*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4321Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 03:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glu10Free View Post
Just watched Season 2 Episode 9 and skipped around to all the dark scenes and there's absolutely no flashlighting.
Thank god, its horrendous after I updated. Was even able to get 3 different versions of the local dimming updates. All still horrible. You were watching with local dimming on correct? Forgot to mention it doesn't happen with dimming off. Worst with dimming on high
Colin McClellan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin McClellan View Post
Thank god, its horrendous after I updated. Was even able to get 3 different versions of the local dimming updates. All still horrible. You were watching with local dimming on correct? Forgot to mention it doesn't happen with dimming off. Worst with dimming on high
Yeah my local dimming is set to HIGH. You didn't mess with anything else in the "secret" menu?

My TV --->>> TCL P605 / Software version 8.0.0 * build 4132-30 / LDM FW Ver: V8-ST10K02-LC1V004
My gaming system --->>> Xbox One X
Glu10Free is offline  
post #4323 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glu10Free View Post
Home, Home, Home, Home, Home, RW, PP, FF, PP, RW. In the top left there should be information and it's included there.
Thank you, so, there yet another "secret" menu lol. This one is not listed one the Lifehacker list. I am V8-ST10K02-LC1V003. I will leave along for now and wait for more feedback,
cwick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4324 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glu10Free View Post
Yeah my local dimming is set to HIGH. You didn't mess with anything else in the "secret" menu?
I don't think so. Oddly enough enough it seems everytime I go into it the hdr options change. What's yours on in the secret menu?
Colin McClellan is offline  
post #4325 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin McClellan View Post
I don't think so. Oddly enough enough it seems everytime I go into it the hdr options change. What's yours on in the secret menu?
HDR device limit: Dolby Vision
HDR current limit: Off
HDR current state: Off
LDM FW Ver:ST10K02-LC1V004

My TV --->>> TCL P605 / Software version 8.0.0 * build 4132-30 / LDM FW Ver: V8-ST10K02-LC1V004
My gaming system --->>> Xbox One X
Glu10Free is offline  
post #4326 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerodynamics View Post
Is everyone experiencing the flashing only with the Netflix app? I have not seen it with any other source (or app). Maybe it’s Netflix that needs a fix?
I'm still on 7.7, but I've definitely seen it on videos on the HDR Channel on YouTube.
submatrix is offline  
post #4327 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by submatrix View Post
I'm still on 7.7, but I've definitely seen it on videos on the HDR Channel on YouTube.
What local dimming version are you on?
Colin McClellan is offline  
post #4328 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
OK it seems like it's flashlighting even with hdr and local dimming off now. Appears the TV is just done
Colin McClellan is offline  
post #4329 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Lutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
LOL Maybe stop using "secret menu" local dimming updates, guys.
muffinmcfluffin likes this.
Lutter is offline  
post #4330 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin McClellan View Post
What local dimming version are you on?
Honestly, not sure. I'm afraid to fiddle with the secret menus.
submatrix is offline  
post #4331 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 05:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,000
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
For SDR I like the Auto colorspace. This is the setting for Rec709 and is spot on except for luminance errors, which are high. (The reason may be due to conversion. From what i understand the TV's normal operation is to convert everything to HDR). Anyway, to me, SDR reds are better in Auto mode.


The chart below is before calibration.

SDR source in Auto Color Space
I found the problem, I had the wrong color intensity setting in Chromapure. Luminance reading is accurate now, and looks much better; notice how the luminance bars match up in the charts below. This is before doing any calibration.

The first chart shows the color gamut in Native mode for Rec709. You can see the color points are far from their target boxes in the triangle. The color bars at the bottom of the charts also show less error in Auto mode.

Just posting in case anyone finds there's too much red when watching standard Bluray material on this set. If you enjoy/prefer more saturated look, more power to you.

Last edited by Pres2play; 04-04-2018 at 03:54 PM.
Pres2play is offline  
post #4332 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I was watching Fox Sports and I noticed that a lot of the text and people had these pixels around them. Or is this more of an issue from the Fox network?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #4333 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
I was watching Fox Sports and I noticed that a lot of the text and people had these pixels around them. Or is this more of an issue from the Fox network?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
It's probably just the broadcast. Also, if you're watching cable tv the picture is usually heavily compressed so issues like that are fairly common, especially if you look close enough.
theboomr likes this.

My TV --->>> TCL P605 / Software version 8.0.0 * build 4132-30 / LDM FW Ver: V8-ST10K02-LC1V004
My gaming system --->>> Xbox One X
Glu10Free is offline  
post #4334 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
I was watching Fox Sports and I noticed that a lot of the text and people had these pixels around them. Or is this more of an issue from the Fox network?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Probably just a problem on the broadcast end, but do you have digital noise reduction turned off in the mobile app settings?
theboomr is offline  
post #4335 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ffactoryxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by theboomr View Post
Probably just a problem on the broadcast end, but do you have digital noise reduction turned off in the mobile app settings?
I'm not too sure. Actually I should have mentioned that one of those pictures is from the NBC broadcast. I use PlayStation Vue at 720p

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
ffactoryxx is offline  
post #4336 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 07:01 PM
Member
 
shin777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is mine having backlight problem or is this normal for 55p607/605?

I just got mine today and when I turned it on and played black screen for backlight bleed test, it had zero backlight problem. It just looked like tv was turned off.. amazing.. but the problem is, when I press home button or start a program, it has severe backlight bleeding from all 4 sides corners as well as top and bottom for brief moment. It disappears when actual movie or game is playing but every time it goes loading screen, it pops up. This is especially noticeable when I press home button on remote or press netflix. If mine is defected, shouldn't it show backlight bleed when I play black screen video on youtube too? I mean, it has zero backlight bleeding during movies and black level is perfect but when it goes to loading screen, this bleeding pops up all over the screen then disappear. I can overlook 5 dead pixels on screen since they are only noticeable if I get within 3 ft distance with white screen video turned on but this backlight bleeding during loading is so annoying.

Is it just mine? Should I exchange it while I still am in return period?
shin777 is offline  
post #4337 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shin777 View Post
Is mine having backlight problem or is this normal for 55p607/605?

I just got mine today and when I turned it on and played black screen for backlight bleed test, it had zero backlight problem. It just looked like tv was turned off.. amazing.. but the problem is, when I press home button or start a program, it has severe backlight bleeding from all 4 sides corners as well as top and bottom for brief moment. It disappears when actual movie or game is playing but every time it goes loading screen, it pops up. This is especially noticeable when I press home button on remote or press netflix. If mine is defected, shouldn't it show backlight bleed when I play black screen video on youtube too? I mean, it has zero backlight bleeding during movies and black level is perfect but when it goes to loading screen, this bleeding pops up all over the screen then disappear. I can overlook 5 dead pixels on screen since they are only noticeable if I get within 3 ft distance with white screen video turned on but this backlight bleeding during loading is so annoying.

Is it just mine? Should I exchange it while I still am in return period?
The Roku screen doesn't use FALD so bleed/dirty screen effect is there. The severity seems dependent on the set you get but yeah, the Roku menu and stuff looks pretty washed out and bad. As long as it's not affecting picture quality during movies and stuff you should be fine. Take a pic if you want and we'll see how bad it looks. Make sure to enabled Local Dimming to HIGH it helps. Also dead pixels, I have 4 on my set but they aren't noticeable unless I'm within 3 feet and after a while I forgot about them.
theboomr likes this.

My TV --->>> TCL P605 / Software version 8.0.0 * build 4132-30 / LDM FW Ver: V8-ST10K02-LC1V004
My gaming system --->>> Xbox One X
Glu10Free is offline  
post #4338 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlgsx View Post
I wish I had resisted lol! I also made the mistake of installing it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Are you having problems since the LD firmware update?
cwick is offline  
post #4339 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 07:47 PM
Member
 
shin777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glu10Free View Post
The Roku screen doesn't use FALD so bleed/dirty screen effect is there. The severity seems dependent on the set you get but yeah, the Roku menu and stuff looks pretty washed out and bad. As long as it's not affecting picture quality during movies and stuff you should be fine. Take a pic if you want and we'll see how bad it looks. Make sure to enabled Local Dimming to HIGH it helps. Also dead pixels, I have 4 on my set but they aren't noticeable unless I'm within 3 feet and after a while I forgot about them.



How is this? Is this bad? I think it is.. I returned my last one because it had like 20 dead pixels but I don't think I noticed this much clouding or backlight issue during menu or loading.. fortunately, it doesn't effect the content but it sure is ugly to see this every time I press home button or netflix button etc. It just reminds me how bad it looks over and over. oh.. and I checked mine and it's 8.0.0.
shin777 is offline  
post #4340 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glu10Free View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffactoryxx View Post
I was watching Fox Sports and I noticed that a lot of the text and people had these pixels around them. Or is this more of an issue from the Fox network?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
It's probably just the broadcast. Also, if you're watching cable tv the picture is usually heavily compressed so issues like that are fairly common, especially if you look close enough.
My picture has this pixelated stuff on some (most) channels. If anything this set has exposed how crappy my cable quality is (Charter Spectrum). I've been spending a lot of time in settings trying to mitigate it. I'm just going to settle on a setting and let my eyes get used to it.

I'm watching the NBC game right now and it's not so bad.
BenStone is offline  
post #4341 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shin777 View Post



How is this? Is this bad? I think it is.. I returned my last one because it had like 20 dead pixels but I don't think I noticed this much clouding or backlight issue during menu or loading.. fortunately, it doesn't effect the content but it sure is ugly to see this every time I press home button or netflix button etc. It just reminds me how bad it looks over and over. oh.. and I checked mine and it's 8.0.0.
Holy sh... No, that is NOT normal...

My TV --->>> TCL P605 / Software version 8.0.0 * build 4132-30 / LDM FW Ver: V8-ST10K02-LC1V004
My gaming system --->>> Xbox One X
Glu10Free is offline  
post #4342 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
crawlgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwick View Post
Are you having problems since the LD firmware update?


Not that I have noticed so far but honestly I haven’t had a ton of TV time since then I think the only thing I’ve done is play some madden 18.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris D.
LG C9 OLED - XBOX One X
crawlgsx is offline  
post #4343 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 08:09 PM
Member
 
shin777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Angry

return.. then..

I will wait for amazon to deliver new one. two p605 from best buy and this is what i get.. sigh..
shin777 is offline  
post #4344 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Draden1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Just updated local dimming via hidden menu. I have watched a mix of 1080p and 4K/hdr stuff from Amazon and YouTube. I can’t tell a difference except I haven’t had any flicker during any of the hdr channel scenes since the update. I noticed it before on shots where there was a lot of detail like Big Ben and The Eiffel Tower at the end of LG Europe HDR. No flicker now, just watched it 3 times.

Bright/Dark hdr
Local Contrast: High
LDM FW Ver:ST10K02-LC1V004
cwick likes this.
Draden1 is offline  
post #4345 of 6367 Old 12-03-2017, 11:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone? Help? please!

If i use this tv in asia on 110v/60hz power, is there any issue like regional lock or anything like that? (i am using it for my ps4 and cable box)
mlwrz is offline  
post #4346 of 6367 Old 12-04-2017, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlgsx View Post
Not that I have noticed so far but honestly I haven’t had a ton of TV time since then I think the only thing I’ve done is play some madden 18.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Still sounds like good news.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shin777 View Post
return.. then..

I will wait for amazon to deliver new one. two p605 from best buy and this is what i get.. sigh..
Yes, your pics, mine looks nothing like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draden1 View Post
Just updated local dimming via hidden menu. I have watched a mix of 1080p and 4K/hdr stuff from Amazon and YouTube. I can’t tell a difference except I haven’t had any flicker during any of the hdr channel scenes since the update. I noticed it before on shots where there was a lot of detail like Big Ben and The Eiffel Tower at the end of LG Europe HDR. No flicker now, just watched it 3 times.

Bright/Dark hdr
Local Contrast: High
LDM FW Ver:ST10K02-LC1V004
Thanks for the feedback. I had noticed a slight bit of flashing watching an episode of Poldark on the native Amazon app post the 8.0 update. If it continues, and I haven't seen it again since toggling through the LD choices and setting it back to HIGH, I may give the LD firmware update a try.

So it sounds like we only have one TV in the ditch after the LC1V004 update?
cwick is offline  
post #4347 of 6367 Old 12-04-2017, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
garnettrules21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlwrz View Post
If i use this tv in asia on 110v/60hz power, is there any issue like regional lock or anything like that? (i am using it for my ps4 and cable box)
You may want to reach out to tcl support on that question. They are fairly quick to respond.
garnettrules21 is offline  
post #4348 of 6367 Old 12-04-2017, 10:47 AM
Member
 
the_caballo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For people who are on 8.0 or doing the secret local dimming update: Did this fix the Netflix white/grey screen issue? It sometimes looks like a flash of white or grey but can also just be a pure white/grey screen for several seconds. I've noticed it mostly on Netflix Dolby Vision stuff.

Do we know if the 8.0 update installed the local dimming update as well? Or is the secret menu the only way to get the dimming update?
theboomr likes this.
the_caballo is offline  
post #4349 of 6367 Old 12-04-2017, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
cwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_caballo View Post
For people who are on 8.0 or doing the secret local dimming update: Did this fix the Netflix white/grey screen issue? It sometimes looks like a flash of white or grey but can also just be a pure white/grey screen for several seconds. I've noticed it mostly on Netflix Dolby Vision stuff.

Do we know if the 8.0 update installed the local dimming update as well? Or is the secret menu the only way to get the dimming update?
I was upgraded to 8.0 automatically, but looking at the "secret" menu I am running 03 of the local dimming firmware. According to others it looks like 04 is the most current local dimming firmware....but I think it is kind of unknown if that 04 update is meant for general release since the only way to get it is going through the secret menu.
theboomr likes this.
cwick is offline  
post #4350 of 6367 Old 12-04-2017, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Draden1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_caballo View Post
For people who are on 8.0 or doing the secret local dimming update: Did this fix the Netflix white/grey screen issue? It sometimes looks like a flash of white or grey but can also just be a pure white/grey screen for several seconds. I've noticed it mostly on Netflix Dolby Vision stuff.

Do we know if the 8.0 update installed the local dimming update as well? Or is the secret menu the only way to get the dimming update?
I can't speak to the Netflix DV stuff as I only get the hd tier (this tv is mainly used for gaming). The 8.0 update did not update the local dimming for me, I had to do that by going into the secret menu. If this were my only or main tv than I wouldn't have updated the local dimming, but so far so good.
theboomr likes this.
Draden1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off