*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 130 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4346Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3871 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by kibs View Post
Sorry my link didn't work first time. See below please.

https://imgur.com/a/hvLjV

Have had similar occasionally switching back forth between the apps, and my live TV which is an OTA Tivo connected to HDMA1. Does't happen all the time, but have seen it....I just turn the TV off then back on, all good.
cwick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3872 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
TheLongshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenStone View Post
This TV's legs would be a little too wide for my current media center. I'm looking for a stand that maybe attaches to the vesa holes in the back so the tv sits on something more toward the center.

I'd also like the TV to sit as close to the top of the media center as possible, as it's already pretty tall. Meaning as little a gap as possible from the top of the shelf it sits on to the bottom of the TV.

Any suggestions/experience, owners?

Also about how far from the bottom of the TV is the lowest vesa hole?

Thanks.
I use this stand.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01N0...1NL&ref=plSrch

Works great. My TV is about 3" above the table, but there is room to set it lower.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
Thrust-Bot and BenStone like this.
TheLongshot is offline  
post #3873 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLongshot View Post
I use this stand.

Works great. My TV is about 3" above the table, but there is room to set it lower.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
Awesome, this is exactly what I was just looking at. How much lower than three inches do you think you could go, hypothetically?
BenStone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3874 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
TheLongshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenStone View Post
Awesome, this is exactly what I was just looking at. How much lower than three inches do you think you could go, hypothetically?
You possibly could get it down to an inch. Doesn't look like anything would interfere. Note the IR receiver does sit underneath the TV.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
TheLongshot is offline  
post #3875 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLongshot View Post
You possibly could get it down to an inch. Doesn't look like anything would interfere. Note the IR receiver does sit underneath the TV.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
That sounds perfect. One last question: do the screws that come with it fit right/well?
BenStone is offline  
post #3876 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadLuckBryce View Post
Has anyone gotten good settings yet for hdr mode ? It looks vivid and colorful, but as soon as i fire up a game on my ps4 pro things look washed out...

I want to love this thing but so far it doesnt seem as colorful as my old toshiba 1080p tv.
Under Settings > TV Inputs > HDMI Mode, make sure it's set to 2.0 and not 1.4 or Auto.

LG 55C9PUA
Denon AVR-S930H Receiver
Philips BDP7502 UHD Bluray Player
Apple TV 4K - 32GB
PS4 Pro and Xbox One X
JohngPR is offline  
post #3877 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
TheLongshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenStone View Post
That sounds perfect. One last question: do the screws that come with it fit right/well?
Yes. It comes with all sorts of screws. In general, it is a well made product and is remarkably stable even with just a 10cm width. I very much recommend it.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
BenStone likes this.
TheLongshot is offline  
post #3878 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohngPR View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadLuckBryce View Post
Has anyone gotten good settings yet for hdr mode ? It looks vivid and colorful, but as soon as i fire up a game on my ps4 pro things look washed out...

I want to love this thing but so far it doesnt seem as colorful as my old toshiba 1080p tv.
Under Settings > TV Inputs > HDMI Mode, make sure it's set to 2.0 and not 1.4 or Auto.
Done and done. Didnt make a difference though ?
BadLuckBryce is offline  
post #3879 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLongshot View Post
Yes. It comes with all sorts of screws. In general, it is a well made product and is remarkably stable even with just a 10cm width. I very much recommend it.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
Thanks for all the info! Been debating whether or not to get this only because of the size perhaps being too much. I wanted something a little smaller so I was thinking about the Vizio M50-E1. But the value is just too great for this TCL. It will have to be a (more) giant TV in a rather small room.
BenStone is offline  
post #3880 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
It seems like I have a few pixels either stuck or dead on the screen. Any way to revive or run a video to unstick?

Also is using the headphone jack feature to watch The Punisher on Netflix. I'm only sitting about 10 to 15 feet from the TV and the audio cracks / pops and drops in/out

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #3881 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 06:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadLuckBryce View Post
Done and done. Didnt make a difference though ?
That sucks.

What are your settings? Have you looked at the expert picture settings on the Roku app? Just seeing if there’s anything that stands out that could be causing it.

LG 55C9PUA
Denon AVR-S930H Receiver
Philips BDP7502 UHD Bluray Player
Apple TV 4K - 32GB
PS4 Pro and Xbox One X
JohngPR is offline  
post #3882 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
amstel78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Anyone still not getting the version 8 update pushed through? Checked 2 days in a row now, and my 607 is still on 7.7.0. My Roku 4 in the bedroom auto updated to 8 as soon it became available.

I'm hesitant to do a reset just for an update as not only would I have to re-enter all calibration settings again, but streaming app credentials as well.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
theboomr likes this.
amstel78 is offline  
post #3883 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I still don’t have it either.
theboomr likes this.

LG 55C9PUA
Denon AVR-S930H Receiver
Philips BDP7502 UHD Bluray Player
Apple TV 4K - 32GB
PS4 Pro and Xbox One X
JohngPR is offline  
post #3884 of 6477 Old 11-19-2017, 10:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohngPR View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadLuckBryce View Post
Done and done. Didnt make a difference though ?
That sucks.

What are your settings? Have you looked at the expert picture settings on the Roku app? Just seeing if there?s anything that stands out that could be causing it.
In shd i have it set to vivid, bright, and colors left alone. Everything is really nice, full of color, no washed out look.

When i set my ps4 to hdr i tried bright hdr, bright setting, local dimming set to low, color at 45, sharpness at 5, backlight 100, game mode on. Things are at a loss for color. Maybe im crazy but i feel like having hdr on somehow takes away a lot.

On a side note, ps4 pro is set to 2160p -yuv420 and i also tried 2160p-rgb, hdr on, set the source to hdmi 2, using the cable that came with the ps4 and my own made no difference.
BadLuckBryce is offline  
post #3885 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 02:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadLuckBryce View Post
In shd i have it set to vivid, bright, and colors left alone. Everything is really nice, full of color, no washed out look.

When i set my ps4 to hdr i tried bright hdr, bright setting, local dimming set to low, color at 45, sharpness at 5, backlight 100, game mode on. Things are at a loss for color. Maybe im crazy but i feel like having hdr on somehow takes away a lot.

On a side note, ps4 pro is set to 2160p -yuv420 and i also tried 2160p-rgb, hdr on, set the source to hdmi 2, using the cable that came with the ps4 and my own made no difference.
vivid mode in sdr bumps the color setting to 60. that's likely the difference you're seeing.
henhowc is offline  
post #3886 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 03:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadLuckBryce View Post
In shd i have it set to vivid, bright, and colors left alone. Everything is really nice, full of color, no washed out look.

When i set my ps4 to hdr i tried bright hdr, bright setting, local dimming set to low, color at 45, sharpness at 5, backlight 100, game mode on. Things are at a loss for color. Maybe im crazy but i feel like having hdr on somehow takes away a lot.

On a side note, ps4 pro is set to 2160p -yuv420 and i also tried 2160p-rgb, hdr on, set the source to hdmi 2, using the cable that came with the ps4 and my own made no difference.
Try setting picture mode to Dark HDR, TV brightnes to Bright, local dimming to high, color to 50, and game mode off and see how that looks. I don't usually turn on game mode because I've heard it can sometimes turn off certain settings but you can try with it on as well and see what results you get. If you still find that the picture is washed out maybe you prefer a more colorful picture over accuracy. If so, vivid might be the way to go for you.

LG 55C9PUA
Denon AVR-S930H Receiver
Philips BDP7502 UHD Bluray Player
Apple TV 4K - 32GB
PS4 Pro and Xbox One X
JohngPR is offline  
post #3887 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 04:12 AM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by amstel78 View Post
Anyone still not getting the version 8 update pushed through? Checked 2 days in a row now, and my 607 is still on 7.7.0. My Roku 4 in the bedroom auto updated to 8 as soon it became available.

I'm hesitant to do a reset just for an update as not only would I have to re-enter all calibration settings again, but streaming app credentials as well.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
607 still at 7.7.0 here.
theboomr likes this.
cwick is offline  
post #3888 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 04:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Still got 7.7.0 also

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
theboomr likes this.
deweyii1 is offline  
post #3889 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
amstel78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Strange. I wonder what's preventing the update?

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
amstel78 is offline  
post #3890 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Desert Rat 23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by amstel78 View Post
Strange. I wonder what's preventing the update?

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
Me too, but i'm going to wait and let it update itself. I'm not going to reset for an update
Desert Rat 23 is offline  
post #3891 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JT78681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 3,436
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1526 Post(s)
Liked: 1093
I picked up this set yesterday and so far I am impressed. Watched some football, played a few matches on Gears of War 4. I was disappointed at first with the picture quality, but then I tried the settings below and it really helped. The only negative thing I can really say about it so far is that the sound quality is not great, but I already knew this. I have not watched any 4k content yet.

https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussi...and-hdr-notes/

Display - LG OLED
Receiver - Denon
Speakers - Klipsch
Subs - Rythmik
JT78681 is online now  
post #3892 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I went ahead and did the factory reset over the weekend to pull in the new 8.0 update.

The biggest pain was having to log back in to all of the apps. I hadn't messed with changing the picture settings too much, so I didn't consider that an issue.

The main reason I wanted the update was to the see the PSVue app updated to match the UI of my PS4. The updated UI for the Vue on Roku runs very slowly to me and still lacks some of the features of the PS4 version (access guide with one button, add show with one button, multi-view, etc.)

I've come to conclusion I'm still going to use the PS4 to watch PSVue.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
polyduster69 is online now  
post #3893 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 06:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unfortunately while I was just watching TV yesterday my set just seemed to die. I can't get any power indicator on the set. Outlet, power bar, all the power sources still work, but the set will not show a power indicator. I tried doing the reset button and unplugging and holding the power button, no luck.

I called support and they had me submit a warranty claim so that hopefully they can have a technician come out. After attempting to search the forum, I didn't see another post from someone who had a similar occurrence so I figured I should post in case anyone else encounters this (apologies if they have and I missed it).

Does anyone else have any good trouble shooting suggestions? I'll provide updates on those and the warranty claim if I still can't get it to power back on.

Thanks,
grumpymonk is offline  
post #3894 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 07:30 AM
Member
 
whizkid39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohngPR View Post
I still don’t have it either.
Me neither.Seems I had to wait last time,so I will.
theboomr likes this.

USN Ret.
TCL55P607
Westy,WD48FB100
Polk Signa
4 Vizios,2 RCA,2 Sony, 2 Toshiba,1Panasonic,2 Samsung-Gone.
whizkid39 is offline  
post #3895 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
amstel78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Apologies if I missed it and was already discussed, but any image quality changes with version 8 firmware?

And to the op that mentioned the issue with Xbox HDR and it getting stuck sometimes; happened to me too yesterday. Was playing a game in HDR, exited and went to the dashboard and noticed that everything was crushed. Had to reboot the Xbox.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
amstel78 is offline  
post #3896 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1109 Post(s)
Liked: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by whizkid39 View Post
Me neither.Seems I had to wait last time,so I will.
No update for me yet.

Tempted to force it with reset but going to wait cause I do not want to have to redo all the damn app logins.

Wish I knew what the hold up was. All my other Roku devices have been updated for over a week now.
theboomr likes this.
RafaelSmith is online now  
post #3897 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Lyndy46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Long time follower of this thread.
Had a moment of weakness yesterday, when Target had the budget S405 for half the price of the 605. But...
I can't believe even on this set that I would be getting artifacts (blurred face lines in movement). Is there an official thread for this model?
And, maybe I just don't understand hook up. I have a Pioneer VSX-1120 receiver, and I have it plugged into the TCL's HDMI 1, etc. but the main screen never says it 'sees' the receiver. However, I am getting pass through of my three dvd players, but again, the picture is sub par. I am looking at this from a 10 year old Panny plasma.
Is it my set, my receiver? Is this normal?
If I can't get a picture better than this, I guess I have to box it up and see what Target's return policy is and pay double and get the 605, though I wonder if I will have the same problems.
Sincerely,
Blurred Lines
Lyndy46 is offline  
post #3898 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadLuckBryce View Post
In shd i have it set to vivid, bright, and colors left alone. Everything is really nice, full of color, no washed out look.

When i set my ps4 to hdr i tried bright hdr, bright setting, local dimming set to low, color at 45, sharpness at 5, backlight 100, game mode on. Things are at a loss for color. Maybe im crazy but i feel like having hdr on somehow takes away a lot.

On a side note, ps4 pro is set to 2160p -yuv420 and i also tried 2160p-rgb, hdr on, set the source to hdmi 2, using the cable that came with the ps4 and my own made no difference.


Its the same problem with my PS4 as well. I have the color set to 70 (in HDR)and it makes the picture noticeably better. One of the youtube channels who does gaming videos on this P607 mentioned this issue in his earlier videos and suggested to increase the color.

I think its the problem with HDR 10. When I hook up my Apple TV 4K, I felt that it is dimmer and washed out compared to SDR. Then I changed the HDMI mode and Dolby Vision kicked in and the difference is spectacular. But the colors still seemed to be dull, so I bumped up the color to 70 and it looks stunning now. This TV handles HDR modes very well when the source is its own OS(just USB or streaming). But when an external source is used, we have to increase the color.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dailybiker1 is offline  
post #3899 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 08:59 AM
Member
 
ZeroH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLongshot View Post
So, watching football right now, and I have to go about a foot away to see any screen door effect. Back up to 2-3 feet and it isn't noticeable at all.

Possible if dimming isn't enabled that it could be more noticeable, but doesn't seem to be in normal operation.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
That's good to hear. How's the motion for watching football? Heard there's a bit of jutter and block artifacts?
ZeroH is offline  
post #3900 of 6477 Old 11-20-2017, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
BlueRidgeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by amstel78 View Post
Anyone still not getting the version 8 update pushed through? Checked 2 days in a row now, and my 607 is still on 7.7.0. My Roku 4 in the bedroom auto updated to 8 as soon it became available.

I'm hesitant to do a reset just for an update as not only would I have to re-enter all calibration settings again, but streaming app credentials as well.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
still didnt get the new update.. im still on 7.7.0 too.. i haven't went thru the rest to try to push the new update yet..
theboomr likes this.
BlueRidgeD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off