2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 634 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40368Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18991 of 19056 Old 07-13-2019, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
mrpergo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hilton,NY
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have my X900 hooked to my Denon X4300, it plays Directv fine through the Denon but if I go to watch like TV it doesn't come through, it use to.
I do action menu and then speakers an audio system is selected and nothing it should play through ARC
any suggestions, I know I've seen the same problem on here before but can't bring it up on a search
mrpergo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18992 of 19056 Old 07-16-2019, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Updating now, wish me luck...

PSN BradCompany
bradman is online now  
post #18993 of 19056 Old 07-16-2019, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 663
I took the update this morning. Took less than 10 minutes, and everything seems to be fine, but it's a bedroom set and I don't torture it the way some do - I don't game, and rarely watch HDR content. It spends 90% of its time displaying 1080i images from a TiVo.

According to the display, it was to fix some wi-fi issues, which I also don't have. The dozen or more things using wi-fi here do so because they don't have a an RJ45 network connector. Everything that does has a cable going to it.
DougDingle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18994 of 19056 Old 07-17-2019, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
javan robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 329
I updated. Home screen is way different. Which is fine because I never ever use it.

But...

Switching between settings such as Game to Cinema Home is about 75% faster, which is the function I use most switching back and forth between video games and movies. So that's awesome! Still praying for one of those useless buttons (red, green, blue yellow) to be programmable to be a certain setting (Cinema Home or Game for example) but a boy can dream..

I haven't noticed anything else at all, and all of my other TV settings are on the same settings that I set them at before the update.

Also hasn't caught on fire yet, so that is a + as well.
Scarriere likes this.




65" 900E Tee Vee | Denon 6300H AVR | PSA MTM-210s | PSA MTM-210c | PSA MTM-110s | Canton 880 InCeilings | Rythmik FV25HP
javan robinson is offline  
post #18995 of 19056 Old 07-17-2019, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by javan robinson View Post
Still praying for one of those useless buttons (red, green, blue yellow) to be programmable to be a certain setting (Cinema Home or Game for example) but a boy can dream..

Also hasn't caught on fire yet, so that is a + as well.
I have maintained for a very long time that top of the line expensive components like the Sony XBR line should have a few programmable/learning buttons on their remotes.

I mean really, how difficult can it be? Rhetorical question, as it's simple and cheap to do if the will exists to do it.

As for not catching on fire yet, give it a chance!
javan robinson likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #18996 of 19056 Old 07-17-2019, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Update takes about 10 minutes. No lost settings, no picture anomalies, no lost functionality. ARC works as before. Tried Amazon Prime app in 4K/HDR to see if it stuttered like it has for 2 years. It appears to be fixed, streamed flawlessly.

PSN BradCompany
bradman is online now  
post #18997 of 19056 Old 07-17-2019, 02:02 PM
Member
 
lukin4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
yes, got the update today
like the new home screen
everything seems to move a bit quicker
especially the volume

all previous settings seemed to stick

still extremely happy with this set after 1 1/2years
Scarriere likes this.
lukin4u is offline  
post #18998 of 19056 Old 07-18-2019, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
Update takes about 10 minutes. No lost settings, no picture anomalies, no lost functionality. ARC works as before. Tried Amazon Prime app in 4K/HDR to see if it stuttered like it has for 2 years. It appears to be fixed, streamed flawlessly.
How about the internal video app, does it play without freezes?
DJR662 is online now  
post #18999 of 19056 Old 07-18-2019, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 1025
I got the update finally, everything seems just fine.
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #19000 of 19056 Old 07-18-2019, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJR662 View Post
How about the internal video app, does it play without freezes?

What is that, for streaming files from a server?

PSN BradCompany
bradman is online now  
post #19001 of 19056 Old 07-19-2019, 12:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
What is that, for streaming files from a server?
For playing videos off an external HDD.

From avforums:

"Anyone having problems with playing mkv and mp4 files via usb with the TV build in player. After watching any mkv or mp4 file for 20-40min it freezes and after the freeze I can't play any file, even if I turn the TV off for hours or disconect the usb device. TV won't play anything after the freeze, the only fix for this is reseting Android with holding the power button on the remote for 5 seconds or unpluging the power cable from the TV, everything works again then but I won't be doing this every 20-40min unless I want to damage my TV."

This is exactly what is happening now on my 75Z9D after its most recent update. Therefore I won't be updating the 900E until this has been resolved.
DJR662 is online now  
post #19002 of 19056 Old 07-20-2019, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piker84 View Post
I own a 55" X900E that I use in a dedicated room mostly for gaming, and in the living room I have a 55" LG B7A. The Sony has a great picture, and the LG's is fantastic. There's a clear difference to be seen between the two, especially when viewing dark scenes or any HDR content. Even though the Sony may have more nits, I still think that the higher contrast of the OLED's makes more of a difference in what we see. The only thing (besides the awful OS) that really bothers me on the X900E is the light blooming, but for gaming you tend to only notice that during loading screens that are black with some sort of logo in a corner. I can live with that, as I know the Sony won't produce burn-in over time, which would be a big problem with any OLED set.

My two cents; stick with your X900E if you game on it a lot. We strictly use the OLED for streaming and blu-ray discs, and it's perfect for that.

I have 2 X900E, a 65 and 55. Never been able to get the 55 pic looking great, but that is wife's TV in her sitting room. My 65 looks great, but blooming is notable even with a bias light. The LG 65C7 OLED is my man TV and I agree, any any scenes with black or dark scenes with bright highlights just tend to pop more on the OLED.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #19003 of 19056 Old 07-24-2019, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
bullittbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpergo View Post
I have my X900 hooked to my Denon X4300, it plays Directv fine through the Denon but if I go to watch like TV it doesn't come through, it use to.
I do action menu and then speakers an audio system is selected and nothing it should play through ARC
any suggestions, I know I've seen the same problem on here before but can't bring it up on a search
I have the same system, initially I had lots of trouble getting audio from the TV Apps like Netflix & Amazon Prime. I spent hours on tech calls to both Denon & Sony and the solution was using optical out from Sony to Denon for anything other than Directv.

"It's Better To Burn Out Than Fade Away"
Sony XBR55X900E, Denon AVRX4300H, Sony BDS570 Blu Ray Player, DirecTV Genie HR44-500, Harman Kardon TD4800 Cassette Deck, Sony TC 850 Reel To Reel, JBL XPL 40 Main Speakers, AuraSound LS537 Center Channel, AuraSound Surround Speakers, AuraSound Subwoofer.
bullittbob is offline  
post #19004 of 19056 Old 07-24-2019, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
mrpergo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hilton,NY
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullittbob View Post
I have the same system, initially I had lots of trouble getting audio from the TV Apps like Netflix & Amazon Prime. I spent hours on tech calls to both Denon & Sony and the solution was using optical out from Sony to Denon for anything other than Directv.
bullittbob I have an optical hooked up I just need to go into settings and change things, I was hoping this damn thing would work but I can use it in the morning and its fine and hours later nothing. Gotta go to optical
mrpergo is offline  
post #19005 of 19056 Old 07-25-2019, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
javan robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 329
So my 65" 900e has experienced about 5 "blackouts" or turn offs since the update. 3 or 4 times I was playing PUBG on the xbox, in 4k and HDR, and 1 other time I was just listening to Spotify through the Xbox app. The television would turn off 100%, sound everything, and then cut right back on.

I've jiggered and unplugged the cables and replugged. We will see if that does it.




65" 900E Tee Vee | Denon 6300H AVR | PSA MTM-210s | PSA MTM-210c | PSA MTM-110s | Canton 880 InCeilings | Rythmik FV25HP
javan robinson is offline  
post #19006 of 19056 Old 07-25-2019, 01:42 PM
Member
 
RolandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by javan robinson View Post
So my 65" 900e has experienced about 5 "blackouts" or turn offs since the update. 3 or 4 times I was playing PUBG on the xbox, in 4k and HDR, and 1 other time I was just listening to Spotify through the Xbox app. The television would turn off 100%, sound everything, and then cut right back on.

I've jiggered and unplugged the cables and replugged. We will see if that does it.
After the update and running fine for about a week, my 55" 900e appeared to do a reboot/restart when I turned it on; the SONY logo appeared followed by the Android animation. Last night, it failed to recognize my ATV4k connected to HDMI2. Something appears to be wrong.

Last edited by RolandM; 07-25-2019 at 01:51 PM.
RolandM is offline  
post #19007 of 19056 Old 07-25-2019, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
javan robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolandM View Post
After the update and running fine for a bout a week, my 55" 900e appeared to do a reboot/restart when I turned it on; the SONY logo appeared followed by the Android animation. Last night, it failed to recognize my ATV4k connected to HDMI2. Something appears to be wrong.
Noo! Hopefully everything will just go back to peace and harmony soon.

Is your ATV4k working now? My xbox has been working but haven't used it much today. Will try soon..




65" 900E Tee Vee | Denon 6300H AVR | PSA MTM-210s | PSA MTM-210c | PSA MTM-110s | Canton 880 InCeilings | Rythmik FV25HP
javan robinson is offline  
post #19008 of 19056 Old 07-25-2019, 01:55 PM
Member
 
RolandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by javan robinson View Post
Noo! Hopefully everything will just go back to peace and harmony soon.

Is your ATV4k working now? My xbox has been working but haven't used it much today. Will try soon..
Took quite a lot of effort to get the ATV4K back up and running; had to switch it to HDMI4 change the video and chroma settings; once it worked there, re-connected to HDMI2 and all seems to be working. I think we may soon be seeing similar posts.
RolandM is offline  
post #19009 of 19056 Old 07-25-2019, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 663
I haven't seen any issues, but the update did go strangely. I was offered it about two weeks ago, said OK, it went into update mode, finished updating, rebooted to the Android animation, then went to the 'home' page. I selected my usual HDMI input, and all seemed normal. I did not check the version.

Then two days ago, it offered the update again. So I said OK, it went through the same procedure, except when it was all done including a reboot, it showed a picture for about 30 seconds and then rebooted again, going through the Android animation more slowly, finally confirming the update had been done (didn't do that the first time), then to the home page. I selected my usual HDMI input, and that was that.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19010 of 19056 Old 07-25-2019, 04:43 PM
Member
 
sonyva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
I have both the LG 65" OLED in the living room and the Sony 49" X900E in the bedroom.

I like them both, but if there was a 40-49 inch OLED available, I would not be here. Your mileage may vary.
I have been told that LG will be announcing 43 and 49 OLED sets later this year.
DougDingle likes this.
sonyva is offline  
post #19011 of 19056 Old 07-25-2019, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyva View Post
I have been told that LG will be announcing 43 and 49 OLED sets later this year.
That would definitely shake up the market.

As much as I like my 900E, I would more than likely get one or the other if they weren't priced too outrageously (and sell the 900E).
DougDingle is offline  
post #19012 of 19056 Old 07-26-2019, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deezul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
I haven't seen any issues, but the update did go strangely. I was offered it about two weeks ago, said OK, it went into update mode, finished updating, rebooted to the Android animation, then went to the 'home' page. I selected my usual HDMI input, and all seemed normal. I did not check the version.

Then two days ago, it offered the update again. So I said OK, it went through the same procedure, except when it was all done including a reboot, it showed a picture for about 30 seconds and then rebooted again, going through the Android animation more slowly, finally confirming the update had been done (didn't do that the first time), then to the home page. I selected my usual HDMI input, and that was that.
Two of my TVs have received the update. Haven't watched the bedroom one much since the upgrade, but I've put several hours in watching Xfinity and my sons have Xbox One time, and they have reported no issues.

Xbox: Deezul
Sony XBR-65X900E, Sony XBR-49X900E
Go Jackets!
Deezul is offline  
post #19013 of 19056 Old 07-26-2019, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Received the notification last night that the update was finally available for my TV, Colorado Springs. Went ahead and performed the update, everything appeared to go smoothly. After rebooting the TV via the remote I did some testing with the APPS I use most frequently (MLB.TV/YouTube/NHL.TV) and everything including CEC/ARC appeared to be working well.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #19014 of 19056 Old 07-26-2019, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
boltjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Based on the feedback in this forum about the various firmware updates for the 900E, I had never updated mine in the 22 months I have owned it. Was still running the very first version of the firmware.

But in the last month the TV was very sluggish to respond to my remote, volume would barely respond, and certain apps would freeze up or stream in SD quality, so I decided to take a chance.

Boy, am I glad I did. The new firmware is super-fast, all is working well again, and (call me crazy) it looks like picture quality has improved as well. Thank you, Sony.
boltjames is offline  
post #19015 of 19056 Old 07-28-2019, 11:58 AM
Member
 
audiorecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Google Play Closed Captions CC

Ever since the update Google Play defaults to closed captions ON. I turn them off in Google play and in the settings but it always defaults to ON. How do I turn the defaults off?
audiorecon is offline  
post #19016 of 19056 Old 07-29-2019, 06:22 AM
Newbie
 
freakflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ever since I put in the new update it has decided to go through the reboot process at least once a day when I have turned it on. Has anybody seen this? And suggestions.
freakflyer is offline  
post #19017 of 19056 Old 07-30-2019, 02:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 409
To whom it may concern: a little info regarding the internal video app stop playing videofiles at random points after the most recent update.

Seems to me this only happens with videofiles that contain an HD audiotrack. I converted two videofiles with HD audio to lossy audio and they play fine now all the way through the end without stopping.
DJR662 is online now  
post #19018 of 19056 Old 07-30-2019, 06:27 AM
Member
 
RolandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipergts2207 View Post
I ordered the 55X900E model from Abt on Saturday and should have it by the end of the week or early next week. Pretty excited, as I'm also upgrading from a pretty old TV myself, a Sony KDL-37XBR6. Pretty impressed with the thing, as it's almost 9 years old and had been moved many times throughout my college years and it still works like new.
I too have a KDL-37XBR6 and am still impressed with it; use it with a Roku+ stick to make it a little smarter. Only negative is that for channels it's still dependent on the built-in TV guide.
RolandM is offline  
post #19019 of 19056 Old 07-30-2019, 09:48 AM
Member
 
RolandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakflyer View Post
Ever since I put in the new update it has decided to go through the reboot process at least once a day when I have turned it on. Has anybody seen this? And suggestions.
Yes; I've been getting something similar. Get the Android screen followed by the SONY logo and then the Android animation. Don't know why. But has interfered with starting my set with ATV4K
RolandM is offline  
post #19020 of 19056 Old 07-30-2019, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakflyer View Post
Ever since I put in the new update it has decided to go through the reboot process at least once a day when I have turned it on. Has anybody seen this? And suggestions.
My update went through the process, and then two days later, it rebooted and offered the update and went through the process again. Are you sure the update 'took'? Perhaps go to 'check for updates', see if it offers the same one again.
DougDingle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off