2018 Samsung Q9FN ''Owners thread'' ''No price talk'' - Page 340 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11082Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10171 of 10323 Old 08-07-2019, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
I'm going to have to re-calibrate
I was kidding. This tv is always awesome. I can't really tell if anything has changed

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10172 of 10323 Old 08-07-2019, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
I was kidding. This tv is always awesome. I can't really tell if anything has changed

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Going to do it anyway ... it's a way of life, and you never know
Brian_Barros likes this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2043
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10173 of 10323 Old 08-07-2019, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
laggerific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by kozege View Post
Oh I PM'd not realizing this was asked here too. The post I used is somewhere on this forum, I touched on it in a previous post in the Denon AVR section too if you have time to dig.
Since there's some interest, from what I recall this is how you do it on a Denon AVR:


1. Connect AVR Monitor-1 HDMI-ARC to OneConnect HDMI-ARC
2. Connect AVR Monitor-2 HDMI to OneConnect HDMI-2 (can be any input on OC)
3. Connect all HD-audio devices to receiver
4. In AVR menu set HD-audio devices to output on Monitor-1, then set HD-audio devices with FreeSync to output on Monitor-2
5. Power-on an HD-audio device, change AVR to correct input, change TV to HDMI-ARC (receiving signal from AVR Monitor-1), press and hold AVR remote macro key (1 to 4) to set shortcut, repeat for other devices
6. Power-on an HDA-FreeSync device, change AVR to correct input, change TV to HDMI-2 (receiving signal from AVR Monitor-2), enable FreeSync on AVR & TV, press and hold AVR remote macro key (1 to 4) to set shortcut, repeat for other devices

Thanks for the info...unfortunately, the x8500h does not handle certain features, like 120Hz, so I need to plug those devices into the TV. The issue is that I refuse to go lossy with my Atmos by using ARC.
Damar1979 likes this.
laggerific is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10174 of 10323 Old 08-07-2019, 08:17 PM
Member
 
johnnywynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post
I'm also using it as screen monitor and just had to rename source from PC to whatever (like "MY-HTPC").
Don't have any overscan issue, I'm not at home right now, but is there some picture ratio option somewhere ? (16/9, fullpixel scan, overscan etc)
Is your PC in 3840x2160 @60Hz ?
Thanks mate, I'll try and rename the source and see if that works. Unfortunately it looks like the only options available to me are 3840x2160 @30Hz . I dont know about such things but do you think 1080p true color at 120Hz would be a better selection than 3840 at 30Hz?
johnnywynne is offline  
post #10175 of 10323 Old 08-07-2019, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by laggerific View Post
Thanks for the info...unfortunately, the x8500h does not handle certain features, like 120Hz, so I need to plug those devices into the TV. The issue is that I refuse to go lossy with my Atmos by using ARC.
That doesn't sound like an issue at all. Atmos deserves to be lossless. Pure sound as intended.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
laggerific likes this.
Damar1979 is offline  
post #10176 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 12:12 AM
Senior Member
 
FarleyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by laggerific View Post
Thanks for the info...unfortunately, the x8500h does not handle certain features, like 120Hz, so I need to plug those devices into the TV. The issue is that I refuse to go lossy with my Atmos by using ARC.


That's a great point, and I'd forgotten that my x6400 also doesn't support 120hz... Bugger!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FarleyUK is offline  
post #10177 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 12:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywynne View Post
Thanks mate, I'll try and rename the source and see if that works. Unfortunately it looks like the only options available to me are 3840x2160 @30Hz . I dont know about such things but do you think 1080p true color at 120Hz would be a better selection than 3840 at 30Hz?
I checked your NUC5CPYH specs and it's only HMDI 1.4b:
https://www.intel.co.uk/content/www/.../nuc5cpyh.html

HDMI 1.4b only supports 3840 × 2160 at 24, 25, and 30 Hz, so no big surprise here :
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Version_1.4

It depends of the content you are planning to watch, but if you want to watch a 4k movie, then 3840 × 2160 @24Hz is better, if you watch some FHD series which are often [email protected] then [email protected] is better etc..

Best thing to do with an HTPC is to configure it to switch resolution/frequency depending on content (you can for example do it with MPC-BE+MADVR, just google it)
KwizatZ is offline  
post #10178 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 01:55 AM
Member
 
johnnywynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post
I checked your NUC5CPYH specs and it's only HMDI 1.4b:
https://www.intel.co.uk/content/www/.../nuc5cpyh.html

HDMI 1.4b only supports 3840 × 2160 at 24, 25, and 30 Hz, so no big surprise here :
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Version_1.4

It depends of the content you are planning to watch, but if you want to watch a 4k movie, then 3840 × 2160 @24Hz is better, if you watch some FHD series which are often [email protected] then [email protected] is better etc..

Best thing to do with an HTPC is to configure it to switch resolution/frequency depending on content (you can for example do it with MPC-BE+MADVR, just google it)
Ya I suspect you are correct mate. I spent a couple of hours testing. I have a Samsung 65Q9FN (120hz), my Intel NUC HTPC and an Amazon Firestick 4k.
The Firestick 4K displays content a lot better by default.
Changing my NUC to [email protected] improved the motion of streaming sports considerably but the image didnt look anywhere as good (even though the stream was 1080p 25 frames 50Hz). The best i had it looking was using [email protected] rather than 30Hz).
I then changed it to [email protected] to watch a 1080p movie I had downloaded. And again it looked better than watching it at [email protected]

My conclusion is the Firestick 4K should be my goto streamer. But if i need to watch something from the NUC, I should keep it at 3840x2160 and change the @30Hz , 25Hz or 24Hz to match whatever content Im watching to avoid tearing or judder.

(for whatever reason setting the NUC to [email protected] produced a much poorer picture albeit a much smoother one)
johnnywynne is offline  
post #10179 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 02:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywynne View Post
Ya I suspect you are correct mate. I spent a couple of hours testing. I have a Samsung 65Q9FN (120hz), my Intel NUC HTPC and an Amazon Firestick 4k.

The Firestick 4K displays content a lot better by default.

Changing my NUC to [email protected] improved the motion of streaming sports considerably but the image didnt look anywhere as good (even though the stream was 1080p 25 frames 50Hz). The best i had it looking was using [email protected] rather than 30Hz).

I then changed it to [email protected] to watch a 1080p movie I had downloaded. And again it looked better than watching it at [email protected]



My conclusion is the Firestick 4K should be my goto streamer. But if i need to watch something from the NUC, I should keep it at 3840x2160 and change the @30Hz , 25Hz or 24Hz to match whatever content Im watching to avoid tearing or judder.



(for whatever reason setting the NUC to [email protected] produced a much poorer picture albeit a much smoother one)
Or just use the built in apps

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10180 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Going to do it anyway ... it's a way of life, and you never know
Notice anything different?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10181 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Notice anything different?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
The firmware number

Yes, certain aspects of the calibration have changed, for the better, like the IRE 7 being more in-line with where it should be (should help black crush) and best pre-calibration Color setting is 23 rather than 24, but I'm still checking on it. Which is to say I'm still waking up after a long calibration night

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2043
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10182 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,352
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6569 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #10183 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Well if thats the case those are BIG improvements.......
He was only kidding ...
FarleyUK and Damar1979 like this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2043
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10184 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
The firmware number



Yes, certain aspects of the calibration have changed, for the better, like the IRE 7 being more in-line with where it should be (should help black crush) and best pre-calibration Color setting is 23 rather than 24, but I'm still checking on it. Which is to say I'm still waking up after a long calibration night
Idk PQ looks a little sharper to me watching my regular shows look better. Prob just placebo. Anyways you going to post new calibration results?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10185 of 10323 Old 08-08-2019, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Idk PQ looks a little sharper to me watching my regular shows look better. Prob just placebo. Anyways you going to post new calibration results?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Indeed, later today on the Settings thread.
FarleyUK and Brian_Barros like this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2043
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10186 of 10323 Old 08-09-2019, 12:03 PM
Member
 
VoodooGTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Is the QN65Q9FN OCB and the QN65Q90R OCB same as far as specs go? And that the panel is the only thing different between the two?

Samsung 65" QLED
Yamaha A-1070
Polk Signature Series
SVS SB-2000
VoodooGTS is offline  
post #10187 of 10323 Old 08-09-2019, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooGTS View Post
Is the QN65Q9FN OCB and the QN65Q90R OCB same as far as specs go? And that the panel is the only thing different between the two?
That's a good question

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10188 of 10323 Old 08-09-2019, 06:12 PM
Member
 
VoodooGTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Or maybe a better question is how much of a difference in overall quality on the QN65Q9FN vs QN65Q9FN? I saw a great deal at a local Best Buy for QN65Q9FN for $1799 vs the new QN65Q9FN for $2799. Any advise?

Samsung 65" QLED
Yamaha A-1070
Polk Signature Series
SVS SB-2000
VoodooGTS is offline  
post #10189 of 10323 Old 08-09-2019, 07:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooGTS View Post
Or maybe a better question is how much of a difference in overall quality on the QN65Q9FN vs QN65Q9FN? I saw a great deal at a local Best Buy for QN65Q9FN for $1799 vs the new QN65Q9FN for $2799. Any advise?
Based on all information gathered this year thus far, unless viewing angles are a concern to you the q9fn is a better overall set than the q90r. Equal in terms of brightness, q9fn has a wider color gamut in hdr, deeper blacks, better contrast ratio. Samsung tends to go backwards or level off after a year of a good release. The 2016 ks9800 was still much better than the 2017 q9, the 2018 qnfn while not MUCH better than this years, I would still classify it as better except for viewing angles, and the q9fn is no slouch in that department, at least in my opinion. 2020 could be a different animal, but I personally think lcd fald is at a standstill with current technology based on what everyone is putting out right now

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
wmoss35 is offline  
post #10190 of 10323 Old 08-10-2019, 03:05 AM
Senior Member
 
FarleyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 57
2018 Samsung Q9FN ''Owners thread'' ''No price talk''

Something weird has started happening... When I try and view HDR content for calibration on the attached usb stick, the TV isn't going into hdr mode. Always used to, so I'm very confused....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by FarleyUK; 08-10-2019 at 04:19 AM.
FarleyUK is offline  
post #10191 of 10323 Old 08-10-2019, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Everytime I use the browser to stream workout videos I lose internet connection. Is there another browser we can use? It's not the tv as I stream everything with no issues and it's not the site as I use my surface pro on the same site with no issues. Are there other options

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10192 of 10323 Old 08-10-2019, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Everytime I use the browser to stream workout videos I lose internet connection. Is there another browser we can use? It's not the tv as I stream everything with no issues and it's not the site as I use my surface pro on the same site with no issues. Are there other options

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Maybe a cookie thing?

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2043
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10193 of 10323 Old 08-10-2019, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Last night I watched the Liverpool/Norwich football match which was live on Sky HD.
I could see some DSE on panning shots of the pitch.
I imagine that on a 75"screen some DSE should be expected?
chasteven is offline  
post #10194 of 10323 Old 08-10-2019, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by chasteven View Post
Last night I watched the Liverpool/Norwich football match which was live on Sky HD.

I could see some DSE on panning shots of the pitch.

I imagine that on a 75"screen some DSE should be expected?
Yes

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10195 of 10323 Old 08-10-2019, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post
My Samsung TV is wall mounted, and its a pain in the ass to tip the mount to access the USB port on the back of the tv, for USB Firmware updates.

Is there a cable I can buy that I can plug into the TV USB, then have dangle on the back of the TV< where then I can just plug in my thumb drive to that cable and update firmware (opposed to plugging flash drive directly into the USB port of the tv)? Would something like this work? https://www.bestbuy.com/site/dynex-6...?skuId=8610285
Um I think your in the wrong thread....we all have OCB


Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10196 of 10323 Old 08-10-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Um I think your in the wrong thread....we all have OCB


Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Some of us also have OCD ...
FarleyUK likes this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2043
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10197 of 10323 Old 08-13-2019, 03:28 PM
Member
 
VoodooGTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Anyone having random shutdown issues with the 1260 firmware?

Samsung 65" QLED
Yamaha A-1070
Polk Signature Series
SVS SB-2000
VoodooGTS is offline  
post #10198 of 10323 Old 08-13-2019, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooGTS View Post
Anyone having random shutdown issues with the 1260 firmware?
Maybe it's time to switch to 1270.6?

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2043
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10199 of 10323 Old 08-13-2019, 10:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
1270.6 is out in Europe too now
trondvidar is online now  
post #10200 of 10323 Old 08-14-2019, 04:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by trondvidar View Post
1270.6 is out in Europe too now
Any noticeable differences? Haven't updated mine yet.
Ehviding is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off