2017 Sony XBR 900E owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 656 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40469Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19651 of 19671 Old 06-29-2020, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 2,456
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 802
That's the entire point. But people want to bring up the video performance this and that, rather than the interface. To the average consumer, who cares if the video quality is great when you can barely get around the OS because of its laggy performance.

Nobody talks about colorspace in the Walmart AV section, do they?

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19652 of 19671 Old 06-29-2020, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,066
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 1040
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
The OS on the TV compared to the Shield, plus or minus a few app features here and there, are pretty identical. You can disable the Samba service and the other requested services found in this very thread, but that still won't improve the performance compared to the Shield. Although there were some improvements in performance through Updates in the last few years, it's still not enough.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Samba is one of the useless spyware services on my 900E I was referring to, where you turn it off, and a week later it magically turns itself on again. That behavior is just unacceptable. And there are several like that.
sheshechic likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19653 of 19671 Old 06-29-2020, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nice discussion this morning on video processing, OS, and how external streamers don't support passthrough resolution.

One more question.

Are the X1 Processor and the Cortex-A53 the same thing?
nuraman00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19654 of 19671 Old 06-30-2020, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheddarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
Samba is one of the useless spyware services on my 900E I was referring to, where you turn it off, and a week later it magically turns itself on again. That behavior is just unacceptable. And there are several like that.
I have never had Samba turn itself on after I disabled it within a month of purchasing my 900E and I do check regularly. What other spyware services are there that you turn off?


The latest Android update is definitely more responsive than the original version shipped with the 900E.


As to the Wal-Mart shoppers, does Wal-Mart even sell mid-range or above Sony TVs? Most Wal-Mart shoppers are shopping price only and have no idea how responsive or not the underlying OS is.
sheshechic likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #19655 of 19671 Old 06-30-2020, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Spyware, bloatware and memory.
sheshechic is offline  
post #19656 of 19671 Old 06-30-2020, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,066
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 1040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
I have never had Samba turn itself on after I disabled it within a month of purchasing my 900E and I do check regularly. What other spyware services are there that you turn off?

In the first couple of months I had the set, I turned Samba off at least 3 or 4 times, and it just kept re-enabling itself, and I finally gave up. As for the others, it's been two years and I no longer remember what else I tried turning off. I had found a couple of articles and a YouTube video and followed the instructions. I know everything steals data now, justifying it with the bullfeces that otherwise the product would cost a lot more. Samsung, in particular, is so addicted to stealing everything that if you should dare deny it network access (thus sacrificing its 'smart' features), it will obnoxiously and non-stop put a banner up on your screen every few moments complaining that it has lost network access. A friend had that issue, and we couldn't find a way to disable it.


Quote:
The latest Android update is definitely more responsive than the original version shipped with the 900E.
I agree to some extent, but I didn't know how awful it still was until I got an Nvidia Shield Pro also running Android TV and saw what an optimized OS without endless garbage actually felt like. It's speed and responsiveness is leagues beyond the Sony. Don't mistake me - I really like the pictures on my 49" 900E, but I would never buy another Sony running that OS.
groove93 likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19657 of 19671 Old 06-30-2020, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post

The 900e has very nice images and true 120Hz refresh, which are the reasons I bought it. But I'm in the market for a new 77" OLED (my 65" LG E6 is now approaching being four years old) and the Sony OLED line with its burdened Android TV was not part of the consideration.
Speaking of OLEDs, when I was TV shopping in 2018, I had a hard requirement that it had to be less than 44" wide, due to where I was wall mounting the TV.

I did not see any OLEDs which met this requirement, so I had to look at 48-51" TVs which did fit this requirement.

I see now there is a Sony A9S which is coming soon, a 47.6" OLED.

And LG has a 48CXPUB that's out now.

For those of you that have both this thread's Sony XBR900E, and an OLED, how is the motion blur?

This Sony TV is still a limited use TV, partly because it's upstairs.

But also, I think my plasma TV does a better job with motion blur, especially when it comes to sports. It's not bad with this Sony TV, but every now and then it is noticeable.
nuraman00 is offline  
post #19658 of 19671 Old 06-30-2020, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
Nice discussion this morning on video processing, OS, and how external streamers don't support passthrough resolution.

One more question.

Are the X1 Processor and the Cortex-A53 the same thing?
Can someone clarify this for me?
nuraman00 is offline  
post #19659 of 19671 Old 06-30-2020, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheddarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
Can someone clarify this for me?

No, they are not the same thing. The A-53 is the general purpose SOC (System On a Chip) that runs AndroidTV while the X-1 handles the display.
nuraman00 likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #19660 of 19671 Old 06-30-2020, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
Speaking of OLEDs, when I was TV shopping in 2018, I had a hard requirement that it had to be less than 44" wide, due to where I was wall mounting the TV.

I did not see any OLEDs which met this requirement, so I had to look at 48-51" TVs which did fit this requirement.

I see now there is a Sony A9S which is coming soon, a 47.6" OLED.

And LG has a 48CXPUB that's out now.

For those of you that have both this thread's Sony XBR900E, and an OLED, how is the motion blur?

This Sony TV is still a limited use TV, partly because it's upstairs.

But also, I think my plasma TV does a better job with motion blur, especially when it comes to sports. It's not bad with this Sony TV, but every now and then it is noticeable.
MY 65" 900E was excellent until the panel went bad. Sony allowed me to get a replacement (was a little out of warranty), but could only replace with a 950G. The 950G has been horrible. So bad, in fact, that I bought an A8G with every intention of selling off the 950G to recoup some of my cost for the OLED. The OLED was equally as bad with motion handling as the 950G, so it got boxed right back up and went back to BB the next day.

Disclaimer: I am very sensitive to motion issues on these TV's. My 940D continues to be a beautiful picture all around and my 49" 900E still is great as well. I -really- miss my 65" 900E...

There is a new firmware out for a 'sister' of the 950G that supposedly addresses the motion issues. But, since it isn't explicitly for the 950G set, I haven't installed it to try it out as there's "no way back" from bad firmware installs.
nuraman00 likes this.
meburdick is online now  
post #19661 of 19671 Old 07-01-2020, 12:48 PM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
The 900e has very nice images and true 120Hz refresh, which are the reasons I bought it.
I have managed to set the monitor to a 144 Hz refresh rate but only using 1080p resolution.
Using 1440p or 4K the maximum refresh rate is 60 Hz.
How come you say that it's a 120 Hz TV ?

SONY KDS-65XE9005 - Pioneer VSX-920 - LG BD670
Win 10 x64 (18363.752)- Core i3 9100F - nVidia 1660 (442.74)

Last edited by NikosD; 07-01-2020 at 01:02 PM.
NikosD is online now  
post #19662 of 19671 Old 07-01-2020, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,066
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 1040
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
I have managed to set the monitor to a 144 Hz refresh rate but only using 1080p resolution.
Using 1440p or 4K the maximum refresh rate is 60 Ha.
How come you say that it's a 120 Hz TV ?

Because that's what the spec is. It's a 120Hz refreshed panel in hardware, not the "Motion Rate 120 Technology" lies Samsung tries to foist off on their customers by trying to make up for their inferior panels in software.

I have no idea how it works when driven by a computer video card because I don't use it that way. But on fast motion video content, the fact it's an actual 120Hz panel is obvious.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19663 of 19671 Old 07-01-2020, 01:05 PM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
Because that's what the spec is. It's a 120Hz refreshed panel in hardware, not the "Motion Rate 120 Technology" lies Samsung tries to foist off on their customers by trying to make up for their inferior panels in software.

I have no idea how it works when driven by a computer video card because I don't use it that way. But on fast motion video content, the fact it's an actual 120Hz panel is obvious.
OK, but if you try to see that fast motion video content on 1440p or 4K resolution, do you see the panel behaving as a 120 Hz monitor ?
According to TV's specs that's impossible.

SONY KDS-65XE9005 - Pioneer VSX-920 - LG BD670
Win 10 x64 (18363.752)- Core i3 9100F - nVidia 1660 (442.74)
NikosD is online now  
post #19664 of 19671 Old 07-01-2020, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,066
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 1040
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
OK, but if you try to see that fast motion video content on 1440p or 4K resolution, do you see the panel behaving as a 120 Hz monitor ?
According to TV's specs that's impossible.

You are talking about when the set is driven by a computer video card. When driven by a video source, the maximum frame rate that 4K resolution currently achieves from any home-based video source (not a graphics card) is 60Hz. And that refers to the input, not the rate at which the internal electronics refreshes the panel. The two can be different.

Some high frame rate video sources do exist, one example being the 4K ride videos at theme parks and other venues for the public, which are often 120 Hz or even more. But those are not being displayed on consumer monitors, nor are those video sources available to home users in the form of streaming or disk playback.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19665 of 19671 Old 07-01-2020, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
You are talking about when the set is driven by a computer video card. When driven by a video source, the maximum frame rate that 4K resolution currently achieves from any home-based video source (not a graphics card) is 60Hz. And that refers to the input, not the rate at which the internal electronics refreshes the panel. The two can be different.

Some high frame rate video sources do exist, one example being the 4K ride videos at theme parks and other venues for the public, which are often 120 Hz or even more. But those are not being displayed on consumer monitors, nor are those video sources available to home users in the form of streaming or disk playback.

Is this a good explanation of whether something is driven by a computer video card, or by a video source?

By computer video card:

Streaming apps

By video source:

Cable TV / satellite

Blu Ray / DVD player

Video game consoles

Mirror of PC when connected by HDMI cable

Any other device connected by HDMI, component cables, or composite cables
nuraman00 is offline  
post #19666 of 19671 Old 07-01-2020, 09:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,066
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 1040
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
Is this a good explanation of whether something is driven by a computer video card, or by a video source?

By computer video card:

Streaming apps

By video source:

Cable TV / satellite

Blu Ray / DVD player

Video game consoles

Mirror of PC when connected by HDMI cable

Any other device connected by HDMI, component cables, or composite cables

Mostly, yes. I stream services like Netflix and Disney+ using purpose built hardware like the AppleTV4K or the nVidia Shield, or the various Amazon devices. I consider that sort of streaming hardware to be another video source. I know some people use their computer to stream movies and output to a TV or use their phone and cast the video to the TV, but I don't. The original poster was apparently using their 900E as a computer monitor with a video card capable of high resolution and frame rates typical of game play, and had some questions about that. I don't game, and so I don't do that.
DougDingle is offline  
post #19667 of 19671 Old 07-02-2020, 01:09 AM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
I have no idea how it works when driven by a computer video card because I don't use it that way. But on fast motion video content, the fact it's an actual 120Hz panel is obvious.
OK, so you are referring to the so called "internal refresh rate" which is actually the frame processing rate by the video processor, which is very useful for frame interpolation use only.

In order to use frame interpolation successfully, the video source must have a number of FPS which is at least three times smaller than internal refresh rate.
So, a TV with a 120 Hz TV internal refresh rate can display video sources of 24/25/30 FPS successfully with motion smoothness even in fast motion video parts.

But a video source of 60 FPS can't be displayed successfully using the frame interpolation processing by a 120 Hz internal rate TV.
You need a 180 Hz internal refresh rate TV (I don't know any TV using this internal rate) which actually means you need a 240 Hz internal refresh rate TV for that.

SONY KDS-65XE9005 - Pioneer VSX-920 - LG BD670
Win 10 x64 (18363.752)- Core i3 9100F - nVidia 1660 (442.74)
NikosD is online now  
post #19668 of 19671 Old 07-02-2020, 01:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,661
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1495 Post(s)
Liked: 554
you don't need 3 times the source frame rate to frame interpolate 2 times is enough to not drop original frames (where did you even got the 3 times number from?). doing a 5/2 interpolation is quite popular on 60 HZ panels.

the 900E can be forced at 1080p to use native 120 HZ on a PC which proves it's a 120 HZ panel unsurprisingly.
DougDingle likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #19669 of 19671 Old 07-02-2020, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
William L Carman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oceanside, California (San Diego County)
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Could someone here kindly remind me (I lost my old note)of how to check the software on my Sony 900E?

I would very much appreciate it.
William L Carman is offline  
post #19670 of 19671 Old 07-02-2020, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheddarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by William L Carman View Post
Could someone here kindly remind me (I lost my old note)of how to check the software on my Sony 900E?

I would very much appreciate it.

Press the HELP button on the bottom left of your remote. This will give you the current software version.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #19671 of 19671 Old 07-02-2020, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
William L Carman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oceanside, California (San Diego County)
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
Press the HELP button on the bottom left of your remote. This will give you the current software version.
Thank you very much for your prompt reply. I appreciate it.
William L Carman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
issues , motion , motionflow , problems , Sony , sound delay , x900e

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off