2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 643 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40421Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19261 of 19437 Old 11-14-2019, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
subacabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Hillsborough, New Jersey
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 5255
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerHarley View Post
If yer sharing, I'll give em a try.
Pm sent
subacabra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19262 of 19437 Old 11-14-2019, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Yes it's working on my Display.

I can't get this feature to work. What video source did you use to trigger the 24p auto display mode?
Tfid is offline  
post #19263 of 19437 Old 11-14-2019, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1214 Post(s)
Liked: 708
I use both my Nvidia Shield and Oppo 203.

In the "New 2019 Nvidia Shield forum" look at the screen shots I posted yesterday. Those should help.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19264 of 19437 Old 11-14-2019, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
I use both my Nvidia Shield and Oppo 203.

In the "New 2019 Nvidia Shield forum" look at the screen shots I posted yesterday. Those should help.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

What app? What video did you use?
Tfid is offline  
post #19265 of 19437 Old 11-14-2019, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1214 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfid View Post
What app? What video did you use?
On my Nvidia Shield, Plex, Kodi, MrMC.

On my Oppo 203, I browse my NAS for any ripped content I have available.

Any of my Blu Rays and UHD Rips are at 24fps.

My SD DVDs are not.

Below is an old link regarding the 24p sync feature on this display that I posted back in 2017.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55331866

As a result of enabling this feature, I made further adjustments to my display settings for 24p content alone.

Now when 60fps, 24fps, HDR, or SDR is displayed, my TV adjusts according to the content being fed to it.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500

Last edited by groove93; 11-14-2019 at 01:52 PM.
groove93 is offline  
post #19266 of 19437 Old 11-14-2019, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HuskerHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lincoln,Neb
Posts: 1,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Thank you, subacabra when I get home this evening I’ll give them a try.
subacabra likes this.

Last edited by HuskerHarley; 11-14-2019 at 05:03 PM.
HuskerHarley is offline  
post #19267 of 19437 Old 11-15-2019, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by eminsayin View Post
Sony is doing this.Tv is itself changing color values etc independent from android firmware.The roots of colors changed and natural colors gone!Sony is doing this old tvs.Why? The answer is simple:Buy a new TV! If you buy same things will happen to that Tv a few years later..
So, it's a conspiracy by Sony to get you to buy a new TV? Sorry, but this is laughable.

You always have to go back to the source content to understand where the base is at. And then you have to look at other components like whether HDR has been added, what method, and by whom (Netflix seems notorious for their HDR being so dark it's almost unwatchable in many situations). You little "color graph" demonstrates absolutely nothing as it doesn't even involve all of the primary colors (which are the true basis) and has absolutely zero detail as to what you're even trying to show.
DougDingle and groove93 like this.
meburdick is offline  
post #19268 of 19437 Old 11-16-2019, 03:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 433
I bought a Sony HT X8500 soundbar for my sister's 65X900E. Since I hooked it up, the TV randomly turns itself on.

I haven't been keeping up with this thread. Is anyone having this issue also? Any suggestions/comments are welcome.

Thanks in advance.
DJR662 is online now  
post #19269 of 19437 Old 11-16-2019, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJR662 View Post
I bought a Sony HT X8500 soundbar for my sister's 65X900E. Since I hooked it up, the TV randomly turns itself on.

I haven't been keeping up with this thread. Is anyone having this issue also? Any suggestions/comments are welcome.

Thanks in advance.
The TV "wakes up" periodically, especially if you have it configured for auto updating of the firmware (or auto downloading). When it does, it triggers the soundbar to turn on over HDMI and then the soundbar turns the TV on. If you disable the auto-update stuff (which you shouldn't be using anyhow because the Terms of Service you have to agree to allows Sony to be constantly collecting usage data off of your TV), the problem should at least settle down if not go away completely.

When my TV does its wake up, it triggers the sound bar. But by the time the soundbar is actually powered on, the TV is back asleep and the soundbar turns back off. Doesn't happen much, but does happen.
meburdick is offline  
post #19270 of 19437 Old 11-17-2019, 01:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by meburdick View Post
The TV "wakes up" periodically, especially if you have it configured for auto updating of the firmware (or auto downloading). When it does, it triggers the soundbar to turn on over HDMI and then the soundbar turns the TV on. If you disable the auto-update stuff (which you shouldn't be using anyhow because the Terms of Service you have to agree to allows Sony to be constantly collecting usage data off of your TV), the problem should at least settle down if not go away completely.

When my TV does its wake up, it triggers the sound bar. But by the time the soundbar is actually powered on, the TV is back asleep and the soundbar turns back off. Doesn't happen much, but does happen.
Thanks for your response.

The auto update software function has always been disabled. I did however manually updated the TV to the latest firmware a couple of days ago, so perhaps that might solve the problem.
DJR662 is online now  
post #19271 of 19437 Old 11-17-2019, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
dcorban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bert1000 View Post
Hi,

I've had a 65" 900e for about 2 years. Overall, a nice TV with clear/detailed picture and no motion issues.

My only issue is the picture does not always seem very vivid/"pop". HDR seems the worst with this. Most of the time it's way too dark and washed out looking. My settings are custom, similar to many on the AVS spreadsheet.

Anyone else experiencing this, especially on HDR? Fix?
I use default video settings on my 900E and HDR looks great. Have you tried the the default video settings? It sounds like your brightness isn’t at maximum as intended with HDR content.

I play many HDR PS4 games and they are all stunning.
dcorban is offline  
post #19272 of 19437 Old 11-17-2019, 02:43 PM
Member
 
piccirilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJR662 View Post
Thanks for your response.

The auto update software function has always been disabled. I did however manually updated the TV to the latest firmware a couple of days ago, so perhaps that might solve the problem.
I had a similar issue with my Sony TV randomly turning on, typically in middle of night. Although I could not pinpoint the issue, I'm sure it had something to do with Sony Sync (even if it is programmed off), and after the last update. Because the TV would also turn on my AVR. After I reset TV back to factory default settings, problem went away. You may want to try this if problem persists.
piccirilli is offline  
post #19273 of 19437 Old 11-18-2019, 02:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by piccirilli View Post
I had a similar issue with my Sony TV randomly turning on, typically in middle of night. Although I could not pinpoint the issue, I'm sure it had something to do with Sony Sync (even if it is programmed off), and after the last update. Because the TV would also turn on my AVR. After I reset TV back to factory default settings, problem went away. You may want to try this if problem persists.
Thank you for the suggestion, will keep that in mind.
DJR662 is online now  
post #19274 of 19437 Old 11-18-2019, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJR662 View Post
Thank you for the suggestion, will keep that in mind.
Something else to check / change is whether or not the ability for external devices to turn on the TV is enabled. I can't recall the exact name of the setting, and I believe it's in the Network settings area.
meburdick is offline  
post #19275 of 19437 Old 11-18-2019, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by meburdick View Post
Something else to check / change is whether or not the ability for external devices to turn on the TV is enabled. I can't recall the exact name of the setting, and I believe it's in the Network settings area.
I know which one you mean. I believe it has been disabled but I will check it again just the same.

Thanks.
DJR662 is online now  
post #19276 of 19437 Old 11-19-2019, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 567 Post(s)
Liked: 517
Well come January it will be 2 years of ownership with my x900e and and I have never regretted paying what I did for it. From watching Blu rays to 4K Blu rays and watching regular cable content my wife and I have enjoyed the hell out of this tv. PQ is still as beautiful as they day I first turned it on. I have had numerous opportunities to buy a new set, including OLED, and I have passed every time. Why? Not because of money, which is no issue, but because I feel there is no need to. Not with as excellent as the x900e still is today. If a mother board fails I will fix it before I get rid of it. If the HDMI ports fail I will not get rid of it, I will get it fixed. The only way I get rid of my x900e is if it burns itself out which I hope dont happen for a long time. So while my fellow HT enthusiasts upgrade every year or so for the newest thing on the market I will stay put. DV? No thanks, 8K? No thanks. QLED? No thanks. OLED? One day maybe but not anytime soon. My x900e stays put.
mattg3, groove93 and RKSKYDANCER like this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #19277 of 19437 Old 11-20-2019, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Question for anyone that knows!!

My wife and I have just started that 7 day free Disney Plus membership. Does the 900E have support for HDR10 for Disney Plus? I can view Netflix movies and shows in HDR on this tv, but I tried to view an HDR movie last night through the Disney Plus app on the TV and it wouldn't enable HDR. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated!

Basement Home Theater: Samsung 65JU7100, Sony X800 4K player, Pioneer SC-91 AVR, Klipsch Speakers (5.1.2 Configuration).
Main Living Room Floor: Sony XBR49X900E, Sony X800 4K player, Apple TV 3rd Gen, PS3 System.
bbwiscfan is offline  
post #19278 of 19437 Old 11-20-2019, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbwiscfan View Post
My wife and I have just started that 7 day free Disney Plus membership. Does the 900E have support for HDR10 for Disney Plus? I can view Netflix movies and shows in HDR on this tv, but I tried to view an HDR movie last night through the Disney Plus app on the TV and it wouldn't enable HDR. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated!

Watching Disney+ on my 900e on the built-in app enabled HDR when the source material had it. Specifically, on The Mandelorian.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19279 of 19437 Old 11-20-2019, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbwiscfan View Post
My wife and I have just started that 7 day free Disney Plus membership. Does the 900E have support for HDR10 for Disney Plus? I can view Netflix movies and shows in HDR on this tv, but I tried to view an HDR movie last night through the Disney Plus app on the TV and it wouldn't enable HDR. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated!
UPDATE:

I since tried the native Disney Plus App on the TV and TODAY it's showing that HDR is working. I'm not sure why it didn't last night, but now it does! Thanks anyway everyone.

Basement Home Theater: Samsung 65JU7100, Sony X800 4K player, Pioneer SC-91 AVR, Klipsch Speakers (5.1.2 Configuration).
Main Living Room Floor: Sony XBR49X900E, Sony X800 4K player, Apple TV 3rd Gen, PS3 System.
bbwiscfan is offline  
post #19280 of 19437 Old 11-20-2019, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
Watching Disney+ on my 900e on the built-in app enabled HDR when the source material had it. Specifically, on The Mandelorian.
Thanks, I've tried multiple shows and movies and now all have the HDR enabled.

Basement Home Theater: Samsung 65JU7100, Sony X800 4K player, Pioneer SC-91 AVR, Klipsch Speakers (5.1.2 Configuration).
Main Living Room Floor: Sony XBR49X900E, Sony X800 4K player, Apple TV 3rd Gen, PS3 System.
bbwiscfan is offline  
post #19281 of 19437 Old 11-23-2019, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
paul416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: orland park illinois
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Well come January it will be 2 years of ownership with my x900e and and I have never regretted paying what I did for it. From watching Blu rays to 4K Blu rays and watching regular cable content my wife and I have enjoyed the hell out of this tv. PQ is still as beautiful as they day I first turned it on. I have had numerous opportunities to buy a new set, including OLED, and I have passed every time. Why? Not because of money, which is no issue, but because I feel there is no need to. Not with as excellent as the x900e still is today. If a mother board fails I will fix it before I get rid of it. If the HDMI ports fail I will not get rid of it, I will get it fixed. The only way I get rid of my x900e is if it burns itself out which I hope dont happen for a long time. So while my fellow HT enthusiasts upgrade every year or so for the newest thing on the market I will stay put. DV? No thanks, 8K? No thanks. QLED? No thanks. OLED? One day maybe but not anytime soon. My x900e stays put.
Got the 75 inch 900E around when it first came out and Im stilkl loving it. Great set
paul416 is offline  
post #19282 of 19437 Old 11-25-2019, 08:29 AM
Member
 
ImpliedConsent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: McDonough, GA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
900E/USB question: has there been a fix to the USB on/off issue? Specifically, I have a nice LED backlighting strip on USB. TV is off, yet the USB port powers on/off (randomly from what I experience).
HuskerHarley likes this.

No Bling
ImpliedConsent is offline  
post #19283 of 19437 Old 11-25-2019, 12:31 PM
Member
 
trusaleen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by subacabra View Post
@DiGi91 did you try the settings I sent you yet?
Could I check out your settings. Right now I'm also debating about getting a 4k blu ray. I keep going back and forth in regards to the UB420 (No DV) v. UB820 (has DV) I know our TV's don't have Dolby Vision but it is worth it to future proof?

Also, my HDR is DARK with Mandalorian, I think the cause is Disney.
trusaleen1 is offline  
post #19284 of 19437 Old 11-25-2019, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ursa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VT USA
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 117
USB On/Off Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImpliedConsent View Post
900E/USB question: has there been a fix to the USB on/off issue? Specifically, I have a nice LED backlighting strip on USB. TV is off, yet the USB port powers on/off (randomly from what I experience).
I'm not sure if it's been fixed but...
Had the same issue. Ended up buying a USB/AC adapter with a timer which solved the problem and works perfectly.
ursa99 is online now  
post #19285 of 19437 Old 11-25-2019, 10:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImpliedConsent View Post
900E/USB question: has there been a fix to the USB on/off issue? Specifically, I have a nice LED backlighting strip on USB. TV is off, yet the USB port powers on/off (randomly from what I experience).

Do you have 'auto-update' or 'check for updates' (or whatever it's called on the set) turned on? Perhaps the set partially comes to life while checking with Sony, and the USB socket turns on when that happens.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19286 of 19437 Old 11-27-2019, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
65XE9005 Died after two years of service (out of warranty). Nothing on screen, no led lights. No reaction (green or any led light) on forced reset. Power brick output shows 24V not loaded. TV drains ~10W when connected to its power brick. Did not open TV yet.
I am looking for any advice what to check next.
santal is offline  
post #19287 of 19437 Old 11-27-2019, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,295
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1877 Post(s)
Liked: 1181
Quote:
Originally Posted by santal View Post
65XE9005 Died after two years of service (out of warranty). Nothing on screen, no led lights. No reaction (green or any led light) on forced reset. Power brick output shows 24V not loaded. TV drains ~10W when connected to its power brick. Did not open TV yet.

I am looking for any advice what to check next.
Wow that really sucks. I feel bad for you. I hope it's a simple fix but nothing is with these things today.
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #19288 of 19437 Old 11-27-2019, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
dcorban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is there a hard limit of the number of Bravia Sync (HDMI-CEC) devices? I added a new device to my system and I can’t get everything to show in the list.

I did a full factory reset on my receiver and TV. Added one device; works. Added two more devices; works. Added one more device directly to the second TV HDMI port; the new device appears, but my first device disappeared.

My list has four devices listed (the receiver is one of them). Is HDMI-CEC on this TV limited to four devices? Sony claims HDMI-CEC it supports up to 15 devices, but maybe Android TV has yet another flaw.
dcorban is offline  
post #19289 of 19437 Old 11-27-2019, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 4
It's been confirmed that the show The Mandalorian is not in HDR after all.
HDTVTEST on YouTube. Sorry don't know how to copy the link.
Snake23 is offline  
post #19290 of 19437 Old 11-27-2019, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake23 View Post
It's been confirmed that the show The Mandalorian is not in HDR after all.
HDTVTEST on YouTube. Sorry don't know how to copy the link.

I've seen all three episodes released so far, and they all lit the HDR flag on both my 900e and my LG OLED.


On the LG, it actually lit the DolbyVision flag at first, but my FireStick 4K sends DV out at 60 frames when set to "Auto resolution", and the 2016 LGs can't reproduce that. When I set the Stick to "force 2160", it then lit the HDR flag and I watched it that way.
DougDingle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off