2018 Samsung Q9FN ''Owners thread'' ''No price talk'' - Page 347 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11112Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10381 of 10494 Old 10-05-2019, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 20
This is red dead redemption 2 in hdr on PS4 pro. Just does not look as good as my q8.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191004_120436_1570302140453.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	2.16 MB
ID:	2623986   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191004_120446_1570302166842.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	2.27 MB
ID:	2623988  
esosa17237 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10382 of 10494 Old 10-05-2019, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 20
These are q8. On q9 buster Scruggs looked dim and very washed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190903_010845_1570302240150.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	2.40 MB
ID:	2623990   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190903_010837_1570302267941.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	2.13 MB
ID:	2623994   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190903_014716_1570302396749.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	2.99 MB
ID:	2623998  
esosa17237 is offline  
post #10383 of 10494 Old 10-05-2019, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I figured it out. Leaving the HDMI settings on auto was creating the washed image. Once I set to low it looks normal now
esosa17237 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10384 of 10494 Old 10-05-2019, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by esosa17237 View Post
I figured it out. Leaving the HDMI settings on auto was creating the washed image. Once I set to low it looks normal now
On my ps4 pro and q9 all my black/rgb settings are auto and hdmi uhd color is enabled
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191006_083103_1570343672513.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	2.73 MB
ID:	2624218   Click image for larger version

Name:	20191006_082934_1570343684563.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	2.33 MB
ID:	2624220   Click image for larger version

Name:	20191006_082801_1570343695749.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	2.16 MB
ID:	2624222  
KwizatZ is offline  
post #10385 of 10494 Old 10-05-2019, 11:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
[quote=esosa17237;58647676]
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post

Is it common place to put gamma up on q9 ? Also has anyone ran into issues where the tv thinks it's in hdr ?
I mean if you want more popping color, gamma is better than the color level.
And for your 2nd question if you want to check if your TV is in HDR or SDR just look at your gamma settings: BT.1886 means SDR and ST.2084 means HDR
KwizatZ is offline  
post #10386 of 10494 Old 10-06-2019, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,590
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Quote:
Originally Posted by la1vi9872 View Post
It is inaccurate, after talking to Denon, to get HDMI 2.1
You will need to send the receiver to Denon's lab and buy a new HDMI 2.1 card and they install it for you

And it will cost you a lot of money !!!
We will have to wait and see how that plays out.........I know there was a 86" LG that was supposed to get a "free" updated HDMI card years ago, well "free" turned into $500. I have not read anywhere that said the upgrade on the Maratanz SR8012, AV8805, or the Denon AVR-X8500H is free.......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #10387 of 10494 Old 10-06-2019, 04:33 PM
Member
 
IronManFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I just had to replace my Apple TV 4K and with the new puck, some of the 4K HDR content looks oddly dark, and the TV is pro calibrated. Any recs on ATV settings for the Q9?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
IronManFan is offline  
post #10388 of 10494 Old 10-07-2019, 08:31 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Will Q9FN TV receive eARC?
or not ?
If so, bring some proof

I found no evidence on the network that eARC would be
la1vi9872 is offline  
post #10389 of 10494 Old 10-07-2019, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by la1vi9872 View Post
Will Q9FN TV receive eARC?

or not ?

If so, bring some proof



I found no evidence on the network that eARC would be
That's a question no one can answer.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10390 of 10494 Old 10-07-2019, 08:34 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
We will have to wait and see how that plays out.........I know there was a 86" LG that was supposed to get a "free" updated HDMI card years ago, well "free" turned into $500. I have not read anywhere that said the upgrade on the Maratanz SR8012, AV8805, or the Denon AVR-X8500H is free.......

I asked Danon before buying the Receiver 8500 that I haven't received yet!
And tell me what the upgrade will be like!
la1vi9872 is offline  
post #10391 of 10494 Old 10-07-2019, 08:37 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
That's a question no one can answer.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk

Samsung can answer that!
If executives turn to Samsung.

I asked Samsung customer service, they told unequivocally
ARC not eARC
la1vi9872 is offline  
post #10392 of 10494 Old 10-07-2019, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by la1vi9872 View Post
Samsung can answer that!

If executives turn to Samsung.



I asked Samsung customer service, they told unequivocally

ARC not eARC

Customer service can't tell you anything that isn't already out. They don't know what's coming down the pipeline. You have an issue they search the support site just like you would. At this point I don't see us getting eArc. The good news is the 2019 models don't have it either. I'll be worried if they get it and we don't

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10393 of 10494 Old 10-07-2019, 11:32 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Customer service can't tell you anything that isn't already out. They don't know what's coming down the pipeline. You have an issue they search the support site just like you would. At this point I don't see us getting eArc. The good news is the 2019 models don't have it either. I'll be worried if they get it and we don't

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
q9fn don't have DTS That it is worse !!!
It's not understandable how in 2018 Samsung releases a flag TV without DTS ?

If he doesn't have a DTS encoder, how will he have an eARC ?
la1vi9872 is offline  
post #10394 of 10494 Old 10-07-2019, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by la1vi9872 View Post
q9fn don't have DTS That it is worse !!!

It's not understandable how in 2018 Samsung releases a flag TV without DTS ?



If he doesn't have a DTS encoder, how will he have an eARC ?
DTS is a licensing issue. The tv shouldn't have any issues decoding it. eARC has nothing to do with DTS

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
n2speed125 likes this.
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10395 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 08:02 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
DTS is a licensing issue. The tv shouldn't have any issues decoding it. eARC has nothing to do with DTS

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk

In fact, Samsung will not pay a royalty on DTS screens That they sold ?
Why ?
They didn't promise you DTS
Neither did you guarantee eARC !

So there is no chance for engineers to invest in implementing DTS + eARC
Also as a fantasy

Sorry but should be realistic!
la1vi9872 is offline  
post #10396 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by la1vi9872 View Post
In fact, Samsung will not pay a royalty on DTS screens That they sold ?

Why ?

They didn't promise you DTS

Neither did you guarantee eARC !



So there is no chance for engineers to invest in implementing DTS + eARC

Also as a fantasy



Sorry but should be realistic!
Could care less about DTS. EArc I do.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
n2speed125 likes this.
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10397 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
KwizatZ is offline  
post #10398 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post
Dang, not for US consumption yet ...
n2speed125 likes this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10399 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Dang, not for US consumption yet ...
Sweet big fixes performance enhancements

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10400 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Sweet big fixes performance enhancements

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
OK, and how did you find this out?

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10401 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
OK, and how did you find this out?
Connections at Samsung

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10402 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Connections at Samsung

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Did they say when it would show up for US (pun intended)?
n2speed125 likes this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10403 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 08:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Did they say when it would show up for US (pun intended)?
Ha! And we're getting eARC tooo. Although I currently have no use for it anymore

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
n2speed125 likes this.
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10404 of 10494 Old 10-08-2019, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Ha! And we're getting eARC tooo. Although I currently have no use for it anymore

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
I never had a use for ARC, with or without the e, though I wouldn't mind the new software

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #10405 of 10494 Old 10-09-2019, 12:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post
I've no idea what happened with this firmware, but all my panel dse is almost gone. I can't believe it, because it makes no sense, but it really happened.

Since 8 months I had a very noticeable dse spot on top left of my panel and some other less strong but still noticeable on every moving camera, but now I had to go back to a dse test to barely see some !

It's crazy my screen is almost perfect now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191009_210404_1570648547234.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	1.50 MB
ID:	2625830  
KwizatZ is offline  
post #10406 of 10494 Old 10-09-2019, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post
I've no idea what happened with this firmware, but all my panel dse is almost gone. I can't believe it, because it makes no sense, but it really happened.

Since 8 months I had a very noticeable dse spot on top left of my panel and some other less strong but still noticeable on every moving camera, but now I had to go back to a dse test to barely see some !

It's crazy my screen is almost perfect now
Your located where?

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10407 of 10494 Old 10-10-2019, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
FarleyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post
I've no idea what happened with this firmware, but all my panel dse is almost gone. I can't believe it, because it makes no sense, but it really happened.

Since 8 months I had a very noticeable dse spot on top left of my panel and some other less strong but still noticeable on every moving camera, but now I had to go back to a dse test to barely see some !

It's crazy my screen is almost perfect now


Hmmmm.... pretty sure that’s impossible, unless the firmware somehow reduced the tension of the screws connecting the components behind the screen.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FarleyUK is online now  
post #10408 of 10494 Old 10-10-2019, 04:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Barros View Post
Your located where?

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
In France

Quote:
Originally Posted by FarleyUK View Post
Hmmmm.... pretty sure that’s impossible, unless the firmware somehow reduced the tension of the screws connecting the components behind the screen.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I know it doesn't make any sense because DSE is related to backlighting uniformity issues, but I patched my TV Tuesday and yesterday I just noticed I wasn't bothered by this dirty mark on the upper left anymore, so I tested different sources where DSE was very noticeable in all screen (like in Dunkirk) and I also tested some DSE test on youtube, and : it's gone

I'll make more tests tonight.
KwizatZ is offline  
post #10409 of 10494 Old 10-10-2019, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwizatZ View Post
In France







I know it doesn't make any sense because DSE is related to backlighting uniformity issues, but I patched my TV Tuesday and yesterday I just noticed I wasn't bothered by this dirty mark on the upper left anymore, so I tested different sources where DSE was very noticeable in all screen (like in Dunkirk) and I also tested some DSE test on youtube, and : it's gone



I'll make more tests tonight.
Interesting. I don't have a ton of noticable DSE. I haven't gone to look for it either. I'm tempted to test mine out when the update is available.

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #10410 of 10494 Old 10-10-2019, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Did they say when it would show up for US (pun intended)?
No Korean site update?

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off