*OFFICIAL* 2017 Sony XBR-X940E - Owner's ONLY Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 64 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8767Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,897
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2412 Post(s)
Liked: 3089
^^^I'm using the android apps on the 940E all look great, I have optical cable I plan on running to my pre/pro for audio.
retro124 likes this.
audiofan1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 03:29 PM
Member
 
UHD AV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zablon View Post
Where are these settings you are referring to? Every Z9 setting I've tried looked horrible. I am using a slight variation of the 940D settings.
See post 1576. My settings for general content (Cable).
UHD AV is offline  
post #1893 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro124 View Post
Thanks guys @kyle2371 , @audiofan1 , @Nosferatu , @Cleveland Plasma for responses. Are you using Android TV aps or better to get external streaming device like Roku Ultra?
Buy a shieldTV- really great device....
TViewer2000, retro124 and m_snow like this.

Sony XBR 77A9G - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - 2019 Shield TV Pro - 2019 Roku Ultra
ggw2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1894 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 03:58 PM
Member
 
hirevn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Alaska
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHD AV View Post
See post 1576. My settings for general content (Cable).

Been following your posts and plan on trying your settings for general content. What do you do different with your settings for UHD/HDR content vs the general content? I don't use the apps much at all but watch a lot of UHD movies on the new Sony UHD disc player.
hirevn is offline  
post #1895 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
njfoses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Did the update last night, is their still no info as what changes made?
From Sonys site.


This software update (version PKG6.2648.0065NAA) provides the following changes and benefits:
  • Improvements over version PKG6.2414.0040NAA:
  • Resolves an issue where optical digital sound sometimes stops
  • Resolves an issue where the TV speakers and the sound from the PS4 controller are out of sync
  • Resolves an issue where frame drops occur and the AV is out of sync when playing 4K HDR 60fps content

Benefits provided by previous updates and included in version PKG6.2648.0065NAA:
  • Adds support for the A2DP Bluetooth® profile
  • Adds support for PIP (Picture-in-Picture) while using an app (watch TV in a small window while using an Android TV™ app)
  • Adds support for Hybrid Log-Gamma HDR content via HDMI® and USB/Home network
  • Improves the Settings screen to support changing settings while viewing TV (some exceptions may apply)
  • Adds support for task-switching (switch between previously used apps and the current app by holding down the HOME button on your remote until the task-switching menu appears)
audiofan1 and ROMIL like this.
njfoses is offline  
post #1896 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nosferatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro124 View Post
Thanks guys @kyle2371 , @audiofan1 , @Nosferatu , @Cleveland Plasma for responses. Are you using Android TV aps or better to get external streaming device like Roku Ultra?
I run a 20+TB server in the movie theater of our house. I use HTPC in every room that has a TV except the living room I've retired the PC and let the smart apps for the TV run the show.

This is Emby using ARC with 5.1 going to the receiver. Emby runs the media server will stream and convert to just about any device. I use it for my mobile devices, the Chromecast on the patio, and to stream to my Kodi boxes in the master bedroom and other machines throughout the house. The theater we have houses the server where everything plays locally.

EDIT: I also use a keyboard/mouse with the TV it's a bit quicker than the remote. I was too lazy to grab it hence all the clicking noise of the remote.


Thread to Build:Theater Build
Theater: Monitor Audio Platinum PL200/PL350C, Seaton Submerssive, 150" 3D Elite Screens +more
Living Room: Aperion Grand Verus, Outlaw LFM-1 EX, 75" Sony XBR75X940E +more
Stage 1 - Enthusiasm, Stage 2 - Realism
Stage 3 - Obsession, Stage 4 - Acceptance
...Which stage are you on?

Last edited by Nosferatu; 07-12-2017 at 05:28 PM.
Nosferatu is offline  
post #1897 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post
From Sonys site.


This software update (version PKG6.2648.0065NAA) provides the following changes and benefits:
  • Improvements over version PKG6.2414.0040NAA:
  • Resolves an issue where optical digital sound sometimes stops
  • Resolves an issue where the TV speakers and the sound from the PS4 controller are out of sync
  • Resolves an issue where frame drops occur and the AV is out of sync when playing 4K HDR 60fps content

Benefits provided by previous updates and included in version PKG6.2648.0065NAA:
  • Adds support for the A2DP Bluetooth® profile
  • Adds support for PIP (Picture-in-Picture) while using an app (watch TV in a small window while using an Android TV™ app)
  • Adds support for Hybrid Log-Gamma HDR content via HDMI® and USB/Home network
  • Improves the Settings screen to support changing settings while viewing TV (some exceptions may apply)
  • Adds support for task-switching (switch between previously used apps and the current app by holding down the HOME button on your remote until the task-switching menu appears)
So at this point in the game, they provide the first software update since March and it doesn't include Dolby Vison? That's just cruel.
Anchorman80 is offline  
post #1898 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 08:26 PM
Member
 
UHD AV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirevn View Post
Been following your posts and plan on trying your settings for general content. What do you do different with your settings for UHD/HDR content vs the general content? I don't use the apps much at all but watch a lot of UHD movies on the new Sony UHD disc player.
I don't use apps in TV at all. In fact, it's not connected to the internet except for software updates. I infrequently use my Sony X800 apps. I'd rather have a $300 brick than a 6K brick.
My settings for UHD/HDR are close to the same with some necessary exceptions. Will post them later if desired.
UHD AV is offline  
post #1899 of 9591 Old 07-12-2017, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,897
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2412 Post(s)
Liked: 3089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchorman80 View Post
So at this point in the game, they provide the first software update since March and it doesn't include Dolby Vison? That's just cruel.
Best to let them get it right
audiofan1 is online now  
post #1900 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHD AV View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirevn View Post
Been following your posts and plan on trying your settings for general content. What do you do different with your settings for UHD/HDR content vs the general content? I don't use the apps much at all but watch a lot of UHD movies on the new Sony UHD disc player.
I don't use apps in TV at all. In fact, it's not connected to the internet except for software updates. I infrequently use my Sony X800 apps. I'd rather have a $300 brick than a 6K brick.
My settings for UHD/HDR are close to the same with some necessary exceptions. Will post them later if desired.
Okay, so there is a way to turn off connection to the internet except to updates? And if I did this, do you think this would make using the menu options like the "action menu" faster? I have been having issues with the menu freezing up and lagging severely when trying to make adjustments (like I told you in my message). I'm just wondering if cutting the connection to the internet would help make that go faster.
Czickefoose is offline  
post #1901 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Astennu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchorman80 View Post
So at this point in the game, they provide the first software update since March and it doesn't include Dolby Vison? That's just cruel.
They have said it would be by the end of the year. In that case they still have about 5 months.
Astennu is offline  
post #1902 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Landenberg, PA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astennu View Post
They have said it would be by the end of the year. In that case they still have about 5 months.
There's an early video on YouTube were the spokesperson says the date will be the 'first half' of 2017'....so they're late!
Jim
jreash is offline  
post #1903 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,723
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7306 Post(s)
Liked: 7335
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Don't regret it! get the 940E
The funny thing when comparing a TV to another, its not like they will be both in the same room to even compare in the end. Probably will not notice/miss anything.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1904 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 11:06 AM
Member
 
hirevn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Alaska
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHD AV View Post
I don't use apps in TV at all. In fact, it's not connected to the internet except for software updates. I infrequently use my Sony X800 apps. I'd rather have a $300 brick than a 6K brick.
My settings for UHD/HDR are close to the same with some necessary exceptions. Will post them later if desired.

Thanks for info, would be interested in trying them as well when you have time to post them.
hirevn is offline  
post #1905 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 12:36 PM
Member
 
dmb359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The TV is getting a Firmware update this month, for Alexa control (wonder if anything else exciting will be included....)

Source:
Press Release
List of models


Guess I'll need to get rid of my Google Home and get an Amazon Echo

Darren
Downstairs: Sony 75x940e, UBP-X800, HT-ST5000, & 2x 43x800d
Upstairs: Samsung 60KS8000 & a Sonos playbar
dmb359 is offline  
post #1906 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2155 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb359 View Post
The TV is getting a Firmware update this month, for Alexa control (wonder if anything else exciting will be included....)

Source:
Press Release
List of models


Guess I'll need to get rid of my Google Home and get an Amazon Echo
That would be two updates in one month.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite

Last edited by m_snow; 07-13-2017 at 01:25 PM.
m_snow is offline  
post #1907 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 01:31 PM
Member
 
dmb359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
That would be two updates in one month.
actually I'm wrong, this was the update that already happened last week it sounds like (per the Z9D thread).

Darren
Downstairs: Sony 75x940e, UBP-X800, HT-ST5000, & 2x 43x800d
Upstairs: Samsung 60KS8000 & a Sonos playbar
dmb359 is offline  
post #1908 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 04:04 PM
Member
 
UHD AV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Czickefoose View Post
Okay, so there is a way to turn off connection to the internet except to updates? And if I did this, do you think this would make using the menu options like the "action menu" faster? I'm just wondering if cutting the connection to the internet would help make that go faster.
No, it won't.
Think of the OS in the TV as if it were a "smart phone". Go into the apps and disable all (user apps) that you don't need/use and clear the cashed data. This should help OS and menu performance. Also reboot once a week. It gives mine a little more "pep". Remember, however, I don't use any of the apps; therefor, I don't have need for the internet connection except to update the software. I believe in the K I S S principle.
UHD AV is offline  
post #1909 of 9591 Old 07-13-2017, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHD AV View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Czickefoose View Post
Okay, so there is a way to turn off connection to the internet except to updates? And if I did this, do you think this would make using the menu options like the "action menu" faster? I'm just wondering if cutting the connection to the internet would help make that go faster.
No, it won't.
Think of the OS in the TV as if it were a "smart phone". Go into the apps and disable all (user apps) that you don't need/use and clear the cashed data. This should help OS and menu performance. Also reboot once a week. It gives mine a little more "pep". Remember, however, I don't use any of the apps; therefor, I don't have need for the internet connection except to update the software. I believe in the K I S S principle.
Yeah the reboot always makes it faster for me. Found that bit of info on a Google search. But I'll see if I can figure out how to disable the apps. I think it is stupid to have all these apps when we don't want them. Just like bloat ware on our phones I guess. They should allow for a TV only mode for us non app users to allow for faster experience should we want it. Especially at this price point. Know what I mean? A 5k tv should not have a sluggish menu, period. I do live this beast though so don't get me wrong. Once I have the settings just right using the me by will be less of an issue, however.
Czickefoose is offline  
post #1910 of 9591 Old 07-14-2017, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHD AV View Post
See post 1576. My settings for general content (Cable).
Went to look it up, pretty sure you mean 1567.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post53597265

Will try those this weekend, thanks. Hoping it will clear up some of the cloudyness I see in pans on cable.

Buncha savages in this town.... - Clerks

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #1911 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Does anyone know if the X940e is a 8 or 10 bit panel? Is there any 12 bit panels yet?

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
RL616 is offline  
post #1912 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2155 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
Quote:
Originally Posted by RL616 View Post
Does anyone know if the X940e is a 8 or 10 bit panel? Is there any 12 bit panels yet?

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
It uses Sony's X1Extreme chip and handles the HDR10 10-bit color depth. There are no 12-bit consumer panels that I'm aware of.

http://www.rtings.com/tv/tests/picture-quality/gradient
King Richard likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #1913 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 12:10 PM
Newbie
 
sbrage2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just joined the 940e club. Definitely an upgrade from my 5 year old Samsung 60" LED. Needless to say I'm blown away by the picture! My only gripe so far (and it's minor) is the Android TV user interface. Does anyone know of a decent online guide for customizing the apps that appear on screen? Hate having to sift through bloatware to find the 3 or 4 apps I actually use. I've gone through all of Sony's online manuals but there's not much detail on Android TV. To be honest, there's not much detail on anything
King Richard likes this.

Sony X940e / Denon x1300w / Oppo UDP-203 / PS4 / Apple TV Gen 4 / ML Motion 30 (Center) / ML Motion SLM XLs (Fronts) / DefTech Supercube 2000 (Sub)
sbrage2000 is offline  
post #1914 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2155 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrage2000 View Post
Just joined the 940e club. Definitely an upgrade from my 5 year old Samsung 60" LED. Needless to say I'm blown away by the picture! My only gripe so far (and it's minor) is the Android TV user interface. Does anyone know of a decent online guide for customizing the apps that appear on screen? Hate having to sift through bloatware to find the 3 or 4 apps I actually use. I've gone through all of Sony's online manuals but there's not much detail on Android TV. To be honest, there's not much detail on anything
Take a look at post #13675 in the X930E thread and start there. Don't do the process reduction though because it doesn't stick. The biggest things for improvement are turning off the 3 animation settings and the Sony Shelf settings.
m_snow is offline  
post #1915 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
sbrage2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks m_snow. But are you referring to the 930e owners thread? That one only goes up to post #1588.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Take a look at post #13675 in the X930E thread and start there. Don't do the process reduction though because it doesn't stick. The biggest things for improvement are turning off the 3 animation settings and the Sony Shelf settings.

Sony X940e / Denon x1300w / Oppo UDP-203 / PS4 / Apple TV Gen 4 / ML Motion 30 (Center) / ML Motion SLM XLs (Fronts) / DefTech Supercube 2000 (Sub)
sbrage2000 is offline  
post #1916 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2155 Post(s)
Liked: 1421
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrage2000 View Post
Thanks m_snow. But are you referring to the 930e owners thread? That one only goes up to post #1588.
Sorry it's 1349, follow the link and the poster I was responding to.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post53831409
sbrage2000 likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #1917 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 10:42 PM
Newbie
 
sbrage2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the link! Haven't done everything that was suggested but I think I have it to a place where I'm content. Will likely go back to using Apple TV when they get around to adding 4K/HDR but for now I'm happy to live with those last few apps I can't get rid of haha.



Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Sorry it's 1349, follow the link and the poster I was responding to.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post53831409
m_snow likes this.

Sony X940e / Denon x1300w / Oppo UDP-203 / PS4 / Apple TV Gen 4 / ML Motion 30 (Center) / ML Motion SLM XLs (Fronts) / DefTech Supercube 2000 (Sub)
sbrage2000 is offline  
post #1918 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 11:18 PM
Member
 
ebasol1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know I should turn on Enhanced HDMI for the input that is connected to my UHD blu ray player, but I have 3 questions: 1) any corresponding setting need to be set on my UHD blu ray player? (Oppo 203); 2) is enhanced OK even when my UHD blu ray player is playing a regular (non-UHD blu ray)?; and 3) if all my sources are connected, via a receiver, to that enhanced HDMI input, is there a problem with feeding regular 1080p content to that input (e.g., Apple TV)?

Thanks.
ebasol1 is offline  
post #1919 of 9591 Old 07-15-2017, 11:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,897
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2412 Post(s)
Liked: 3089
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Sorry it's 1349, follow the link and the poster I was responding to.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post53831409
Thanks! worked like a charm
m_snow likes this.
audiofan1 is online now  
post #1920 of 9591 Old 07-16-2017, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
ROMIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Picture Mode Settings

When setting up different picture modes for different viewing/gaming conditions, it was my understanding that the picture mode should stay the same for each individual input. It stays the same when I stream directly from the TV apps, but my XBox One and PS4 will default to whatever I used last on the other device, if that makes sense. As an example, if I have Cinema Home set on my Xbox, then when I boot up my PS4, it will be on Cinema Home rather than Game like it might have been the last time I used it. I want my XBox to keep Cinema Home since I use it for watching Blu-Rays and I want my PS4 to stay on Game since I only game on it.

If I had to guess, the issue is that they both feed into my AVR on different inputs, but both feed into the TV via the same output from the AVR. Is that what's causing the issue? I would assume that if I feed those devices directly to inputs on the TV I wouldn't have that issue, but I don't really want to do that.

Also, is there really no easier way to change picture modes than having to open the Action Menu and go to Picture Adjustments every single time? I would love to be able to program my Harmony remote to do some kind of one-button press for that, but I'm not certain its even possible.
ROMIL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
signal loss

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off