*OFFICIAL* 2017 Sony XBR-X940E - Owner's ONLY Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 82 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8607Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 9213 Old 08-29-2017, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
So even If I buy the genuine Sony wall mount Brackets I still cannot put the plastic covers back on again?
That I can't speak of as I never considered buying them. Sorry

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
AKG1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 9213 Old 08-29-2017, 07:43 PM
Member
 
bkkchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Display Menu Overlay

Anyone know how to stop this?

50% of the time when I push a button on my universal remote the 'Display' overlay comes up on the TV and momentarily dims the screen content. Kind of annoying when your navigating around content and that overlay keeps popping up and the screen dims... Any idea how to change this? Maybe a setting on the TV?
bkkchris is offline  
post #2433 of 9213 Old 08-29-2017, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1583 Post(s)
Liked: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkkchris View Post
Anyone know how to stop this?

50% of the time when I push a button on my universal remote the 'Display' overlay comes up on the TV and momentarily dims the screen content. Kind of annoying when your navigating around content and that overlay keeps popping up and the screen dims... Any idea how to change this? Maybe a setting on the TV?
No but it sounds like an issue with your universal remote.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2434 of 9213 Old 08-30-2017, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
So even If I buy the genuine Sony wall mount Brackets I still cannot put the plastic covers back on again?
I have the genuine Sony mount and you can put all back pieces on except for the very center piece. So from the sides the back appears uniform. It also sits near flush against the wall which is nice.
Blackman likes this.
Kyle YDG is offline  
post #2435 of 9213 Old 08-30-2017, 10:24 PM
Member
 
lucacow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 33
*OFFICIAL* 2017 Sony XBR-X940E - Owner's Thread (No Price Talk)

Double post
lucacow is offline  
post #2436 of 9213 Old 08-30-2017, 10:24 PM
Member
 
lucacow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 33
*OFFICIAL* 2017 Sony XBR-X940E - Owner's Thread (No Price Talk)

[quote=lucacow;54720322]Much gratitude to all owners contributing on this thread, and @ROMIL and @FmaxTurboSi for their guidance. I'm in! Stoked, took delivery today, everything looks good thus far, no cracked screen.. Santa also brought Chanes LCR and a Denon X4300. Looking forward to reading all the posts l may have missed...




Name:  IMG_1789.JPG
Views: 905
Size:  481.3 KB

Doing Reno on new house... got the Sony mount as well.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
iatacs19, dominica, navidf and 4 others like this.

Last edited by lucacow; 08-30-2017 at 10:28 PM.
lucacow is offline  
post #2437 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 05:09 AM
Member
 
MK_ATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=lucacow;54720324]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucacow View Post
Much gratitude to all owners contributing on this thread, and @ROMIL and @FmaxTurboSi for their guidance. I'm in! Stoked, took delivery today, everything looks good thus far, no cracked screen.. Santa also brought Chanes LCR and a Denon X4300. Looking forward to reading all the posts l may have missed...




Attachment 2275630

Doing Reno on new house... got the Sony mount as well.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


What rack is that? Recommend it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MK_ATL is offline  
post #2438 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 05:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is everyone still using the Calibration settings that were offered by user 10K? (thanks for that) I followed the settings that were offered and felt the color a bit yellow (warm) I understand we are used to the glowing whites and when sets are properly calibrated it tends to be dialed down quite a bit. I was just curious what you were using. I did 2 different settings for 2 different inputs HDR and SDR. The SDR settings really softened the image from my Cox cable source. I attempted the banding test and did not find any areas of concern , I did however notice the corners in lighter screen colors darkening a bit but not overly concerned. .Any feedback is appreciated.
RacingSims is offline  
post #2439 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 337
No news from the IFA keynote on DV availability?

Buncha savages in this town.... - Clerks

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #2440 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5928
I'm not using grayscale settings, don't believe in that. Color temp Expert 1 should be as close to D6500 as possible without pro cal. It's too blue for me.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2441 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 06:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I'm not using grayscale settings, don't believe in that. Color temp Expert 1 should be as close to D6500 as possible without pro cal. It's too blue for me.
So you are not changing much in the setting and going with expert 1 color temp?
RacingSims is offline  
post #2442 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5928
I'm using close to with settings like Motion Flow, Smooth Gradation, etc... I just did not use any White Balance adjustments, set just it to Expert 1 and waiting on a pro cal.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2443 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by RacingSims View Post
Is everyone still using the Calibration settings that were offered by user 10K? (thanks for that) I followed the settings that were offered and felt the color a bit yellow (warm) I understand we are used to the glowing whites and when sets are properly calibrated it tends to be dialed down quite a bit. I was just curious what you were using. I did 2 different settings for 2 different inputs HDR and SDR. The SDR settings really softened the image from my Cox cable source. I attempted the banding test and did not find any areas of concern , I did however notice the corners in lighter screen colors darkening a bit but not overly concerned. .Any feedback is appreciated.
I have a spreadsheet with 10k's, gadgetfreak's, and RTings ratings all side-by-side, for comparison. My 940E is supposed to arrive tonight from 4-8pm.

Here's links to those settings, for your convenience:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...please-88.html

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post54584026

http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sony/x940e/settings


I intend to stop back here and share what I find/learn once I have a little time to fool around with it. But if you take the time to enter those settings into a spreadsheet to compare them side-by-side, you'll see there's a good bit of commonality. I don't anticipate deviating from that path by much.

I do, however, intend to run my Disney WOW! calibration disc, for SDR content, purely for comparison purposes to the SDR settings outlined in those links... just because I'm the kind of person that does that.
psuKinger is offline  
post #2444 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 08:07 AM
Member
 
lucacow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 33
[quote=MK_ATL;54721016]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucacow View Post



What rack is that? Recommend it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


It is a Mid Atlantic "Slim 5". Definitely recommend, solid quality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lucacow is offline  
post #2445 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,987
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6390 Post(s)
Liked: 6389
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKG1 View Post
That I can't speak of as I never considered buying them. Sorry
I would never buy a manufacturers wall mount, universal mounts are just to cheap and work on every TV.......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #2446 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
I would never buy a manufacturers wall mount, universal mounts are just to cheap and work on every TV.......
The one I have is pretty awesome, tilts in every direction and goes out pretty far, also sits nearly flushed to the wall. Can handle up to 85" TV. The flexibility is perfect when I'm playing video games.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
AKG1 is offline  
post #2447 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 198
well bought a 940e today. I'm done with oled. it's bs to pay that much money to see this crap during movies and shows...even games
I played both at the same time. You can see bars at the same time on both lg and the sony.

lg and sony are getting returned.

lg on left sony on right.




Here's to hoping the 940e won't have this crap!!!!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
trying my luck with sony a1e after what feels like being in jail when I look at 2 lg c7's I've had. Jailbars you can see in movies and games isn't acceptable for this kind of money. LG calls it "normal" maybe sony won't with same panel.
Threefiddie is offline  
post #2448 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,760
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Confusing post : which Sony set is that in the picture next to the LED OLED ? Is it the previous generation Sony XBR-75940D ?
MCaugusto is offline  
post #2449 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post
Confusing post : which Sony set is that in the picture next to the LED OLED ? Is it the previous generation Sony XBR-75940D ?
left is lg c7. right is sony a1e.
iatacs19 likes this.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
trying my luck with sony a1e after what feels like being in jail when I look at 2 lg c7's I've had. Jailbars you can see in movies and games isn't acceptable for this kind of money. LG calls it "normal" maybe sony won't with same panel.
Threefiddie is offline  
post #2450 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5928
I have noticed how uniform my 940E is compared to my E6, its crazy and I wasn't expecting it. Also, the Smooth Gradation Low makes a nice difference with content, and the Sony OLED has that. From a straight uniformity test, my 940 is great.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2451 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle YDG View Post
I have the genuine Sony mount and you can put all back pieces on except for the very center piece. So from the sides the back appears uniform. It also sits near flush against the wall which is nice.
I have 4 HDMI's to go in and my cables are thick. Hope there is enough turning circle for the three down the bottom and HDMI 4 on the side without problems otherwise I will have to leave the covers off.

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #2452 of 9213 Old 08-31-2017, 08:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Well, *very* early first impressions are basically EXACTLY what I would have expected.

First thing I did was flip on Live TV and work my way to some live football on ESPN by way of:
NVidia Shield --> Non-4K HDR capable AVR --> 940E

Out-of-the-box, with the picture setting set to "standard", the football game looks kinda like crap. I've bought/fiddled with/calibrated enough TVs to know that this is not surprising, and as a result I was not overly alarmed.

There was a 30-45 minute "learning curve" as I figured out how to work the menus and change the picture settings (harder to figure out than I think it should have been, but I got from A to B eventually), and after basically inputting the famous "10k SDR Settings", with the only exception being bumping the motion processing up a hair, more in line with GadgtFreaks... and man, what a difference.

I had very little doubt that this thing was going to look great for 4K UHD Netflix streaming and for full uncompressed 1080p Blu Ray streaming (via Plex on my NVidia Shield). I tried both of those next. First Netflix 4K UHD by way of the built-in Netflix app, and heading back to my AVR by way of ARC. And then back to my NVidia Shield running Plex to play some uncompressed Blu Rays. I set the TV to the out-of-the-box "CinemaHome" setting, and without any tinkering, yea, it looks pretty great for both of these applications. Probably room for improvement, as others (including 10k, GadgtFreak, and RTings) have all indicated. But yea. Props to Sony for having an out-of-the-box setting like that, that comes as close to the mark as I feel like this does.

My concern all along was Live TV, and particularly fast-motion sports. And my initial impressions, once I pounded the recommended settings into the "custom" setting, is, "this will work". Of course it doesn't look like Blu Ray. It's compressed 720p Comcast ESPN broadcast. But I am pleased to say that the picture is strong. I'm pleased.

Can't wait to play with it more tomorrow. I'm not AT ALL a hardcore gamer, but I'm looking forward to firing up some light gaming via Shield tomorrow and seeing how it does...
audiofan1 and Mystaken like this.

Last edited by psuKinger; 08-31-2017 at 08:22 PM.
psuKinger is offline  
post #2453 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 04:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Sorry for rehashing something that has probably already been hashed out multiple times, but I had a couple questions/problems with the internet speed tests that I ran last night via the built-in netflix app on the 940E.

My TV is connected via hardwired ethernet to a gigabit switch in my living room.

I ran a speed test in the built-in Netflix app on the 940E and got 23 mbps. That had me pretty salty, because i know my speeds are significantly better than that.

So I started a 4K UHD stream ("Friends from college") and I click on the "display info" button, and it says something like 15 mbps (not 23). Even worse. And the picture looks *good*, but not *great*. I thought my 1080p uncompressed blu ray rips through Plex (no HDR) looked better. And I know Netflix recommends 25 mbps (which i think is too low, as my PS3 used to regularly show peaks of 32 mbps for uncompressed 1080 SDR blu ray).

I pay for 205 mbps from Comcast.

I'd run a wireless speedtest on my phone not 1 hour earlier and got 160 mbps out in the sunroom (SHINFO: I'd wanted to retest in the worst-signal-area in the whole house, as I'd had to move my WAP as part of the process of making room for the 940E to sit).

So I plug my laptop directly into the same gigabit switch as the 940E, and run a speedtest on the laptop WHILE THE 940E continues to stream stream Friends from College in 4K UHD. I get 95 mbps on the laptop speed test, while connected to the same switch as the 940E, while the 940E is eating up some bandwidth streaming 4K UHD Netflix.

All the while, that little "info display" text never changes. Netflix continues to indicate it's streaming at 15 mbps.

So I end the stream and go back to the Netflix speed test on the 940E, and this time I get 73 mbps. This seems odd/surprises me, as my internet really doesn't change/vary like this from test to test... but at least this time it's good news, in that 73 mbps should make for a pretty great H.265 stream (even though I feel strongly I should be able to eat at well over 150 mbps).

What's the deal? Is there anything I can do to improve how fast this thing "eats" data?
psuKinger is offline  
post #2454 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5928
Most of the apps for Netflix I have tested on devices are 20-30, except the X800 and Shield which are 100-200mbps (I have 1 gig service). That being said, the devices that test out at 20mbps with the app, still hit Netflix 2160 HDR fine, and show 15.26 mbps in the popup menu.

I have been comparing Netflix and Amazon from the Shield, vs the X800, and I am going to keep using the X800 as my streaming device.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2455 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1583 Post(s)
Liked: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Sorry for rehashing something that has probably already been hashed out multiple times, but I had a couple questions/problems with the internet speed tests that I ran last night via the built-in netflix app on the 940E.

My TV is connected via hardwired ethernet to a gigabit switch in my living room.

I ran a speed test in the built-in Netflix app on the 940E and got 23 mbps. That had me pretty salty, because i know my speeds are significantly better than that.

So I started a 4K UHD stream ("Friends from college") and I click on the "display info" button, and it says something like 15 mbps (not 23). Even worse. And the picture looks *good*, but not *great*. I thought my 1080p uncompressed blu ray rips through Plex (no HDR) looked better. And I know Netflix recommends 25 mbps (which i think is too low, as my PS3 used to regularly show peaks of 32 mbps for uncompressed 1080 SDR blu ray).

I pay for 205 mbps from Comcast.

I'd run a wireless speedtest on my phone not 1 hour earlier and got 160 mbps out in the sunroom (SHINFO: I'd wanted to retest in the worst-signal-area in the whole house, as I'd had to move my WAP as part of the process of making room for the 940E to sit).

So I plug my laptop directly into the same gigabit switch as the 940E, and run a speedtest on the laptop WHILE THE 940E continues to stream stream Friends from College in 4K UHD. I get 95 mbps on the laptop speed test, while connected to the same switch as the 940E, while the 940E is eating up some bandwidth streaming 4K UHD Netflix.

All the while, that little "info display" text never changes. Netflix continues to indicate it's streaming at 15 mbps.

So I end the stream and go back to the Netflix speed test on the 940E, and this time I get 73 mbps. This seems odd/surprises me, as my internet really doesn't change/vary like this from test to test... but at least this time it's good news, in that 73 mbps should make for a pretty great H.265 stream (even though I feel strongly I should be able to eat at well over 150 mbps).

What's the deal? Is there anything I can do to improve how fast this thing "eats" data?
Go to the Netflix account portal and go to your account then "playback settings" and change it from "auto" to "high". Wait a day and you'll see the difference on the "check my network" Netflix speed check.

PS: you may have a gig switch but the Sony Ethernet interface is only 10/100. Shield is a gig.
psuKinger likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2456 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 06:59 AM
Member
 
ebdixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Sorry for rehashing something that has probably already been hashed out multiple times, but I had a couple questions/problems with the internet speed tests that I ran last night via the built-in netflix app on the 940E.

My TV is connected via hardwired ethernet to a gigabit switch in my living room.

I ran a speed test in the built-in Netflix app on the 940E and got 23 mbps. That had me pretty salty, because i know my speeds are significantly better than that.

So I started a 4K UHD stream ("Friends from college") and I click on the "display info" button, and it says something like 15 mbps (not 23). Even worse. And the picture looks *good*, but not *great*. I thought my 1080p uncompressed blu ray rips through Plex (no HDR) looked better. And I know Netflix recommends 25 mbps (which i think is too low, as my PS3 used to regularly show peaks of 32 mbps for uncompressed 1080 SDR blu ray).

I pay for 205 mbps from Comcast.

I'd run a wireless speedtest on my phone not 1 hour earlier and got 160 mbps out in the sunroom (SHINFO: I'd wanted to retest in the worst-signal-area in the whole house, as I'd had to move my WAP as part of the process of making room for the 940E to sit).

So I plug my laptop directly into the same gigabit switch as the 940E, and run a speedtest on the laptop WHILE THE 940E continues to stream stream Friends from College in 4K UHD. I get 95 mbps on the laptop speed test, while connected to the same switch as the 940E, while the 940E is eating up some bandwidth streaming 4K UHD Netflix.

All the while, that little "info display" text never changes. Netflix continues to indicate it's streaming at 15 mbps.

So I end the stream and go back to the Netflix speed test on the 940E, and this time I get 73 mbps. This seems odd/surprises me, as my internet really doesn't change/vary like this from test to test... but at least this time it's good news, in that 73 mbps should make for a pretty great H.265 stream (even though I feel strongly I should be able to eat at well over 150 mbps).

What's the deal? Is there anything I can do to improve how fast this thing "eats" data?
I really hope someone can get a good answer for this because I'm running into the exact same issue - through both the TV (940D) and Roku - especially with Netflix. My internet isn't as fast as yours (75mbs) but my Xbox One is connected to the same switch and is reporting 65-70 while the Netflix is showing 11 and the TV 15 or so. It doesn't seem to impact the image quality but it is still frustrating.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Denon X4200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, CDT-5800-C II's
SVS SB-16 Ultra x 2 / Emotiva XPA-5 Gen2
Sony XBR75X940D
XBox One X
ebdixson is offline  
post #2457 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Go to the Netflix account portal and go to your account then "playback settings" and change it from "auto" to "high". Wait a day and you'll see the difference on the "check my network" Netflix speed check.

PS: you may have a gig switch but the Sony Ethernet interface is only 10/100. Shield is a gig.
Nice tip.

Just to clarify, are we talking about a setting within the Netflix app on my 940E, or is this a global account setting from the Netflix website?
psuKinger is offline  
post #2458 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,112
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1411
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Nice tip.

Just to clarify, are we talking about a setting within the Netflix app on my 940E, or is this a global account setting from the Netflix website?
I just did it through the actual website. Didn't even know this setting existed.

LG 77C8, Sony 75x940E, LG 65B7, LG 65EF9500, LG 55E6, LG 55UB8200, 2 TCL 49S515's
2 Apple 4K TVs, 2 LG UP970's, 2 Samsung UBD-K8500s, WD 4TB NAS
Nvidia Shield, Wii U, Playstation 3
Gillietalls is offline  
post #2459 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1583 Post(s)
Liked: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Nice tip.

Just to clarify, are we talking about a setting within the Netflix app on my 940E, or is this a global account setting from the Netflix website?
Playback settings on the Netflix website. Here's a couple of screenshots. Sometimes it takes about a day to take effect.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2093.PNG
Views:	113
Size:	211.1 KB
ID:	2276398   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2094.PNG
Views:	109
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	2276400  
davehale and psuKinger like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #2460 of 9213 Old 09-01-2017, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1583 Post(s)
Liked: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillietalls View Post
I just did it through the actual website. Didn't even know this setting existed.
Yeah you would think they would tell you this when you upgrade to 4K. I found out about this on this forum several months ago.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
signal loss

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off