TCL Launches P-Series & C-Series 4K Roku TVs with HDR Dolby Vision Launch - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1218Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1431 Old 06-23-2017, 02:50 PM
Member
 
mrpsv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 26
For any Canadian's following this thread, TCL on FaceBook have said there are no plans for this TV to be sold in Canada
patt_itt likes this.
mrpsv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1431 Old 06-23-2017, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by beq View Post
Is TCL's S405 value 4K series worth buying as a gift for older, non-videophile family members who are accustomed to Roku?

I see that Rtings already reviewed the S305 value HD series, is it likely to apply to the S405 as well? Or could the S405's HDR10 support mean significantly better PQ than the S305 (higher nits for example, even without the wide gamut support)?

One concern is if the 2017 S models use slower hardware than the P and C, as I heard previous TCL Roku TV generations could be slower than the stand-alone boxes.

Otherwise, Costco's 55S403 (variant of the 55S405) has a really good price, tempting...
I think the s403 is last years model no?

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #1113 of 1431 Old 06-23-2017, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
I think the s403 is last years model no?
No. The manual covers the 401, 403, and 405. Last year's sets didn't have HDR.
theboomr likes this.
rockaway1836 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1114 of 1431 Old 06-23-2017, 10:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post
No. The manual covers the 401, 403, and 405. Last year's sets didn't have HDR.
Thanks for that, ill have to check out costco, any one know if it will play a 4k hevc file through the roku media player?

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #1115 of 1431 Old 06-23-2017, 10:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
Thanks for that, ill have to check out costco, any one know if it will play a 4k hevc file through the roku media player?
I believe it's supposed to, haven't tested it out on my P607 yet though.
theboomr is offline  
post #1116 of 1431 Old 06-26-2017, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kleenex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 207
http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/tcl/p607

The newest review is out!
theboomr likes this.
kleenex is offline  
post #1117 of 1431 Old 06-26-2017, 06:39 PM
Member
 
rrskda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleenex View Post
Very good for the price, but those narrow viewing angles on the black level are still disappointing. Also wonder why the contrast ratio measurement is so different from what AVS got. It's still very good though!
rrskda is offline  
post #1118 of 1431 Old 06-26-2017, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrskda View Post
Very good for the price, but those narrow viewing angles on the black level are still disappointing. Also wonder why the contrast ratio measurement is so different from what AVS got. It's still very good though!
I suspect the panel lottery. A good panel will not have any clouding and so will have a higher native contrast. I am so happy I decided to wait for the 65 inch one. cant wait!
theboomr likes this.
akmandal is offline  
post #1119 of 1431 Old 06-26-2017, 11:41 PM
Member
 
babator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrskda View Post
Very good for the price, but those narrow viewing angles on the black level are still disappointing. Also wonder why the contrast ratio measurement is so different from what AVS got. It's still very good though!
The difference in native contrast results of 7800:1 vs. 6400:1 is about 20%, which is not a lot, and easily explainable by panel variance, possible meter inaccuracy at low luminances, and even slightly different measurement procedures.
babator is offline  
post #1120 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 05:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
cah95046's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Confirms reflection % P607 2.4%

http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/tcl/p607


Confirms reflection %

P607 2.4%

KS8000 0.4% (for reference)

The only weakness this TV has for my viewing environment (normal to dim lighting)

The TCL is 6X worse! This is a major oversight on TCL 's part. What good is a good is a great native contrast ratio and a FALD if room reflections severely limit black levels?

Last edited by cah95046; 06-27-2017 at 06:31 AM.
cah95046 is offline  
post #1121 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,250
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 871 Post(s)
Liked: 282
I don't understand why they're focusing the 65" panels towards the C models rather than the P. I guess they think more people will go for the cheaper C models.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #1122 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 01:05 PM
Member
 
sharky974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 26
For people wanting this at Target I asked their facebook page and TCL said yes Target will be selling the "607" (So I guess hints could be one or both 55 and 65). But they are unsure when, online or in-store.
sharky974 is offline  
post #1123 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
I don't understand why they're focusing the 65" panels towards the C models rather than the P. I guess they think more people will go for the cheaper C models.
The C Series is more expensive.
theboomr is offline  
post #1124 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 04:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Why are these models coming so late in the year compared to other brands? I was originally looking at a 49" Sony X900E, but I can't see paying Sony's prices for literally DOUBLE the input lag...especially from a company that makes game consoles! A 50" would fit good, but I'm not waiting until fall for them to release it. Are they really not going to have the 50" out before September? At rate, I might as well wait for next year's models or at least Black Friday. I could afford the 55" TCL, but it's bigger than what I want. I sit at a desk with 3 screens. I've got a 40" right now, and I planned on getting another 40" to have TVs on stands in front of and on the sides of the desk so the config ends up a 50" in the middle with a 40 on each side.
NoLifeDGenerate is offline  
post #1125 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 05:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Really? New members can't edit their posts? I'm not seeing the option. How the hell can that be abused? Anyway, I also wanted to point out that these "cheap" TVs also have all their HDMI inputs full bandwidth, while Sony's don't. I'm curious as to why the specs I saw list HDMI 2.0a instead of B though.
NoLifeDGenerate is offline  
post #1126 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,202
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Liked: 2295
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoLifeDGenerate View Post
Really? New members can't edit their posts? I'm not seeing the option. How the hell can that be abused? Anyway, I also wanted to point out that these "cheap" TVs also have all their HDMI inputs full bandwidth, while Sony's don't. I'm curious as to why the specs I saw list HDMI 2.0a instead of B though.
Slow your roll...let me know what you want to edit and I'll take care of it for you

Ron
rboster is offline  
post #1127 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 07:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post
Slow your roll...let me know what you want to edit and I'll take care of it for you

Ron
I was trying to add to my previous comment rather than reply twice in a row. That should've been obvious.
NoLifeDGenerate is offline  
post #1128 of 1431 Old 06-27-2017, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,202
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Liked: 2295
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoLifeDGenerate View Post
I was trying to add to my previous comment rather than reply twice in a row. That should've been obvious.
As a moderator, I would suggest taking the aggression down notch.
rboster is offline  
post #1129 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
maverick22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Can anyone comment if the 60hz is an issue?

Also, if anyone has DirecTV how is the PQ with this TV (sports in particular)?

I feel like I'd get more answers posting in the owner's thread, but I don't own one. Waiting on the 65".

Thanks.
maverick22 is offline  
post #1130 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick22 View Post
Can anyone comment if the 60hz is an issue?

Also, if anyone has DirecTV how is the PQ with this TV (sports in particular)?

I feel like I'd get more answers posting in the owner's thread, but I don't own one. Waiting on the 65".

Thanks.
The 60hz is not an issue for me at all. At one point I noticed that my Blu Rays were exhibiting a lot of ghosting, and no other sources were doing so; however, I managed to diagnose the problem and I found out that the Noise Reduction setting had been enabled in the advanced settings in the Roku mobile app. I probably enabled it by accident when I was messing around after first getting the TV. After turning that off, zero ghosting whatsoever.

I don't watch any sports so I can't comment on that, nor do I have DirecTV. But in all my own viewing uses, there has been zero problems with the 60hz.
theboomr is offline  
post #1131 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 11:35 AM
Member
 
philly33flyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4K Content

Has anyone gotten to watch any 4K content on this thing? I set up Netflix for the 4 screen 4K plan, signed in and started up Stranger Things. I also set my TV to show banner when Dolby Vision is being displayed through the settings.

Yet, I don't ever see the banner and I'm not sure that I'm getting a 4K stream. Internet connection is AT&T Fiber 1Gbps. Is there a way to tell what the stream resolution is or if I'm really seeing 4K? I assume the banner doesn't work as I've never seen it pop up.

Thanks in advance.
philly33flyers is offline  
post #1132 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
maverick22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by theboomr View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick22 View Post
Can anyone comment if the 60hz is an issue?

Also, if anyone has DirecTV how is the PQ with this TV (sports in particular)?

I feel like I'd get more answers posting in the owner's thread, but I don't own one. Waiting on the 65".

Thanks.
The 60hz is not an issue for me at all. At one point I noticed that my Blu Rays were exhibiting a lot of ghosting, and no other sources were doing so; however, I managed to diagnose the problem and I found out that the Noise Reduction setting had been enabled in the advanced settings in the Roku mobile app. I probably enabled it by accident when I was messing around after first getting the TV. After turning that off, zero ghosting whatsoever.

I don't watch any sports so I can't comment on that, nor do I have DirecTV. But in all my own viewing uses, there has been zero problems with the 60hz.
Yes I remember reading your post when you saw the ghosting at first. I watch a ton of blu-rays so this would be important to me as well. Glad you found the fix for it!

Thanks
theboomr likes this.
maverick22 is offline  
post #1133 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by philly33flyers View Post
Has anyone gotten to watch any 4K content on this thing? I set up Netflix for the 4 screen 4K plan, signed in and started up Stranger Things. I also set my TV to show banner when Dolby Vision is being displayed through the settings.

Yet, I don't ever see the banner and I'm not sure that I'm getting a 4K stream. Internet connection is AT&T Fiber 1Gbps. Is there a way to tell what the stream resolution is or if I'm really seeing 4K? I assume the banner doesn't work as I've never seen it pop up.

Thanks in advance.
The HDR popup does work for HDR10 content, but there has been some debate about whether it works for DV content. Does Stranger Things have Dolby Vision? I currently don't have the 4K Netflix plan so I haven't checked. However, check out Meridian on Netflix, it's a 7 minute short film that is specifically designed to showcase HDR capabilities. Also, I believe you can press the * button on the remote when an episode/movie is selected, before playing it, and that will bring up some stats about resolution etc. At least that's what others have said here. I haven't tried it myself yet.
theboomr is offline  
post #1134 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Antarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by philly33flyers View Post
Has anyone gotten to watch any 4K content on this thing? I set up Netflix for the 4 screen 4K plan, signed in and started up Stranger Things. I also set my TV to show banner when Dolby Vision is being displayed through the settings.
Stranger things is just regular 4k, no hdr for it. Look for other stuff, for example war machine is dv.
theboomr likes this.
Antarius is offline  
post #1135 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 06:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by theboomr View Post
The 60hz is not an issue for me at all. At one point I noticed that my Blu Rays were exhibiting a lot of ghosting, and no other sources were doing so; however, I managed to diagnose the problem and I found out that the Noise Reduction setting had been enabled in the advanced settings in the Roku mobile app. I probably enabled it by accident when I was messing around after first getting the TV. After turning that off, zero ghosting whatsoever.

I don't watch any sports so I can't comment on that, nor do I have DirecTV. But in all my own viewing uses, there has been zero problems with the 60hz.
so...we can't have DNR on? Hope this gets fixed in a firmware update.
NoLifeDGenerate is offline  
post #1136 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 07:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoLifeDGenerate View Post
so...we can't have DNR on? Hope this gets fixed in a firmware update.
I mean, you can, but it causes ghosting, at least on 24p content like Blu Ray...I was under the impression that most people don't like extra processing like noise reduction anyway.
theboomr is offline  
post #1137 of 1431 Old 06-29-2017, 07:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by theboomr View Post
I mean, you can, but it causes ghosting, at least on 24p content like Blu Ray...I was under the impression that most people don't like extra processing like noise reduction anyway.
Well, I happen to prefer it. I hope the Oppo 203 has an option for it at least. I guess the 103 does a little bit, so I could keep using that for regular BDs.
NoLifeDGenerate is offline  
post #1138 of 1431 Old 07-01-2017, 06:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kleenex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 207
https://www.cnet.com/products/tcl-55p605/review/


The CNET Review was out a couple days ago.
kleenex is offline  
post #1139 of 1431 Old 07-01-2017, 07:02 PM
Member
 
rrskda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 44
So I got the p605 today from BB but will have to exchange due to a dead pixel right in the middle of the screen, see attached. All I can say about the picture quality is that the glare is non issue for me, much less than the ST60 I had before. Brightness easily overcomes it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170701_174912_1498957179085.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	284.3 KB
ID:	2213817  
rrskda is offline  
post #1140 of 1431 Old 07-02-2017, 09:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Who the hell sells these and when can we expect them restocked??? I'm not seeing it listed at B&H or Crutchfield. I'd like a tax free option.

Last edited by NoLifeDGenerate; 07-02-2017 at 10:04 AM.
NoLifeDGenerate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
c-series , hdr , p-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off