D Audio cannot be transferred via Digital Optical connections - These formats require HDMI connections.

When the digital optical connection was developed, it was made to comply with the digital audio standards at the time (mainly 2-channel CD playback), which did not include 5.1/7.1 channel PCM, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD Master Audio, or DTS:X. In other words, digital optical cables do not have the bandwidth capacity to handle some of the newer home theater surround sound formats.
Madmax67 likes this.
atomic dog is offline  
post #17480 of 19214 Old 09-23-2018, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,630
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1027 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic dog View Post
You won't get Atmos via optical. The only way possible would be to connect a receiver via HDMI 3 using ARC. Ideally you would connect the fire stick to your AV receiver, that will capture Atmos, and pass the picture to the TV.

The types of digital audio signals that can be transferred by a digital optical connection include two-channel stereo PCM, Dolby Digital/Dolby Digital EX, DTS Digital Surround, and DTS ES.

It is important to note that digital audio signals, such as 5.1/7.1 multi-channel PCM, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD Master Audio, DTS:X, and Auro 3D Audio cannot be transferred via Digital Optical connections - These formats require HDMI connections.

When the digital optical connection was developed, it was made to comply with the digital audio standards at the time (mainly 2-channel CD playback), which did not include 5.1/7.1 channel PCM, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD Master Audio, or DTS:X. In other words, digital optical cables do not have the bandwidth capacity to handle some of the newer home theater surround sound formats.
Optical connections have no problem with Dolby Digital 5.1. It's anything better than 5.1 they can't handle.

I've been using optical to pass DD 5.1 signals for at least a decade, as has everyone else using it with 5.1 capable audio gear.
DougDingle is offline  
post #17481 of 19214 Old 09-23-2018, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Airsculpture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: English but in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Does Sync Menu need to be redone every time the TV is switched on as mine doesn’t seem to retain the last sync settings ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Sony XBR65X900E, Oppo UDP-203 Universal Player
Front L&R - Polk TSx550t, Centre - Polk CSiA6 all in Cherry
Surrounds & Rears - Mission 77DS & Mission 780s
Subwoofer - Polk PSW125 in Cherry
Receiver - Marantz SR6012
Airsculpture is offline  
post #17482 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 08:30 AM
Member
 
MentatYP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
Optical connections have no problem with Dolby Digital 5.1. It's anything better than 5.1 they can't handle.

I've been using optical to pass DD 5.1 signals for at least a decade, as has everyone else using it with 5.1 capable audio gear.
I believe what atomic dog was referring to with the "5.1/7.1" bit is "5.1/7.1 multi-channel PCM" specifically, not any 5.1 format in general. atomic dog is correct that optical won't pass 5.1 multi-channel PCM.


Sony XBR-55X900E || Sony UBP-X800 | Sony PS4 Pro | Sony PS3 | Roku Premiere 2018
Sony SCD-555ES || Marantz SR6012 | AC Infinity Aircom T8 || Paradigm Studio 80, 20, CC v2 | Polk OWM3 | PSA XS30
MentatYP is offline  
post #17483 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Trying to understand Bravia Sync. Am I able to just set it so that when I turn on my receiver the Tv ask turns on?

The reason I ask is my Centre speaker is just below the IR sensor so you have to raise the remote slightly when sitting down. Mainly for the family so they. Don’t wonder why the TV does not switch on.

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

HT Room: Anthem AVM60 (replaced Marantz AV7005 & Parasound Halo C2), Parasound Halo A51 & A23, Monitor Audio GR60, GR Centre, GR10, GSFX, SVS SB-4000, Sony 75X900e, PS4

Family Room: Yamaha RX-A2060, PSB Imagine T2, Imagine Centre, Imagine B, Oppo Digital BDP-80, Samsung QN65Q7CN
Jon SS is offline  
post #17484 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Farewell 900e friends...

Well guys...When i joined this forum I had just purchased a Sony 940e and ultimately sent it back over motion issues. I replaced it with a 900e which I have been very happy with. Some minor blooming and greyish black bars, but motion was very clean and overall I loved the tv. But today I took delivery of a 75 inch Sony z9d...And it's freaking awesome!!!

I know I've ruffled some feathers around here, no apologies lol. The one thing I think most people could use this day and age is a little thicker skin...

I know I've helped some around here with picture settings and want to thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed them. I also appreciate all the guys that helped me sort out some of the audio lip sync issues I was having. Peace y'all...
Scarriere likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17485 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,152
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 1096
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Well guys...When i joined this forum I had just purchased a Sony 940e and ultimately sent it back over motion issues. I replaced it with a 900e which I have been very happy with. Some minor blooming and greyish black bars, but motion was very clean and overall I loved the tv. But today I took delivery of a 75 inch Sony z9d...And it's freaking awesome!!!

I know I've ruffled some feathers around here, no apologies lol. The one thing I think most people could use this day and age is a little thicker skin...

I know I've helped some around here with picture settings and want to thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed them. I also appreciate all the guys that helped me sort out some of the audio lip sync issues I was having. Peace y'all...
Well color me jealous. That thing is a beast. I love my 900E but man the Z9D is nuts. Good luck. What did you do with your 900E?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #17486 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Well color me jealous. That thing is a beast. I love my 900E but man the Z9D is nuts. Good luck. What did you do with your 900E?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Currently up for sale. If anyone is in the phoenix area and looking for a 75 in 900e send me a PM. I'll give you a killer deal and the thing is in MINT condition and still under manufacturer warranty until Jan...

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17487 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,152
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 1096
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Currently up for sale. If anyone is in the phoenix area and looking for a 75 in 900e send me a PM. I'll give you a killer deal and the thing is in MINT condition and still under manufacturer warranty until Jan...
Oh man I wish I were in the area.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #17488 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 04:45 PM
Newbie
 
plumber7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Well guys...When i joined this forum I had just purchased a Sony 940e and ultimately sent it back over motion issues. I replaced it with a 900e which I have been very happy with. Some minor blooming and greyish black bars, but motion was very clean and overall I loved the tv. But today I took delivery of a 75 inch Sony z9d...And it's freaking awesome!!!

I know I've ruffled some feathers around here, no apologies lol. The one thing I think most people could use this day and age is a little thicker skin...

I know I've helped some around here with picture settings and want to thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed them. I also appreciate all the guys that helped me sort out some of the audio lip sync issues I was having. Peace y'all...
Congrats. Just curious. Is off axis viewing similar to the 900e since it's still a led?
plumber7 is offline  
post #17489 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 04:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by plumber7 View Post
Congrats. Just curious. Is off axis viewing similar to the 900e since it's still a led?
Yeah, it's similar. I never really thought the off axis viewing on the 900e was horrible. I do have color at 60 and live color on low so maybe that has something to do with it. But unless I was at an extreme angle...things looked fine. Now movies off angle would turn the black bars grey/blue pretty quick though. To keep those babies black you need to be looking straight on.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820 and Nakamichi Shockwafe 7.1 Pro Atmos
Sony 55x900e
Sony 55xA1E
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #17490 of 19214 Old 09-24-2018, 06:28 PM
Member
 
NeedHelp123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hi All - I'm having 2 really annoying issues, was curious if anyone else is seeing either or has an idea on a fix...

1. Randomly the 900e is turning on my avr (Yamaha rx-v683) while in standby. I'm not 100% certain that it's the tv (vs my avr), but I think it is very likely as when I turn the avr off, the unit is set to HDMI1 (cable box). But when it gets turned on out of nowhere, the input is HDMI3 (ARC). This has probably happened about a dozen times so far (in the last 6 months or so since I've had the tv).

2. When watching sports, and the camera changes shots, the screen has a single, noticeable stutter then corrects itself. It's difficult to describe exactly what I'm seeing (it almost seems similar to screen tearing from a distraction perspective)...but I've noticed it watching football and hockey. It appears to happen only when the shot being changed to has a lot of moment, or the camera itself is moving.

Any suggestions?
NeedHelp123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off