*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 210 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4309Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6271 of 6323 Old 04-12-2019, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Local dimming has quit working. Maybe happened with last update... Can't really pinpoint when it started.

Anyone else had their P607 quit using local dimming? I've checked multiple apps (Netflix, VUDU, Amazon, Movies Anywhere). local dimming does not work at all. Doesn't even change at all no matter which setting is selected for "local contrast". Doesn't matter if it's SD, HD, or DV content. Everything else on the TV works great.
ubuntucat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6272 of 6323 Old 04-13-2019, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,275
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Well, mine's been running great since June 2017 but bought the farm this morning. It'd been spontaneously re-booting for the last week or two and now won't come up at all. Tried power-cycling to no avail and the physical reset button will bring up the red TCL screen temporarily before it goes black at which point the white status light manages a few desperate blinks, sings a few strains of "Daisy", then dies as well.

Jack Gilvey

SVS Customer Service
Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #6273 of 6323 Old 04-13-2019, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 172
sorry to hear that, did you purchase any kind of extended warranty when you bought the tv?
Jack Gilvey likes this.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6274 of 6323 Old 04-13-2019, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,275
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Nahh, I really never buy those (I did buy one for my Vive) and never really needed one. I bought this as a stopgap to OLED so maybe it's time to cross the gap. With an extended warranty! I had no compulsion to upgrade for performance reasons, though, still very taken with the picture.

Jack Gilvey

SVS Customer Service
Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #6275 of 6323 Old 04-16-2019, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
witness30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Angry

Well mine is ruined now after 1 1/2 years and no extended warranty, of course. Looks like I'm TV shopping again but there's no way I'm not getting a warranty this time. I'm just so surprised, I've never had a TV crap out like this. That line doesn't look bright there against the red background, but that thing lights up against everything else. It is just super bright neon green.

Now I'm looking at the Samsung NU8000 and Vizio P series, anything else I should keep in mind? I'd hate to buy an R615 after this and give TCL even more money.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TCLP605.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	234.4 KB
ID:	2553864  
witness30 is offline  
post #6276 of 6323 Old 04-16-2019, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 172
sorry to see/hear that and yeah, i think it's worth the cost especially if you catch a good tv on sale at a good price.

do you plan to stay in the TCL family, perhaps upgrading to the 6 series or will you be looking elsewhere?

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #6277 of 6323 Old 04-16-2019, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
witness30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
sorry to see/hear that and yeah, i think it's worth the cost especially if you catch a good tv on sale at a good price.

do you plan to stay in the TCL family, perhaps upgrading to the 6 series or will you be looking elsewhere?
The 615 is tempting because I can get that with a 5 year best buy warranty for just $650 right now, which is $50 cheaper than the Vizio P without a warranty and $150 cheaper than the Samsung 8000 without a warranty.
witness30 is offline  
post #6278 of 6323 Old 04-16-2019, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 172
good luck, keep us posted, no matter what you choose. if you do go with the 6 series, move your conversation over to the 6 series thread.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #6279 of 6323 Old 04-16-2019, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,431
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4503 Post(s)
Liked: 2566
Quote:
Originally Posted by witness30 View Post
The 615 is tempting because I can get that with a 5 year best buy warranty for just $650 right now, which is $50 cheaper than the Vizio P without a warranty and $150 cheaper than the Samsung 8000 without a warranty.

I wouldn't go with TCL again once my P607 craps out. I was in need of a quick fix and never again will I go cheap.
JRG440 likes this.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #6280 of 6323 Old 04-16-2019, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
TheLongshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
To be honest, it can happen with any TV. I had a Samsung plasma that had a line through it like that, and I mostly lived with it for a few years until I was ready to get a new TV. Stuff happens.

Sent from my LGUS991 using Tapatalk
TheLongshot is offline  
post #6281 of 6323 Old 04-16-2019, 11:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
For the PlayStation 4 Pro, should I use hdmi 2.0 or just leave it at auto? I notice even when it’s set to auto the Tv still picks up 4K signal. Just curious if there is a difference
Fuller Boy is offline  
post #6282 of 6323 Old 04-27-2019, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Tree Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just a heads up I had a lot of the problems mentioned here with 9.0 on one of my TCL TVs and doing a factory reset resolved them all. Sucks that it was even necessary as I had to take the time to log back into everything.

When 9.1 drops they will have auto signin for a lot of apps which will make the process easier. But considering how long it took for 9.0 to hit the TVs that could be some time from now as it hasn’t even it the regular Rokus yet (I have a stick as well that’s still at 9.0).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TCL 55P605
XBL & Steam: Atomic TreeDude
Tree Dude is offline  
post #6283 of 6323 Old 04-27-2019, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
sigmaace01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Allen, TX (DFW)
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I wonder if 9.0 is why I can't find a good picture setting recently for HDR10 content?


I'm about to rip my hair out...... Would p605 owners please share your settings when watching HDR10, and not the ones from Rtings?
sigmaace01 is offline  
post #6284 of 6323 Old 04-29-2019, 06:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubuntucat View Post
Local dimming has quit working. Maybe happened with last update... Can't really pinpoint when it started.

Anyone else had their P607 quit using local dimming? I've checked multiple apps (Netflix, VUDU, Amazon, Movies Anywhere). local dimming does not work at all. Doesn't even change at all no matter which setting is selected for "local contrast". Doesn't matter if it's SD, HD, or DV content. Everything else on the TV works great.
I have the same issue as well. My P605 is at a relative's house so I only use it when I house sit for them. I turned it on for the first time in over a month of it being unplugged, did the update, and now I have completely lost local dimming in all apps and for all inputs. I have also lost the ability to manually adjust the backlight brightness as well. 0 and 100 are both the same brightness.

I posted this over on Roku's forum hoping for a response. But it seems like the latest update broke the backlight control for the P series.

I've done all of the usual troubleshooting steps. Restarts, factory resets, etc...
Saffer311 is offline  
post #6285 of 6323 Old 05-01-2019, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: MA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DD+ audio issues

I have a P605 connected to a 5.1 VIzio soundbar thru optical. All of a sudden I can't get the TCL to output 5.1 to the soundbar for cable box sound output cable box connected to HDMI 3 (arc) input on TV. Only PCM stereo sound is output through optical and sound setting set at auto or PCM. If I set to any DD setting no sound comes out of the soundbar. Just started happening all of a sudden worked fine so far. Any suggestions?
ash01748 is offline  
post #6286 of 6323 Old 05-02-2019, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffer311 View Post
I have the same issue as well. My P605 is at a relative's house so I only use it when I house sit for them. I turned it on for the first time in over a month of it being unplugged, did the update, and now I have completely lost local dimming in all apps and for all inputs. I have also lost the ability to manually adjust the backlight brightness as well. 0 and 100 are both the same brightness.

I posted this over on Roku's forum hoping for a response. But it seems like the latest update broke the backlight control for the P series.

I've done all of the usual troubleshooting steps. Restarts, factory resets, etc...
Anyone else seeing this???? maddening to me and I have no idea how to get TCL's attention. Support has been no help.
ubuntucat is offline  
post #6287 of 6323 Old 05-06-2019, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have same issue and seems it’s from software version 9.0.2.... I may have found a solution although it’s not ideal. Factory reset your tv and skip roku login and WiFi connection(this way tv doesn’t do the software update). Try watching a video either via cable / streaming device / or game console and Confirm software version isn’t 9.0.2 and see if backlight works . I’m hoping it’s back to normal and the 9.0.2 didn’t permanently cause this problem.
If backlight settings work then at least we know it can be reversed . I’ve notified TCL and made them aware that 9.0.2 may be causing problems . The odd thing is that there’s no info on a 9.0.2 release anywhere. And I just bought tcl 6 series and software version is 9.0.0
If you do try the factory reset let me know if it works.
Black0ut03 is offline  
post #6288 of 6323 Old 05-09-2019, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubuntucat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffer311 View Post
I have the same issue as well. My P605 is at a relative's house so I only use it when I house sit for them. I turned it on for the first time in over a month of it being unplugged, did the update, and now I have completely lost local dimming in all apps and for all inputs. I have also lost the ability to manually adjust the backlight brightness as well. 0 and 100 are both the same brightness.

I posted this over on Roku's forum hoping for a response. But it seems like the latest update broke the backlight control for the P series.

I've done all of the usual troubleshooting steps. Restarts, factory resets, etc...
Anyone else seeing this???? maddening to me and I have no idea how to get TCL's attention. Support has been no help.
Hey ubuntucat, check to see if your TV updated the Roku OS. Mine updated to build 4048 (still 9.0.2) and now my backlight and local dimming controls work again.
Saffer311 is offline  
post #6289 of 6323 Old 05-14-2019, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 491
So, there is a 9.0.2 update? My TCL does not see it when I check for an update, mine is still on 9.0.0. I'm hopeing an update will finally fix the Dolby Vision problem that 9.0.0 introduced.


I have my ATV set to 4K SDR with match range on. DV content will play and DV engages correctly but, when stopping playback and when DV disengages, I get just a black screen. I have to hit the Home button on my TCL TV remote and then choose the input of the ATV to get the picture back.


Anyone know if 9.0.2 fixes this and is there a way to force the update?


This has been super frustrating and I have had to disable DV/HDR on my ATV until this is fixed. I love the picture quality of my TCL, one of the best for the price but, I will never again buy a TV running Roku software. I absolutely hate forced updates, it's bad for consumers because when it breaks something you have no way to fix your stuff. You just have to sit there twirling your thumbs until Roku decides to throw you a bone. If they ever fix this issue then I will block their update servers at my router to prevent future updates.
JRG440 likes this.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #6290 of 6323 Old 05-15-2019, 06:42 AM
Member
 
g_e_fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Intermittent problem receiving OTA and streaming programs

Hello,


My P605 is running 9.0.0, I suspect updated within the past week, probably less. Regardless, I noticed two days ago a problem receiving OTA and any streaming programming.



I have my satellite dish, laptop, and Raspberry Pi (Kodi) connected to the HDMI1, HDMI2, and HDMI3 inputs. I have CEC disabled. My wife normally watches programming via dish, so I have the TV setup to use the HDMI1 input when it's turned on. I occasionally watch OTA broadcast, especially when my dish receiver is down, and we frequently watch streaming programs via Roku at night.



Intermittently, if I switch from HDMI1 directly to OTA (Antenna) or one of the streaming sources; e.g., Netflix, I get a black screen with no audio; i.e., no audio or video. If I turn on open captions, I get those, and I can access the program guide when I'm trying to watch OTA. I've reset the TV, and the problem disappears for awhile and then returns. I also noticed that if I end up with no audio and video, then if I switch to HDMI2 or HDMI3, then back to OTA or a streaming source, all is well. The problem is intermittent. I just turned the TV on for the first time today. It came on, as normal, set to HDMI1, and received dish TV. I switched directly to OTA (Antenna) and received programming correctly. Then I shut the TV off and tried exactly the same sequence again. No Antenna TV. So, I switched to HDMI2, then back to Antenna and started receiving OTA TV without difficulty.


I've reported this to TCL and am waiting for a response. I thought I'd post my problem here in case others have had similar experiences.



I agree with rolltide1017 above. I'll think very seriously before buying another Roku TV. Forcing me to take updates that end up breaking things that work is very annoying. This isn't the first time I've experienced update issues either. Give me a "dumb" TV and I'll connect "smart" devices to it.
g_e_fox is offline  
post #6291 of 6323 Old 06-09-2019, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
Bru_LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I'm two years in with this P605 (my second one after getting a dud out of the box) and experiencing a black screen issue that I'm not sure is software or hardware related. After the TV sits turned off overnight or for a long time during the day, it starts up with an 80 percent black-ish screen, 20 percent slightly gray screen (right side), and I can hear sound and navigation clicks just fine, but no picture (I can see the backlights). After sitting about 5-10 minutes powered on, the screen pops on and the TV is usable for the rest of the day. Anyone experience something similar? It started within days of my TV updating to 9.0. I've seen numerous black screen with sound issues and how it's reported as common with this set, but not sure if this is one of those because I don't see consistent reporting that the image appears after being left on for 10 min. Sounds like it might be a T-Con board issue from my quick research, but will wait for 9.1 to see if that fixes anything. No extended warranty, and customer service took me through the reset/restart procedure with no avail.
Bru_LS1 is offline  
post #6292 of 6323 Old 06-24-2019, 04:50 AM
Member
 
musicmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Another unfortunate soul here dealing with terrible to non-existent customer service. My tv's been acting up for weeks and still no answer from them.
musicmaniac is offline  
post #6293 of 6323 Old 06-25-2019, 06:29 AM
Member
 
g_e_fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicmaniac View Post
Another unfortunate soul here dealing with terrible to non-existent customer service. My tv's been acting up for weeks and still no answer from them.

I continue to have the "black screen" problem I reported earlier -- in particular involving OTA and streaming services not involving the HDMI1 input. I did contact TCL support and they told me to reset the TV and if that didn't work, then take it to a local repair shop. Very disappointing. (Resetting the TV didn't fix the problem.)


I can usually get mine to work, so the TV is serviceable, but I can't help but start thinking about what kind of TV to buy next (I need one for my patio). Not Roku. Not TCL.
g_e_fox is offline  
post #6294 of 6323 Old 06-30-2019, 06:24 AM
Member
 
gilles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got the 9.1 update June 25th, now if I stream music the back light stays on. I have Roku speakers and have my favorites saved on the puck (buttons 1 & 2) if say first thing in the morning it is pressed, it used to play music and the display was off. Now when I do that, there is no display but the back light is on. I've tried voicing (turn off display) and message says display is off. I have to use the remote to manually turn it off. Also "Remote" W/battery level randomly pops up on screen.
Is there a good place to report bugs like this?
This is a 55P607 Thanks.
gilles1 is offline  
post #6295 of 6323 Old 07-03-2019, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Slaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So I've owned this set since release and the darkness level of streaming HDR/DV content has been a problem since day one. It definitely more noticeable when watching darker shows - I tried watching 'Too old to die young' yesterday and it's unwatchable at the default settings recommended by RTINGS. I've got the 65' version of the set in another room and it's like night and day with similar settings enabled. I've tried playing with gamma settings via the ROKU app and that had a modest impact at best. Bumping up the brightness levels to 60 or so doesn't seem to resolve the loss of detail in dark scenes either - just seems to wash the picture out.

Is there something I'm missing as it relates to settings for HDR content on this set? I don't have an issue when viewing non HDR content generally. TV is still running the 9.0.0 update FWIW - I did try and update it again and it didn't grab any new version so I'm not sure if they've pulled the latest updates or are just rolling them out gradually.
Slaine is offline  
post #6296 of 6323 Old 07-05-2019, 01:18 PM
Member
 
HisSvt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaine View Post
So I've owned this set since release and the darkness level of streaming HDR/DV content has been a problem since day one. It definitely more noticeable when watching darker shows - I tried watching 'Too old to die young' yesterday and it's unwatchable at the default settings recommended by RTINGS. I've got the 65' version of the set in another room and it's like night and day with similar settings enabled. I've tried playing with gamma settings via the ROKU app and that had a modest impact at best. Bumping up the brightness levels to 60 or so doesn't seem to resolve the loss of detail in dark scenes either - just seems to wash the picture out.

Is there something I'm missing as it relates to settings for HDR content on this set? I don't have an issue when viewing non HDR content generally. TV is still running the 9.0.0 update FWIW - I did try and update it again and it didn't grab any new version so I'm not sure if they've pulled the latest updates or are just rolling them out gradually.
since 9.0 i've had to set local contrast to low because everything in HDR got darker. and sometime HDR doesnt trigger right and screen to darker then i restart say the 4k bluray and it'll trigger properly. i had zero issues before 9.0.
HisSvt2 is offline  
post #6297 of 6323 Old 07-11-2019, 09:09 PM
Member
 
staticks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this TV accept a 1440p signal?


I've been trying to set my PC output resolution to 2560x1440. But in Windows 10 > Display, the "Active Signal Resolution" is always 3840x2156. Pressing the "Ok" button on the remote reports the same thing: the input resolution is being interpreted as 4K.
staticks is offline  
post #6298 of 6323 Old 07-12-2019, 10:45 PM
Member
 
PanGalacticGargleBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by staticks View Post
Does this TV accept a 1440p signal?


I've been trying to set my PC output resolution to 2560x1440. But in Windows 10 > Display, the "Active Signal Resolution" is always 3840x2156. Pressing the "Ok" button on the remote reports the same thing: the input resolution is being interpreted as 4K.
I just switched my output from the native 3840 x 2160 to 2560 x 1440 in Display Settings and it works fine for me. It makes what I display larger of course but it works fine. I think the 4k 60hz that you see when pressing "OK" is just the tv's native resolution and refresh rate. As I switched to other resolutions like 1920 x 1080, the "OK" button still shows 4k 60hz but the image is now twice as big when keeping scaling at 100% in windows Display settings then it is at 3840 x 2160.
PanGalacticGargleBlaster is offline  
post #6299 of 6323 Old 07-15-2019, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Slaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HisSvt2 View Post
since 9.0 i've had to set local contrast to low because everything in HDR got darker. and sometime HDR doesnt trigger right and screen to darker then i restart say the 4k bluray and it'll trigger properly. i had zero issues before 9.0.
I was seeing similar issues. I tested viewing the content using the Prime Video Roku app and it looked better. Then I switched back to the Firetv stick and it also looked better. Haven't had a chance to do further testing, but did watch some Stranger Things with Dolby Vision enabled and it looked ok to my eyes. So no idea where I stand honestly.
Slaine is offline  
post #6300 of 6323 Old 07-15-2019, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Slaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Is anyone else seeing CEC issues with the 9.1 update? My TV installed it the other day and immediately the next day I notice my receiver isn't receiving the sound signal from the TV over ARC. I check the CEC device list and lo and behold the receiver iss missing. I then have it do a fresh search, it finds the receiver and all is well.

Fast forward to later in the day when the tv is turned back on and the same problem is present. Same steps fix it, but I've now had it happen 4-5 cycles in a row. Figured I'd see if it is a pervasive problem before I do the dreaded TV reset.
Slaine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off