OFFICIAL 2017 Sony X850E Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 20 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 213Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 594 Old 11-07-2018, 07:58 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,787
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2186 Post(s)
Liked: 4090
Threads merged.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 594 Old 12-08-2018, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Loren Kruse.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: West Texas
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 26
SONY SUPPORTXBR-65X850E | Firmware update to v6.5805

Oreo 8.0 is here with improved menus and performance! If you haven't updated before this is the update to get!

Version 6.5805
https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00015669


  • Improves the Home screen menu for better usability
  • Improves the keyboard design
  • Improves the Search function using Google Assistant
  • Resolves a picture quality issues in Netflix Dolby Vision content
  • Resolves a DTV 1080i flashing issue
  • Resolves a condition where there is no sound at times when playing the UHD BD movie “Dunkirk”
  • Resolves a condition where the TV switches from Standby to Semi Standby periodically and switches on any connected AV Receiver via HDMI CEC without reason
oktoberrust11 and Edllguy like this.

Last edited by Loren Kruse.; 12-08-2018 at 11:46 AM.
Loren Kruse. is offline  
post #573 of 594 Old 12-28-2018, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Reduced brightness/contrast after Dec. 2018 FW update?

X850E was prompting me to install software update at evey power-up so I did the install just before Christmas 2018. I left for a few days and now it SEEMS as though the picture quality is worse. Mainly it seems to have less brightness/contrast. Thinking the update might have rest the picture settings to default, I've tried adjusting with some improvement but it still does not seem as it was before. I don't think I had to have brightness at max and color cranked up. I was really happy with the TV before, except for some minor clouding and horrible menu lag. Menu is slightly better but picture seems worse. Anyone else notice a difference in picture quality after the udpate? Maybe it's just me.
jodiuh and MSM99 like this.
boboroberts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #574 of 594 Old 01-06-2019, 05:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loren Kruse. View Post
SONY SUPPORTXBR-65X850E | Firmware update to v6.5805

Oreo 8.0 is here with improved menus and performance! If you haven't updated before this is the update to get!

Version 6.5805
https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00015669


  • Improves the Home screen menu for better usability
  • Improves the keyboard design
  • Improves the Search function using Google Assistant
  • Resolves a picture quality issues in Netflix Dolby Vision content
  • Resolves a DTV 1080i flashing issue
  • Resolves a condition where there is no sound at times when playing the UHD BD movie “Dunkirk”
  • Resolves a condition where the TV switches from Standby to Semi Standby periodically and switches on any connected AV Receiver via HDMI CEC without reason
I haven’t been prompted to update and manual system update check returns that I’m up to date. Do you know if it’s normal that the rollout hasn’t reached me yet? I’m from Canada, maybe they rolled it out only for US?
belkbuzze is offline  
post #575 of 594 Old 02-02-2019, 12:46 AM
Senior Member
 
jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by boboroberts View Post
X850E was prompting me to install software update at evey power-up so I did the install just before Christmas 2018. I left for a few days and now it SEEMS as though the picture quality is worse. Mainly it seems to have less brightness/contrast. Thinking the update might have rest the picture settings to default, I've tried adjusting with some improvement but it still does not seem as it was before. I don't think I had to have brightness at max and color cranked up. I was really happy with the TV before, except for some minor clouding and horrible menu lag. Menu is slightly better but picture seems worse. Anyone else notice a difference in picture quality after the udpate? Maybe it's just me.
I hadn’t been doing muchtv watching for awhile and started back up around the beginning of January. I feel like the black levels have increased and especially in hdr 4K movies, color is bland.

Thanks for brining this to my attention. I chalked it up to the tv getting older. I wonder what I can do to change this? Everything just looks gray. It’s like the panel flipped from a va to an ips. ;|

What firmware do you have? I’m looking at 6.5629.

Last edited by jodiuh; 02-02-2019 at 12:51 AM.
jodiuh is offline  
post #576 of 594 Old 02-11-2019, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The updated wasn’t showing up for me yet so I manually updated it via a USB drive.

I highly recommend this update as it has dramatically increased the response time for the all menus.

It works so well I updated all three of my Sony TVs.
todd1010 is offline  
post #577 of 594 Old 02-12-2019, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
liamtoh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
This recent post prompted me to check for firmware updates on Sony website and noticed a new version (v6.5830) released on Jan-22-2019.
Benefits and improvements from the latest update

  • Improves general performance of the TV
  • Prevents an issue where the TV picture becomes dim after the software update
liamtoh1 is offline  
post #578 of 594 Old 02-17-2019, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd1010 View Post
The updated wasn’t showing up for me yet so I manually updated it via a USB drive.

I highly recommend this update as it has dramatically increased the response time for the all menus.

It works so well I updated all three of my Sony TVs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by liamtoh1 View Post
This recent post prompted me to check for firmware updates on Sony website and noticed a new version (v6.5830) released on Jan-22-2019.
Benefits and improvements from the latest update

  • Improves general performance of the TV
  • Prevents an issue where the TV picture becomes dim after the software update
Definitely do notice and appreciate the super fast response times!

But I’m having arc issues now. Every time I turn the tv on, I have to toggle arc on my receiver to pass audio through.
JP32 likes this.
jodiuh is offline  
post #579 of 594 Old 02-18-2019, 09:48 AM
Member
 
BLMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Finally the Oreo update showed up here, so far so good. I did notice it got slightly dimmer but not so bad, will se how long the new update correcting this takes to show up.
JP32 likes this.

Living Room: Mitsubishi WD82738 1080p 3D, Onkyo HT-9400 THX 7.1, Oppo DV-980H, Sony BDP-S6500 (Multi Region), Roku 2 XS
Bedroom: Sony XBR-65-850E 4K, PS4 launch edition, Sony UBP-X800
Basement: Sony XBR-75-Z9D 4K 3D, Marantz SR-8012 11.2, B&W 7.1 set, KEF Q50AB, Marantz TT-15S1, CA CXUHD, PS4 Pro, PSVR Bundle, PS3 60GB 1st gen.
BLMN is offline  
post #580 of 594 Old 03-29-2019, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 38
This most recent FW update has been bad for me. Ever since I got it, when I try to turn on my 75" it locks up/freezes on boot up, pffft, I have to unplug the tv, plug it back in, then it will fire up all the way....a scary feeling every time. I wonder if we can revert back to the previous SW version?
JP32 likes this.
Schils is offline  
post #581 of 594 Old 03-29-2019, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schils View Post
This most recent FW update has been bad for me. Ever since I got it, when I try to turn on my 75" it locks up/freezes on boot up, pffft, I have to unplug the tv, plug it back in, then it will fire up all the way....a scary feeling every time. I wonder if we can revert back to the previous SW version?
I don't know when my 65" set was updated, but I have noticed there is usually now a ~20 second delay from when I turn on the set to when it will register button presses (changing inputs, etc). Very laggy.

My one/main gripe with this set overall is the UI; Android TV, the settings, and the remote (the button layout/"clicki-ness"/etc.) are probably enough for me not to purchase another Sony set.
JP32 likes this.

My Area: Sony XBR65X850E / Marantz NR1608 / Polk Speakers / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro | Dining Room: Samsung UN55LS03N ("The Frame" 2018) | Bedroom: TCL 49S405 (Roku TV)
Nuvo Player Portfolio Whole-Home Audio System (P4300, P200, P10 keypad, P30 tablet)
Xbox Live: oktober rust | PSN: oktoberrust11 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11
oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #582 of 594 Old 03-29-2019, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 38
^^^^ Thanks for that. I'll try again today and give it more time now before assuming its locked up based on your comment...but I'm almost positive that's not the issue because during the little animated splash of the "Android" graphic, I literally see it freeze up (the animation stops) and it's hopelessly frozen..only thing that works is unplugging it. Never did this until the new FW, always started right up. Weird.
JP32 likes this.
Schils is offline  
post #583 of 594 Old 03-29-2019, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 52
So I was just watching Xfinity, and I pressed the Home button to see if I could get the MLB.TV app on the TV; it would load the Home screen for 1-2 seconds, flash black, then load the home screen, then flash black, over and over. Almost like it just kept resetting.

Something is definitely broke with this software update.
JP32 likes this.

My Area: Sony XBR65X850E / Marantz NR1608 / Polk Speakers / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro | Dining Room: Samsung UN55LS03N ("The Frame" 2018) | Bedroom: TCL 49S405 (Roku TV)
Nuvo Player Portfolio Whole-Home Audio System (P4300, P200, P10 keypad, P30 tablet)
Xbox Live: oktober rust | PSN: oktoberrust11 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11
oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #584 of 594 Old 03-29-2019, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Any of you guys having problems with ARC? Every time I turn the TV off, I have to play with the AV receiver to get it working again. It's kind of a pain because it switches inputs and I have to go back to the app.
jodiuh is offline  
post #585 of 594 Old 04-09-2019, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need ARC Help...

I am stumped... I can not get the ARC return to work. My X850 is connected to a Yamaha RX-A3070. When I stream content from my tv the sound from the Sony apps do not play correctly through my receiver; a very low level is output from the front surround sound speakers... can someone please help me figure out what I am doing wrong?
John87111 is offline  
post #586 of 594 Old 04-09-2019, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by John87111 View Post
I am stumped... I can not get the ARC return to work. My X850 is connected to a Yamaha RX-A3070. When I stream content from my tv the sound from the Sony apps do not play correctly through my receiver; a very low level is output from the front surround sound speakers... can someone please help me figure out what I am doing wrong?
The only thing I had to change was the ARC on/off setting on a Yamaha receiver. You might try removing the receiver from the Bravia sync settings and adding it again. Other than flipping on and off other audio settings or factory resetting, you'll probably have to wait for an update. I feel your pain tho.
jodiuh is offline  
post #587 of 594 Old 04-20-2019, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thanks for the mentioning your experiences with the update, fellas... I've been avoiding it until I could come visit and get some feedback on it. I'll continue avoiding, now.


The edge light issue is really bugging me now... might try discussing the issue with the TV insurance company. They'll probably tell me it's 'standard operation' or some nonsense, but it's worth a shot.
JP32 is offline  
post #588 of 594 Old 04-20-2019, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
Thanks for the mentioning your experiences with the update, fellas... I've been avoiding it until I could come visit and get some feedback on it. I'll continue avoiding, now.


The edge light issue is really bugging me now... might try discussing the issue with the TV insurance company. They'll probably tell me it's 'standard operation' or some nonsense, but it's worth a shot.
Are you seeing some backlight bleed on the sides?

The only real issue I have is the vertical banding when a show or film pans from left to right. I’ve gotten used to it tho.
jodiuh is offline  
post #589 of 594 Old 04-20-2019, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jodiuh View Post
Are you seeing some backlight bleed on the sides?

The only real issue I have is the vertical banding when a show or film pans from left to right. I’ve gotten used to it tho.

The ridiculous amount of light bleeding/clouding is what I'm talking about... pics attached (from The Dark Knight - 4K BD). Looks like I took the pics with a flash on the camera, lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190420_211847.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	253.6 KB
ID:	2556286   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190420_212353.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	210.8 KB
ID:	2556288  
JP32 is offline  
post #590 of 594 Old 04-21-2019, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
The ridiculous amount of light bleeding/clouding is what I'm talking about... pics attached (from The Dark Knight - 4K BD). Looks like I took the pics with a flash on the camera, lol.
What’s your backlight set to? FWIW, I keep mine @ 0 for all content.

I’ll snap a pic later, but I don’t see any clouding or bleed. I’m sure I would if the backlight was cranked.

For HDR content, I find cranking the gamma up to 3 eliminates the need for any added backlight. Given that we don’t have zones, all the backlight does is increase brightness across the board. So a tree next to the sun will still be at the same brightness. Maybe that will help?

Here’s a couple photos with lights off and on so you can see there is letterboxing.This is with backlight @ 0. Like I said, I’m sure it would be worse if I ran that higher.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2D33CE72-CAFD-4BF7-8947-BB8D49A204F3_1555897685056.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	2556656   Click image for larger version

Name:	0A8B2399-EECB-41B1-87E3-0824A51C055D_1555897693083.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	2556658  

Last edited by jodiuh; 04-23-2019 at 05:54 PM.
jodiuh is offline  
post #591 of 594 Old 06-15-2019, 02:57 AM
Member
 
bipartite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware v6.6510 release for Series E

Has anyone tried this update? Trying to find out if it messes anything up. Thanks.
bipartite is offline  
post #592 of 594 Old 06-15-2019, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
jodiuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bipartite View Post
Has anyone tried this update? Trying to find out if it messes anything up. Thanks.
I think I’m on the firmware version just before this to finally fix the arc issue. So this looks like the next one and I’m not going anywhere near it. The update that actually triggered the arc issue had no disclaimer on it and then a couple weeks later there was a note that this could totally screw up your system. So even though my TV has frozen at those four dots maybe once in two or three weeks there’s no way I’m gonna put myself through the potential of another arc disaster.

It’s all up to you but personally free I’m just gonna let the software update come through automatically from the TV’s automatic updater. I’m pretty sure the update that screwed up the ARC wasn’t pushed through automatically so if I would’ve just left things alone when I had to go through all that trouble. Let us know how it goes
jodiuh is offline  
post #593 of 594 Old 06-18-2019, 10:14 PM
Member
 
bipartite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually have v6.5850 on my 65x850e

I actually have v6.5850 on my 65x850e. I keep getting a little window in the upper right corner of my screen when I first turn on my tv (not all the time) that says I have an update waiting to be downloaded. I checked for details about the download. It says it is v6.6510 I have not installed it yet. I'm trying to find out on the internet if it screws up anything. Can't find much. I've always updated over my wi-fi have never used a usb to update. I guess for now I'll just ignore the update till I can find out more about it. Because my tv works fine right now.
bipartite is offline  
post #594 of 594 Old 07-15-2019, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My X850E started to show some cloudy PQ with dark pictures and when the background was a solid picture. I noticed it first watching Soccer two weeks ago. I touched base with Sony and they are willing to replace it with an X850F. I'm hesitant to go with the F because the reviews regarding black levels are not good. Anyone have any suggestions??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190710_130950_1563209084284.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	4.73 MB
ID:	2591074  

Last edited by SimplyTripleA; 07-15-2019 at 09:45 AM.
SimplyTripleA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off