*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 62 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4321Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1831 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I've also had the offset image/double image issue but only once. And I did the settings -> system restart option to fix it. I'll let you know if it pops up again, and yeah hopefully TCL addresses it in a firmware update.

Other than that and the not so great gray uniformity I'm loving it.
theboomr likes this.
bearantlers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1832 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 120
still one more minor quibble. seems like the roku ui defaults to a cool color temperature on startup. if you watch something in a roku app and your stream picture settings are set to something else (i.e. most of us use movie/warm), the roku ui will use that after you stop watching.
theboomr likes this.
henhowc is offline  
post #1833 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 11:43 AM
Member
 
maul528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlgsx View Post
I just moved from an LG plasma and I love it. I watch a lot of 720p and 1080p and imo it looks overall better on the TCL. I play a lot of Xbox one and that is definitely better.

It has some areas where the plasma was better of course, but I think it is quite the worthy upgrade especially for the price.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you crawlgsx for your input. Definitely adds to the temptation to purchase
crawlgsx likes this.
maul528 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1834 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
BASDSucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I was so pissed when i went to play ps4 in hdr and the screen was super dark, ive had this tv a week and FINALLY got the HDR and NON hdr picture to look great, and it gets reset out of the blue for no reason??? Are u serious, i spent hours and hours getting this picture right just to have it reset... This is a great way to piss off new tv buyers and tarnish ur tv brand...

(And wow, first post on a 10 year old account to)
BASDSucks is offline  
post #1835 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
*Official* 2017 TCL P-Series (55P607) Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BASDSucks View Post
I was so pissed when i went to play ps4 in hdr and the screen was super dark, ive had this tv a week and FINALLY got the HDR and NON hdr picture to look great, and it gets reset out of the blue for no reason??? Are u serious, i spent hours and hours getting this picture right just to have it reset... This is a great way to piss off new tv buyers and tarnish ur tv brand...

(And wow, first post on a 10 year old account to)


I'm not quite as angry as you are about it, but it was quite annoying to go through the steps to get everything right. Hopefully TCL will make sure this doesn't happen going forward.

With that said, I'm glad we can finally turn on FALD with game mode! Could anyone here test the input lag with it on?

P.S. Welcome to the forum! I'm a pretty new member myself.
bigapp likes this.
JStrach is offline  
post #1836 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 01:35 PM
Member
 
jdmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Lightbulb Hack to solve black-level crush in HDR content

I've had my 55P605 for a couple of weeks now. In general, picture quality has been great using Movie/Warm mode. However, I was having a very frustrating problem with HDR content having serious black-level crushing issues. Specific examples include "Iron Fist" episodes streaming via Netflix (DolbyVision), and "Man In the High Castle" episodes streaming via Amazon (HDR10). I spent many hours researching and trying different approaches to the problem.

One workaround that I've seen suggested was to use the advanced settings in the Roku phone app to use a Gamma setting of 1.8, rather than the default 2.2. This change at first gives the illusion that the problem is being solved, because the overall screen image immediately becomes brighter. What I eventually realized, however, is that due to the nature of gamma (exponentiation of a quantity between 0 and 1), changes to Gamma have their greatest effect on midtones, and the change is reduced gradually to zero at tone levels of 0 (full black) and 1 (full white). In other words, the screen looked brighter as a whole, but there was no significant improvement in shadow detail.

The solution I finally arrived at is to use the eleven-level tone adjustment to ramp up the brightness at the low end in a color-neutral way. After much experimentation, I eventually settled on the numbers shown in the attached screenshot image.

(Leave the Gamma at the default value of 2.2.)

I found this works nicely for me, but YMMV; feel free to give it a try yourself.

NOTE: Gray-level adjustments are "attached" to one of the three built-in color temperatures, not to individual Picture Modes. Therefore any gray-level adjustments made to a given color temperature will be manifested in *ALL* Picture Modes in which that color temperature is selected. For this reason, when I'm watching non-HDR content, I select the Normal color temperature to avoid applying the shadow-brightening adjustments where they aren't needed. Just make sure that the "HDR Dark" and "DV Dark" modes have the Warm color temperature selected (assuming that's where you applied the adjustments, of course).

I hope this helps. Feedback is welcome.

=jdmx=
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Roku TV gray adjustments for HDR.png
Views:	456
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	2260456  

Last edited by jdmx; 07-28-2017 at 02:00 PM.
jdmx is offline  
post #1837 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've noticed something strange since the update. When I watch a movie in Plex, the LED standby light will flash every 11 seconds (I timed it). This only happens while I'm playing a movie, not while I'm in the menus, and it only seems to be happening in Plex. Restarting the TV didn't fix the issue. Disabling the LED light on standby also didn't work. Can anyone test this and see if they also have this issue? And are there any ideas for how to fix it?
JStrach is offline  
post #1838 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
lss2tb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
That explains what has happened to my tv. I got woke up early in the this morning to my tv blinking the white standby/power light off/on bright then dim. I thought it was strange that it was doing that. When i got up for work a little later i tried turning it on and all it will do, is boot to the red TCL ROKU intro screen, then turn back off and start over again. I left it unplugged all day while i was at work and just now plugged it back up doing the same thing. Came here and sure enough a firmware update. Must have bricked my tv . Now im not sure what to do. It is the 55P605 Best Buy model and exactly yesterday it had been 30 days since purchase so no return to there. I no longer have the box to ship it anywhere either, figures i just tossed the box last week.
bigapp and theboomr like this.
lss2tb is offline  
post #1839 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 02:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lss2tb View Post
That explains what has happened to my tv. I got woke up early in the this morning to my tv blinking the white standby/power light off/on bright then dim. I thought it was strange that it was doing that. When i got up for work a little later i tried turning it on and all it will do, is boot to the red TCL ROKU intro screen, then turn back off and start over again. I left it unplugged all day while i was at work and just now plugged it back up doing the same thing. Came here and sure enough a firmware update. Must have bricked my tv . Now im not sure what to do. It is the 55P605 Best Buy model and exactly yesterday it had been 30 days since purchase so no return to there. I no longer have the box to ship it anywhere either, figures i just tossed the box last week.
Your mistake was unplugging it when it was updating. I'm sure if you browse TCL's troubleshooting manual on their site there might be a factory reset you can do with the buttons
Briancpest1 is offline  
post #1840 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
crawlgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Update wiped out all my picture settings. Set everything to low power mode. Gross.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris D.
LG C9 OLED - XBOX One X
crawlgsx is offline  
post #1841 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 02:50 PM
Newbie
 
lss2tb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I think it had to be finished updating. Just talked to my wife who just got home and she came to bed around 1:00 AM this morning and she said it was blinking bright then, it wasnt until around 4:00 AM when i powered on the tv to the continuous red screen loop then didn't unplug before i went to work at 6:00.
lss2tb is offline  
post #1842 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
lss2tb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Briancpest1 View Post
Your mistake was unplugging it when it was updating. I'm sure if you browse TCL's troubleshooting manual on their site there might be a factory reset you can do with the buttons
You are correct. i took the tv down off the wall, and sure enough there is a rest button on the back. Looks like the tv is booting back up to the "Lets Get Started Screen". Thanks for the TIP.
theboomr likes this.
lss2tb is offline  
post #1843 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
BASDSucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What are everyones NON hdr and HDR pictures settings, i cant get mine back to where it was,, this is my current (i like BRIGHT whites and DARK Blacks, or i try my best to get them)


NON HDR
Brighter
Vivid
Direct

Advanced
Local Contrast: High

Backlight 100
Brightness 52
Contrast 100
Sharpness 15
Color 53
Tint +2
Color temp Normal

HDR
TV Brighness NORMAL
Picture Mode NORMAL

Local Contrast HIGH

Backlight 100
Brightness 56
Contrast 100
Sharpnes 15
Color 80-100
Tint 0

Color temp Normal

Anybody else, ive found a few on a few pages but not alot.. Ive found that HDR color needs to be atleast 75-80 for the colors to POP in Horizon or 80+ for MLB the Show on ps4 pro if not everything looks bland

Last edited by BASDSucks; 07-28-2017 at 04:53 PM.
BASDSucks is offline  
post #1844 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 09:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lss2tb View Post
You are correct. i took the tv down off the wall, and sure enough there is a rest button on the back. Looks like the tv is booting back up to the "Lets Get Started Screen". Thanks for the TIP.
No problem. The one fail safe after working in electronics for years is always the factory reset. Lol
Briancpest1 is offline  
post #1845 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
jyqureshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Here are my settings with 40 back light, attached is the calibration report.


Code:
TV Brightness	Normal
Picture Mode	Movie
Gamma	2.2
Noise Reduction	Off

Advanced Settings
=============	
Local Contrast	High
Backlight	40
Brightness	50
Contrast	100
Color	45
Color Temp	Warm
Game mode	Off

11 PT WB
=======
	Red	Green	Blue
100%	49	42	-255
90%	36	28	-150
80%	19	6	-155
70%	27	3	-125
60%	23	6	-101
50%	10	2	-95
40%	18	2	-67
30%	19	1	-50
20%	23	-5	-29
10%	33	-15	25
5%	-1	-14	-46

	Color Space		
	Red	Green	Blue
Red	0	3	0
Green	0	0	3
Blue	0	3	20
Cyan	0	8	0
Magenta	34	3	-34
Yellow	6	-6	0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	final.at.40BL.png
Views:	545
Size:	289.3 KB
ID:	2260614  
jyqureshi is offline  
post #1846 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 10:36 PM
Member
 
M3rc Nate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can this TV (which I own) utilize its 120Hz when hooked up to a PC? I have it hooked up to my PC (GTX 970) with an HDMI 2.0 cable and whether it is 1080P or native 4K, 60Hz is the max Hz option in Windows 10. Thanks.
M3rc Nate is offline  
post #1847 of 6369 Old 07-28-2017, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Headphones. How can I set up a P605 so if there are two people in the room one cab listen privately on headphones while another could listen normally through TVs speakers
jwitty is offline  
post #1848 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 12:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I am trying to calibrate the white point. To me, the "Warm" setting which all reviews recommend looks a bit TOO warm. Everything appears sepia toned to an unnatural extent. I tried using Rtings' color calibration settings, and that seems to reduce the red a fair amount, but obviously this is suboptimal since my set will require different calibration from Rtings' set. Is there any way to reduce the perceived warmth/redness of the white point without using calibration equipment? If not I may just settle on using the "Normal" preset. It may not be accurate, but to my untrained eyes it generally looks pretty okay.

Also, how much variation is there in this panel colorwise? Am I better off just using the preset color temperatures rather than copying someone else's calibration settings?

I really wish panels were better calibrated at the factory. I would gladly pay a $100 or maybe even $200 premium to have a perfectly calibrated set.
St0chastic is offline  
post #1849 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 01:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3rc Nate View Post
Can this TV (which I own) utilize its 120Hz when hooked up to a PC? I have it hooked up to my PC (GTX 970) with an HDMI 2.0 cable and whether it is 1080P or native 4K, 60Hz is the max Hz option in Windows 10. Thanks.
The "120Hz CMI" spec is some sort of motion smoothness but the panel is native 60Hz, you won't get more than that.
theboomr likes this.
nemul is offline  
post #1850 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 01:32 AM
Member
 
M3rc Nate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemul View Post
The "120Hz CMI" spec is some sort of motion smoothness but the panel is native 60Hz, you won't get more than that.
That makes sense. However it is weird then that Bestbuy lists (in their specs):

Quote:
Refresh Rate: 120Hz
If it is really 60Hz but with a 120H motion smoothness feature.

Thanks though!
M3rc Nate is offline  
post #1851 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Viper32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,213
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1344 Post(s)
Liked: 1029
This new update contains many of the things myself directly and the community have suggested to make things better. We have to give it to TCL for listening to us enthusiast on changes we are asking for. I can tell you personally they have very good communication and are truly working very hard to make this the best bang for buck set available with the feature set it offers. KUDUS to TCL on my behalf for listening and making needed changes this quickly. I can see the 65" set being a very very good seller when it is available along with this one, and I am very interested to see what TCL will do with future sets.

WELL DONE AGAIN TCL TEAM....
theboomr likes this.

Current Sets: Sony XBR65A9F Master Series, Sony XBR75X940C, Sony XBR75X940D, Samsung UN65KS9800, TCL 65R617
Previous Sets: Samsung Q9FN, Sony XBR65X930D, XBR65X900B, XBR49X830C, Samsung KS8000, KU6500, UN55KS8500, UN49JS8500, JS9000, JU7090, JU6500, JU6400, HU9000, HU7250, PN64F8500, Vizio P65, LG 65EF9500, LG 55EC9300, Hisense 55H8C, TCL P-Series (55P607)
Viper32 is offline  
post #1852 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 06:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Not sure if anyone can offer up any suggestions of things to try.

Been a happy TCL p607 owner since the orders first went up on amazon.
With last nights firmware update, it seems to have broken ARC between my tv and my Denon S530BT. Nothing I have tried has been able to fix it.

Tried power cycling both. Tried unplugging hdmi cables between the two and reseating.
Ultimately did a full factory reset on both the TV and the Receiver.
Set everything back up, made sure HDMI CEC is turned on in both the Denon and the TCL, TCL still won't detect the arc connection to receiver (verified it is plugged into the correct HDMI receiver connector).

Everything else seems to be working fine with the new firmware 7.7.0 build 4111. Except for ARC. I actually had the tv on and running, while I was in the other room, and the ARC was operating fine until immediately after 7.7.0 build 4111 got pulled down automatically.

Is there a manual way to pull down the last firmware. Not that that would do me much good considering the tv would just auto update again...

Really didn't want to have to contact TCL support on my limited time off, but don't see what choice I have.
PonsArak is offline  
post #1853 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 06:46 AM
Member
 
bcatwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaFrog View Post
Appreciate the reply. I agree it could have been the cable box, but I also streamed the same media through the Ruku TV apps (HBOGO and Showtime Anytime) bypassing the cable box and the HDMI inputs. Had the same issues. So I'm concerned maybe I don't have something set correctly.

If anyone reading this could stream the movie Glengarry Glen Ross and report back if they have very noticeable noise throughout the movie, I'd appreciate it?

EDIT: I don't consider myself a videophile, but I would like to make sure i'm getting the best performance out of my budget TV. For the most part, I'm very happy with the quality of the image. It's just these few specific instances where it seems to fall short and I'd like to make sure it's not a user generated problem.
FYI, I tried watching Glengarry Glen Ross on Showtime through my Comcast Xfinity box, and it looked TERRIBLE with noise and such as you said. This has to be a problem with the source content being poor so that it looks bad on a much better 4K TV or something because I haven't had any other content (have watched a ton of different sources and content) look remotely this poor on the TV which I love.
bcatwilly is offline  
post #1854 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper32 View Post
This new update contains many of the things myself directly and the community have suggested to make things better. We have to give it to TCL for listening to us enthusiast on changes we are asking for. I can tell you personally they have very good communication and are truly working very hard to make this the best bang for buck set available with the feature set it offers. KUDUS to TCL on my behalf for listening and making needed changes this quickly. I can see the 65" set being a very very good seller when it is available along with this one, and I am very interested to see what TCL will do with future sets.



WELL DONE AGAIN TCL TEAM....


Besides adding FALD to game mode, do you know if there are any other features in the update we should now about?

Also, is the input lag the same as before, or does turning on FALD increase it?

Thanks for being a go-between with TCL!
JStrach is offline  
post #1855 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 08:03 AM
Member
 
maul528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Did the update address the local dimming issues mentioned here? http://televisions.reviewed.com/cont...ries-tv-review
I have this TV on order. Are any owners experiencing the issues reported in this review?

"This TV's biggest flaw is one that doesn't really show up during lab tests and is only apparent if you watch various types of content, which we always do. There's something off with the local dimming. Specifically, because it uses "contrast control zones" (full-array local dimming), this TV gets brighter when more of the screen is displaying bright content than when not. Its black levels shift dramatically, as well. A 90% white screen averages about 357 nits in SDR mode; a 10% screen only 138. A 90% black screen dips down to serious darkness at 0.005 nits, but a 10% black patch is quite unfortunately bright, hitting around 0.10-0.15 nits depending on placement.

The good news is that this isn't terribly noticeable from scene to scene. The bad news is that this isn't where the dimming issues stop. While there's some flickering on particular scenes as the dimming algorithm adjusts itself, the most noticeable issue is over-brightening on scenes that don't need it."
bigapp likes this.
maul528 is offline  
post #1856 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
persiannight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bristol, CT. USA
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Just picked my set up last night from Best Buy. Loving it so far. Have a 49 TCL S405 in the bedroom and the difference is night and day between the 2. I've used the RTings Expert 11-Point WB settings on the TV and everything looks good. It brought down some of the overpowered warmth in the whites in Warm mode. Should I NOT use those settings? There settings seem WAY different than what a couple of you have posted with a bunch of negative values in the red and green percentages. 1080p to 4K upscaling is a little on the soft side, to be expected. Coming from a 55" Panasonic Plasma I'd say the glare is less on this set but colors and black levels I still think are better on the plasma. If wishes were horses I'd have an OLED but you could literally buy 3 of these sets for the amount you'd spend on an OLED set.
maul528 likes this.
persiannight is offline  
post #1857 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
BASDSucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyqureshi View Post
Here are my settings with 40 back light, attached is the calibration report.
[/code]
How can i do my own calibration like this?
BASDSucks is offline  
post #1858 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
jyqureshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by BASDSucks View Post
How can i do my own calibration like this?
You will need a light meter, like this https://www.amazon.com/X-Rite-i1Disp...dp/B0055MBQOW/, and software to work with the light meter, like ColorHCFR.

I used the light meter above with ColorHCFR software to calibrate my TV. You can try my settings, if you don't like them you can always reset to defaults.
jyqureshi is offline  
post #1859 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
jakejm79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0chastic View Post
I really wish panels were better calibrated at the factory. I would gladly pay a $100 or maybe even $200 premium to have a perfectly calibrated set.
Calibration also depends on the viewing environment too, while they could calibrate for the various changes from panel to panel they can't customize it for your room. I'm not sure how much pro calibration costs, but I can't imagine it is much more than the couple of hundred you say you are happy to pay.
jakejm79 is offline  
post #1860 of 6369 Old 07-29-2017, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
persiannight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bristol, CT. USA
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyqureshi View Post
You will need a light meter, like this https://www.amazon.com/X-Rite-i1Disp...dp/B0055MBQOW/, and software to work with the light meter, like ColorHCFR.

I used the light meter above with ColorHCFR software to calibrate my TV. You can try my settings, if you don't like them you can always reset to defaults.
I have a Sypder Pro 5 that I calibrated my Mac with, could i use that? It seems that the software you posted is free? If I download and use my light meter, do I have to hook my Macbook Pro up to the television? What do I use for test patterns? Also, I would assume that I should reset the 11-point adjustments I already put in before I calibrate with this?

Last edited by persiannight; 07-29-2017 at 09:53 AM.
persiannight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off