2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 603 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40382Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18061 of 19200 Old 12-08-2018, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
mingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Park City
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated mine with USB. had to do a factory reset, picture settings were not acting right.

with HDR set to Auto, I get no HDR on any app so far. If I change it to HDR10 I get goofy saturated color on all regular programming.
mingus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18062 of 19200 Old 12-08-2018, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, dumb question, can the 900E output audio only from the HDMI ARC to a standard HDMI input on my AVR?

I have dual 900Es in my game room and want to run audio from both to my AVR. I already use my AVR’s ARC with one 900E. I would just run optical toslink from the other 900E but my AVR only has one input and it conflicts with the ARC.

If not, it’s probably time to upgrade the AVR but hoping to hold off a little while.
Wilson47 is offline  
post #18063 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 04:45 AM
Newbie
 
cruffino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson47 View Post
Ok, dumb question, can the 900E output audio only from the HDMI ARC to a standard HDMI input on my AVR?

I have dual 900Es in my game room and want to run audio from both to my AVR. I already use my AVR’s ARC with one 900E. I would just run optical toslink from the other 900E but my AVR only has one input and it conflicts with the ARC.

If not, it’s probably time to upgrade the AVR but hoping to hold off a little while.
The 900E can definitely send audio via optical (that's how I use it). I think in your situation you have an AV receiver shortfall. What make/model AVR are you using?

In the research I've done, I haven't seen AVRs that have multiple HDMI outputs that support ARC; usually only one.
cruffino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18064 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruffino View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson47 View Post
Ok, dumb question, can the 900E output audio only from the HDMI ARC to a standard HDMI input on my AVR?

I have dual 900Es in my game room and want to run audio from both to my AVR. I already use my AVR’s ARC with one 900E. I would just run optical toslink from the other 900E but my AVR only has one input and it conflicts with the ARC.

If not, it’s probably time to upgrade the AVR but hoping to hold off a little while.
The 900E can definitely send audio via optical (that's how I use it). I think in your situation you have an AV receiver shortfall. What make/model AVR are you using?

In the research I've done, I haven't seen AVRs that have multiple HDMI outputs that support ARC; usually only one.
It’s a Sony 7.1 that has an optical in, but it conflicts with the ARC and isn’t assignable. I will probably try an optical-to-coax converter from Monoprice until I replace it. Good deals right now on 7.2 Denon.
Wilson47 is offline  
post #18065 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingus View Post
I updated mine with USB. had to do a factory reset, picture settings were not acting right.

with HDR set to Auto, I get no HDR on any app so far. If I change it to HDR10 I get goofy saturated color on all regular programming.
How are you confirming HDR?

I don’t hink we ever got an answer as to whether the HDR indicator has been moved to the display button, or somewhere more logical than it was.
Mac128 is offline  
post #18066 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I updated my 900e recently and started having really strange problems with arc control of my receiver. When using volume controls, it would occasionally quickly go up or down a lot faster than it should. arc often would not work at all and I wasn't getting sound out of my sound system. Once, I had sound from the TV and my sound system at the same time. I tried resetting arc by turning it off, uplugging my receiver and TV and starting it up. However, my receiver would not turn back on. I don't know if my issues were with the update, or my receiver was in the process of dying, or some combination of both.
GoesToEleven is offline  
post #18067 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Park City
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac128 View Post
How are you confirming HDR?

I don’t hink we ever got an answer as to whether the HDR indicator has been moved to the display button, or somewhere more logical than it was.
it's on picture menu. brightness goes to 100

I reset the video settings and now works sometimes automatic, mostly on Netflix.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hdr.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	210.5 KB
ID:	2494282  
mingus is offline  
post #18068 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Plex and Oreo Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Endlesscc View Post
I installed PLEX last night it won't even connect to the server ugh
Is anyone else having problems with Plex available from the Play Store and the newest update to Oreo on their 900E?? Is it possible that the problem that Endlesscc experienced was unique to his setup or is the Oreo update simply incompatible with Plex?
rjanice is offline  
post #18069 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
mingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Park City
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjanice View Post
Is anyone else having problems with Plex available from the Play Store and the newest update to Oreo on their 900E?? Is it possible that the problem that Endlesscc experienced was unique to his setup or is the Oreo update simply incompatible with Plex?
Plex didn't work after I updated. I restarted the TV and now it does? who knows..
mingus is offline  
post #18070 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 03:53 PM
Member
 
MitchFlorida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson47 View Post
It’s a Sony 7.1 that has an optical in, but it conflicts with the ARC and isn’t assignable. I will probably try an optical-to-coax converter from Monoprice until I replace it. Good deals right now on 7.2 Denon.
Have you gone into the advanced sound settings on the Bravia? Input related, it says to turn off Dolby Digital Plus and select Dolby Digital when using ARC and and optical audio out. Not sure if that pertains to your situation, but it is worth looking into.
Wilson47 likes this.
MitchFlorida is offline  
post #18071 of 19200 Old 12-09-2018, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
sharp360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW chicago
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Update causing input lag?

Any gamers here? I updated via usb today. I booted up destiny and i feel like it has some serious input lag in game mode. All the motion stuff is turned off. Not happy.

My Theater build
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post21268949
xboxone gamertag: MASTERpTWINKIE
PS3: zaczimer
sharp360 is online now  
post #18072 of 19200 Old 12-10-2018, 04:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
vapore0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
Any thoughts on IPS vs. VA vs. TN, and how one compared this VA TV with other technologies?

How much of a factor was this being a VA TV, when making the decision?

I didn't think as much about it when I bought it. I'm thinking more about it now.



I would say dont think about it too much. Else it might bother you to the point of you selling the TV for marginal improvement.


I used to have a Samsung 46" with IPS screen. Very good screen, and very comparable vs the x900e at 1080p. (I did side by side)

The viewing angle on the x900e was not as good. It did bother me for a while. Now that I forgot about it, I dont even notice it.



For computers, its IPS or bust. Except at work, where I have to deal with whatever they give me
nuraman00 likes this.

Sony x900e, Sony STR-DN1080, Sony Core Series speakers (5.1.2), NVidia Shield TV, Synology 4 bay NAS (12TB total)
vapore0n is offline  
post #18073 of 19200 Old 12-10-2018, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Endlesscc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 68
for Kodi user that use Kodi to play ripped REMUX/UHD from external HD you can try Archeos. It play most of the video file fine for now

KEF Q750, Q650c, Kube 12B, Denon AVR-X3400H, Sony XBR75x900e, PS4 Pro
Endlesscc is offline  
post #18074 of 19200 Old 12-10-2018, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Time for me to buy a new laptop as my old Lenovo is shot. Any specific laptops or operating systems that make mirroring with my 75X900e easier?

Thanks in advance!
pitching101 is offline  
post #18075 of 19200 Old 12-10-2018, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitching101 View Post
Time for me to buy a new laptop as my old Lenovo is shot. Any specific laptops or operating systems that make mirroring with my 75X900e easier?

Thanks in advance!

I pretty sure any Windows 10 laptop with WiFi will 'connect' and 'project' to the 900E's 'Screen Mirror' input feature. The TV will only be recognized by the casting device if you select the 'Screen Mirror' input on the TV's input menu. One of my Android tablets (Huawei Mediapad M3) supports Miracast, and 'sees' the TV, but it won't connect, so not everything will work.
Tfid is offline  
post #18076 of 19200 Old 12-10-2018, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchFlorida View Post
Have you gone into the advanced sound settings on the Bravia? Input related, it says to turn off Dolby Digital Plus and select Dolby Digital when using ARC and and optical audio out. Not sure if that pertains to your situation, but it is worth looking into.

That's probably for AVR's that don't support DD+ inputs. I think optical has the bandwidth for 5.1 compressed signals, but I'm not sure about DD+ or anything with 7.1.
Tfid is offline  
post #18077 of 19200 Old 12-10-2018, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Dolby Atmos unsupported by Netflix - sent feedback to Netflix

Hi all,
The built-in Netflix app for our TVs does not support Dolby Atmos. (However, it IS supported for 2018 and newer Bravia models). For anyone else who is frustrated by the lack of Atmos support, maybe it would help to register feedback with Netflix. I just did, by calling their toll-free number, and the Netflix rep actually volunteered to register my feedback. I also asked why they don't support it and if there are any plans to support it, and got a shrug on both. Don't know if it will help, but can't hurt!


More information about supported devices and contact info here: https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066
rjtww is offline  
post #18078 of 19200 Old 12-11-2018, 03:08 PM
Member
 
munnarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Endlesscc View Post
for Kodi user that use Kodi to play ripped REMUX/UHD from external HD you can try Archeos. It play most of the video file fine for now
Do you mean Archos Player? I just tried it but I'm having the same issue where DTS audio makes it act up (no audio and plays twice as fast), but also there are grey bars instead of black on the widescreen videos. This is extremely frustrating.
munnarg is offline  
post #18079 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Took a chance and updated via USB! Not sure i needed to but i did a factory reset as i wanted a fresh start anyway!

It's a night and day difference now using Android. Much better layout and everything is very snappy compared to before.
If this TV shipped with this version of Android i might not of bought my Roku Premium+
Javelin is offline  
post #18080 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,399
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1599 Post(s)
Liked: 717
OK, regarding the Oreo update:

I've seen that some have experienced a 'dim' picture after, which is fixed by doing a factory reset.

For those who have done the update:

Do you find improvements, in terms of speed of the OS?

Any other changes that you feel have improved the experience?


I usually do updates on most of my devices, but if there is nothing to be gained, and definitely something to be lost (or at least potential for the inconvenience of doing a factory reset), I might refrain on this one. But if there is real potential for improvement, I'd go for it.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #18081 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Endlesscc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by munnarg View Post
Do you mean Archos Player? I just tried it but I'm having the same issue where DTS audio makes it act up (no audio and plays twice as fast), but also there are grey bars instead of black on the widescreen videos. This is extremely frustrating.
Yup Archos.
I do have problem with DTS audio at start, but once you install another app for additional DTS decode for Archos (It will prompt on screen that additional decode needed) my sound play just fine. It took a few min to load up the 2TB hard drive tho when i first plugged it in but after that it is very smooth like Kodi.
I have the green bar every 2/10 movies and I agree it is extremely annoying but still for the other 8 at least I get to watch something until Kodi release 18x version -.-

While at this, I have a question for fellow 900x owner, I have had this TV for over a year now and love it, but since day one there is this Plastic Stretching noise every so often, at least I thought, it is ok , TV is new, plastic stretched (behind the panel on the bottom) but after a year it STILL doing it, do anyone of you have similar problem?it is almost like something in the TV is moving and it will hit the plastic of the outer layer.

Thank you

KEF Q750, Q650c, Kube 12B, Denon AVR-X3400H, Sony XBR75x900e, PS4 Pro
Endlesscc is offline  
post #18082 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
OK, regarding the Oreo update:


Do you find improvements, in terms of speed of the OS?

OS speed has greatly improved for me so far! The home page is really smooth and feels as fast as my Roku.
Javelin is offline  
post #18083 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,399
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1599 Post(s)
Liked: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javelin View Post
OS speed has greatly improved for me so far! The home page is really smooth and feels as fast as my Roku.
Thanks for the reply. That is encouraging. One complaint I have with this otherwise excellent TV is the sluggishness of the OS in general. If that is a consistent observation among users, that may be enough to do the update, and hope I don't have to do a factory reset.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #18084 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
weatherchannel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone had an issue where Wi-Fi will not stay connected to the TV after you turn it off? In other words I'm trying to use Alexa with it and it will not stay connected, Wi-Fi will disconnect after a half hour or so. I don't think it's my router.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
weatherchannel is offline  
post #18085 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 12:53 PM
Member
 
SyNTaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Bluetooth headphones are able to be paired now



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ivanvm likes this.
SyNTaX is offline  
post #18086 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 01:14 PM
Member
 
SyNTaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk)

Anyone knows of a way to access the task manager in the Oreo update..? it's the one thing that made the TV apps usable


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SyNTaX is offline  
post #18087 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 02:20 PM
Member
 
munnarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Endlesscc View Post
Yup Archos.
I do have problem with DTS audio at start, but once you install another app for additional DTS decode for Archos (It will prompt on screen that additional decode needed) my sound play just fine. It took a few min to load up the 2TB hard drive tho when i first plugged it in but after that it is very smooth like Kodi.
I have the green bar every 2/10 movies and I agree it is extremely annoying but still for the other 8 at least I get to watch something until Kodi release 18x version -.-

While at this, I have a question for fellow 900x owner, I have had this TV for over a year now and love it, but since day one there is this Plastic Stretching noise every so often, at least I thought, it is ok , TV is new, plastic stretched (behind the panel on the bottom) but after a year it STILL doing it, do anyone of you have similar problem?it is almost like something in the TV is moving and it will hit the plastic of the outer layer.

Thank you
I still haven't gotten a prompt yet. It just chokes on Mission: Impossible - Fallout and kills all audio on the TV. Which codec pack did you install?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
munnarg is offline  
post #18088 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 02:22 PM
Member
 
munnarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SyNTaX View Post
Anyone knows of a way to access the task manager in the Oreo update..? it's the one thing that made the TV apps usable


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Home button, then long press home to open the app drawer, then long press enter on the app. It'll bring up a menu then you click on info. It takes you to the app info screen where you can force stop it. Pretty roundabout implementation in Oreo.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
munnarg is offline  
post #18089 of 19200 Old 12-12-2018, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mac128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Endlesscc View Post
While at this, I have a question for fellow 900x owner, I have had this TV for over a year now and love it, but since day one there is this Plastic Stretching noise every so often, at least I thought, it is ok , TV is new, plastic stretched (behind the panel on the bottom) but after a year it STILL doing it, do anyone of you have similar problem?it is almost like something in the TV is moving and it will hit the plastic of the outer layer.

Thank you
My TV is in a relatively small room. My TV makes expansion noises all the time as the room/TV heats up and cools down. This has been going on for almost 2 years. The reality is, there's not much you can do about it, and it doesn't seem to harm the TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SyNTaX View Post
Bluetooth headphones are able to be paired now



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You've always been able to pair BT headphones?
Mac128 is offline  
post #18090 of 19200 Old 12-13-2018, 01:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
hi, those who already have oreo update: has ben default app ("video player") for video files playback modified? Are there any options to change size, look and position of subtitles? (if i understand there are no such options in default video player on android 7 and that player supposedly has smoothest playback than others kodi etc)
totaddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off