2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 113 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4193Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Keabrown79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
All 4 ports pass HDR and DV at 30FPS 4:2:2, only ports 3 & 4 pass HDR and DV at 50/60FPS 4:4:4 so your fire TV and switch should be just fine using port 1&4.



External devices must support the low-latency DV profile necessary to work with 900f and other Sony DV TVs. ATV, Sony x700, Oppo 203 and a few other devices support the necessary DV profile.

Thanks for the response... I was worried I wouldn't get full HDR10 support out of my consoles.... do we know if the apple tv 4k or new fire stick 4k qualify for the dolby vision pass-though? I hear terrible things about native apps so I want to use them as little as possible.... I'm seeing good things about screen uniformity, I just worry about vertical banding... it drives me a bit crazy.
Keabrown79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keabrown79 View Post
Thanks for the response... I was worried I wouldn't get full HDR10 support out of my consoles.... do we know if the apple tv 4k or new fire stick 4k qualify for the dolby vision pass-though? I hear terrible things about native apps so I want to use them as little as possible.... I'm seeing good things about screen uniformity, I just worry about vertical banding... it drives me a bit crazy.
The ATV 4K is compliant with the "low-latency" DV profile, don't think the fire TV is. Personally I like the internal apps, especially if you tweak Android TV by disabling Samba and the Sony Shelf YMMV.


FYI pass-through is different than a device that supports DV decoding.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony HT-NT5 sound bar with SR-5 rear speakers
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/'Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #3363 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Keabrown79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
The ATV 4K is compliant with the "low-latency" DV profile, don't think the fire TV is. Personally I like the internal apps, especially if you tweak Android TV by disabling Samba and the Sony Shelf YMMV.


FYI pass-through is different than a device that supports DV decoding.
Gotcha! got caught up on terminology. After returning my Vizio P quantum... it comes back to this or q6fn as I mostly game on it I have to make a call about which set is gonna give me the least uniformity issues lol.
Keabrown79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3364 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
All 4 ports pass HDR and DV at 30FPS 4:2:2, only ports 3 & 4 pass HDR and DV at 50/60FPS 4:4:4 so your fire TV and switch should be just fine using port 1&4.



External devices must support the low-latency DV profile necessary to work with 900f and other Sony DV TVs. ATV, Sony x700, Oppo 203 and a few other devices support the necessary DV profile.
So standard PS4 can do 1080p HDR through 1 and 4 ports? What exactly is necessary to hook to the high speed ports besides a HTPC? Would a UHD player need to be?
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #3365 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Keabrown79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by SightSeeker1 View Post
So standard PS4 can do 1080p HDR through 1 and 4 ports? What exactly is necessary to hook to the high speed ports besides a HTPC? Would a UHD player need to be?
Oh yeah... I wonder what would happen if a ps4 pro game was at 60fps and HDR enabled but you didn't have it in port 1 or 4
Keabrown79 is offline  
post #3366 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by SightSeeker1 View Post
Funny I was just reading the rtings settings before I stopped in the thread as I get my 900f tomorrow. They mention the settings in the review.



If you click the "here" link it goes into some more detail.
I am familiar with the rtings site, unfortunately, the CineMotion settings, when activated, cause MAJOR frame stuttering and frame skipping on common channels such as NBC and NatGeo the worse. I am feeding 60i converted to 60p to a TV and the CineMotion settings all specify they are for IP Interlace to Progressive conversions, which I assume means a sat/cable TV box hooked up to the TV sending actual interlaced signals.

Rtings seems to say that the True Cinema feature is simply a form of BFI to make the framerate look a little better between frames.

Paul
Anderegg is offline  
post #3367 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keabrown79 View Post
Oh yeah... I wonder what would happen if a ps4 pro game was at 60fps and HDR enabled but you didn't have it in port 1 or 4
Half the frames would be thrown out?
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #3368 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 11:31 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,425
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8970 Post(s)
Liked: 5751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
The ATV 4K is compliant with the "low-latency" DV profile, don't think the fire TV is. Personally I like the internal apps, especially if you tweak Android TV by disabling Samba and the Sony Shelf YMMV.


FYI pass-through is different than a device that supports DV decoding.
The new FireTv 4K stick is supposed to be compliant with Dolby Vision Profile 5( the low latency profile).And is supposed to be compliant with two other DV profiles.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--73TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3369 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
chiptouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lee's Summit, MO - Suburb of KC
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Can anyone tell me how to set the x900f to upscale the feed it is getting? For my cable box I am sending the display a 1080i signal. When I click on info the tv says 1080i. I thought I read on the forum that it is better to let the tv upscale. I can’t find a setting to set a specific resolution.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My Movie Library - and still growing!
Family Room: Sony XBR-85x900F + Denon 4520ci + Oppo 203, Speakers: LCR: DIYSG Elusive 1099's, S(R+RS) Polk TC60i, Sub: 2x LTD02 Designed UM18-22 Subs w/Nx6000d
Considering: DIYSG Volt10v2 for FH, CH, and Surrounds; Denon AVC X6500h
chiptouz is offline  
post #3370 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
spear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
I am familiar with the rtings site, unfortunately, the CineMotion settings, when activated, cause MAJOR frame stuttering and frame skipping on common channels such as NBC and NatGeo the worse. I am feeding 60i converted to 60p to a TV and the CineMotion settings all specify they are for IP Interlace to Progressive conversions, which I assume means a sat/cable TV box hooked up to the TV sending actual interlaced signals.
It sounds like CineMotion performs reverse 3:2 pulldown which doesn't just apply to interlaced content (see the 3:2 pulldown section in http://www.hdtvprimer.com/issues/what_is_atsc.html -- it describes what's done for both progressive and interlaced displays). So I'd assume CineMotion also works to remove judder on 24p content telecined on a 60p input (eg. ABC and Fox).

The descriptions of the Medium and High settings of CineMotion say they perform additional frame compensation. With these settings on Rtings' 24p judder test clip, I do see some artifacts at the top of the screen similar to when I increase the Smoothness slider (Motionflow = Custom). On the other hand, setting Motionflow to True Cinema appears to disable this compensation, regardless of CineMotion setting. What is your setting for Motionflow and CineMotion when you see problems with NBC and NatGeo?

Quote:
Rtings seems to say that the True Cinema feature is simply a form of BFI to make the framerate look a little better between frames.
According to this article (https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/s...icles/00107660) Motionflow uses three techniques: frame interpolation (Smoothness slider), BFI via backlight strobing (Clearness slider), and "image blur reduction" (not sure how this is controlled). I think setting Motionflow to True Cinema *disables* interpolation and BFI. Not sure about the blur reduction.

Personally, I use Motionflow = Custom (Smoothness = Min, Clearness = 1 to enable X-Motion Clarity zone-based BFI) and CineMotion= Low on non-game content.
spear is online now  
post #3371 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiptouz View Post
Can anyone tell me how to set the x900f to upscale the feed it is getting? For my cable box I am sending the display a 1080i signal. When I click on info the tv says 1080i. I thought I read on the forum that it is better to let the tv upscale. I can’t find a setting to set a specific resolution.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
A 4K TV always upscales any feed it receives to 4K unless it is already 4K, if it didn't the picture would not fill the frame. The 1080i indication is what the TV is receiving from the external device. Bottom-line you have it configured correctly for the TV to be doing the upscaling. Enjoy.
CAmm805 likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony HT-NT5 sound bar with SR-5 rear speakers
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/'Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #3372 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 12:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Mariette, GA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiptouz View Post
Can anyone tell me how to set the x900f to upscale the feed it is getting? For my cable box I am sending the display a 1080i signal. When I click on info the tv says 1080i. I thought I read on the forum that it is better to let the tv upscale. I can’t find a setting to set a specific resolution.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Your TV automatically upscales to 4k any lower resolution signals it receives.
The TV info is telling you that the TV is being fed a 1080i signal from the cable box.
So your TV is doing the upscaling to 4k which is good.
CAmm805 likes this.
wilson44 is offline  
post #3373 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The new FireTv 4K stick is supposed to be compliant with Dolby Vision Profile 5( the low latency profile).And is supposed to be compliant with two other DV profiles.
Thank you for the info, Good to know. I pretty much stay away from the Amazon proprietary hardware for personal reasons.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony HT-NT5 sound bar with SR-5 rear speakers
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/'Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #3374 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,313
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1776 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Hockey is back! Incredible picture via Comcast and NBCSN from Madison Square Garden. If must be the MSG feed.

Incredibly bright and clear picture with great color saturation.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #3375 of 9168 Old 10-04-2018, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
chiptouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lee's Summit, MO - Suburb of KC
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 313
2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
A 4K TV always upscales any feed it receives to 4K unless it is already 4K, if it didn't the picture would not fill the frame. The 1080i indication is what the TV is receiving from the external device. Bottom-line you have it configured correctly for the TV to be doing the upscaling. Enjoy.

@Cheddarhead , @wilson44 thank you both for the responses.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My Movie Library - and still growing!
Family Room: Sony XBR-85x900F + Denon 4520ci + Oppo 203, Speakers: LCR: DIYSG Elusive 1099's, S(R+RS) Polk TC60i, Sub: 2x LTD02 Designed UM18-22 Subs w/Nx6000d
Considering: DIYSG Volt10v2 for FH, CH, and Surrounds; Denon AVC X6500h
chiptouz is offline  
post #3376 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,313
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1776 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiptouz View Post
Can anyone tell me how to set the x900f to upscale the feed it is getting? For my cable box I am sending the display a 1080i signal. When I click on info the tv says 1080i. I thought I read on the forum that it is better to let the tv upscale. I can’t find a setting to set a specific resolution.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There are some setting options based on your cable or satellite provider. For satellite (Directv - I'm not sure about DISH) - I believe you can set the output to "Native" - - which is the best setting you can get as you receive the original signal (720p or 1080i) from your source.

Cable - at least Comcast Cable - is a little different. Non 4K "boxes" do not have a "Native" option. It's either 720p or 1080i or "upscaling" to 1080p by the Comcast STB.

I recommend that you DO NOT upscale from Comcast to 1080p AND you also try the 720p setting. That will down convert 1080i signals to 720p but prevent upscaling from 720p to 1080i for non 1080i sources. I've tried it both ways with Comcast and believe the 720p setting provides the clearest picture, IMHO.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #3377 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Well I don't think anyone will complain about these results. Just a couple tics on the 2pt and bam.

Just need to work out the HTPC stutter issues. 23Hz seems to be the best for movies. Anyone know the settings to keep the frame drops under control on the TV?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	87
Size:	518.9 KB
ID:	2464280  
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #3378 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
I recommend that you DO NOT upscale from Comcast to 1080p AND you also try the 720p setting. That will down convert 1080i signals to 720p but prevent upscaling from 720p to 1080i for non 1080i sources. I've tried it both ways with Comcast and believe the 720p setting provides the clearest picture, IMHO.
I have the xg1v4 and agree that leaving Comcast's box at "best" bypasses the much better upscaling capability of Sony televisions.

I'm using 720p at the box for both the Z9D and the 900F. Don't count on the difference being dramatic, and might almost be imperceptible.

Comcast reps on the other hand, would never be able to grasp that concept. Don't bother trying.
Ricoflashback likes this.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #3379 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,313
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1776 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
I have the xg1v4 and agree that leaving Comcast's box at "best" bypasses the much better upscaling capability of Sony televisions.

I'm using 720p at the box for both the Z9D and the 900F. Don't count on the difference being dramatic, and might almost be imperceptible.

Comcast reps on the other hand, would never be able to grasp that concept. Don't bother trying.

Well said! Comcast would probably reply - - "I'm not sure about that, but would you like to upgrade your STB to our new 4K box! Imagine an incredible 4K picture on ALL of your channels! You'll be amazed! Can we start with your order now?"
aaronwt, bmcleod and MikeTV69 like this.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #3380 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by SightSeeker1 View Post
Well I don't think anyone will complain about these results. Just a couple tics on the 2pt and bam.

Just need to work out the HTPC stutter issues. 23Hz seems to be the best for movies. Anyone know the settings to keep the frame drops under control on the TV?
Does your GPU go up to 119Hz? If you have Nvidia card, you create a CUSTOM resolution of 1080x1920 119Hz, which is the native refresh rate of the X900F panel, and also exactly 5x 23Hz (24p)...basically, bye bye judder. :-)

The TV doesn't report itself as a 120Hz panel to the PC, but as rtings.com shows int he specs, it will only accept this as a "forced" resolution.

Paul
Anderegg is offline  
post #3381 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
Does your GPU go up to 119Hz? If you have Nvidia card, you create a CUSTOM resolution of 1080x1920 119Hz, which is the native refresh rate of the X900F panel, and also exactly 5x 23Hz (24p)...basically, bye bye judder. :-)

The TV doesn't report itself as a 120Hz panel to the PC, but as rtings.com shows int he specs, it will only accept this as a "forced" resolution.

Paul
What about for 4k? 3840 x 2160?

I am using Nvidia and it says 3840 x 2160 119hz tested successfully and would I like to save but it doesn't save. This is a GT 1030.

Last edited by SightSeeker1; 10-05-2018 at 12:54 PM.
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #3382 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Sony dolby vision color space error?

So I am watching Jack Ryan Season 1 episode 5 on Amazon in Dolby Vision, lots of desert scenes and pretty much every shot even indoor scenes I am getting horribly orange faces...basically, it's like Donald Trump in every shot! All my settings are off, so no live color or anything, and I am calibrated. I went to manual color space and toggled through the REC709, DCI and BT2020...BT2020 was auto selected, but DCI seems to be the setting that looks CORRECT> Faces are not orange, and match the SDR 4k version. I think DV is using DCI color space and not BT2020, or the DCI within BT2020 is incorrectly mapped. It really is a night and day difference when you manually switch this to DCI. I suggest someone pull up Jack Ryan S1E5 switch between DCI and BT2020 (auto) and report if they see the same incorrect color space.



Quote:
Originally Posted by SightSeeker1 View Post
What about for 4k? 3840 x 2160?
All my self made 4K video files are in 29.97Hz, so I don't know, but I would avoid upscaling with a GPU unless you are running Mad or something. Make sure all your motion and noise reduction functions are off, those can cause stutter sputter issues.
Anderegg is offline  
post #3383 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Would someone with Neflix check this please?

Went to watch the final episode (#8) of season 5 of Arrested Development.

All I get for English audio is "English with Audio Description" or Spanish.

There is no English 5.1 original.

Netflix which co-produces the show told me.... wait for it.... it was a licensing issue. ba-dum.

Forty-eight episode over 5 seasons, and the finale has an English only licensing issue?

Would someone please see if they're getting that episode with clean English 5.1?

Thank you.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #3384 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I found this in a Dolby Vision white paper...looks like I am correct that the Sony implementation of Dolby Vision may not be correctly extracting the DCI (P3) primaries from the BT2020 container on this series. I am now watching the Season 2 1st episode of Man in the High Castle, and it appears to be correctly displaying it's color space with BT2020, so this may be an issue we need to manually switch color space on certain DV titles.

"Additionally, for Dolby Vision systems, P3 color gamut information is sent using the BT.2020 container"

Reference from: https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolo...les-levels.pdf


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
So I am watching Jack Ryan Season 1 episode 5 on Amazon in Dolby Vision, lots of desert scenes and pretty much every shot even indoor scenes I am getting horribly orange faces...basically, it's like Donald Trump in every shot! All my settings are off, so no live color or anything, and I am calibrated. I went to manual color space and toggled through the REC709, DCI and BT2020...BT2020 was auto selected, but DCI seems to be the setting that looks CORRECT> Faces are not orange, and match the SDR 4k version. I think DV is using DCI color space and not BT2020, or the DCI within BT2020 is incorrectly mapped. It really is a night and day difference when you manually switch this to DCI. I suggest someone pull up Jack Ryan S1E5 switch between DCI and BT2020 (auto) and report if they see the same incorrect color space.





All my self made 4K video files are in 29.97Hz, so I don't know, but I would avoid upscaling with a GPU unless you are running Mad or something. Make sure all your motion and noise reduction functions are off, those can cause stutter sputter issues.

Last edited by Anderegg; 10-05-2018 at 01:54 PM.
Anderegg is offline  
post #3385 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I see...on my X900F built in Netlfix app

English - Audio Description
English - Audio Description (5.1)
Spanish
Spanish (5.1)


Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
Went to watch the final episode (#8) of season 5 of Arrested Development.

All I get for English audio is "English with Audio Description" or Spanish.

There is no English 5.1 original.

Netflix which co-produces the show told me.... wait for it.... it was a licensing issue. ba-dum.

Forty-eight episode over 5 seasons, and the finale has an English only licensing issue?

Would someone please see if they're getting that episode with clean English 5.1?

Thank you.
Anderegg is offline  
post #3386 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,465
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
I see...on my X900F built in Netlfix app

English - Audio Description
English - Audio Description (5.1)
Spanish
Spanish (5.1)
Thank you. Netflix also said it could be the Sony app on their models, but I'm getting no straight English on their iphone app.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #3387 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
denpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1322 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
has anybody directly compared 900F to 2018 Q7?
denpom is offline  
post #3388 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by SightSeeker1 View Post
Well I don't think anyone will complain about these results. Just a couple tics on the 2pt and bam.

Just need to work out the HTPC stutter issues. 23Hz seems to be the best for movies. Anyone know the settings to keep the frame drops under control on the TV?
What were those couple of tics on the 2pt ? What mode were you using ?
Thanks

Nothing's Impossible if you don't have to do it yourself ! Glenee
Glenee is offline  
post #3389 of 9168 Old 10-05-2018, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post
What were those couple of tics on the 2pt ? What mode were you using ?
Thanks
So I pretty much started with the rtings settings outside of any of the grayscale settings. I didn't touch those before the calibration just so I could see how it was by default.

I did notice the slightest green push that this fixed.

SDR or HDR had no major effect on final results. It stayed green the whole scale.

picture custom
brightness 3 (or whatever fits your room best)
local dimming high
x-tended dynamic range high
color 50
Expert 1
All clarity and motion off

2pt
Max
-2
-2
0
0
-1
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #3390 of 9168 Old 10-06-2018, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Bought the 55inch 900f yesterday & almost ready to return it.
There's no media tab in the home screen? So I have to unplug & replug in my USB stick everytime I wanna use it? My TV from 2008 was more advanced - this has to be a mistake on my end, there's really no way to navigate to the USB? Input shows hdmi ports but I can't select the USB port? How the hell did this happen?!
HeyHeyHey1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off