2017 Samsung Q7F/Q7C Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 219Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 574 Old 11-08-2017, 09:33 PM
Member
 
HarryWild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Installing behind the wall wiring for wall mount Q7F

I like to know how you go about feed the fiberoptic thin wire and the power cord wires for the Q7F! Can you feed both the fiberoptic and power cord inside the drywall or only the fiberoptic wire and install a new electric outlet above the wall mount?

Thanks!

Last edited by HarryWild; 11-08-2017 at 10:26 PM.
HarryWild is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 574 Old 11-09-2017, 03:25 AM
Senior Member
 
jvkahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Harford Co, MD
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryWild View Post
I like to know how you go about feed the fiberoptic thin wire and the power cord wires for the Q7F! Can you feed both the fiberoptic and power cord inside the drywall or only the fiberoptic wire and install a new electric outlet above the wall mount?

Thanks!
Fiberoptic - no problem. Power cords, technically are not rated for in wall. Are you installing this behind the tv because you can place the one connect anywhere within about 15 feet of the tv. Most probably place the box in a cabinet below the tv where their other equip is located for easy connections.

JVK Samsung 2018 QN75Q7F, UBD-K8500, Denon AVR-X6200W 7.1.4 Klipsch G-28, G-16, G-12 & R-115SW
Samsung 2017 QN65Q7F, Yamaha RX-V681 5.1 Klipsch G-28, G16 & R112SW
jvkahl is offline  
post #183 of 574 Old 11-09-2017, 08:56 AM
Member
 
HarryWild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvkahl View Post
Fiberoptic - no problem. Power cords, technically are not rated for in wall. Are you installing this behind the tv because you can place the one connect anywhere within about 15 feet of the tv. Most probably place the box in a cabinet below the tv where their other equip is located for easy connections.
Thank for the reply. I am having trouble placing the one connect since I want to have a minimalistic look. I don't know how to run the fiber optics line back outside the wall, i'd it and use the curve piece of blue plastic. Do you glue the plastic in the side of the wall? I think I am at the point of returning the z7f for a conventional tv setup!
HarryWild is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 574 Old 11-09-2017, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
jvkahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Harford Co, MD
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryWild View Post
Thank for the reply. I am having trouble placing the one connect since I want to have a minimalistic look. I don't know how to run the fiber optics line back outside the wall, i'd it and use the curve piece of blue plastic. Do you glue the plastic in the side of the wall? I think I am at the point of returning the z7f for a conventional tv setup!
Unwind the FO from the disc. Run the FO inside the wall or over and paint to match your wall. Assuming you have a cabinet with other equipment leave the disc in there. The disc is simply a coil to hold the excess FO

JVK Samsung 2018 QN75Q7F, UBD-K8500, Denon AVR-X6200W 7.1.4 Klipsch G-28, G-16, G-12 & R-115SW
Samsung 2017 QN65Q7F, Yamaha RX-V681 5.1 Klipsch G-28, G16 & R112SW
jvkahl is offline  
post #185 of 574 Old 11-09-2017, 11:41 AM
Member
 
robsano1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryWild View Post
Thank for the reply. I am having trouble placing the one connect since I want to have a minimalistic look. I don't know how to run the fiber optics line back outside the wall, i'd it and use the curve piece of blue plastic. Do you glue the plastic in the side of the wall? I think I am at the point of returning the z7f for a conventional tv setup!
Typically, the wires or FO from the TV into the wall and back out is not an issue because its hidden behind the control box or cabinet. I would just cut a square in the dry wall and fish a rope where I want the FO to run. Then, tie the rope to the FO and pull it through gently. If you need too, repair the hole or buy a cover plate or just leave it if it can't be seen.
robsano1 is offline  
post #186 of 574 Old 11-09-2017, 10:33 PM
Member
 
HarryWild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by robsano1 View Post
Typically, the wires or FO from the TV into the wall and back out is not an issue because its hidden behind the control box or cabinet. I would just cut a square in the dry wall and fish a rope where I want the FO to run. Then, tie the rope to the FO and pull it through gently. If you need too, repair the hole or buy a cover plate or just leave it if it can't be seen.

The wall mount for the Q7F is an outer wall with insulation inside. For that reason, I going to leave the FO on the outside but I cannot find out how Samsung has it stuck to their wall in the demo above. Did Samsung engineers glue the FO or did they use invisible tape to secure it on to the wall like that?

Look at how high the Q7F is wall mounted on the demo. It must be 5 feet from the ground and the sitting area looks like 12 feet way! Strange. I thought that as the resolution of the TV increase; you close the distance from the TV not stay the same! Still it so high too. I need to know if this is the way to do it still.
HarryWild is offline  
post #187 of 574 Old 11-10-2017, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryWild View Post
https://youtu.be/Jr1dYjR8wXw

The wall mount for the Q7F is an outer wall with insulation inside. For that reason, I going to leave the FO on the outside but I cannot find out how Samsung has it stuck to their wall in the demo above. Did Samsung engineers glue the FO or did they use invisible tape to secure it on to the wall like that?

Look at how high the Q7F is wall mounted on the demo. It must be 5 feet from the ground and the sitting area looks like 12 feet way! Strange. I thought that as the resolution of the TV increase; you close the distance from the TV not stay the same! Still it so high too. I need to know if this is the way to do it still.
That TV is mounted too high, look at the neck strain that the kids will face. Your box should have contained some double sided tape that can be used to hold the OC in place.
BPlayer is online now  
post #188 of 574 Old 11-10-2017, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 455
How does this TV do for room reflections? I have a large widow behind the seat and see a lot of daytime reflections in my Sony XBR 79. Are the Q7/Q9 sets average for this? It's one of the reasons I'm inclined to a super bright LCD as compared to an OLED for my replacement.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC CH, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #189 of 574 Old 11-10-2017, 05:27 PM
Member
 
HarryWild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryWild View Post
https://youtu.be/Jr1dYjR8wXw

The wall mount for the Q7F is an outer wall with insulation inside. For that reason, I going to leave the FO on the outside but I cannot find out how Samsung has it stuck to their wall in the demo above. Did Samsung engineers glue the FO or did they use invisible tape to secure it on to the wall like that?

Look at how high the Q7F is wall mounted on the demo. It must be 5 feet from the ground and the sitting area looks like 12 feet way! Strange. I thought that as the resolution of the TV increase; you close the distance from the TV not stay the same! Still it so high too. I need to know if this is the way to do it still.
After alot of thought and worrying, I returned my 65" Q7F and have gone a smaller 55" OLED C7P. Just did not want to deal with the exotic one center. I feel bad that I went from Samsung, which I have all my TVs but LG is right for me now with their OLED series!
MrRobotoPlus likes this.
HarryWild is offline  
post #190 of 574 Old 11-10-2017, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 576 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
How does this TV do for room reflections? I have a large widow behind the seat and see a lot of daytime reflections in my Sony XBR 79. Are the Q7/Q9 sets average for this? It's one of the reasons I'm inclined to a super bright LCD as compared to an OLED for my replacement.
The anti reflective capabilities of the Q7/Q9 are class leading. Most other displays don't even come close.
Ted99 likes this.
Nillaz is offline  
post #191 of 574 Old 11-11-2017, 05:37 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Had this Q7 Samsung 55 inch for about 2 weeks and I Love it. Do people use the HDR+ mode??? I just use Movie Mode.
mountlaurel is offline  
post #192 of 574 Old 11-11-2017, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Corrugated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountlaurel View Post
Had this Q7 Samsung 55 inch for about 2 weeks and I Love it. Do people use the HDR+ mode??? I just use Movie Mode.
Hi Mountlaurel,

I have been playing around with my set's settings as well, and have been preferring the HDR+ mode by far! Takes a little bit for the eyes to get used to it, but the set just seems to contrast and 'pop' best in this preset mode
Corrugated is offline  
post #193 of 574 Old 11-13-2017, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Qestion

Hello ... I just want to ask you if this TV can play 4K videos (for example big 50 or 60 Gb file), from an external storage device (or a NAS through LAN), with internal video player ?
Thanks
Clauds is offline  
post #194 of 574 Old 11-13-2017, 11:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Almost a moth after purchase my q7f developed a thin green line across all the height of the tv, luckily bought from amazon and can just return, this tv is a goner as this is a serious problem. Dont know If I want to purchas eanother q7f. I have the 75 and there are just couple option for this size range, I mostly use it for gaming so unsure if I should go to the sony 940e or not, or just wait for next year. Just recently had another issue with another samsung ks8000 60" which I also own and I am unsure if I want to keep buying samsung brand tvs.
Nekki Basara is offline  
post #195 of 574 Old 11-13-2017, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clauds View Post
Hello ... I just want to ask you if this TV can play 4K videos (for example big 50 or 60 Gb file), from an external storage device (or a NAS through LAN), with internal video player ?
Thanks
yes, you can. I did it often to play hdr videos painlessly from my usb hdd usuing the tv´s internal player.
Corrugated and Clauds like this.
Nekki Basara is offline  
post #196 of 574 Old 11-13-2017, 11:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I dont know why I cannot edit my posts, sorry for the several post in a row.

here´s a photo of the green line I mentioned
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171112_072004.jpg
Views:	441
Size:	735.2 KB
ID:	2314910  
Nekki Basara is offline  
post #197 of 574 Old 11-14-2017, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nekki Basara View Post
I dont know why I cannot edit my posts, sorry for the several post in a row.

here´s a photo of the green line I mentioned
IIRC you need to accumulate a certain number of posts before you can edit.
AnotherDude is offline  
post #198 of 574 Old 11-17-2017, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Corrugated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Looks effed, I'd be getting an exchange on that set.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nekki Basara View Post
I dont know why I cannot edit my posts, sorry for the several post in a row.

here´s a photo of the green line I mentioned
Corrugated is offline  
post #199 of 574 Old 11-19-2017, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got 3 days ago an 55Q7F. Everything it's great except 2 things:
- I have an CI card from a cable operator - all TV stations are configured in a predefined order - and I did not find any option to change this default order (to move a TV stations to another position in list) - there it's no option to do this from the TV (or at least I did'nt fint it)
- the second and most annoying issue it's with the sound settings: I have a sound bar from samsung (J355). There it's no posibility in the sound settings to FIX the sound to Dolby or DTS. If you run a normal TV station (which does not have dolby/dts sound) - the option it's disable. If you run a movie (for example) with DTS/dolby sound - you must to setup manualy (from sound settings) - dolby/dts. If you run another move after that - the settings goes back automaticaly to PCB and you have to manualy setup again to DTS/dolby (on every material you watch). It's very annoying
Clauds is offline  
post #200 of 574 Old 11-19-2017, 09:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Guys,

Don't know if this review has been posted before. I have read through the whole of the thread, and maybe missed it. Its a very in depth review from CNET, and there is a link to the reviewers settings on page 2 of the review.

I'm in the middle of doing my homework on 65" LED TV's, as I plan to buy one before the New Year, to replace my 2011 Samsung Plasma, which has a vertical line of dead pixels.

Not allowed to post link, as I haven't got 5 posts yet. I will come back later and post it when I have enough posts. You could have a look in the CNET website.
PS3_Kiwi is offline  
post #201 of 574 Old 11-20-2017, 12:49 PM
Member
 
jdodmead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm posting for a friend that just got a 75" Qled(I have an LG oled), he is having trouble getting sound through his 2 channel Rotel pre amp connected with optical. His pre has a built in dac but doesn't decode any of the ht formats. He say's he get's sound when watching tv, but not when he uses Amazon or YouTube.
In looking at the owner's manual I can't find where the sound can be down converted to 2 channel. Anyone else have this issue or know how to make adjustments for it to work?
He'll eventually pick up an ht receiver, but until then he'll be using his 2 channel system.

Thanks
Jeff

Last edited by jdodmead; 11-20-2017 at 01:38 PM.
jdodmead is offline  
post #202 of 574 Old 11-21-2017, 04:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Q7f left corner of tv is this normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171120_210034_1511264158011.jpg
Views:	711
Size:	4.30 MB
ID:	2318956  
Yeitzo is offline  
post #203 of 574 Old 11-21-2017, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Fins^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
What is the story with the Q7F?

I saw this in Costco with a demo loop and I thought it looked fantastic (no Sony to demo).

I currently have a PRO-141 (60") in my theater and a Sammy 7100 (40") in my office Grotto. I'm watching UHD demos on my 7100 now and most of them look pretty good but not as good as that Q7F.

I like the OLEDs but I'm thinking I should go up in size after living with the 60" for so many years.

I watch mostly Blu-Ray and some streaming content in the theater. Everything else I watch in the Grotto.

Last edited by Fins^; 11-21-2017 at 09:39 PM.
Fins^ is offline  
post #204 of 574 Old 11-22-2017, 11:20 AM
Member
 
jl449's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Lopez View Post
Looking at getting this TV in 65"

Black Friday pricing is $2199 - is it worth it?

I really like the OLED and the Sony, but neither play my MKV files I want and I know the LG has burn in issues.

I've also considered the MU9000

I'm in the same boat but debating for the 75Q7F or the 75MU9000. Price difference of ~500 bucks.
I called Cleveland Plasma and talked to Chris. He steered me in a different direction/manufacture.

Any inputs?
jl449 is offline  
post #205 of 574 Old 11-23-2017, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 8
For someone who isn’t happy with the 2016 lg c6 OLED due to lack of color pop, would you guys say the q7 is the best TV on the market for super saturated, punchy color? I don’t care about “realistic” picture quality since expert settings and calibrations make the tv look darker and less vibrant to my eyes. If not the q7, what are the other alternatives? I used to own a Samsung lcd back in the day and for its time was the most vibrant “cartoonish” display and I was perfectly happy with that.

Last edited by spiro77; 11-23-2017 at 11:55 AM.
spiro77 is offline  
post #206 of 574 Old 11-24-2017, 04:46 AM
Senior Member
 
T100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: S.C.
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Just received this TV Tuesday and got it all setup and was watching a movie and walked by the Tv and noticed a light 💡 between the screen and the bezel. It has separated from the bottom and light was coming from the edge, I lightly pressed on the screen 📺 and noticed it didn’t bond correctly. I let Squaretrade know with pictures of the gap with light 💡 showing though it. This was a replacement for a JS9000 for a light bleed issue on the left side. 😮
T100 is offline  
post #207 of 574 Old 11-24-2017, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Corrugated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi Jeff,

I too had a similar issue with my Q55F. Confirm that you are using the correct TV audio menu options to output 2 channel sound via the optical output. Confirm the optical cable that is being used is working correctly (mine wasn't and swapped it out, all was good then).




Quote:
Originally Posted by jdodmead View Post
I'm posting for a friend that just got a 75" Qled(I have an LG oled), he is having trouble getting sound through his 2 channel Rotel pre amp connected with optical. His pre has a built in dac but doesn't decode any of the ht formats. He say's he get's sound when watching tv, but not when he uses Amazon or YouTube.
In looking at the owner's manual I can't find where the sound can be down converted to 2 channel. Anyone else have this issue or know how to make adjustments for it to work?
He'll eventually pick up an ht receiver, but until then he'll be using his 2 channel system.

Thanks
Jeff
Corrugated is offline  
post #208 of 574 Old 11-26-2017, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Does somebody know how to see source info? like when playing games i want to see is it HDR or 4k resolution on the top right corner. I checked youtube only find KS series way to show it but doesnt work on QLED that way. I have Q8F
DJ FITME is offline  
post #209 of 574 Old 11-26-2017, 08:27 AM
Member
 
hammeron56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ FITME View Post
Does somebody know how to see source info? like when playing games i want to see is it HDR or 4k resolution on the top right corner. I checked youtube only find KS series way to show it but doesnt work on QLED that way. I have Q8F
It's a two-step sequence on the remote:
1) press the "red, green, yellow, blue" button to get a popup menu
2) press the large, circular button to select "info"
hammeron56 is offline  
post #210 of 574 Old 11-26-2017, 08:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammeron56 View Post
It's a two-step sequence on the remote:
1) press the "red, green, yellow, blue" button to get a popup menu
2) press the large, circular button to select "info"
I did that and nothing happens it just closes the popup menu. Its weird when i check netflix or standard tv it shows some info but when doing it with xbox or playstation nothing happens

Last edited by DJ FITME; 11-26-2017 at 11:00 AM.
DJ FITME is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off