*OFFICIAL* 2017 Sony XBR-X940E - Owner's ONLY Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 290 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8638Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8671 of 9329 Old 02-26-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Did you remember to put the new Yamaha into Mode1 for HDMI in the system menu on the front panel?
Yep, well to check it. Apparently it defaults to mode 1 now.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8672 of 9329 Old 02-26-2019, 09:55 AM
Member
 
richardBEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
You may be right, I chose HDMI 4 on a lark...just something to try. Probably won't try HDMI 3 till 4 fails.
I don’t think the hdmi port will fail, but I think that the latest update introduced a (Yamaha/Sony) hdmi handshake issue. I have my Apple TV going through a Yamaha rxa760 to the Sony 940. Sometimes, but not always, the Apple TV screen does not come up when the system gets switched on. Rebooting the Apple TV fixes it. The same happened with my TiVo Bolt, but that is a pain to reboot without screen, so I moved that to a not fully capable hdmi port on the Yamaha and it is now working fine.
richardBEL is offline  
post #8673 of 9329 Old 02-26-2019, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Yep, well to check it. Apparently it defaults to mode 1 now.
Apologies, in my haste I missed that you bypassed the AVR and continued to have problems. When you bypassed the AVR, were you still using the same cable as was used with the AVR? If so, try a different cable. Otherwise it sounds like a problem with the Oppo...

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8674 of 9329 Old 02-26-2019, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardBEL View Post
I don’t think the hdmi port will fail, but I think that the latest update introduced a (Yamaha/Sony) hdmi handshake issue. I have my Apple TV going through a Yamaha rxa760 to the Sony 940. Sometimes, but not always, the Apple TV screen does not come up when the system gets switched on. Rebooting the Apple TV fixes it. The same happened with my TiVo Bolt, but that is a pain to reboot without screen, so I moved that to a not fully capable hdmi port on the Yamaha and it is now working fine.
I suspected the recent fw update may have had something to do with it. But when the Oppo 203 worked (directly connected) in HDMI 4 but not in HDMI 2, I figured that something went wrong with HDMI 2 and just moved on using HDMI 4 instead.
audiofan1 likes this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8675 of 9329 Old 02-26-2019, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hello, good afternoon, I am new to the forum, apologize if my English is not good, but I am using the translator since I am Spanish.

I have a Sony 75xe 9405, with which I am very happy, but I have a question, why will not these models with the x1 extreme chip update to IMAX Enhanced, and only update the A1 sony of 2017 ??

Do you have any news about this ?? thank you.

My equipment: Sony XE9405, marantz 8012, aircom t10, Pioneer Lx500, Apple TV 4K, Ps4 pro, Nintendo switch

speakers: Sonus Faber venere 3.0, Sonus Faber sonetto center II and surround Jamo c93.
Sampaio006 is offline  
post #8676 of 9329 Old 02-26-2019, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardBEL View Post
I don’t think the hdmi port will fail, but I think that the latest update introduced a (Yamaha/Sony) hdmi handshake issue. I have my Apple TV going through a Yamaha rxa760 to the Sony 940. Sometimes, but not always, the Apple TV screen does not come up when the system gets switched on. Rebooting the Apple TV fixes it. The same happened with my TiVo Bolt, but that is a pain to reboot without screen, so I moved that to a not fully capable hdmi port on the Yamaha and it is now working fine.
No hand-shaking issues between my 940 and my 3060 + AppleTV4k (make sure you're not forcing your appleTv to DV - it should be set to 4K SDR for best quality).

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #8677 of 9329 Old 02-26-2019, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
Did you check HDMI cables and connections? HDMI is very finicky and is often a source of problems even when new or moved.
Yep, I tried several new Premium Certified cables and the problem persisted. Once I switched to HDMI 4 all was good.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8678 of 9329 Old 02-27-2019, 03:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sampaio006 View Post
Hello, good afternoon, I am new to the forum, apologize if my English is not good, but I am using the translator since I am Spanish.

I have a Sony 75xe 9405, with which I am very happy, but I have a question, why will not these models with the x1 extreme chip update to IMAX Enhanced, and only update the A1 sony of 2017 ??

Do you have any news about this ?? thank you.

My equipment: Sony XE9405, marantz 8012, aircom t10, Pioneer Lx500, Apple TV 4K, Ps4 pro, Nintendo switch

speakers: Sonus Faber venere 3.0, Sonus Faber sonetto center II and surround Jamo c93.
I was looking at that myself. Seems the reason is just because they are older but on the other hand, the IMAX format is compatible with HDR10 so it will work with it anyway. Here is what I found.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#61f5a25148a0
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #8679 of 9329 Old 02-27-2019, 03:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Thank you for responding, but this article I already knew, and it seems absurd, since it is so old an A1 as an XE9405, I do not think anyone has asked Sony, what a response it gives to those who have trusted Sony for our tvs premium, a shame.

That you say a zd9 that if it is older, well, but still has the same chip x1 extreme, it seems pretty bad.

Has anyone contacted Archer to know if he knows anything else?

we could initiate a change request. org, no ??
Sampaio006 is offline  
post #8680 of 9329 Old 02-27-2019, 03:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sampaio006 View Post
Thank you for responding, but this article I already knew, and it seems absurd, since it is so old an A1 as an XE9405, I do not think anyone has asked Sony, what a response it gives to those who have trusted Sony for our tvs premium, a shame.

That you say a zd9 that if it is older, well, but still has the same chip x1 extreme, it seems pretty bad.

Has anyone contacted Archer to know if he knows anything else?

we could initiate a change request. org, no ??
To me it seems like they are saying the TV will unofficially support it. The IMAX content will play through HDR10. I'm not sure what will be different between a TV that supports it and one that doesn't but still plays it.
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #8681 of 9329 Old 02-27-2019, 05:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Apologies, in my haste I missed that you bypassed the AVR and continued to have problems. When you bypassed the AVR, were you still using the same cable as was used with the AVR? If so, try a different cable. Otherwise it sounds like a problem with the Oppo...
I tried several new Premium Certified cables both with the AVR in the chain and with the Oppo directly connected to the TVs HDMI 2 input. Nothing helped till I switched to HDMI 4 on the TV.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8682 of 9329 Old 02-27-2019, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
I tried several new Premium Certified cables both with the AVR in the chain and with the Oppo directly connected to the TVs HDMI 2 input. Nothing helped till I switched to HDMI 4 on the TV.
Didn't see it mentioned, mea culpa if I missed it, was gone for a few days, but did you enable the Enhanced 4K HDMI for inputs 2 & 3?

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR777
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #8683 of 9329 Old 02-28-2019, 05:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8ders2K View Post
Didn't see it mentioned, mea culpa if I missed it, was gone for a few days, but did you enable the Enhanced 4K HDMI for inputs 2 & 3?
Yes, it is enabled. That's what is so confusing. It says for inputs 2 & 3, Enhanced 4k is enabled, but the menu output from the Oppo 203 no longer displays when it's connected to HDMI 2, even though it used to. No idea what may have changed in the past few months period since I last used the Oppo.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8684 of 9329 Old 02-28-2019, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
I probably should have mentioned that I also had the same problem (no menu display, handshake attempts looping) with the Sony x700 blu-ray player that I have in the system when connected to HDMI 2 on the TV. The x700 works with the HDMI 4 connection. I'm thinking I will try HDMI 3 input on the TV this weekend if I can find the time. I'm really confused regarding the fact that HDMI 2 fails and HDMI 4 works. It seems it should be the opposite.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8685 of 9329 Old 02-28-2019, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 5
the hdmi 1 and 4, support 4K hdr 24p without problems, even 30p, I checked a long time ago with an Apple TV, which is a great test for resolutions
Sampaio006 is offline  
post #8686 of 9329 Old 02-28-2019, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sampaio006 View Post
the hdmi 1 and 4, support 4K hdr 24p without problems, even 30p, I checked a long time ago with an Apple TV, which is a great test for resolutions
What about 60p? From what I remember from when I installed my first Oppo 203, its menu is 4k 60p (been several years now, my memory could be faulty).

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8687 of 9329 Old 02-28-2019, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Here is a post from me in the Spanish forum that I frequent, with images of all the resolutions supported on hdmi 1 and 4, the only ones that do not support are 4K (hdr or dolby vision) at 50 / 60p.

it even supports 1080 (hdr or dolby vision) at 50 / 60p.

http://www.forodvd.com/tema/165996-s...ml#post1915665


with respect to what has been talked about if our TV will be compatible with IMAX Enhanced, whoever has Facebook or can contact archer, could he tell if news is available? if Sony left us lying around ?? it can not be that they update the A1 and this XE9405 does not
Sampaio006 is offline  
post #8688 of 9329 Old 02-28-2019, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
So, am I to deduce that you are saying that HDMI 4 doesn't support 4k/60p? I suspect that is the case but really don't understand what occurred that caused my TVs HDMI 2 input to fail with the Oppo 203 and Sony X700 menu display. Both work on HDMI 4.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8689 of 9329 Old 02-28-2019, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Seryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The River House
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
So, am I to deduce that you are saying that HDMI 4 doesn't support 4k/60p? I suspect that is the case but really don't understand what occurred that caused my TVs HDMI 2 input to fail with the Oppo 203 and Sony X700 menu display. Both work on HDMI 4.

Once my 940E stopped displaying HDR on HDMI inputs 2 & 3. Discovered that if the ports were toggle enhanced they didn't work properly but if I toggled enhanced off they worked. Backwards! Eventually I rebooted the set and everything returned to normal. Not that this has anything to do with your situation but it does show how aggravating HDMI can be.
Seryl is offline  
post #8690 of 9329 Old 03-01-2019, 05:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seryl View Post
Once my 940E stopped displaying HDR on HDMI inputs 2 & 3. Discovered that if the ports were toggle enhanced they didn't work properly but if I toggled enhanced off they worked. Backwards! Eventually I rebooted the set and everything returned to normal. Not that this has anything to do with your situation but it does show how aggravating HDMI can be.
Hmm, think I'll try rebooting my TV. It's worth a try...maybe it will help.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8691 of 9329 Old 03-01-2019, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
400MHz MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
What about 60p? From what I remember from when I installed my first Oppo 203, its menu is 4k 60p (been several years now, my memory could be faulty).
HDMI Input 1 and 4 will support timings up to 10.2Gbps. [email protected] 4:2:0 (8bits) is supported. 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 are not supported.

See the attached table from the HDMI 2.1 spec and you can see formats and bandwidth required to support each.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FormatDataRatetable.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	758.9 KB
ID:	2532920  
400MHz MAN is online now  
post #8692 of 9329 Old 03-01-2019, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400MHz MAN View Post
HDMI Input 1 and 4 will support timings up to 10.2Gbps. [email protected] 4:2:0 (8bits) is supported. 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 are not supported.

See the attached table from the HDMI 2.1 spec and you can see formats and bandwidth required to support each.
Yeah, I do remember that HDMI 2 & 3 were the ones that should be used for the higher bandwidth signals, and I originally was using HDMI 2 for that reason. Trouble is, for some reason HDMI 2 stopped working with the menu outputs from both my Oppo 203 and Sony x700. So after swapping to different Certified Premium cables with no success I decided to try a different input and just plugged it into HDMI 4 and it worked. I have no idea why HDMI 2 stopped working with my blu-ray players. It had been a few months since I had used either of them so it seems something happened since then.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #8693 of 9329 Old 03-01-2019, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I receive shipment of my TV tomorrow. I'm coming from a 2010 Plasma, so while I have no prior history in knowing what immediate issues to look for in a "modern day" TV, I assume if there's anything really wrong with the set, it should be pretty apparent, right? Is there anything else I should be mindful of, especially while the delivery guys are still there? It might seem like a simpleton's question, but I just want to try and cover my bases so I don't regret anything later.

And secondly, is the general consensus that it would be best to hold off updating to the v6.5830 firmware? I don't recall the potential audio issues just being isolated to AVRs from specific brands, correct? The reported picture improvement from the new firmware intrigues me, but I suppose I'm a little hesitant about those audio troubles.

Otherwise, I have a collection of tips and settings I've picked up throughout this thread to jump on when I set up the TV, so thanks to all who have contributed here! It's an exciting time for me.
montana49kc is offline  
post #8694 of 9329 Old 03-01-2019, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by montana49kc View Post
And secondly, is the general consensus that it would be best to hold off updating to the v6.5830 firmware? I don't recall the potential audio issues just being isolated to AVRs from specific brands, correct? The reported picture improvement from the new firmware intrigues me, but I suppose I'm a little hesitant about those
id say most have not had problems. A few using ARC have had some issues. Most anything else has been cleared up with a reset of the display.
montana49kc likes this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #8695 of 9329 Old 03-02-2019, 03:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,626
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4298 Post(s)
Liked: 3723
Has anyone taken an mll reading on this set? I'd like to see the numerical difference between it and the Z9D (which gets to 0.0183 nits or 0.005 fl). For comparison, a bog standard 9G Kuro reaches 0.001 fl. Does this set match that performance?
video_analysis is offline  
post #8696 of 9329 Old 03-03-2019, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I know DSE is somewhat common with this set, so is what I’m experiencing here within normal amounts, or is it something I should take up with Sony (or Amazon since I just got it). The photo exaggerates it some, so it’s not quite as dark as it looks, but I can definitely see it when the camera pans over certain scenes.

montana49kc is offline  
post #8697 of 9329 Old 03-03-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
antennahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 253
^ The one thing that occasionally drives me crazy about mine, and it looks like I see it in your picture, is the line down the center of the screen separating the two halfs, or the zones. On my set I pretty much only see it on outdoor scenes involving pans and the sky. And here is the weird thing, I seem to notice it much more on older material ....... new material or digitally shot stuff doesn't seem to do this as much as say an older TV show. It happens infrequently enough that I live with it and don't let it ruin the experience for me. 75" still rules for me, and when I bought this set there was no way I was spending the money they wanted for a 77" OLED. Besides, after being a plasma owner for years, I was done with image retention issues. I know the OLED fanboys will argue it's not an issue, but I didn't want to even deal with a possible "non-issue"

Equipment: Sony XBR-X940E, Marantz AV-7702, Wyred4sound mAMPS , Oppo 103
antennahead is online now  
post #8698 of 9329 Old 03-04-2019, 04:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Continue to be very happy with your TVs folks

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/review....&id=1551684183


Quote:
In our opinion X900F delivers better picture quality for your money.
Oh snap...
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #8699 of 9329 Old 03-04-2019, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PSBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 1,122
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 184
I have to say, after updating to the latest firmware, I'm less than impressed. The picture now has a light grey hue background where there was once a complete black background. The Remote is almost unresponsive now, with a delay of a few seconds before it does anything.

The set goes into the android boot up on power on 3-4 times out of 10 now.

My advice to anyone that hasn't done the update......skip it. Avoid it for now.

Sony 75XBR940E
ATV4K
Sony UBP-X700
Sony HT-ST5000 sound bar
PSBMAN is offline  
post #8700 of 9329 Old 03-04-2019, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by antennahead View Post
^ The one thing that occasionally drives me crazy about mine, and it looks like I see it in your picture, is the line down the center of the screen separating the two halfs, or the zones. On my set I pretty much only see it on outdoor scenes involving pans and the sky. And here is the weird thing, I seem to notice it much more on older material ....... new material or digitally shot stuff doesn't seem to do this as much as say an older TV show. It happens infrequently enough that I live with it and don't let it ruin the experience for me. 75" still rules for me, and when I bought this set there was no way I was spending the money they wanted for a 77" OLED. Besides, after being a plasma owner for years, I was done with image retention issues. I know the OLED fanboys will argue it's not an issue, but I didn't want to even deal with a possible "non-issue"
That sounds frustrating, but I'm glad you don't notice it too often. I think what you're seeing on mine is a reflection of artwork I have hung on the opposite wall. Here's another image I took on my phone with all the room lights out, then adjusted in Photoshop to more accurately show what my eyes are seeing on a solid gray background.

Unless others think I should act differently, I guess what I'm thinking now is that I'll live with it. In the limited time I've had the unit, I've mainly noticed the clouding occasionally during lighter panning shots on DirecTV. Nothing really when viewing a 4K disc or anything else. Of course while I'd much prefer a more uniform screen, there are no other issues that I could have been stuck with in an otherwise worse panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	clouding.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	2534150  
montana49kc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
signal loss

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off