*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4319Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 04:01 PM
Member
 
PUNKem 733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Does anyone know if the 65" will be sold at Walmart?
Craigslue likes this.

Last edited by PUNKem 733; 06-24-2017 at 04:12 PM.
PUNKem 733 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Schwanebeck View Post
Stumbled onto this TV (and thread) on Tuesday. Despite the concerns about the "panel lottery" I decided to take the plunge. My 605 was delivered from BB yesterday and I've been fiddling with it ever since. I wanted to ring in here with my experience so far. This set is replacing a 10 year old plasma Panasonic. My take so far...


The Good: The box was in great shape - smooth, clean, and un-damaged. The two guys that unloaded it were very careful and courteous about it. Set up was pretty easy though I had some trouble getting audio out of the tv to my receiver. My fault - turns out I'd programmed my Harmony remote to switch the tv to HDMI 1 instead of 3. I have no dead pixels and the picture looked pretty good right out of the box. I used the old DVD version of Video Essentials to calibrate the picture, assuming not enough had changed to warrant buying a BD copy of it. Other than taking the Sharpness all the way down and bumping up the Backlight a bit the Color, Tint, and Contrast needed only minor tweaks. Now the picture is vibrant, smooth, and clear. I've watched a handful of HDR videos through YouTube and they impress. Ultra HD (House of Cards) on Netflix is very rich with color and texture. As for upconverting - I haven't tried Blu-Ray yet but the 1080p Fury Road I streamed from Vudu looked stellar. Of course it didn't have the detail of native 4K but it looked better than my 1080p plasma. I imagine BD should be even better.

The "Meh": Only 1 USB port so I have to choose between the Live Pause feature or bias lighting. Wish it had 2 so I could do both. Also, no 3D support. Personally I couldn't care less about 3D so it won't ding it for that but other's may feel differently.

The Bad: I notice the corners are slightly more dim than the rest of the panel. For now, I'm running it with Local Dimming on High but I might drop down to medium and see how it does. Also, the prime angle of view is a bit narrower than I expected but I'm coming from a plasma set so I'm probably not the best judge. These 2 issues seem nit picky to me (at this price anyway) and they aren't really too distracting. Most of the eyes that will be looking at this panel in my house won't notice.

Overall, I can't imagine a 55" set doing better at this price. I'm always searching for the best bang for the buck. I think we'd have to spend a whole lot more to get a modest increase in PQ. Right now, I'd definitely recommend this set to anyone shopping for a 55" tv with less than $1500 to spend.
Just FYI, a USB hub will work in the TV's USB port.
theboomr is offline  
post #963 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 04:25 PM
Member
 
whizkid39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakejm79 View Post
Having spoken directly with TCL about this, the damage from Amazon shipping squarely falls on Amazon (my unit really did end up damaged from shipping - there was a hole in the box that directly mirrored a large dent in the plastic casing of the TV). Many other retailers ship those store boxes within another box (when shipping via UPS/FedEx) and that is what Amazon should have done. Whether it be TCL or any other manufacturer those store boxes aren't designed to withstand the abuse that UPS/FedEx subjects them to, they are meant to look pretty and make each TV easily identifiable when on display in the store or at the warehouse and to provide adequate protection when you transport it the final leg of the journey home, not to be transported cross country in.

Hopefully Amazon learns from this.

Also regarding the 605 vs. 607 price difference and changes its entirely possible that the bottom line price for the 605 is less (with the IR remote, etc) and that is BBs way of maintaining the lowest price and not losing any (or much) profit. I don't think the MSRP of the 605 has ever been provided, it's entirely possibly the MSRP is its current selling price much like the 607 now is at Amazon.
I dislike Fedex,always have.But in all fairness to them on delivery of "p",they had 2 men and it was upright (secured) in the truck and they lifted it off and carried it in my front door and placed it on a dolly I had.No box damage,not even the bottom edge.

USN Ret.
TCL55P607
Westy,WD48FB100
Polk Signa
4 Vizios,2 RCA,2 Sony, 2 Toshiba,1Panasonic,2 Samsung-Gone.
whizkid39 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What did the recent firmware do? Did it make the backlight better?
Stiler is offline  
post #965 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
crawlgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiler View Post
What did the recent firmware do? Did it make the backlight better?
"enhanced contrast control zone performance & clarity for dark scenes" is what TCL says. No reviews have really come in with how the change helped (or not).
theboomr likes this.
crawlgsx is offline  
post #966 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi just got my TV a few days ago. Happy with upscaled 1080p and 4k. The only complaint I have is Netflix's dolby vision.
Is way too dark in dark scenes. The focal point of the dark scene tends to blend into the background. This is comparing it to an older Visio TV. The Visio is a FALD TV with less zones. I'm good with everything else. Anyone else have this issue with Netflix Dolby Vision?
nfrosty81853 is offline  
post #967 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
the remote..... I can't get either my Moxi remote or Harmony one remote to work the TV. I'm thinking this is a bluetooth remote is that right? Because Harmony lists the TV correctly, but in the set-up it asks me to learn the commands and the Harmony can't read the signal.

I have a hub style Harmony in the living room, I read somewhere that can work. Anyone tried it or gotten another remote to work? thanks
Dave
dbrons is offline  
post #968 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post
the remote..... I can't get either my Moxi remote or Harmony one remote to work the TV. I'm thinking this is a bluetooth remote is that right? Because Harmony lists the TV correctly, but in the set-up it asks me to learn the commands and the Harmony can't read the signal.

I have a hub style Harmony in the living room, I read somewhere that can work. Anyone tried it or gotten another remote to work? thanks
Dave
My Harmony 650 works perfectly, didn't have to teach it any remote commands
crawlgsx likes this.
theboomr is offline  
post #969 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@nfrosty81853

All HDR content is more or less intended to be viewed in a dark room, ambient light will directly affect the visibility and clarity of dark scenes with a FALD TV.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #970 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Antarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackrabbit View Post
No streaming services support lossless audio, and I don't expect any of them to ever do it. Right now peak bitrates from services for UHD HDR streaming are around 13.1 Mb/sec. Lossless audio bitrates on Blu-ray discs (which would have to be the same for streaming, because lossless) are around 3.0-4.5 Mb/sec. Currently, they're streaming audio that's around 0.5-0.75 Mb/sec. They aren't going to use the extra 3-4 Mb/sec on a feature that most people don't use or really care about when compared to image quality.
FYI https://twitter.com/dts/status/798593329826918400
Antarius is offline  
post #971 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
cah95046's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post
the remote..... I can't get either my Moxi remote or Harmony one remote to work the TV. I'm thinking this is a bluetooth remote is that right? Because Harmony lists the TV correctly, but in the set-up it asks me to learn the commands and the Harmony can't read the signal.

I have a hub style Harmony in the living room, I read somewhere that can work. Anyone tried it or gotten another remote to work? thanks
Dave
TCL tech told me IR remotes will work. See Amazon Q&A.
cah95046 is offline  
post #972 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
thanks cah95046 and theboomr, I'm getting the Harmony One to work......had to go into the Device settings to get the learn function to work. And yes I seem to have to go that route.
Dave
theboomr likes this.
dbrons is offline  
post #973 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 08:53 PM
SCK
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
*sigh... my tv won't turn on. Tried everything. TCL saying they will need to send a technician out..
SCK is offline  
post #974 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by PUNKem 733 View Post
Does anyone know if the 65" will be sold at Walmart?

I'd like to know this as well. I know they sell other TCL, I work there it would be nice to have that option and my 10% discount.

Last edited by Craigslue; 06-24-2017 at 09:26 PM.
Craigslue is offline  
post #975 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 09:12 PM
Member
 
PUNKem 733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigslue View Post
I'd like to know this as well. I know the sell other TCL, I work there it would be nice to have that option and my 10% discount.
You work there, ask someone lol
theboomr likes this.
PUNKem 733 is offline  
post #976 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 09:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Ha ha right! They aren't going to know **** about what tv's they may get in! They will get what the big boys say they get!
It would be far easier to find out through a TCL source!
theboomr likes this.
Craigslue is offline  
post #977 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 09:31 PM
Member
 
PUNKem 733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigslue View Post
Ha ha right! They aren't going to know **** about what tv's they may get in! They will get what the big boys say they get!
LOL Thinking about it, you're right. I've talked to a lot of managers at wally and I have no clue how some of these people keep their jobs.

I'll call TCL, maybe they have some answers.
PUNKem 733 is offline  
post #978 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Who says they do? They go through employees non stop including dept managers.
PUNKem 733 likes this.
Craigslue is offline  
post #979 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 09:56 PM
Member
 
wilmer007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
me and my dad are shopping for a new tv and the TCL 55P607 is one we are highly considering due to the HDR Dolby Vision along with included Roku, etc....

my question is does the set have an internet browser (like say an app) that allows my dad to navigate the internet without needing a PC or Smartphone as he would like to watch stuff online that requires flash which a smartphone cannot do and PCs are too complicated. pretty sure this set can do it right.
wilmer007 is offline  
post #980 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilmer007 View Post
me and my dad are shopping for a new tv and the TCL 55P607 is one we are highly considering due to the HDR Dolby Vision along with included Roku, etc....

my question is does the set have an internet browser (like say an app) that allows my dad to navigate the internet without needing a PC or Smartphone as he would like to watch stuff online that requires flash which a smartphone cannot do and PCs are too complicated. pretty sure this set can do it right.
No I don't believe there is any real web browser available on Roku. Only an app that lets you mirror content from Firefox on a smartphone.
theboomr is offline  
post #981 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jakejm79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilmer007 View Post
me and my dad are shopping for a new tv and the TCL 55P607 is one we are highly considering due to the HDR Dolby Vision along with included Roku, etc....

my question is does the set have an internet browser (like say an app) that allows my dad to navigate the internet without needing a PC or Smartphone as he would like to watch stuff online that requires flash which a smartphone cannot do and PCs are too complicated. pretty sure this set can do it right.
No real web browser for the Roku platform and likely there never will be, there is a beta channel out there that does text only web browsing. Also flash is being phased out most devices don't support it any more.
theboomr likes this.
jakejm79 is offline  
post #982 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 10:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,461
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 491
*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by henhowc View Post
bummer. oh well. guess i'll just need to place the tv slightly off center to get some room on my TV stand.


You could try something like this to raise your TV:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00IU...tbL&ref=plSrch

I just ordered one tonight because the TCL's included stands are too wide for my TV cabinet.


Is there an online manual for this TV somewhere? I'd love to betray looking through while waiting for mine to be delivered next Saturday.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus

Last edited by rolltide1017; 06-24-2017 at 11:00 PM.
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #983 of 6354 Old 06-24-2017, 11:26 PM
Member
 
wilmer007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by theboomr View Post
No I don't believe there is any real web browser available on Roku. Only an app that lets you mirror content from Firefox on a smartphone.
yeah i was looking at this just now when researching. the mirror option looks good but i haven't seen any footage of that, just read about it.
wilmer007 is offline  
post #984 of 6354 Old 06-25-2017, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedrik View Post
BTW..Blu-Ray movie..Avatar looks great on this TV!
So you didn't see any ghosting or other any other motion problems?
Jraiders92 is offline  
post #985 of 6354 Old 06-25-2017, 05:03 AM
Member
 
WhiskeyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Joliet,IL
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
You could try something like this to raise your TV:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00IU...tbL&ref=plSrch

I just ordered one tonight because the TCL's included stands are too wide for my TV cabinet.


Is there an online manual for this TV somewhere? I'd love to betray looking through while waiting for mine to be delivered next Saturday.
For a PDF of the manual, try the link in post #653 of this thread.

Jack

EDIT; I just noticed the link is also been added to the first post of this thread.

Pioneer Elite SC-95 / Audiosource 6.2 Tripath (Wide Amp) 9.2.2/11.2 system
JBL 590 (Front), / JBL 590 (Drivers & XO) Center in Klipsch RC-7 Cabinet
Klipsch RS-42 (Side & Rear), Klipsch RVX-42 (Wide), Klipsch RS-25 (Height)
(2) Klipsch RW-10D Subwoofers, Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos Enabled)
Pioneer Elite BDP-62FD (Blu Ray/SACD/DVD-Audio

Last edited by WhiskeyJ; 06-25-2017 at 06:35 AM. Reason: additional info
WhiskeyJ is offline  
post #986 of 6354 Old 06-25-2017, 05:50 AM
Member
 
danielb6752's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
I think that any improvement to the audio quality supported by streaming is great, but one point of clarification - DTS-HD is not the same as lossless DTS-HD Master Audio (DTS-HDMA). It's really more like DTS's equivalent of DD+.


Last edited by danielb6752; 06-25-2017 at 06:25 AM.
danielb6752 is offline  
post #987 of 6354 Old 06-25-2017, 05:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post
the remote..... I can't get either my Moxi remote or Harmony one remote to work the TV. I'm thinking this is a bluetooth remote is that right? Because Harmony lists the TV correctly, but in the set-up it asks me to learn the commands and the Harmony can't read the signal.

I have a hub style Harmony in the living room, I read somewhere that can work. Anyone tried it or gotten another remote to work? thanks
Dave
I first entered the model number into my Harmony Hub and it couldn't find it. It wanted me to go through button by button to teach it. Then I just entered Roku TV as the model and it's been working great ever since.
PurpleSunday is offline  
post #988 of 6354 Old 06-25-2017, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
tsax6010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilmer007 View Post
me and my dad are shopping for a new tv and the TCL 55P607 is one we are highly considering due to the HDR Dolby Vision along with included Roku, etc....

my question is does the set have an internet browser (like say an app) that allows my dad to navigate the internet without needing a PC or Smartphone as he would like to watch stuff online that requires flash which a smartphone cannot do and PCs are too complicated. pretty sure this set can do it right.
No browser app, and if there was one it would not work for what you would like anyhow. No browser app on any of my TVs nor the version of Edge browser on Xbox One support Flash content. Flash has been in the process of being phased out slowly for years now, mostly to be replaced with HTML5 native rendering. Mobile platforms (which any browser app is going to be built on) were among the first to put down their foot and say enough is enough. Proprietary plugin type web technologies are from a different time, when open standards were not widely welcomed. Products like Flash are such putrid gaping wide holes of security vulnerabilities I very strongly suggest disabling them on any computer you are using too - manually enable when needed and then disable the plugin again when done. Chrome is going to completely remove Flash in the near future from its browser to help force this along.
theboomr likes this.

42
tsax6010 is offline  
post #989 of 6354 Old 06-25-2017, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
tsax6010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilmer007 View Post
yeah i was looking at this just now when researching. the mirror option looks good but i haven't seen any footage of that, just read about it.
The screen mirroring supports Miracast and works great. Many newer Windows laptops made since Win8 natively support it. I use it with my Lumia 950XL Windows 10 Mobile to do full screen Continuum on my Roku devices all the time. I have tested on this TV and it works just as well as my stand alone Roku(s).

42
tsax6010 is offline  
post #990 of 6354 Old 06-25-2017, 09:04 AM
Member
 
tedrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jraiders92 View Post
So you didn't see any ghosting or other any other motion problems?
Not at all...turned off 24P and no difference in playback (60P).. tried some older blu-rays (Australia, piranha). Avatar and piranha are 3D movies and looked almost as good in 2D on the TCL. Some 480P DVD's ...some looked better than others (family man looked almost 4k quality while Lakehouse was just okay)...but none had ghosting or blurring.

Last edited by tedrik; 06-25-2017 at 09:07 AM. Reason: spelling
tedrik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off