*OFFICIAL* 2017 Sony XBR-X940E - Owner's ONLY Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 126 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8700Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3751 of 9437 Old 11-02-2017, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,247
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6063
Clear reduces light output, have no idea about reducing detail.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3752 of 9437 Old 11-02-2017, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
antennahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Clear reduces light output, have no idea about reducing detail.
Thanks, was aware of that one, but I keep thinking I read somewhere about certain motion settings also reducing detail.......... time to go back and re-read my reviews folder
antennahead is offline  
post #3753 of 9437 Old 11-02-2017, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,792
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked: 2957
Finding the right motion setting helps indeed and the right one gives the best light output along with ones tolerance of SOE! I've also lowered my contrast down to 84 and gamma of -2 and this gives greater depth to the image more akin to what I'm use to for SDR. this set is just as bright as one can stand and has a wide range of flexibility add to that the blacks being solid as a rock and one can easily over time find some great settings.

Also the game looked great last night(Go Astro's but not as much with game 6? guess it depends where as well or Fox bumped it up to 1080i
audiofan1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3754 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,792
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6790 Post(s)
Liked: 6792
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #3755 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Besides Dolby Vision, is it possible that the 940e will get a Netflix updated app to handle Dolby Atmos ?
HALO555 is offline  
post #3756 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PSBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by HALO555 View Post
Besides Dolby Vision, is it possible that the 940e will get a Netflix updated app to handle Dolby Atmos ?


The 940E is basically useless as a Netflix streamer, or any other streaming app on the TV. I have 200mbps and cat5 right to the
TV. It pulls almost nothing for speed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
ATV4K
Sony UBP-X700
Sony HT-ST5000 sound bar
PSBMAN is offline  
post #3757 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSBMAN View Post
I have 200mbps and cat5 right to the
TV. It pulls almost nothing for speed
How do you know that the 940e is limiting the speed, and what does "almost nothing" equal?

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #3758 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
ROMIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
How do you know that the 940e is limiting the speed, and what does "almost nothing" equal?



-phil


I think it's pretty universal from owners that the 940E is ridiculously slow for its connection speeds, even with fast internet. Sony has always sucked at internet connections on their devices. I get 300-400 Mbps down on my other devices via Ethernet or Wifi but only about 30 Mbps on the 940E.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ROMIL is offline  
post #3759 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMIL View Post
I think it's pretty universal from owners that the 940E is ridiculously slow for its connection speeds, even with fast internet. Sony has always sucked at internet connections on their devices. I get 300-400 Mbps down on my other devices via Ethernet or Wifi but only about 30 Mbps on the 940E.
How do you measure the download speed on your 940e?

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #3760 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
ROMIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
How do you measure the download speed on your 940e?



-phil


The only way I've found is to use the Netflix app settings to test your connection.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ROMIL is offline  
post #3761 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
ROMIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
How do you measure the download speed on your 940e?



-phil


Also, if you install the Opera browser app, you can navigate to any normal internet speed test website.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ROMIL is offline  
post #3762 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSBMAN View Post
The 940E is basically useless as a Netflix streamer, or any other streaming app on the TV. I have 200mbps and cat5 right to the
TV. It pulls almost nothing for speed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It is pretty crap in regards to speed for streaming Netflix. I was surprised to verify this after some home testing. Nevertheless, I do use the Netflix app out of convenience and in practicality I don't generally get buffering so I suppose it's good enough. I was hoping it would get upgraded to include Dolby Atmos.
HALO555 is offline  
post #3763 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ROMIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by HALO555 View Post
It is pretty crap in regards to speed for streaming Netflix. I was surprised to verify this after some home testing. Nevertheless, I do use the Netflix app out of convenience and in practicality I don't generally get buffering so I suppose it's good enough. I was hoping it would get upgraded to include Dolby Atmos.


Yeah, Netflix is semi-usable, but Amazon is just complete trash on the 940E.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ROMIL is offline  
post #3764 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PSBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 184
*OFFICIAL* 2017 Sony XBR-X940E - Owner's Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
How do you know that the 940e is limiting the speed, and what does "almost nothing" equal?



-phil


Well......since there is nothing between the modem and the 940E and everything else streams at a high mbps......let’s call it an educated guess.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
ATV4K
Sony UBP-X700
Sony HT-ST5000 sound bar
PSBMAN is offline  
post #3765 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSBMAN View Post
Well......since there is nothing between the modem and the 940E and everything else streams at a high mbps......let’s call it an educated guess.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It is the 940e. the 940D was similar. The Netflix app is faster on an Xbox One S with all else being the same. I also tried running an Ethernet cable straight from the router to the 940e. Same slow speeds. Something in the 940e limits the speed.
HALO555 is offline  
post #3766 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 08:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hey guys,

Are you using the "X-Tended Dynamic Range" setting on HDR content?
I'm asking because I noticed that while it does make the picture seem brighter, it also makes the black less black (brighter).

Thanks
purpleman2k is offline  
post #3767 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 08:48 PM
Member
 
ebdixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by HALO555 View Post
It is the 940e. the 940D was similar. The Netflix app is faster on an Xbox One S with all else being the same. I also tried running an Ethernet cable straight from the router to the 940e. Same slow speeds. Something in the 940e limits the speed.
I've been trying to figure out for months why my 940D and Roku Premier are both pulling about 1/3rd the speed of my Xbox One S through the same Ethernet switch. At least now I know the hardware is at fault and not some setting that I messed up.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Denon X4200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, CDT-5800-C II's
SVS SB-16 Ultra x 2 / Emotiva XPA-5 Gen2
Sony XBR75X940D
XBox One X
ebdixson is offline  
post #3768 of 9437 Old 11-03-2017, 11:12 PM
Member
 
milesdavisii's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSBMAN View Post
The 940E is basically useless as a Netflix streamer, or any other streaming app on the TV. I have 200mbps and cat5 right to the
TV. It pulls almost nothing for speed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have Google fiber 1000mbps and cat6 running to the 940e. Try using the 5ghz WiFi connection, it solves the issue. There is an issue with getting full bandwidth through any wired connection. I have no Netflix or Amazon issues using the WiFi setup.
audiofan1 likes this.

Sony XBR-75X940E | Sony PS4 Pro
Oppo UDP-203 | Apple TV 4K
Klipsch HD Wireless 5.2
Google Fiber
milesdavisii is offline  
post #3769 of 9437 Old 11-04-2017, 12:17 AM
Member
 
ccrouleyarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm curious to hear from those with a wired set up how switching to the wireless changes the speed.
MCaugusto and tekki like this.
ccrouleyarl is offline  
post #3770 of 9437 Old 11-04-2017, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
ROMIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrouleyarl View Post
I'm curious to hear from those with a wired set up how switching to the wireless changes the speed.


Doesn't in my experience. WiFi and Ethernet are equally terrible.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ROMIL is offline  
post #3771 of 9437 Old 11-04-2017, 03:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl940 View Post
I just heard from a Sony representative at my local Best Buy (not a Best Buy employee) that he just learned that the Dolby Vision update for the X940E will definitely be released in November. He said this is brand new information that hasn’t really been publicly released yet.
UPDATE

I spoke to the same Sony rep this afternoon. He still didn’t have a definitive date for the Dolby Vision firmware update, but he said he he still expects it this month. We’ll see. I hope he’s right.
Kadath and audiofan1 like this.
Carl940 is offline  
post #3772 of 9437 Old 11-04-2017, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
dpeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
X940E and the ST5000 Atmos soundbar.

For those that have this configuration, is there anything special to setup so that I get Dolby TRUEHD or Atmos sound? When I play sample clips I get no sound.

I have the soundbar HDMI out connected to the 940E HDMI (ARC) input.

thanks
david

daveP

Last edited by dpeart; 11-04-2017 at 07:22 PM.
dpeart is offline  
post #3773 of 9437 Old 11-04-2017, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by milesdavisii View Post
I have Google fiber 1000mbps and cat6 running to the 940e. Try using the 5ghz WiFi connection, it solves the issue. There is an issue with getting full bandwidth through any wired connection. I have no Netflix or Amazon issues using the WiFi setup.
I get 120 MBs over 5Ghz Wi-Fi and a little better over LAN, but the TV only gets 10-15 Mbs over either the same Wi-Fi or LAN. I’m able to easily stream 4K HDR with Apple TV 4K, but can only seem to get 1080p with Amazon Video via the TVs app.
Carl940 is offline  
post #3774 of 9437 Old 11-04-2017, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
dpeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeart View Post
X940E and the ST5000 Atmos soundbar.

For those that have this configuration, is there anything special to setup so that I get Dolby TRUEHD or Atmos sound? When I play sample clips I get no sound.

I have the soundbar HDMI out connected to the 940E HDMI (ARC) input.

thanks
david
I chatted with Sony support and they tell me:
Quote:
Sherman (C9ES): 11:27:48 PM

I mean the TRUE-HD or Dolby Atmos is jnot compatible with USB input.

You: 11:28:27 PM

so I cannot play video files from a usb drive that are TRUE-HD?

Sherman (C9ES): 11:28:37 PM

Yes, correct.

You: 11:29:05 PM

how can I play them?

Sherman (C9ES): 11:32:06 PM

I double checked the details for you. My apologies as the True HD and the Dolby atmos is not available with USB, it is not compatible to play.

You: 11:32:43 PM

so there is no way for the TV to play videos with True HD or Dolby Atmos?

Sherman (C9ES): 11:33:14 PM

As from the USb it is not possible.

You: 11:33:43 PM

I understand the USB is not possbile, can the included Video app do it or anything else?

Sherman (C9ES): 11:34:21 PM

No other inputs are mentioned apart from this.

You: 11:36:04 PM

Can the Video app stream them from a DLNA server?

Sherman (C9ES): 11:39:48 PM

I reviewed the concern of yours, the DLNA server streaming videos are also not compatible.

You: 11:40:49 PM

OK so it sounds like there is no way to play a video with this audio format with the TV and soundbar

Sherman (C9ES): 11:41:15 PM

It is possible through the HDMI inputs.

You: 11:41:36 PM

using a different device, i understand

Sherman (C9ES): 11:41:53 PM

Yes, through the difference device.
So it seems that the TV will not pass a TRUE-HD or Dolby Atmos audio signal through to the soundbar.

I tried it in Plex as well and the audio is always transcoded.

david

daveP
dpeart is offline  
post #3775 of 9437 Old 11-05-2017, 06:39 AM
Member
 
neod192's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl940 View Post
I get 120 MBs over 5Ghz Wi-Fi and a little better over LAN, but the TV only gets 10-15 Mbs over either the same Wi-Fi or LAN. I’m able to easily stream 4K HDR with Apple TV 4K, but can only seem to get 1080p with Amazon Video via the TVs app.
I just did a few speed tests in the Netflix app on the TV, and over 5GHz Wi-Fi I'm consistently getting just over 73 Mbps. On my phone, next to it I'm getting 113 Mbps. While slower, the TV isn't that terrible in my environment - definitely not 10-15 ... I didn't try it over Ethernet.
neod192 is offline  
post #3776 of 9437 Old 11-05-2017, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by neod192 View Post
I just did a few speed tests in the Netflix app on the TV, and over 5GHz Wi-Fi I'm consistently getting just over 73 Mbps. On my phone, next to it I'm getting 113 Mbps. While slower, the TV isn't that terrible in my environment - definitely not 10-15 ... I didn't try it over Ethernet.
I was able to stream Amazon 4K HDR this morning (Man in the High Castle) over the Ethernet connection. It looked great. What is the best way to test the connection speed? I’ve used the internet browser app on the TV and Ookla Speed Test and get the 10 to 15 Mbs, yet I’m able to easily steam 4K HDR. I’m thinking maybe it’s just the browser app that is slow but the connection for streaming is faster.

Update: I tried fast.com to test the speed (using the same browser app) and got about 90 Mbs. That is great since I only pay for 100 Mbs. https://fast.com

Last edited by Carl940; 11-05-2017 at 09:10 AM.
Carl940 is offline  
post #3777 of 9437 Old 11-05-2017, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by purpleman2k View Post
Hey guys,

Are you using the "X-Tended Dynamic Range" setting on HDR content?
I'm asking because I noticed that while it does make the picture seem brighter, it also makes the black less black (brighter).

Thanks
Anyone?
purpleman2k is offline  
post #3778 of 9437 Old 11-05-2017, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,446
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3813
Quote:
Originally Posted by purpleman2k View Post
Anyone?

It defaults to high I believe i am using medium .If you don’t use it for hdr you would be severely clipping spectral highlights.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
audiofan1 and RL616 like this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #3779 of 9437 Old 11-05-2017, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Manual?

From what I can see it does not look like Sony could afford to create a proper manual for this TV ...

It that is the case are there any other sources out their that explain all the various picture settings and options etc?

Thanks.
TeaDrinker67 is offline  
post #3780 of 9437 Old 11-05-2017, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PSBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Anyone else have a grey hue on the picture. Watching any channel on cable seems like there is a grey hue. Even the
Black bars for movies are not black, they are grey ? What the hell has happened to this TV ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
ATV4K
Sony UBP-X700
Sony HT-ST5000 sound bar
PSBMAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
signal loss

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off